Frequently Asked Questions

1. How can my facility become a GED Testing Center?

Testing Centers may only be established in:

· Accredited high schools, and institutions of higher learning;

· Military installations overseas or in the United States as approved by the Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES;)

· Veterans Administration (VA) hospitals and medical centers;

· Federal correctional and health installations;

· Jurisdictional correctional facilities that have established a school inside the facility as part of their overall rehabilitation programs.

2. How long will the process take before we can begin giving the GED Tests?

That depends on each applicant’s readiness plan.  For example, a readiness plan would require:

· Clerical support staff to sign a security memorandum stating that they will not share a GED candidate’s score and other test-related data with anyone not authorized to be in receipt of such information.

· GED Chief Examiners to have at least a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university AND must have experience in teaching, training, counseling, or testing.

· GED Examiners to have at least an associate’s degree from an accredited college or university AND must have at least 3 years’ experience in test administration, teaching, training, or counseling.

· GED Proctors to have a high school diploma or GED diploma or certificate.

· Examiners to be trained in GED test administration and security prior to administering the tests themselves.  These examiners must train under an experienced examiner and be involved in a minimum of 2 full test administrations under the supervision of an experienced examiner.

3. If approved, could my GED Testing Center restrict testing to only residents in my community?

No.  Official GED Testing Centers must be accessible to anyone, at least 16 years of age wishing to test, regardless of their residential geographical locale.

(Note:  Individuals under 18 years old but at least 16 years old who have not been out of school one calendar year must qualify for an under 18 age waiver to take the GED tests; or be enrolled in the Michigan Youth Challenge Program; or have been home schooled and the home school facility is registered with the Michigan Department of Education).

4. Would my GED Testing Center be expected to provide special testing accommodations to candidates who make such requests?  

Yes.

5. I run a small scale GED Testing program.  Can I turn away (refer them to other centers) candidates in need of special testing accommodations?

No.

6. Purchasing an audiocassette edition, a scribe, or vision-enhancing devices is expensive.  Can I charge an additional fee for providing these types of special testing accommodations?

No, it is against federal law.  A testing center cannot charge an extra fee to candidates needing special testing accommodations.  Testing centers engaged in such practices are subject to immediate closure.
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