Areas of Concern Program Statewide Public Advisory Council

The Statewide Public Advisory Council is a coalition of representatives from the 14 community-based public advisory councils that advise the Office of the Great Lakes on implementation of cleanup efforts in Michigan’s 14 Areas of Concern.

SPAC Support Staff:

Matt Doss
Great Lakes Commission
734-971-9135
mdoss@glc.org

Area of Concern Member Alternate Local Information
Clinton River Anne Vaara
Executive Director
Clinton River Watershed Council
1115 W. Avon Rd.
Rochester Hills, MI 48309
248-601-0606
anne@crwc.org
 Vacant Clinton River Watershed Council
Deer Lake Diane Feller
Chair, Deer Lake Public Advisory Council
490 Deer Lake Road
Ishpeming, MI 49849
906-486-9967
dkfeller@aol.com
Pete Nault
Deer Lake Public Advisory Council
49 Chilman Lane
Ishpeming, MI 49849
906-486-8990
naultpa@att.net
 
Detroit River Mary Bohling
SPAC Chair
MI Sea Grant Extension Educator, Southeast Michigan
640 Temple, 6th Floor
Detroit, MI 48201-2558
313-833-3275
313-410-9431
bohling@msu.edu
Jane Mackey Detroit River Public Advisory Council
30952 Island
Gibraltar, MI 48173
734-675-4861
jtm48173@yahoo.com
Friends of the Detroit River
Kalamazoo River Jamie McCarthy
Kalamazoo River Watershed Council
408 E. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
269-978-4606
krwc@kalamazooriver.org
Stephen K. Hamilton
President Kalamazoo River Watershed Council
Kellogg Biological Station
3700 E. Gull Lake Drive
Hickory Corners, MI 49060-9516
269-671-2231
hamilton@kbs.msu.edu
Kalamazoo River Watershed Council
Manistique River Corey Barr
Water/Wastewater Superintendent
City of Manistique
300 N. Maple Street
Manistique, MI 49854
906-341-2281
water@mstq-water.com
Sheila Aldrich
Manistique City Manager
300 N. Maple Street
Manistique, MI 49854
906-341-2290
saldrich@chartermi.net
 
Menominee River

Mark S. Erickson
Michigan Co-chair
Menominee River Area of Concern Citizens Advisory Committee
Menominee, MI

Steve Zander
Wisconsin Co-chair
Menominee River Area of Concern Citizens Advisory Committee
Peshtigo, WI

John Groleau
Menominee River Area of Concern Citizens Advisory Committee
Menominee, MI
 
Muskegon Lake Kathy Evans
Muskegon Lake Watershed Partnership
West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development Commission
316 Morris Ave., Suite 340
P.O. Box 387
Muskegon, MI 49443-0387
231-722-7878, Ext. 17
kevans@wmsrdc.org
Cynthia Price
Chair, Muskegon Lake Watershed Partnership
Editor, Norton-Lakeshore Examiner
950 W. Norton Ave., Suite 402
Muskegon, MI 49441
231-578-0873
231-739-6397
skyprice@gmail.com
Muskegon Lake Watershed Partnership
River Raisin Richard Micka
River Raisin Public Advisory Council
47 E. Elm Ave.
Monroe, MI 48162-2648
734-242-0909
rgm@core.com
Donald Link
Director of Water Utilities
Frenchtown Charter Township
310 E. Elm Ave.
Monroe, MI 481621
734-289-1015
donlink@netzero.net
City of Monroe
Rouge River Bill Craig
Chair, Rouge RAP Advisory Council
20050 Milburn
Livonia, MI 48152
248-476-5127
envirowhc@sbcglobal.net
Noel Mullet
Wayne County Department of Environment Water Quality Division
Watershed Management Section
3600 Commerce Court, Building E
Wayne, MI 48184
734-326-4486
Nmullett@co.wayne.mi.us
Alliance of Rouge Communities
Saginaw River/Bay Dennis Zimmerman
Partnership for the Saginaw Bay Watershed
P.O. Box 325
Lake George, MI 48633-0325
989-588-9343
denniszimm@charter.net
Warren Smith
Vice Chair, Partnership for the Saginaw Bay Watershed
1817 Center Ave.
Bay City, MI 48708
989-892-5649
wfesmith@sbcglobal.net
 
St. Clair River Patricia Troy
St. Clair River Binational Public Advisory Council
6318 Rynn Road
North Street, MI 48049
810-984-9775
pjtroy2004@yahoo.com
Paulette Duhaime
St. Clair River Binational Public Advisory Council
9386 N. River Road
Algonac, MI 48001
810-794-3390
lduhaimep@arenet.net
Friends of the St. Clair River Watershed

Friends of the St. Clair River Canada
St. Marys River Mike Ripley
St. Marys River Binational Public Advisory Council
Chippewa Ottawa Resource Authority
Albert LeBlanc Bldg.
179 West Three Mile Rd.
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
906-632-0072
mripley@sault.com
Greg Zimmerman
St. Marys River Binational Public Advisory Council
Gale Gleason Institute
Lake Superior State University
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
906-635-2470
gzimmerman@gw.lssu.edu
St. Marys River Binational Public Advisory Council
Torch Lake James Trevethan
Torch Lake Public Advisory Council
17463 Osma Plat Rd.
Houghton, MI 49931
906-482-4951
Dan Lorenzetti
Torch Lake Public Advisory Council
P.O. Box 6
Houghton, MI
49931
906-482-2731
dlorenzetti@chartermi.net
 
White Lake Tanya Cabala
SPAC Vice Chair
Great Lakes Consulting
714 Alice Street
Whitehall, MI 49461
231-981-0016
tcabala@charter.net
Norm Ullman
9403 Silver Creek Rd.
Whitehall, MI 49461
231-670-5504
nullman524@aol.com
White Lake Public Advisory Council