"CCW Reciprocity Overview

In 2000, the legislature significantly amended Michigan's firearms laws to make Michigan what is known as a "shall issue" state. Previously, county gun boards were given considerable discretion to issue concealed pistol permits and the decision often depended on a showing of need by the applicant, which varied from county to county. Public Act 381, which went into effect on July 1, 2001, changed that so that anyone who met the strict qualifications of the law would receive a concealed pistol permit. Today, thousands of responsible Michigan residents have been issued concealed pistol permits.

While anyone interested in this subject is encouraged to check Act 381, generally, the law provides that a person who meets certain requirements will be issued a concealed pistol permit. The principal requirements are:

  1. The applicant is 21 years of age.

  2. The applicant has resided in Michigan for at least 6 months.

  3. The applicant is a citizen or legal resident of the United States.

  4. The applicant has successfully taken a gun safety course.

  5. The applicant is not under certain court orders, such as those involving mental disabilities, personal protection orders, legal incapacitation, etc.

  6. The applicant does not have a pending felony charge and has never been convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors within a specified time period.

  7. The applicant has not been involuntarily committed due to a mental illness, adjudged insane, guilty but mentally ill or pled insanity in a criminal case.

  8. The applicant does not have a diagnosed mental illness at the time of the application.

  9. The applicant has not been dishonorably discharged from the US military.

  10. The applicant is not subject to a court order prohibiting the possession of a firearm.

Again, anyone interested in applying for a concealed pistol permit must check the statute for all the prerequisites for licensure.

The licensing process is handled by the county concealed weapon licensing board. An application kit is available from your local police agency or the county clerk's office. The applicant needs to be fingerprinted by the county sheriff and then submit the application to the county clerk for the board's review.

Once issued, a concealed pistol permit allows a person to carry anywhere in the state except where legally prohibited or in the so called "gun free zones" specified in section 5(o) of the act. The holder must also declare to a peace officer who stops the person that he or she is carrying a concealed pistol. The law also imposes an implied consent to submit to alcohol or chemical testing if a police officer suspects a person is carrying a concealed pistol under the influence.

Additional details regarding Michigan's Concealed Pistol law is available from the web sites linked to this one or from reading the law, which is also linked.