Michigan Workers' Wages

Wages and Fringe Benefits

Under the Payment of Wages & Fringe Benefits Act, workers are entitled to receive full payment for wages earned in a timely manner and fringe benefits in accordance with terms of an employment contract or written policy. Workers who believe they have not been paid full wages, fringe benefits, or have had money improperly deducted from their wages may file a complaint with the Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. A worker must file this complaint within 12 months of the alleged violation. The Wage and Hour Division is the agency that has authority to address complaints concerning wages and other employment issues and can be reached at:

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Wage and Hour Division

P.O. Box 30476
Lansing, MI 48909-7976
517-284-7800
Email the Wage and Hour Division

Minimum Wage and Overtime

The Michigan Workforce Opportunity Wage Act generally covers employers who employ 2 or more employees 16 years of age or older. The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act provides minimum wage and overtime protections for those employees not otherwise exempt under this act. 

Minimum Wage Rate

  • Beginning January 1, 2017, the minimum wage rate is $8.90 per hour
  • Beginning January 1, 2018, the minimum wage rate is $9.25 per hour
  • Beginning January 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate will be determined annually based on the statutory formula provided in MCL 408.141(2) and posted by the Wage and Hour Division no later than February 1 of that year and effective no later than April 1 of that year.

A complaint alleging a violation of the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act must be filed within 3 years of the date of the alleged violation.  The Wage and Hour Division has authority to address complaints concerning an employer’s failure to pay minimum wage or overtime, and may be contacted at:

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Wage and Hour Division

P.O. Box 30476
Lansing, MI 48909-7976
517-284-7800
Email the Wage and Hour Division

Workers may not be discharged or discriminated because they filed a complaint regarding failure to pay minimum wage or overtime.  A worker may file a complaint alleging discrimination with the Wage and Hour Division at the above-indicated address.  The complaint must be signed and filed with the Division within 30 days of the alleged discriminatory action.

Minimum Wage for Minors

Employers covered by the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act are permitted to pay employees under the age of 18 at 85 percent of the minimum hourly wage. The Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs is the state agency with the authority to address complaints filed concerning youth minimum wages. 

Training Wage

Employers may pay a new employee who is less than 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of that employee’s employment. 

Youth Employment Standards Act

In 2011, the responsibility for enforcing the Youth Employment Standards Act was transferred to the Department of Education from the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. Except for questions involving minimum wage for minors or the application of training wages, all other information and inquiries may be found with the Michigan Department of Education