Skip Navigation
MI.gov
DNR - Department of Natural Resources Department of Natural Resources
Department of Natural Resources
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Hunting License Structure Chart

Michigan's hunting licenses changed in 2014. The new structure creates a simpler, more fair and efficient license-buying process.

Revenue generated will create better recreational opportunities throughout the state. See What You Get: More Bang for Your Buck for more details on these improvements.

An annual base license is required for every resident or nonresident who hunts in Michigan, unless otherwise noted. The base license allows hunters to hunt small game and also purchase additional hunting licenses.

Below are the hunting licenses and prices.

Base License

  • Junior - ^$6.00
  • Resident - ^$11.00
  • Nonresident - ^$151.00
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - ^$5.00

Antlerless Deer/Junior Antlerless Deer License

  • $20.00
  • Nonresident, second license or more - $170 each

Antlerless Deer Managed Area Hunts

  • $20.00

*Applications

  • $5.00

Bear License

  • $25.00
  • Bear Participation (No-Kill-Tag Bear License) - $15.00

Hunt/Fish Combo License (includes base, deer combo and annual all-species fishing)

  • Resident - ^$76.00
  • Nonresident - ^$266.00
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - ^$43.00

Deer License

  • Resident - $20
  • Nonresident - $20
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - $8

Deer Combo License

  • Resident - $40 (two deer licenses: $20 regular, $20 restricted)
  • Nonresident - $190 (two deer licenses: $20 regular, $170 restricted)
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - $28 (two deer licenses: $8 regular, $20 restricted)

*Deer Management Assistance Permits

  • $10.00

Elk License (Michigan residents only)

  • $100.00

Fur Harvester License

  • $15.00
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - $6.00

*Mentored Youth Hunting License

  • $7.50

Military Licenses (active-duty and 100-percent disabled veterans)

  • +$0

*Small Game 7-Day Nonresident License

  • $80.00

*Sportcard

  • $1.00

Turkey License - Fall

  • $15.00
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - $6.00

Turkey License - Spring

  • $15.00
  • Senior (Michigan residents only) - $6.00

Waterfowl License

  • $12.00

* Items do NOT require a base license

^ Items include a $1 surcharge. Revenue generated from these funds will be used to educate the public on the benefits of hunting, fishing and trapping in Michigan, and the impact of these activities on the conservation, preservation and management of the state's natural resources in accordance with statute.

+For Michigan residents who are veterans with 100-percent disability or active-duty military, fees are waived for hunting and fishing licenses not obtained through a lottery. Military personnel discount (active-duty status):

  • U.S. military members who are currently federal active-duty status.
  • Qualifying customers must provide proof of military status at the time of purchase as well as while afield and be able to present proof upon request by a conservation officer, a tribal officer, or any other law enforcement officer. Proof of military status may include military ID, leave papers, duty papers, military orders, or other evidence verifying the applicant is a member of the military and has been called to federal active duty.
    1. Michigan residents who are currently in federal active-duty status may obtain hunting and fishing licenses, for which a lottery is not required, free of charge.
    2. Non-residents who are in federal active-duty status and currently stationed in Michigan are eligible to receive resident pricing on hunting and fishing licenses.
  • DNR will perform random audits to verify this information.