About Mann House, Concord
In 1883, Daniel and Ellen Mann built their two-story house in the small picturesque farming community of Concord. Here, they raised their daughters Jessie Ellen and Mary Ida.
The late-Victorian building features plaster ceilings, unusual catch-release doorknobs and a marbleized slate fireplace. Eight rooms of period furniture include pieces dating back to the 1840s, when Daniel's and Ellen's parents were furnishing their first homes.
Restored flower and herb gardens and a carriage house with carriages, sleighs and other exhibits help illustrate the way Michiganians worked and played in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
In 1969, the Mann sisters bequeathed their home to the people of Michigan. The Mann House opened to the public as a museum one year later.
- Guided tours of the historic house
- Guided tours of the historic gardens
- Special programs for educators, families and children