Pet Shop Info Packet

General Information

This packet was developed to provide information on licensure of Michigan pet shops.
Copies of applicable state laws are included via links to alert you to Michigan
Department of Agriculture (MDA) requirements concerning the licensing of a pet shop.
An application form is also included, among other pertinent pieces of information.

A pet shop is defined by state law as a place where animals are sold or offered for sale,
exchange, or transfer. You will need a pet shop license to sell dogs, cats, rabbits,
ferrets, hedgehogs, sugargliders, and other non-rodent, non-livestock mammals. Other
laws may cover animals in stores even when a pet shop license is not required.

Application Procedure

To apply for a Michigan pet shop license, you must complete the enclosed application
form providing all of the information requested. You will also need to arrange for
veterinary services for the pet shop and include the name and address of the
veterinarian on the application form.

1. Look over the pet shop license application form and additional materials found
here (see below). Familiarize yourself with the laws and regulations governing
pet shops (see below). Public Act 287 of 1969 in particular details what types of
stores need to attain a pet shop license to conduct business. If applicable, fill out
the application form.

2. Submit the application along with the $150 application fee to the Michigan
Department of Agriculture, Animal Industry Division, P.O. Box 30017, Lansing,
MI, 489009.

3. An MDA Inspector will then contact you and visit the store to conduct a pre-
licensing inspection.

4. After your application has been approved and processed and a satisfactory pre-
licensing inspection has been completed and filed in the Lansing office, a pet
shop license will be issued.

5. After receiving the license, you may then conduct business as a licensed
Michigan pet shop.

MDA strives to provide a timely response to pet shop license application. You can help
by being sure your application is complete. You can also help by thoroughly reviewing
the above linked laws, regulations, and other documents before your pre-licensing
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inspection. If you have an questions or concerns, please call our office at (517) 373-
1077.

Additional Materials
e The Pet Shop License Application Form

This application form must be filled out and submitted to the department to initiate pre-licensing
procedures.

¢ An Overview of Requlations Governing Pet Shops
This sheet summarizes requirements of Public Act 287 of 1969 and Regulation 151.

e Michigan Pet Shop Animal Record Form
A copy of this form must be completed for every regulated animal, and completed forms must be
retained onsite for a minimum of 2 years.

e Pet Shop Health Certificate
A copy of this form must be completed by a licensed veterinarian for every dog, cat and ferret,
and completed forms must be maintained onsite for a minimum of 2 years.

e Ferret Health Advisory Sheet Memorandum
Explains requirements for the Ferret Health Advisory Sheet as required by Public Act 358 of
1994.

e Ferret Health Advisory Sheet
Must accompany every ferret sold or transferred in the State of Michigan.

e Chlamydiosis (Psittacosis) Brochure
This brochure explains the disease chlamydiosis and how it effects birds and humans.

e NASPHV Psittacosis Compendium
Requirements for chlamydiosis/psittacosis control.

e Turtle Health Advisory Sheet
This sheet must be distributed with every turtle sold in Michigan.

e Salmonella in Reptiles
This fact sheet explains the disease salmonella and how it effects reptiles and humans.

Laws and Regulations

NOTE: Knowledge of these laws is required before a license will be issued.
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The laws relative to pet shop licensure are (follow the links):

Pet Shops, Dog Pounds and Animal Shelters: Public Act 287 of 1969, as
amended:

The primary law pertaining to pet shops. This law specifies who does and does not need a pet
shop license and it includes requirements for importing and selling puppies and kittens.

Requlation 151 (Pet Shops, Dog Pounds and Animal Shelters):

Regulations and requirements for operating a licensed pet shop. This is a very important
regulation to read and understand, as it covers areas that MDA Inspectors review when visiting
pet stores.

Regulation 112 (Importation of Dogs):
This describes the specific regulations governing the importation of dogs into the state.

The Animal Industry Act: Public Act 466 of 1988, as amended:
Requirements for importing wild and exotic animals such as birds and reptiles.

Requlations for The Animal Industry Act:
This describes the specific regulations operating under the Animal Industry Act.

The Turtle Act: Public Act 424 of 1988:
State requirements for the sale of small turtles. (Federal law covers to whom turtles may be sold,
state law covers specifics about the sale.)

The Ferret Act: Public Act 358 of 1994 :
Legalized and controls the sale and breeding of ferrets.

Sale of Baby Chicks, Rabbits, Ducklings, or Other Fowl or Game: Public Act 163

of 1945 :
Prohibits the sale of dyed chicks, rabbits, ducklings, etc.

Pseudorabies and Swine Brucelosis Control and Eradication Act: Public Act 239
of 1992:

Swine laws, pertinent for stores selling pot-bellied or other pet pigs.
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