Legislative Update for Year 2000

Motor Vehicle Code

Drivers Must Move Over for Stationary Emergency Vehicles

MCL 257.653a Amends the Motor Vehicle Code to require drivers to move over
one lane when possible if approaching a stationary emergency vehicle which has
its emergency lights activated. Effective date March 28, 2001.

Minors Cannot Ride in the Bed of Pickup Trucks

MCL 257.682b Amends the Motor Vehicle Code to prohibit a person under the
age of 18 from riding in the open bed of a pickup at a speed greater than 15
miles per hour. The operator of the vehicle is responsible for a civil infraction.

This law does not apply to a vehicle moving as part of a parade, a military
vehicle, an authorized emergency vehicle, a vehicle operated by an employer or
employee of a farm operation, construction business, or similar business during
the course of work activities, or a vehicle used to transport a search and rescue
team to and from the site of an emergency. Effective March 28, 2001.

Motorcycle Seizure Reguirements

MCL 257.230 Amends the Motor Vehicle Code to permit a police officer to seize
and secure a motorcycle that does not have a visible VIN to determine if it was
stolen or otherwise in violation of law. Unless otherwise required by law, the
motorcycle must be returned to the person from whom it was seized or the lawful
owner within 30 calendar days. If the motorcycle is unlawfully held for longer
than 30 days, a civil action could be filed against the police agency and the
agency may be liable for damages and attorney fees. Effective March 28, 2001.

Abandoned Vehicles May Be Removed 24 Hours After Tagging

MCL 257.252a Amends the Motor Vehicle Code to allow the removal of vehicles
from a state trunkline highway if the vehicle has been inspected and an
abandoned vehicle sticker has been affixed and the vehicle was not removed
within 24 hours. A state trunkline highway is defined as a roadway that is
designated by an “I” (I-75), “US”(US-2), or “M"(M-53). Effective October 16, 2000.

Parking in a Fire Lane

MCL 257.674 Amends the Motor Vehicle Code to add an additional violation of
parking in a place or manner that blocks access to a space clearly designated as
a fire lane. Effective October 1, 2000.

No Need for Bells on Bikes
MCL 257.662 Amends the Michigan Vehicle Code to repeal the requirement that
bicycles be equipped with a bell or similar device. Effective June 1, 2000.
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Surge Brakes on Commercial Vehicles

MCL 480.13a Amends the Motor Carrier Safety Act to permit trailers with a gross
vehicle weight (GVW) or gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of up to 15,000 or
trailer-vehicle combinations with an actual GVW or GVWR of up to 26,000
pounds to be equipped with surge brakes for intrastate operation under the
Michigan vehicle code. Effective June 27, 2000.

School Zone Speed Limits

MCL 257.627a Amends the Michigan Vehicle Code’s provisions on school zone
speed limits to permit school zones at high schools and areas where students
are transported to school by motor vehicles. In addition, the bill requires that the
school speed limits be in force at least 30 minutes before but not more than one
hour preceding the start and dismissal of school. Effective May 22, 2000.

Most Motor Carrier Violations Now Civil Infractions

MCL 480.17 et al. Amends the Motor Carrier Safety Act to create all previous
misdemeanor violations, except hazardous materials violations, as civil
infractions. Effective March 15, 2000.

Low Speed Vehicles
MCL 257.217b et al. Adds sections 25b, 606a, and 658b Amends the Motor
Vehicle Code to allow the use of low speed vehicles on public roads under the
general provisions that prescribe the conditions for operating a bicycle or moped.
Effective July 1, 2000.

Blocking of Handicapped Ramps

MCL 257.674 and 257.252d Amends the Motor Vehicle Code to prohibit a
vehicle from parking in an area that interferes with the use of a curb cut or ramp
by persons with disabilities and allows for the removal of the vehicle. Violation is
a civil infraction. Effective October 1, 2000.

ORV Prohibited if Driver Suspended
MCL 324.81140a If a person’s driving privileges are suspended or revoked in

Michigan or another state they may not operate an ORV in Michigan for the same
period of time. This law does not apply to watercraft. Effective October 1, 2000.

Criminal Law

Prohibited Message Posting

MCL 750.411s Amends the Michigan Penal Code to specify that a person
cannot post a message, to or about an individual, through the use of any medium
of communication, including the internet or a computer, computer program,
computer system, or computer network, or other electronic medium of
communication, without that individual’'s consent. Effective April 1, 2001.




Legislative Update 2000
Page 3

Identity Fraud

MCL 750.285 Amends the Michigan Penal Code making it a felony to obtain or
attempt to obtain personal identity information with the intent to unlawfully use
that information for the following purposes:

To obtain financial credit.

To purchase, obtain, or lease any real or personal property.

To obtain employment.

To obtain access to medical records or information contained in
medical records.

5. To commit any illegal act.

P wnE

Personal identity information is defined as a Social Security Number, a drivers
license number or state identification number, employment information or
information regarding any financial account held by another person such as
savings, checking, or credit card account numbers. Effective April 1, 2001.

Juror Intimidation and Obstruction of Justice
MCL 750.120a Increases the penalties for juror intimidation and retaliation
against a juror.

MCL 750.483a Adds prohibitions against obstructing justice, interfering with a
police investigation, and altering or concealing evidence.

MCL 750.122 Adds prohibitions against interfering with and retaliating against a
witness.

MCL 750.119 Clarifies the penalties for the crime of corrupting or attempting to
corrupt by the giving, offering, or promising a gift or gratuity for the purpose of
influencing the decision of an appraiser, receiver, trustee, administrator,
executor, commissioner, auditor, juror, arbitrator, or referee. Effective date March
28, 2001.

Bomb Threats

MCL 750.411a Amends the Michigan Penal Code to clarify language of the
bomb threat statute. The revised statute prohibits knowingly making a false
report of a bombing or attempted bombing or a threat to bomb. The threat must
be communicated to another person. First offense is a 4-year felony and a
second or subsequent offense is a 10-year felony. The bill also includes
language that allows a court to order a person convicted under this section to pay
the response costs to the governmental agencies for answering the bomb threat.
Effective April 1, 2001.
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Stone Knives Are Not “Double-Edged Non Folding Stabbing Instruments”
MCL 750.222a Amends the Michigan Penal Code to exclude knives, tools,
implements, arrowheads, or artifacts manufactured from stone from “double-
edged non-folding stabbing instrument.” The exclusion does not include stone
knives being transported in a vehicle unless it was in a container and not
accessible to the driver. Effective December 27, 2000.

Felons and Body Armor

MCL 750.227g Creates a new section in the Michigan Penal Code prohibiting
anyone convicted of a violent felony from owning, possessing, or using body
armor. Effective October 10, 2000.

Vulnerable Adult Fraud

MCL 750.174a Establishes penalties for a person who was in a relationship of
trust with a vulnerable adult and through fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or
unjust enrichment used or attempted to obtain or use the vulnerable adult's
money or property for his or her own direct or indirect benefit. Effective
September 26, 2000.

lllegal Possession _of VIN Plates and Other Vehicle Identification
Instruments

MCL 750.415 Amends the Michigan Penal Code to prohibit a person from
knowingly possessing, buying, delivering, or offering to buy, sell, exchange, or
give away any of the following: vehicle identification number (VIN) plate, federal
safety certification label, anti-theft label, posident die stamps, Secretary of State
vehicle identification label, rosette rivet, or any reproduction of these items.

This also prohibits a person from buying, receiving, or obtaining control of a
motor vehicle or motor vehicle part with the intent of selling or disposing of the
vehicle or part with knowledge that the VIN has been altered.

If the identification of the motor vehicle or mechanical device cannot be
determined, the vehicle may be sold at public auction, used by the government
agency responsible for its seizure, or rendered as a scrap vehicle. Effective
October 1, 2000.

Sale of Children

MCL 750.136c Amends the Michigan Penal Code to add a section of law to
prohibit the sale of children. To transfer or attempt to transfer legal or physical
custody of a child under the age of 16 for money or other valuables, except as
otherwise permitted by law, would be a felony. Effective September 1, 2000.
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Controlled Substances

Methamphetamine
MCL 333.7401-7404, 7410a Amends the Public Health Code to increases
certain penalties relating to the drug methamphetamine.

» Possession of methamphetamine increases from a 2-year felony to a 10-year
felony.

» Manufacture, delivery, or possession with intent to deliver increases from a 7-
year felony to a 20-year felony.

The new public act also creates new crimes:

» 10-year felony to own or use a building, vehicle, structure, or place to
manufacture a controlled substance.

10-year felony to own or possess chemical laboratory equipment in order to
manufacture a controlled substance.

20-year felony for unlawfully disposing of hazardous wastes.

20-year felony if the violation occurs in the presence of a minor or occurs
within 500 feet of a residence, business, school, or church.

25-year felony if the violation involves a firearm.

These new penalties do not apply to cocaine and marijuana.

Effective January 1, 2001.
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GBL

MCL 333.7401-7410a Amends the Public Health Code to prohibit the
manufacture, delivery, or possession of Gamma-Butyrolactone (GBL), a
precursor to GHB, or any material containing GBL. Because GBL has legitimate
commercial uses, it is an affirmative defense to a prosecution if commercial use
can be proven. Effective January 1, 2001.

Nitrous Oxide (Laughing Gas)

MCL 752.272a Prohibits the sale or distribution of devices containing or devices
used to dispense any quantity of nitrous oxide (laughing gas). Exempts from the
law those who sell or distribute catering supplies or compressed gases for
industrial or medical use, pharmacists or health care professionals, and persons
licensed under the Food Processing Act of 1977. Effective January 1, 2001.

Sale of Alcohol Over Internet
MCL 436.1203 Amends the Liquor Control Code to expressly prohibit the sale of
alcoholic beverages to minors over the Internet. Effective July 10, 2000.




Legislative Update 2000
Page 6

Laws of Arrest

Adjacent State Police Officers’ Powers in Michigan

MCL 764.2b Allows a law enforcement officer of an adjacent state (Indiana,
Ohio, Minnesota, and Wisconsin) to have the same authority and immunity as a
law enforcement officer of Michigan if he or she is on duty, is authorized to arrest
in the adjacent state, and notifies a law enforcement agency in Michigan that he
or she is in Michigan for one of the following reasons:

A\

The officer is engaged in pursuing, arresting, or attempting to arrest an
individual for a violation of a law in an adjacent state.

The officer is in Michigan at the request of a Michigan police officer.

The officer is working in conjunction with a Michigan police officer.

The officer is responding to an emergency.

Effective October 17, 2000.
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93-Day Misdemeanor Arrest Authority

MCL 764.15 Amends the Code of Criminal Procedure to allow a peace officer to
make an arrest without a warrant for misdemeanors punishable by imprisonment
for more than 92 days if the officer has reasonable cause to believe a crime has
been committed and reasonable cause to believe the person committed the
crime. In addition, a peace officer may make an arrest without a warrant for any
misdemeanor committed on “school property” if the officer has reasonable cause
to believe a misdemeanor has or is taking place and reasonable cause to believe
the person is committing or has committed the violation. Effective August 21,
2000. See correspondence dated July 18, 2000, for further information.

PPO Arrest Authority

MCL 28.6 Amends Public Act 59 of 1935 which created the Department of
State Police to grant the Director and enlisted officers of the Department of State
Police the authority to serve domestic violence or ex parte personal protection
orders and to arrest anyone who violates such orders. See correspondence
dated May 26, 2000, for more information. Effective July 1, 2000.

Miscellaneous

New CCW Law

MCL 28.421 et seq. Changes Michigan’s carrying concealed weapons (CCW)
law from “may issue” to “shall issue” permit process. This change requires
county gun boards to issue a CCW permit to an applicant if they have not been
convicted of a felony or found to be mentally ill. Those who have been convicted
of certain enumerated misdemeanors must wait eight years to apply for a permit
and those convicted of ANY misdemeanor must wait three years to apply for a
permit. There are numerous other requirements in the law that will be addressed
through forthcoming official correspondence. Effective July 1, 2001.
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Crime Victims Rights

MCL 780.752 et al Amends the Crime Victims Rights Act requiring new
information be provided to the crime victim within 24 hours after initial contact.
The following statement shall be added to the information provided to crime
victims, “If you would like to be notified of an arrest in your case or the release of
the person arrested, or both, you should call (identify law enforcement agency
and telephone number) and inform them.”

The new act also requires the law enforcement agency having responsibility for
investigating the crime to promptly notify the victim of the arrest or pretrial
release of the defendant, or both, if the victim requests or has requested that
information. If the defendant is released from custody by the sheriff or juvenile
facility, the sheriff or juvenile facility shall notify the law enforcement agency
having responsibility for investigating the crime. Effective June 1, 2001.

Restitution For Governmental Agencies

MCL 769.1f Amends the Code of Criminal Procedure to include “attempted”
violations of crimes for which judges are permitted to order convicted persons to
reimburse the state or local unit of government for expenses incurred in
responding to, investigating, and prosecuting certain offenses. Effective April 1,
2001.

LEIN Access For School Authorities

MCL 28.214 Authorizes public or private school superintendents, principals, or
assistant principals to receive the vehicle registration information of vehicle
within1,000 feet of school property through LEIN via a law enforcement agency.
Effective October 25, 2000. See LEIN News Bulletin, November/December 2000
for more information.

Firearms Sales and Trigger Locks

MCL 28.421 to 28.434 Prohibits a federally licensed firearms dealer from selling
a firearm in Michigan unless the sale includes a commercially available trigger
lock or other device designed to disable the firearm and prevent its discharge or
a commercially available gun case or storage container that can be secured to
prevent unauthorized access to the firearm. This does not apply to the sale of a
firearm to a police officer, police agency, or an antique firearm. Effective June
29, 2000.

“Baby drop off” Law

MCL 712A.14 et al., 750.135, 722.628 Amends the Juvenile Code to require
that an “emergency service provider” (a fire department, hospital, or police
station) take into temporary protective custody a newborn child voluntarily
delivered to it by the child’'s parent and immediately notify the Family
Independence Agency, which shall assume care, control, and custody of the
child. Official Orders will be updated to reflect department policy regarding this
new law.
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An emergency service provider shall do all of the following:

» Transfer the child to the nearest hospital under the assumption that the child
is a newborn.

» Provide written material provided by FIA and inform the parent that by
surrendering the newborn, the parent is releasing the newborn to a child-
placing agency to be placed for adoption.

» Inform the parent that they have 28 days to petition the court to regain

custody of the newborn. When the 28-day period to petition ends, there will

be a hearing to terminate parental rights.

Advise the parent there will be a public notice of this hearing. The notice will

not contain the parent’s name.

The parent will not receive personal notice of this hearing.

Information the parent provides to an emergency service provider will not be

made public.

Encourage the parent to provide any relevant family or medical information.

The parent is not required to provide this or any other information.

Ask the parent to identify himself or herself as well as the other parent. The

parent is not required to provide this or any other information.

> Advise the parent that confidential services can be provided to them through
FIA.

» Inform the parent that they may sign a release for the newborn to be used at
the parental rights termination hearing.

» Effective January 1, 2001.
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Computer Crimes

MCL 600.4701 Amends the Revised Judicature Act to provide for the forfeiture
of property used in or obtained through crimes against minors involving the
Internet, a computer, computer program, network, or system. Effective
September 19, 2000.

MCL 777.17, 752.796, 752.797, 752.792 Prohibits the use of computers,
computer systems, and computer networks to commit or attempt to commit
certain crimes. Committing a crime by the use of a computer is now expanded to
include “attempting to commit.” Effective September 19, 2000.

Change in Township Authority to Set Speed Limits

MCL 257.628 Amends the Michigan Vehicle Code to permit a township board to
petition a county road commission or board of commissioners for a change in the
speed limit on a county road without an engineering and traffic investigation
being conducted. The road must be under review for a proposed change, and
there must be more than one mile of residential lots with road frontage of 300
feet or less. This also requires a speed limit of 25 miles per hour unless
otherwise posted on a road or interconnected group of roads that is less than one
mile in length and connects with the county road system with one entrance and
exit. Effective June 20, 2000.
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School Locker Searches

MCL 380.1306 Amends the Revised School Code to specify that a student’s
locker is the property of the school district, and the student has no expectation of
privacy with regard to the locker or its contents. A public school principal or
designee can search a student’s locker at any time in accordance with the school
district search policy, and a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the
school may assist school personnel in conducting a search at the request of the
school principal. Effective May 1, 2000.




