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Captain’s Corner

Michigan crash statistics for 2002 have been released with both good and bad news
on the commercial vehicle front. First, the good news. The total number of crashes
involving a CMV decreased from 17,692 in 2001 to 16,789 last year, a reduction of 5
percent. Even better news is that the number of CMV involved injury crashes fell by
ahuge 31 percent, from 3,090 in 2001 to 2,133 in 2002.

Now for the bad news. Fatal crashes involving a CMV rose last year to 132. This
represents an 8 percent increase when compared to the 122 fatal crashes in 2001.
While this increase is most unwelcome, the number of fatal crashes in 2002 is still well
below the last ten-year average of 144 fatal CMV crashes each year. Nationally, CMV
fatal crashes decreased by 3.5 percent last year.

I recently attended a U.S. Department of Transportation Leadership Conference in
Lexington, Kentucky, where Undersecretary of Transportation, Michael Jackson,
stated that the goal of USDOT is to reduce the number of fatalities that occur each
year on our nation’s highways by 41 percent by the year 2008. Last year, 42,850
persons lost their lives on our nation’s highways. Thus, our five-year goal is to save
9,000 lives annually.

How can such dramatic change occur? It can only take place through cooperative
efforts and by making traffic safety a priority of every law enforcement agency. In
this regard I need your help! We only have 120 Motor Carrier Officers statewide,
with many of them concentrated near our scale sites. Not every post or county has
an officer assigned. If we are to achieve further reductions in CMV crashes, all patrol
officers must recognize and embrace CMV enforcement as an important part of their
daily enforcement activities.

New programs and regulations can also help to enhance safety on our highways.
Three such initiatives are being implemented. First, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration’s New Entrant Program which will require all new motor carriers en-
gaging in interstate commerce to undergo a safety audit within their first 18 months
of operation. The idea is to help ensure new motor carriers get off on the right foot
and establish sound practices early on.

continued on page 4
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Normal and Designated Weights

In the last edition, we discussed Special Designated Highways
and the weights allowed on those roads, most notably the Bridge
Formula. In this Quarterly, we'll discuss the normal loading maxi-
mums and designated loading maximums, except for tandem-
tandem vehicles.

Subsection 257.722(6) is Michigan’s maximum wheel load
law. This provision states that for enforcement purposes, the tire
manufacturer’s rated size will be used. Whenever an officer is
determining legal weights by tire size, the officer must use the
manufactured rated width, not the measured width. This subsec-
tion also states that the maximum wheel load allowed on any
one tire is 700 lbs. per inch of tire width.

Therefore, a tire rated at 10" in width would be allowed 7,000
lbs. Assuming its companion on the other side is the same width,
the axle would be allowed a maximum of 14,000 lbs. With
dual tires of the same size, the weight would double, except that
it is limited by other provisions of the section, depending upon
axle spacings. Generally, rated tire size is only a factor on steer-
ing axles.

The phrase “spacing between axles” is defined in Section 257.61
("Axle” is defined in Section 257.3). Axle spacing is deter-
mined by measuring the distance from axle center to axle center.
An accurate tape measure is a necessity.

Subsections (1), (2), and (3) of Section 257.722 set the
maximum weights for normal and designated roads. Remember,
the agency that has jurisdiction over the road must officially “des-
ignate” the road for it to receive anything more than normal
weights.

Subsection (1), the normal |oac|ing maximum, allows the fol-
lowing, provided it does not exceed the maximum wheel load

(257.722(6)):

* |f the axles are less than 3’6" apart, each axle is allowed
9,000 lbs. maximum

* |f the axles are more than 3’6" apart, but less than 9" apart,
each axle is allowed 13,000 lbs. maximum

* |f the axles are more than 9’ apart, each axle is allowed 18,000

lbs. maximum

Michigan has no weight tolerances, so any amount of overage is
in violation. Also, the law does not specify what the weight is
allowed for axles that are exactly 3'6" or 9" apart. It is Motor

Carrier Division policy to provide the higher weights to axles that
are exactly at the break point.

Section 257.676 defines “tadem axle” and 257.67a defines
“tandem axles assembly.” Both of these terms use the same mea-
surement, requiring two axles spaced more than 3’6" and less
than 9 apart. The definitions differ in that “tandem axle assem-
bly” requires a connecting mechanism that attempts to distribute
the weight equally between the two axles. Because of the diffi-
culty in determining this provision, Motor Carrier Divisin policy
uses the two terms interchangeably.

Subsections (2) and (3) of Section 257.722 set the maximums
for designated roads. They state:

“When normal loading is in effect, the state transportation de-
partment, or a local authority with respect to highways under its
jurisdiction, may designate certain highways, or sections of those
highways, where bridges and road surfaces are adequate for heavier
loading, and revise a designation as needed, on which the maxi-
mum tandem axle assembly loading shall not exceed 16,000
pounds for any axle of the assembly, if there is no other axle
within 9 feet of any axle of the assembly.”

“(3) On a legal combination of vehicles, only 1 tandem axle
assembly shall be permitted on the designated highways at the
gross permissible weight of 16,000 pounds per axle, if there is
no other axle within 9 feet of any other axle of the assemb|y, and
if no other tandem axle assembly in the combination of vehicles
exceeds a gross weight of 13,000 pounds per axle.”

An example of the qualifying provision in Subsection (3) is of-
fered below:

Actual GW = 96,000
Legal GW = 84,000 (from 90,000)

15 % ’ 10°-3” ‘ 9°-4”
AN |
Actual - 13,000 19,000 18,000 16,000
Legal - 14,000 13,000 13,000 18,000

Tire Size
10R22.5

/N

15,000
13,000

15,000
13,000

Because both tandems exceed 13,000 lbs. each, neither tandem
is eligible for the 16,000 lbs. provision. If the back tandem had
weights of 13,000 lbs. or less each, then the front tandem could
receive 16,000 lbs. each. Also, note that the law does not
specify which tandem is provided the 16,000 Ibs. provision.

Either tandem could receive it. It is Motor Carrier Division policy
to give the 16,000 lbs. provision to the tandem that would
receive the most benefit from it.

Suggestions or comments should be submitted to Lt. David Ford, 517-336-6449, Fax 517-333-4414, email forddw@michigan.gov
Check us on the web! www.michigan.gov/msp. You will find us under "Services to Governmental Agencies”
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Bus Regulations

School Buses

The Pupil Transportation Act (Act 187
of 1990) regulates the use and standards
of school buses. There are some things
that CMV officers should be aware of.

Section 257.1833(2) prohibits a bus,
other than a school bus, from being
painted in whole or in part, the colors
and design specified for school buses.
The only exception is when school buses
are used in seasonal agricultural trans-
portation. This means that if someone
buys a used school bus for personal or
commercial use, it must be repainted.
Specifically, the color “national school
bus chrome yellow” is prohibited.

Sections 257.1865 and 1867 allow pub-
lic schools to contract to non-profit or-
ganizations, other government agencies,
or for retired, disabled, or senior citi-
zens for non-pupil transportation using
school buses. These operations are sub-
ject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations (FMCSR) through the
Michigan Motor Bus Transportation Act
(Act 432 of 1982, 474.101-141).

Officers should be alert to school bus
operations in the summer time, particu-
larly if all or most of the passengers
are adults. Typically, this indicates a
contract operation, and therefore is sub-
ject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations (FMCSR) as a motor car-
rier of passengers.

Motor Carriers of Passengers
Under the FMCSR, contract school bus

operations, as well as buses operated by
churches, non-profit groups, and by
businesses for employee transportation,
are considered Private Motor Cartiers
of Passengers (PMCP). Attached is a
flyer that explains the PMCP require-
ments.

Buses offering private transportation
are subject to the FMCSR through the

Michigan Motor Carrier Safety Act (Act
181 of 1963). For-hire passenger trans-
portation is not subject to Act 181 (see
definition of “bus” in Section
480-11a(2)(b)), but is subject to the
FMCSR through the Michigan Motor
Bus Transportation Act (Act 432 of
1982, 474.101-141).

For vehicles fewer than 16 passengers
engaged in for-hire transportation, the
Michigan Limousine Transportation Act
applies (Act 271 of 1990, 257.1901-
1939). This Act does not adopt the
FMCSR. Both the Limousine Trans-
portation Act and the Motor Bus Trans-
portation Act certification programs are
administered by the Michigan Depart-
ment of Transportation.

Farm/Special Farm/Milk/Log
Plates

Michigan provides registration plates
to certain agricultural industries at re-
duced fees (compared to EGVW
plates). This article will examine the
requirements of those registrations.

Farm Plates

Subsection 257.801(1)(c) allows a
truck or truck/road tractor owned by a
farmer to display farm plates provided:

¢ Itis used exclusively in connection
with a farming operation, including
transporting livestock or farm equip-
ment for other farmers for remunera-
tion in kind or in labor, but not for
money; or

* |t is used for the transportation of
the farmer and the farmer’s family, and
not used for hire.

While the terms “farming” and “farmer”
are not defined in the Motor Vehicle
Code, there have been several court
cases and at least one Attorney’s
General opinion on this issue. The
courts have generally held that there
must be some “cultivation of the soil”

or “the production of raw food...and
includes the production of poultry or
livestock.”

Attorney General Opinion No. 3506
stated that a “farming operation in-
cludes farming, tillage of the soil, dairy
farming, ranching, production or rais-
ing of crops, poultry or livestock...”
The terms “farming” and “farmer” are
subject to interpretation by local
courts, but based on the above, MCD
believes that a farm plate is inappro-
priate for landscaping operations.

The transportation of live plants to a
retail outlet would be a legitimate use
of the farm plate, provided it is in fur-
therance of a farming or horticultural
operation. Also, a farmer can use a
farm-plated vehicle for personal rec-
reational use.

Special Farm Plates

Special Farm plates are identified by
the letter “F” in the middle of the reg-
istration number. As these plates are
only $20 for a year, their use is very
restricted.

Section 257.802(9) states that a spe-
cial farm plate may be used on a
truck or truck/road tractor exclusively
for:

e Gratuitously transporting farm
crops or livestock bedding (defined in
subsection (b) as straw, sawdust, or
sand) between the field where pro-
duced and the place of storage:

* Feed (defined in subsection (a) as
hay or silage) from on-farm storage
to an on-farm feeding site; OR

* Fertilizer, seed, or spray material
from the farm location to the field.

Any other use of this plate is illegal.

Log Plates

Log plates are addressed in Subsec-
tion 257.801(1)(d). The law provides
that the truck or truck/road tractor
must be owned by a wood harvester
and used exclusively in connection
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with the wood harvesting operation. A
wood harvesteris “...the person or per-
sons hauling and transporting raw
materials in the form produced at the
harvest site. As used in this subdivi-
sion, “wood-harvesting operations”
does notinclude the transportation of
processed lumber, Christmas trees, or
processed firewood for a profit making
venture.”

Generally speaking, a company that
offers tree-trimming (not harvesting)
services would not be eligible for a log
plate. Those companies that do har-
vest the entire tree, even on residen-
tial property, would be eligible for log
plates.

Milk Plates

As of March 27, 2000, milk transport-
ers are permitted to purchase regis-
tration plates at the Farm/Log plate
rate, provided the vehicle is “...used
exlusively to haul milk from the farm
to the first point of delivery...” (Sub-
section 257.801(1)(d)). The Secretary
of State used the Farm/Log stickers
until Milk stickers became available,
so some of these vehicles may dis-
play Farm/Log stickers.

For any agricultural operation operat-
ing on a restricted plate, officers should
ask detailed questions about how the
registration plate is being used before
taking enforcement action. Also, lo-
cal courts vary on their interpretation
of the statute language.

REMINDERS

* Intrastate USDOT Numbers:
There have been some reports that
Michigan requires carriers that never
leave the state of Michigan to obtain
a USDOT number. While USDOT
and Michigan are discussing this is-
sue, there is no requirement for
Michigan-only carriers to obtain a
USDOT Number. USDOT now has
a system in place to issue USDOT
Numbers to intrastate carriers.
However, Michigan is currently not
mandating intrastate carriers to reg-
ister or obtain a number.

* Be sure to fill out the CMV Quar-
terly Survey included with this news-
letter! We really need your input, and
the first 70 survey responses will
receive a free pocket edition of the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regu-
lations!

Captain’s Corner continued:

The second new development is the
recent release of an interim final rule
by FMCSA on Hours of Service. The
new hours of service regulations rep-
resents the first re-write of this rule
since 1939, and takes effect on Janu-
ary 4,2003. The new hours of service
regulations have been adopted into
state law by reference and will apply
to both interstate and intrastate op-
erations in Michigan. Look for an ar-
ticle on hours of service in the Octo-
ber newsletter.

FMCSA and the Transportation Se-
curity Administration (TSA) has an-
nounced the requirements for back-
ground checks for holders of a com-
mercial drivers license (CDL) with a
hazmat endorsement. The goal of this
initiative is to help prevent both do-
mestic and foreign terrorists from gain-
ing access to a CMV carrying a haz-
ardous materials.

Details involving these programs may
be found on the internet at
www.fmcsa.dot.gov.

In closing I want to once again en-
courage you to become actively in-
volved in the drive to make our high-
ways safer, especially with regard to
large trucks. If we can help you to
help us, please don’t hesitate to let us
know.

Have a safe and enjoyable summer!

This publication funded by a grant administered by the Michigan Truck Safety Commission.

The opinions, findings, and conclusions expressed by this

publication are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the Michigan Truck Safety Commission or the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning.



