Deadline to remove tree stands from public land is March 1Contact: DNR Wildlife Division, 517-284-9453 Agency: Natural Resources
Feb. 23, 2016
The Michigan Department of Natural Resources reminds hunters that tree stands must be removed from public land by Tuesday, March 1.
All scaffolds, raised platforms, ladders, steps and other tree-climbing devices must be taken down. Owners of equipment that is left on public land after March 1 will be subject to a 90-day misdemeanor and a fine from $50 to $500 plus the cost of prosecution.
Public lands are available for the use and enjoyment of everyone. It is imperative that equipment is removed by the deadline to ensure the safety of all visitors.
For those who hunt on public land, tree stands must be portable and the hunter’s name and address must be affixed in legible English that can easily be read from the ground. Scaffolds, raised platforms, ladders, steps and any other device to assist in climbing a tree cannot be placed on public land any earlier than Sept. 1, and must be removed by March 1. A permanent, raised platform or tree stand may be used for hunting on private land with the permission of the landowner. For more details on equipment regulations, see pages 22-24 in the Hunting and Trapping Digest.
For general questions, please contact the nearest DNR Customer Service Center.
The Michigan Department of Natural Resources is committed to the conservation, protection, management, use and enjoyment of the state’s natural and cultural resources for current and future generations. For more information, go to www.michigan.gov/dnr.