
 
 

 
This update is published by the Michigan State Police Executive Division.  
Questions and comments may be directed to the Executive Resource 
Section at MSPLegal@Michigan.gov. 

 

SSTTAATTUUTTOORRYY  CCHHAANNGGEESS  
To read the full text of these statutes go to 
www.michiganlegislature.org, or click on the public act 
number following each summary. 
 
MCL 205.422 & 205.428 
Gray market cigarettes 
Effective January 15, 2006 
 
The act creates new felonies for possession 
of counterfeit cigarette papers, gray market 
cigarettes, and gray market cigarette papers 
are now violations of the tobacco tax act.   
 
Note: Gray market products are typically 
marked with fine-print that indicates the 
product is intended for sale outside of the 
United States.   

 
Public Act 238 of 2005

 
 
MCL 257.627 
Truck speed limit increased to 60 mph 
Effective November 9, 2006 
 
The speed limit for trucks, truck-tractors, and 
truck-tractors with a semi-trailer will increase 
to 60 mph on 70 mph freeways. 
 

Public Act 19 of 2006
 
 
MCL 750.540 
Prohibited tampering with any electronic 
communication 
Effective June 1, 2006 
 
The amended phone tampering statute 
makes it a felony to interfere with electronic 
communication mediums including phones 
and computers.  It includes “willfully and 
maliciously” interrupting service or message 
delivery, and reading or copying messages 
from an electronic medium accessed without 
authorization.  
 

Public Act 61 of 2006
 

 
MCL 28.730 
Public email notification of sex offender 
address changes 
Effective January 1, 2007 
 
The MSP will provide a ListServ that will 
notify subscribers of changes to the sex 
offender registry within a specified zip code. 
 

Public Act 46 of 2006
 

 
MCL 750.508 
Police scanners in motor vehicles 
Effective May 1, 2006 
 
Citizens will no longer be required to obtain 
a permit from the State Police in order to 
equip a motor vehicle with a scanner.  
Instead, it will be a crime if a scanner 
(regardless of its location) is used in the 
commission of a crime with a penalty of 93 
days or more.   
 
A person who has been convicted of a 
felony within the past 5 years is prohibited 
from possessing a scanner at any time. 

 
Public Act 39 of 2006

 

 
MCL 28.432 
CPL holders may possess a pistol 
registered to another person 
Effective July 1, 2006 
 
A Concealed Pistol License holder will be 
permitted to carry a pistol properly 
registered to another person. 
 
Note:  Persons who have not been issued a 
CPL will continue to be prohibited from 
carrying another person’s pistol. 
 

Public Act 75 of 2006
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MCL 28.425 
Expired Concealed Pistol License (CPL) 
may be valid when coupled with receipt 
from county clerk. 
Effective July 1, 2006 
 
When a CPL holder applies for a license 
renewal, the county clerk must provide a 
receipt for the application.  The licensing 
board must renew or deny the renewal 
application within 60 days. 
 
If the board fails to renew or deny the 
application, the expiration of the CPL is 
automatically extended until the board 
issues a new license, or 180 days, 
whichever comes first.   
 
In order for the extension to be valid, the 
CPL holder must carry both the expired 
license and the receipt, and present both to 
police officers when stopped.  
 

Public Act 92 of 2006
 

 

SSEEAARRCCHH  &&  SSEEIIZZUURREE  
Full citations have been omitted. 

 
Consent Searches 

 
When one occupant gives consent and 
another refuses to give consent, police 
may not search for evidence to be used 
against the refusing party – if the 
refusing party is physically present. 
 
In Georgia v. Randolph, a United States 
Supreme Court case, police asked the 
defendant’s spouse for consent to search for 
drugs in a jointly owned residence – after 
the defendant had refused to give consent. 
 
The court held that a “disputed invitation” to 
enter a residence cannot overcome the 
protections guaranteed by the fourth 
Amendment.  As a result, evidence gathered 
was not admissible against the refusing 
defendant.   
 
The court did not overrule its previous 
decisions allowing consent to be given by 
another occupant when the suspect is not 
present. 
 

Anticipatory Search Warrants 
 
Anticipatory search warrants are valid so 
long as the affidavit establishes probable 
cause that the evidence will be there 
when the warrant is executed. 
 
In United States v. Grubbs, a postal 
inspector received a search warrant based 
upon an affidavit indicating that child 
pornography would be delivered to the 
defendant’s residence at a future time. 
 
The United States Supreme Court approved 
the use of anticipatory search warrants as 
long as the affidavit establishes probable 
cause that that the triggering event will 
occur, and probable cause that particular 
evidence will be found when the triggering 
event occurs. 
 
 
 
Traffic Stop for Vision Obstruction 
 
In order to stop a vehicle for a “dangling 
ornament” vision obstruction, police do 
not have to show that the item was, in 
fact, obstructing the driver’s vision. 
 
The driver in People v. Almond was stopped 
because of a “prism” hanging from the 
rearview mirror in his car.  He was ultimately 
arrested for various firearms and narcotics 
offenses, and later convicted. 
 
In reviewing the conviction, the Michigan 
Court of Appeals upheld the constitutionality 
of the vision obstruction statute (MCL 
257.709).  The court also held that a police 
officer may stop a driver for violating the 
statute as long as the officer has reasonable 
suspicion that the item obstructs the driver’s 
vision – no proof of an actual obstruction is 
required. 
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CCRRIIMMIINNAALL  LLAAWW  
Full citations have been omitted. 

 
A history of seizures may be evidence of 
malice sufficient to prove second-degree 
murder after a fatal traffic accident. 
 
The defendant in People v. Eaton suffered a 
seizure while driving, lost control of his 
vehicle, and struck and killed two people.  
The defendant had a history of having 
seizures while driving and had been 
involved in accidents resulting from his 
seizures.  He had also lied to his doctor 
about his seizures in order to have his 
driving privileges reinstated.  He was also 
aware that his medication wasn’t working 
properly. 
 
Even though the defendant did not intend to 
harm anyone, the Michigan Court of Appeals 
held that the combination of those facts was 
enough to establish malice for the purposes 
of proving second-degree murder.    
 
 

AATTTTOORRNNEEYY  GGEENNEERRAALL  
OOPPIINNIIOONNSS  

 
AG Opinion No. 7183 
 
Possession of a machine gun is lawful 
under certain circumstances 
Opinion dated December 29, 2005 
 
This opinion affects the application of MCL 
750.224 (Unlawful Weapons).  Prior to this 
opinion, Michigan law was interpreted to 
prohibit possession of a machine gun under 
all circumstances.  However, section 224 
contains a provision that allows for lawful 
possession of machine when the possessor 
has been licensed by the ATF. 
 
In this opinion, the Attorney General states 
that a properly executed ATF Form 4 
constitutes a “license” for the purposes of 
the Michigan statute.  Therefore, a person 
may possess a machine gun transferred 
using a Form 4.  Federal law requires that 
the transferee maintain a copy of Form 4, 
but does not require that the form be kept 
with the machine gun.  A properly executed 

Form 4 will bear an embossed seal and the 
signature of the head of the ATF’s National 
Firearms Act (NFA) branch. 
 
For assistance in determining whether a 
machine gun has been properly registered 
or transferred under the NFA, police officers 
should contact the ATF’s Detroit Field 
Division at (313) 259-8050. 
 

AG Opinion No. 7183
 
 
AG Opinion No. 7191 
 
Police may rely on an acknowledgement 
of parentage in determining custody of a 
child 
Opinion dated March 28, 2006 
 
This opinion states that a “duly executed” 
acknowledgement of parentage establishes 
that a mother is presumed to have custody 
of the child named in the acknowledgment, 
and that a police agency may rely on the 
acknowledgement when assisting with child 
custody issues.   
 
The acknowledgement is superseded by a 
court order or written agreement between 
the parents.  The acknowledgement may in 
the form of an Affidavit of Parentage filed 
with the state registrar. 
 

AG Opinion No. 7191
 
 

OOUUIILL  LLAAWW  
  
Note: The following material does not represent new 
law; rather it addresses issues raised by worksites 
throughout the state. 
 
Suspects should generally be afforded 
the opportunity to take an independent 
test – no matter how unreasonable it may 
seem to be. 
 
Michigan appellate courts have consistently 
held that the courts, and not police, make 
determinations of reasonableness.  People 
v. Wager. 
 
MCL 257.625a requires police to provide 
persons who have submitted to a test 
offered by police with “a reasonable 
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opportunity to have a person of his or her 
own choosing administer 1 of the chemical 
tests described in this subsection within a 
reasonable time…” 
 

“Reasonable Opportunity” 
Under the statute, the arresting agency is 
responsible for providing the opportunity for 
a test.  Michigan courts have given very little 
guidance on the application of the 
“opportunity” portion of the statute. 
 
Officers confronted with a request that 
seems extremely unreasonable due to 
distance or other physical barriers should 
contact their prosecutor before refusing to 
facilitate a test. 
 
If a suspect asks for a test by a person or 
facility of unknown availability, officers 
should have the suspect make 
arrangements from the jail, post, or police 
station prior to transportation to the testing 
facility. 
 

“Reasonable Time” 
In People v. Prelesnik, the suspect made his 
request for an independent test to a jailor, 3 
hours and 45 minutes after his arrest.  In 
People v. Quada, the independent test was 
to be administered almost 4 hours after 
arrest.  In both cases, police refused to 
provide the test due to the lapsed time.  In 
both cases the otherwise valid tests 
administered by arresting officers were held 
inadmissible, and the cases were dismissed. 
 
Officers should generally honor requests for 
independent tests made anytime between 
arrest and release or arraignment. 
 

“Person of their own choosing” 
The suspect has the right to make the 
choice of who will provide an independent 
test.  In People v. Anstey, the suspect was 
lodged at the Berrien County Jail and twice 
asked for his own tests at locations in 
Michigan and South Bend, Indiana.  The 
arresting officer refused to take the suspect 
to the requested locations, but offered to 
take the suspect to a closer hospital.  
Ultimately, the case was dismissed because 
the officer, and not the suspect, made the 
choice. 
 

SSUUBBSSCCRRIIPPTTIIOONNSS  
 
It is the intent of the Executive Division to 
provide the Legal Update to all interested 
law enforcement officers.  Officers from any 
agency are welcome to subscribe, and may 
do so by sending an email to 
MSPLegal@Michigan.gov.  The email must 
include: 

1. Name (first & last) 
2. Rank 
3. Department 
4. Work phone 
5. Email address 
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