How Fishing License Dollars Help Keep Michigan's Fisheries World-Class!

Why should you purchase a Michigan fishing license?
In Michigan, you must purchase a fishing license if you are 17 years of age or older and plan on fishing Michigan's world-class waters. Individuals under the age of 17 may fish without a license. Regardless of age, everyone is required to observe all fishing rules and regulations at all times. All annual fishing licenses are valid from March 1st of a given year through March 31st of the following year.

Fishing license dollars fund a variety of activities including; fish management work on the state's waters, habitat rehabilitation and protection, fish stocking, information distribution, education and outreach efforts to anglers and the public, and much more. The Michigan Department of Natural Resources' Fisheries Division does not receive any general fund tax dollars to support its activities. Instead, Fisheries Division depends heavily on angler dollars collected through fishing license sales and federal excise tax dollars from the sale of fishing tackle (Dingell-Johnson Sport Fish Restoration Act) to manage Michigan's fisheries. Buying a fishing license, even if you do not plan to go fishing, can make a big difference to the future health of Michigan's prized freshwaters.

Fishing in Michigan
Everyone in Michigan is afforded the opportunity to experience the state's diverse fisheries, thanks to the sale of licenses!

What are your options when purchasing a Michigan fishing license?
Starting March 1, 2015, anglers have a variety of licenses to choose from, including:

  • 24-hour license - $10
  • 72-hour license - $30
  • Resident annual license - $26
  • Nonresident annual license - $76
  • Senior annual license (must be resident and age 65 or older) - $11

How can you purchase a Michigan fishing license?
These are simple ways to purchase a fishing license in Michigan:

1. Visit a local license retailer or DNR Operations Service Center and make a purchase in person.
2. Use the E-License system to buy a license online 24 hours a day, seven days a week with your computer, tablet or smartphone. Just visit to get started.

Revenue from fishing and hunting license sales supports DNR activities to enhance Michigan's natural resources. These license sales also increase federal revenue to the State of Michigan for the management of these resources. Please help support Michigan's abundant natural resources by purchasing a fishing and hunting license each year.