Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of Human ServicesMichigan.gov, Official Website for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

DHS Summarily Suspends the Family Child Care Home Certificate of Registration of Maria Brown

Contact: Christina Fecher, media relations coordinator, 517-373-7394

Aug. 22, 2011

The Michigan Department of Human Services Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing (BCAL), issued an order of summary suspension and notice of intent to revoke the certificate of registration of an Ottawa County family child care home provider, Maria Brown, #DF700310491, 234 Aniline Avenue, Holland, Michigan. This action resulted from a recent investigation of a complaint of the family child care home.

The Aug. 17, 2011 complaint investigation found violations of the Child Care Organizations Act and administrative rules regarding member of household suitability, appropriate care and supervision, and ratio of caregiving staff. BCAL took emergency action to protect the health, welfare, and safety of children.

Effective 6 p.m., Aug. 19, 2011, the summary suspension order prohibits Brown from operating a family child care home at 234 Aniline Ave., Holland, . or at any other address or location. Accordingly, she may not accept children for care after that date and time. The order also requires Brown to inform all of the parents of children in her care that her certificate of registration has been suspended and that she can no longer provide child care.

Brown has held a certificate of registration to operate a family child care home since Nov. 30, 2010. The certificate of registration was for six children.

Michigan law defines a family child care home as "a private home in which one but fewer than seven minor children are received for care and supervision for compensation for periods of less than 24 hours a day, unattended by a parent or legal guardian, except children related to an adult member of the family by blood, marriage, or adoption. Family child care home includes a home in which care is given to an unrelated minor child for more than four weeks during a calendar year. A family child care home does not include an individual providing babysitting services for another individual."

For more information, please visit the DHS website at www.michigan.gov/dhs.

###

Related Content
 •  Michigan Office of Child Support Announces Online Child Support Services Application
 •  Michigan Launches Healthy Michigan Plan Enrollment Activities
 •  Submitted to Federal Court: Fourth Report Measuring State's Progress under Child Welfare Settlement
 •  Reform to Improve Outcomes for Michigan's Foster/Adopted Children
 •  DHS Director to receive National Mentoring Award
 •  Hantz Woodlands Gets Green Light; State of Michigan Continues Blight Elimination in Detroit PDF icon
 •  First Lady Sue Snyder Continues Safe Sleep Initiative in Northern Lower Peninsula
 •  Macomb County group child care provider's license suspended by DHS
 •  State suspends license of Kalamazoo County group child care provider
 •  Weston Named New DHS Director for St.Clair/Sanilac Counties
 •  Michigan DHS Launches Protect MiFamily; Project Aims to Keep More Children, Families Together
 •  Governor Snyder Honors Michigan Volunteers
 •  Detroit School Receives $10,000 Donation to Purchase Student Uniforms
 •  DHS Summarily Suspends Adult Foster Care License in Kent County
 •  Michigan Career and Technical Institute to Graduate Students PDF icon
 •  DHS Names Morrison Director for Livingston/Shiawassee Counties
 •  Governor Snyder Announces Finalists for 2013 Governor's Service Awards
 •  DHS and Partners Announce New Measures to Safeguard Vulnerable Adults
 •  DHS Summarily Suspends Group Child Care Home License in Bay County
 •  Michigan Welfare Work Participation Rate Now Reaches Federal Target
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan