
Michigan Department of Education 2015-16 
Pupil Accounting Manual 
 

  
Reduced Schedule Pupils 5-H-1 

 
This information is provided as a service of the Michigan Department of Education and is distributed with the understanding 
that the Department of Education is not engaged in rendering legal advice. Those individuals desiring or requiring legal 
advice should seek the services of an attorney. Individuals should use this as a companion document in conjunction with the 
relevant statute(s), court case(s), Attorney General opinion(s), and administrative rule(s). 

5-H: REDUCED SCHEDULE PUPILS 
A reduced schedule can be requested in writing by the parent or legal guardian of a pupil in grades 
9 through 12.  The request for a reduced schedule must demonstrate that the arrangement is in 
the best educational interest of the pupil.  Once approved, the district may schedule the pupil for 
no less than 80 percent of the hours required under Section 101 of the State School Aid Act (MCL 
388.1701) for districts operating on a traditional schedule; Districts operating on a block schedule 
must provide at least 75 percent of the hours required under Section 101. 

A) Requirements for Counting in Membership 

A local school district may count as 1.0 FTE a high school pupil with a reduced schedule of at 
least 80% of the minimum required hours; or, a district that operates on a four-block day 
schedule may count as 1.0 FTE a high school pupil with a reduced schedule of at least 75% of 
the minimum required hours, if the district has documented evidence that all the following 
occurred on or before the count date: 

1) The pupil must meet pupil membership eligibility requirements pursuant to Section 
6(4) or 6(6) of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1606) and any other applicable statute. 

2) The pupil shall be registered, enrolled, and participating in the course(s) pursuant 
to Section 6(4), Section 6(8) and Section 6a of the State School Aid Act (MCL 388.1606 and 
MCL 388.1606a). 

3) The pupil and/or pupil's parent/guardian submitted a written request for a reduced schedule 
that details the reason that a reduced schedule would be in the best educational interest of 
the pupil. If the pupil is less than 18 years of age, the request must be signed by both the 
pupil and the pupil’s parent(s)/legal guardian. If the pupil is 18 years of age or older, the 
request must be signed by the pupil. 

4) The local school district's counselor, or other authorized representative, evaluated the 
reason for the request and determined that a reduced schedule was in the best educational 
interest of the pupil. 

5) The local school district scheduled the pupil for at least 80% of the required minimum 
number of hours of instruction for the school year; or, in the case of a district that operates 
on a four blocks per day schedule, the district scheduled the pupil for at least 75% of the 
required minimum number of hours of instruction for the school year. 

B) Pupils Ineligible for Reduced Schedule 

The local school district may not grant a reduced schedule for any of the following reasons. 

1) The local school district collectively enrolled an entire class or category of pupils on a 
reduced schedule basis.  Reduced schedules must be considered on a case-by-case basis. 

2) The local school district granted a reduced schedule because the pupil needed less than the 
minimum hours to earn enough credits to graduate. 

3) The local school district established an alternative education program where each pupil in 
the program was separately judged to need a reduced schedule. Each program must offer 
the minimum required hours, except an alternative education program may apply to the 
Department for a waiver of the days and/or hours requirement. 

4) A reduced schedule cannot be granted, by a district, because there was an insufficient 
number of classrooms or certificated teachers to enroll a group of pupils in a class.  
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NOTE: The FTE for any pupil not receiving the minimum number of required hours of pupil 
instruction for a full-time pupil or the minimum number of hours for an approved reduced 
schedule must be computed according to part-time membership computation rules. 

C) Statutory References and Other References 

State Aid Act Section: 
388.1701(7)(c) 
 
Administrative Rule: 
R 340.7 
 

D) Questions and Answers 

Pupil wants to work: 

Q #1 A junior is working for 4 hours per night to earn money for the new snowmobile he 
wants. His parents submitted a reduced schedule request so that he could leave 
school earlier to work more hours to earn money. May this pupil be counted for a 
full FTE? 

A #1 No. Section 101(7)(c), of the State School Aid Act, reads in part: “A pupil in grades 
9 to 12 whom a reduced schedule is determined to be in the individual pupil’s best 
educational interest must be scheduled….”. While working and earning money for a 
snowmobile may be an educational experience, it is not in this student’s best 
educational interest to eliminate academic classes. The pupil’s FTE count must be 
prorated. 

Reduced schedule for a group: 

Q #2 A group of pupils are enrolled in a CTE class in a neighboring district. The high 
school class scheduling is such that these pupils cannot enroll in four class periods 
and the CTE class. Four class periods are necessary to be full time pupils. The 
actual travel time to the CTE class is not enough to cover the hours these pupils 
are short in order to be full time pupils. May we grant a reduced schedule to this 
group of pupils? 

A #2 No. Section 101(7)(c), of the State School Aid Act, reads in part: “A pupil in grades 
9 to 12 whom a reduced schedule is determined to be in the individual pupil’s best 
educational interest must be scheduled….”. A reduced schedule is for an individual 
pupil and cannot be granted to a group of students. Each pupil’s FTE count must 
be prorated. 

IEP for pupil on reduced schedule: 

Q #3 A special education pupil has a medical condition that makes it difficult to attend 
school for a full day. The pupil’s IEP determines that it is in this pupil’s best 
educational interest to attend school half days. May the district count this special 
education pupil for a full FTE? 

A #3 No. To be counted for a full FTE under the reduced schedule exemption the pupil 
must be enrolled for 80% of the minimum required hours. This pupil does not meet 
the criteria. However, if the IEP states that the pupil is only capable of attending 
school half time due to a medical reason and it is documented by medical or 
psychological personnel, the pupil can be counted as 1.0 FTE. 
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Dually Enrolled: 

Q #4 A pupil is dually enrolled taking four courses at the college and two classes at the 
high school. The high school operates on a four-block schedule. The pupil, in 
essence, is scheduled for three classes per day. May the district count this pupil for 
1.0 FTE? 

A #4 Yes. A reduced schedule for a pupil attending a high school on a four-block 
schedule needs to meet the 75% requirement of the minimum required hours. 
75% of a four-block schedule is three blocks. The dually enrolled pupil may be 
counted for a full FTE if the pupil is scheduled for three courses per day. (See 
Section 5G page 5, Postsecondary – Dual Enrollment, section D – how to count the 
FTE for a Dually enrolled Pupil, #2 covering reduced schedules.) 
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