Michigan Aeronautics Commission Appointed Members

  • Russ Kavalhuna Russ Kavalhuna

    Grand Rapids

    Mr. Kavalhuna is the Executive Director of Flight Operations at Western Michigan University.  He is a former airline captain, a licensed attorney, and a former federal prosecutor in the Western District of Michigan.

  • J. David VanderVeen J. David VanderVeen, A.A.E.

    Vice Chairman
    Chairman of Air Service Advisory Committee

    Mr. VanderVeen is the Director of Central Services for Oakland County, which includes responsibility for the County’s three Airports.  He has over forty years of airport management experience and a pilot’s license.

  • Rick Fiddler, Commissioner Rick Fiddler

    VIce Chairman of Safety Advisory Committee
    Grand Rapids

    Mr. Fiddler is the Vice President of Aviation for Amway Corp., where he has worked for nearly 30 years. Previously, he served as a patrol officer, helicopter pilot, and on the underwater recovery team for the Lansing Police Department.

  • Michigan Aeronautics Commissioner Peter Kamarainen Pete Kamarainen

    Grand Ledge
    Chair of General Aviation Advisory Committee

    Mr. Kamarainen, of Grand Ledge, is the owner of GrandAir Aviation, Inc., the fixed based operator for Abrams Municipal Airport in Grand Ledge.

  • Roger Salo Roger Salo

    Chairman of Safety Advisory Committee

    Mr. Salo is Regional Vice President of Westfield Aviation and Instructor for Western Michigan University.  He brings 40 years of experience in business aviation operations.

Michigan Aeronautics Commission Statutory Members

  • Captain Joe Gasper, Michigan State Police, Aeronautics Commission Member Capt. Joe Gasper

    (Representing Col. Kriste Kibbey Etue)
    Michigan Department of State Police

    Capt. Gasper is from the Special Operations Division and oversees three main areas within the department, which includes the Field Support and Aviation Section, Executive Protection Section, and State Security Operations Section.

  • Brigadier General Len Isabelle, Michigan Aeronautics Commission Brigadier General Len Isabelle

    (Representing Maj. Gen. Gregory J. Vadnais)
    Michigan Department of Military and Veterans Affairs

    Brigadier General Isabelle is the Commander of the Michigan Air National Guard assigned to the Michigan National Guard Joint Forces Headquarters in Lansing.

  • Kevin Jacobs, MAC member, michigan aeronautics commission, aeronautics commission member Kevin Jacobs

    (Representing Keith Creagh)
    Michigan Department of Natural Resources

    Mr. Jacobs is the Aviation Manager for the Department of Natural Resources based in Roscommon, MI.

  • Laura Mester Laura J. Mester, C.P.A. Commissioner
    (Representing Kirk Steudle)
    Michigan Department of Transportation

    Laura J. Mester is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Michigan Department of Transportation.
  • Director of Office of Aeronautics, Mike Trout Mike Trout Director, Michigan Aeronautics Commission

    As Director of Michigan Department of Transportation's Office of Aeronautics, Mr. Trout oversees Michigan's lead agency for overall administration and direction of aviation programs, airport development, and new initiatives.