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Your Guide to

Certification




The Michigan Lead Abatement &ct of 1938 requires
anyone performing lead-based paint abatement activi-
ties to be certified by the Healthy Homes Section
(HHS) of the Michigan Department of Community
Health (MDCH). Lead-based paint abatement activi-
ties include identifying or remowving lead-based paint
i residential hotes, child day care facilities, and
schools for children under six years old.

To hecome certified o do lead abatement,

¥ou need to...

O Choose the lead professional that you want to be:
Inspector, Risk Assessor, Supervisor, Worker,
or Project Designer (see pages 7 - 9 for descrip-
tions);

O Ensure that yvou meet the education and experi-
ence requirements;,

O Attend and pass the corresponding training class
(see Lead Training Course Schedule on the web-
site: www richizan sov/leadsafe » Lead Profes-
sionals = Lead Training Course Schedule). You

are responsible for paying training costs.
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Iail completed application, copy of training certificate,
proof of education andfor wotle experience, and fee payment.
Please address tmail to:

MDCH - Accounting Division
PO Box 20437

Lanszing, I 4520%

O Faszs a state test within & months of completing vour lead
training class. Your test date will be set up by the Pro-
gratn after receiving your application You will hawve up

to 3 opportunities to pass within the & months, and;

O Carry vour phote ID card when vou perform lead worle

O Perform all work in accordance with State laws and
regulations. & compliance assistance program 13 avail-
able to all certified individuals. You may call 517-235-
9290 to set up an appointment for someone to come and
evaluate yvour abatement worlsite set-up or yvour work

practices.
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Training Classes

To become a Certified Lead Abatement
Contractor, you need to....

Abatement Supervisors and Workers must be emploved by a
Certified Lead Abatement Contractor in order to do lead
abatement wotll in Michigan To become a Certified Abate-

tment Contractor:

m Download the Contractor Certification application
from the MDCH website at: www michigan gowileadsafe =
Lead Professionals = Forms, or request one from the HHS.

m I{ail completed application listing all lead-certified em-
plovees (at least one Abatement Supervisor 15 required), pro-
vide a copy of Michigan Workers” Compensation tnsurance

(1f wou have emplovees), and fee payment. Please mail to:

WMDCH - Accounting Division
PO Box 20437

Lansing, I 45209
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The training classes are taught by private training companies
that are approved by MDOCH, The total training days for

each of the certified disciplines are:

o Abatement Worker—3 days

o Abatement Supervisor—4 days

s Project Designer—1 day (the Supervisor course 1z a
prereduisite.

o Inspector—3 days

o« Eisk Assessor—2 daws (the Inspector course 1z a
prerequisite)

Training costs vary by trainer, but prices range from $100 to
$150 per day.

Training providers are located throughout the State. They
are required to notify the Healthy Homes Section seven days
betore providing a class. A complete list of current classes
1z available on State of Michigan website at

www. michigan govileadsafe > Lead Professionals = Lead
Training Course Schedule. Courses and trainer contact
information are avatlable there. The list changes frequently
as new classes are added. A list of all training prowviders 13
available at www michigan gowleadsafe = Lead
Professionals == Accredited Lead Training Providers.
Training providers may also be contacted directly for class
availability. The prospective student must contact the

training prowvider to register to attend a class.
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The Certification Cycle

For certified individuals you will recetve a certification card
that 15 valid until March 31st of each year. An annual fee 15
due by MMarch 21 for the following 12 months.  You will re-
ceive a letter and renewal application from the Department
each year as a reminder. After fees are paid, you will receive
anew card. Every 2 years, yvou must take a one-day re-
fresher course and re-take the state exam. You are required

to register directly with our section to take this exam.

For abatement contractors the certification 15 wvalid until De-
cember 31st of each year. You will receive a letter and re-
newal application from the Department each vear as are-
minder. After fees are patd vou will receive a new certifi-

cate.
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The Fenovation, Repair and Painting (REP)
Program Rule

The Eenovation, Eepair and Painting (EEP) Program Eule 1s
Federal law enacted by the Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) in April 2008 and went into full effect in
April 207100 Ttrequires anvone disturbing paint on a residen-
tial dwelling or child-occupied facility, and recetving com-
pensation (money, rent reduction, barter, etc.), to receive
training and have thewr company certified by the EPA This
law applies to anyone disturbing more than 6 square feet per
interior room of 20 square feet on the exterior and includes,
bt 15 not limited to, carpenters, painters, plumbers, roofers,

electricians, floor covering installers, and HV A installers.

Being lead abatement certified does not eliminate the need to
tor EEF traiming and firm certification. They are separate
lawes with separate sets of requirements. For more informa-
tion regarding EPA s Eenovation, Eepair and Painting Eule
please go to www.epa gowlead and click on the link for

Eenovation, Eepar and Painting.
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Lead Resources and Contact Information

IS Enwironmental Protection Agency (U5 EPA) Region 5

Waste, Pesticides, and Tozics Division
TTW. Jackson Blvd DT-8

312-586-Ta30
www. epa gowlead

HUD — Local Office
IMcMatmara Federal Building
477 Michigan Ave.

Detroit, I 48226
313-226-7900

wwrw hud. gowllead

Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MEHDA)
735 E. Michigan Ave

FP.O. Box 30044

Lansing, MI 48909

S51°7-373-8370

v rnichigan gowinshda

Michigan Department of Community Health
Healthy Homes Section

P.O. Box 30195

Lansing, MI 42909

517-335-9390 - phone

517-335-8500 - fax

A66-691-LEAD (5323) - toll free

www rmichigan gowlleadsafe

Dept. of Licensing and Eegulator Affairs (LARA) - MIOSHA
FP.O. Bozx 30004

Lansing, MI 48909

S17-373-1820

Wt gowiminsha

Pagell




Michigan Dept. of Community Health
Healthy Homes Section

PO Box 301%5
Lanzing, Michigan 455%0%
Phone: 217-335-8466
Toll-Free: 1-866-621-5323
Fas: 517-335-8800

For application forms, Michigan lead laws,
lead work practices, and educational

materials, visit our website at:

www.michigan.cov/leadsafe

For a link to the cumrent training course schedule go to
www.michigan.gov/leadsafe > Lead Professionals = Lead

Training Course Schedule. New classes are regularly
added so 1f there 15 no class in your area check back

trequently.

Michigan Department
af )G nﬁmmuﬁﬁ Health
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