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It’s Not Just About Alcohol.
Drivers with any trace of non-medicinal drugs in their
systems are subject to the same fines and penalties as
drunk drivers, even if they show no signs of impairment.
Among the prosecutable substances …

• Marijuana
• GHB
• Cocaine and cocaine derivatives
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On September 30, 2003, Michigan became the 44th state
in America to lower its drunk driving standard to .08 blood
alcohol content (BAC). Previously, Michigan had a two-
tiered standard which treated .10 as “drunk driving” 
and .08–.09 as “driving impaired.” 

Why Has Michigan Lowered the 
Drunk Driving Standard?

A PERSON’S DRIVING SKILLS ARE SERIOUSLY
COMPROMISED AT .08 BAC. Recent research shows
that the vast majority of drivers are significantly
impaired at .08 blood alcohol content. 

.08 REDUCES TRAFFIC FATALITIES. Studies have
analyzed the effects of lowering BAC to .08 in
other states. The lower standard generally means
reductions in alcohol-related fatal crashes when
combined with publicity and strong enforcement.
(National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)

A .08 BAC LAW SERVES AS AN ADDITIONAL
DETERRENT TO DRIVING DRUNK. It sends the
message that Michigan is getting tougher on
intoxicated driving.

Fines & Fees (for a first offense)
• Up to 93 days in jail
• Up to a $500 fine
• Up to 360 hours of community service
• Up to 6 points on a driver’s license
• Up to 180 days’ license suspension

Other Consequences
• Convicted drunk drivers will also be subject to a new

$1,000 penalty for two consecutive years, for a total 
of $2,000 in additional fines.

• Anyone who refuses a breath test the first time is 
given an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension,
rather than the previous six-month suspension. 
For a second refusal in seven years, the suspension 
is two years.

Don’t Drive Drunk.
Although you may feel capable of driving at .08, you run
serious risks to yourself and others. Please, play it safe.
Lower limit. Tougher law.


