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REMINDER TO DISTRICTS THAT PLEDGED THEIR AUGUST PAYMENT 
Approximately 180 school districts participated in the Michigan Municipal Bond Authority’s (MMBA) State 
Aid Note (SAN) Program 2005B-2 and Program 2006A, and pledged their August 2006 school aid 
payment to J.P. Morgan Chase Bank and Wells Fargo Bank respectively.  If your district participated in 
one of these programs, please be reminded that your August payment will not be deposited in your bank 
account.  Rather, your payment will be deposited with J.P. Morgan Chase Bank or Wells Fargo Bank and 
any excess funds will be returned to the school by them.  If you have questions contact Lois Sauers, 
Michigan Municipal Bond Authority (517) 373-1728 or SauersL@Michigan.gov. 
 
AUGUST PAYMENT INFORMATION 
The August state school aid payment is the 11th and final payment of the 2005-2006 year.   
Updated categoricals – The following categoricals were updated in the August payment although the 
updates may not have affected the allocation amounts for all districts.  If the allocation amount for your 
district has changed and you have questions concerning that change, contact the consultants identified 
below:   

• Section 32d – Michigan School Readiness – Connie Robinson, School Excellence, (517) 241-
4291, RobinsonConnie@Michigan.gov. 

• Section 107 – Adult Education-Joellen Wonsey, State Aid and School Finance, (517) 373-3352, 
WonseyJ@Michigan.gov. 

 
FY 2007 SCHOOL AID 
Enrolled Senate Bill 1095 was signed by the Governor on August 15, 2006 and enacted into law as P.A. 
342 of 2006.  There were no vetoes.  Some key aspects of the act were outlined in the July 2006 
UPDATE.  For an analysis of the bill or to view it in its entirety, go to www.Michiganlegislature.org and 
key in 1095 for the bill number.   
 
SECTION 56 AND 62 RECALCULATED FOR AUGUST PAYMENT 
P.A. 342 of 2006 amends the formulas in Sections 56 (ISD Special Education Millage Equalization) and 
Section 62 (ISD Vocational Education Millage Equalization) for the current year (FY 2006) to have 
eligibility based on a taxable valuation of $142,900 and $152,000 respectively.  These new thresholds 
were used in the August payment calculations.  This caused a proration in Section 56 of .9962960724.   

 
NOTICE REGARDING THE REGISTRY OF EDUCATIONAL PERSONNEL 
The Center for Educational Performance Information (CEPI) collects the Registry of Educational 
Personnel (REP) data on behalf of the Department.  School Districts and public school academies are 
required by the State School Aid Act to submit all required data to CEPI in a timely manner.  All REP 
data were due to CEPI by June 30, 2006.  The School Safety Legislation (2005 PA 129-131 and 138) 
that went into effect January 1, 2006 requires the submission of all individuals who are regularly and 
continuously employed full or part time for a school district, intermediate school district or public school 
academy.  A validation of the End-of-Year 2006 REP submission has revealed that a few districts 
reported an invalid social security number for more than 20% of their submitted records.  This 
constitutes an incomplete data submission.  Social Security numbers are required so that the Michigan 
State Police (MSP) may complete a check of all regularly and continuously employed individuals against 
the MSP conviction database.  Five percent of the FY 2006 state school aid is being withheld 
from the August payment for the districts with an incomplete REP submission.  The withheld 
amount will appear on the State Aid Financial Status Report as a negative under the section labeled 
“Current Year Allowances” on a line labeled “REP Deduct.”  The REP application will reopen from August 
16, 2006 through August 25, 2006 so that districts may complete the REP submission.  It is mandatory 
that districts finalize the submission during this extension period so that the data can be forwarded to 
the MSP.   We appreciate your attention to this matter and your cooperation to ensure complete and 
accurate reporting.  For questions regarding the REP submission, please contact the DIT Client Service 
Center via e -mail at Help-Desk@Michigan.gov, or call (517) 335-0505.   
    
WITHHOLDING OF SECTION 31A AT-RISK PUPILS PAYMENT 
Pursuant to State School Aid Act Section 31a(7), local districts and public school academies that did not 
submit the 2005-2006 Section 31a Program report by July 15 will have the August portion of the annual 
At-Risk allocation withheld until the Department receives the report.  If the report is not received by  



 
 
September 30, the withheld funds will be forfeited.  Please note that if the Office of State Aid and School 
Finance received notification from the Office of School Improvement that a report was received prior to 
the calculation of the August payment, the funds were not withheld.  Questions may be directed to Judy 
Thelen, Office of School Improvement, (517) 335-1266 or e -mail ThelenJA@Michigan.gov.  The 2005-
2006 Section 31a Program Report form is available in the Michigan Electronic Grants System (MEGS) at 
http://megs.mde.stat.mi.us/megs/. 
 
MEDICAID INDIRECT COST RATE 
In order for districts to receive more accurate reimbursement for providing Medicaid services, the 
Department will begin calculating a new indirect cost rate.  The calculation of this rate will incorporate a 
25% cap, as opposed to the current cap of 15%.  This rate is to be used for the purposes of Medicaid 
School Based Services reimbursement only and will be referred to on indirect cost reports as the 
Medicaid rate.  More details will be forthcoming in future State School Aid UPDATES as rates are 
developed.   Questions may be directed to Phil Boone, Office of State Aid and School Finance, (517) 
335-4059 or BooneP2@michigan.gov.  
 
FY 2007ADULT EDUCATION 
P.A. 342 of 2006 (see item above) increases the appropriation for Adult Education programs by $3 
million to $24 million for FY 2007.  The appropriation breakdown is as follows.  

• $22,500,000 for districts and consortia that received Section 107 funds in 2005-06. 
• $1,500,000 for districts and consortia that did not receive Section 107 funds in 2005-06 as 

follows:  At least $1,300,000, but not more than $1,400,000, for NEW districts and consortia 
only and up to $200,000 for expansion of not more than one existing innovative community 
college program that focuses on educating adults. 

All districts and consortia must notify the Department of Labor and Economic Growth (DLEG) of their 
intent to operate  or not operate an adult education program during FY 2007 by submitting a Program 
Operation form.  The form must be received in the DLEG, Office of Adult Education by September 22, 
2006.   Information and forms will be available next week on the Office of Adult Education website at 
www.michigan.gov/adulteducation, under “What’s New.”  DLEG Office of Adult Education Contact 
Person:  Sandy Thelen, State Funds Coordinator, 517-373-3395, thelensj@michigan.gov. 
 
IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER 

• October 24, 2006 is the date of the annual MDE/MSBO Fall Workshop at the Sheraton in 
Novi.  Mark your calendar. 

• Pursuant to Public Act 141 of 1999, unless it conflicts with a calendar agreed to as part of a 
current collective bargaining agreement that was in effect as of May 1, 1999, school is not to 
be in session on Friday, September 1, the Friday before Labor Day. 

• Wednesday, September 27 is the pupil membership count day for 2006-2007 and the 
second adult education participant count day of the year.  (Joellen Wonsey, (517) 373-3352, 
WonseyJ@Michigan.gov). 

• The SE-4096 Special Education Cost Report for the 2005-2006 school fiscal year is due on 
September 30.  (Dianne Easterling, (517) 373-6488,  EasterlingD@Michigan.gov). 

• The October 20, 2006 state school aid payment is the first payment of the 2006-2007 fiscal 
year.  There is no September school aid payment. 

• Districts are required to report by November 1 to the local health department the 
immunization status of all students entering kindergarten or a new school in grades 1-12.  
Also, districts are required to report by November 1 to the local health department the 
immunization status of all pupils who enrolled in grade 6 in the district or ISD for the first 
time between January 1 and September 30, 2005.  (Patty Lawless (517) 373-1122, 
LawlessP@Michigan.gov). 

• November 1 is the deadline for local districts (including PSAs) to file their FY2006 financial 
audit report with the ISDs.  Both the financial and pupil accounting audit reports are 
due to the Department on November 15.  Failure to file these reports will result in the 
withholding of state aid.  (Kathy Weller, (517) 335-6858, WellerK@Michigan.gov). 

• The 2005-2006 FID – Annual Comprehensive Financial Report is due from local and 
intermediate districts to CEPI by November 15.  Failure to file these reports will result in the 
withholding of state aid.  (Glenda Rader, (517) 335-0524, RaderG@Michigan.gov). 

Proration factors:  Section 31a – At-Risk funding is $173.8909901858 per pupil. 
Do you have questions about the information appearing in this UPDATE?  Call the consultants identified above or Dan Hanrahan, 
Director, State Aid and School Finance, MDE, phone:  (517) 335-0521, fax:  (517) 241-0196 , e-mail:  

HanrahanD@Michigan.gov. 


