How Fishing License Dollars Help Keep Michigan's Fisheries World-Class!
Why should you purchase a Michigan fishing license?
In Michigan, you must purchase a fishing license if you are 17 years of age or older and plan on fishing Michigan's world-class waters. Individuals under the age of 17 may fish without a license; although they can purchase a voluntary youth fishing license for a minimal investment which increases the amount of Federal dollars Michigan would receive to support the state's fisheries. Regardless of age, everyone is required to observe all fishing rules and regulations at all times. All annual fishing licenses are valid from March 1st of a given year through March 31st of the following year.
Fishing license dollars fund a variety of activities including; fish management work on the state's waters, habitat rehabilitation and protection, fish stocking, information distribution, education and outreach efforts to anglers and the public, and much more. The Michigan Department of Natural Resources' Fisheries Division does not receive any general fund tax dollars to support its activities. Instead, Fisheries Division depends heavily on angler dollars collected through fishing license sales and federal excise tax dollars from the sale of fishing tackle (Dingell-Johnson Sport Fish Restoration Act) to manage Michigan's fisheries. Buying a fishing license, even if you do not plan to go fishing, can make a big difference to the future health of Michigan's prized freshwaters.
For more information on the difference anglers make by purchasing licenses, visit www.michigan.gov/itsyournature
Everyone in Michigan is afforded the opportunity to experience the state's diverse fisheries, thanks to the sale of licenses!
What are your options when purchasing a Michigan fishing license?
Anglers have a variety of licenses to choose from, including:
- Resident/nonresident 24-hour license (good for all species) - $7
- Resident/nonresident 72-hour license (good for all species) - $21
- Resident season-long restricted license (good for all species except trout, salmon, lake sturgeon, lake herring, amphibians, reptiles or crustaceans) - $15
- Nonresident season-long restricted license (good for all species except trout, salmon, lake sturgeon, lake herring, amphibians, reptiles or crustaceans) - $34
- Resident season-long license (good for all species) - $28
- Nonresident season-long license (good for all species) - $42
- Voluntary Young Angler (good for all species) - $2
To view additional license options check out the License Types and Costs chart online
The Young Angler fishing license (although voluntary) does great things for the DNR and for angling throughout the state.
How can you purchase a Michigan fishing license?
There are three simple ways to purchase a fishing license in Michigan:
1. Visit a local license retailer
or DNR Operations Service Center
and make a purchase in person.
2. Use the E-License system to buy a license online 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Just visit www.mdnr-elicense.com
to get started.
3. Visit the Mobile Fish website on your smartphone (www.mi.gov/fish) to buy a 24-hour all-species fishing license. All you need is your driver's license number and a credit or debit card.
Do you have a smartphone? Use it to buy a fishing license! It's one of the multiple ways you can make your purchase!
Revenue from fishing and hunting license sales supports DNR activities to enhance Michigan's natural resources. These license sales also increase federal revenue to the State of Michigan for the management of these resources. Please help support Michigan's abundant natural resources by purchasing a fishing and hunting license each year.