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2005 Drunk Driving Audit shows fatalities, injuries and arrests continue to decrease 
  

 Michigan’s drunk driving arrests, convictions and crashes, as well as fatalities and injuries involving alcohol 

and/or drugs, have decreased for the fourth consecutive year, according to the 2005 Drunk Driving Audit. 

 The audit, issued by the Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center, includes arrest activity by 

law enforcement agency for each county in the state as well as crash, injury and fatality information by county. 

 Alcohol- and/or drug-related fatalities fell 2.4 percent, from 418 in 2004 to 408 in 2005.  Injuries resulting from 

alcohol- and/or drug-related crashes decreased by about 8 percent, from 8,667 in 2004 to 7,982 in 2005.  

 Drunk and impaired driving arrests totaled 54,056, a decrease from the 55,070 individuals arrested in 2004.  

Of the arrests in 2005, 52,235 were for operating while intoxicated (OWI).  Convictions for 2005, which may be from 

prior-year arrests, include 22,631 for OWI and 29,188 for impaired driving.  

 “Law enforcement officers across Michigan are vigilant when it comes to enforcing drunk driving laws because 

drunk and drugged driving remain significant traffic safety issues,” said Michigan State Police Director, Colonel Peter 

C. Munoz.  “Despite the state’s continuing decline in crashes and fatalities, approximately 35 percent of all fatal 

crashes that occurred last year involved alcohol and/or drug use.”  

 Educating the public of Michigan’s drunk driving laws and increasing awareness of the serious consequences 

for violating them is critical, said Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land. 

 "The majority of Michigan motorists drive responsibly," Land said.  "They understand the needless dangers 

posed by drinking and driving. But we must continue reinforcing this public-safety message in order to keep this 

positive trend on track. Education and awareness are essential.  We will continue working with law enforcement and 

other safety advocates for the good of Michigan families." 

 Michigan’s repeat offender law took effect in October 1999.  This law created harsher penalties for repeat 

offenders in an effort to limit access to vehicles through license plate confiscation, mandatory vehicle immobilization 

and vehicle forfeiture.  A change to set the legal definition of drunk driving at .08 blood alcohol content (BAC) was 

effective in September 2003. 

 The 2005 Drunk Driving Audit is available online.  To view the entire report, visit www.michigan.gov/msp, then 

click on Publications, Forms & Statistics.  Next, click Statistics, then Traffic Crash Statistics, then click Michigan Drunk 

Driving Audit. 
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