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To read the full text of these statutes go to
www.michiganlegislature.org, or click on the public act
or statute citation following each summary.

MCL 750.349 and 750.349b
Kidnapping statute amended, Unlawful
Imprisonment statute created

Effective August 24, 2006

Public Acts 159 and 160 of 2006 are
companion acts that separate the elements
of kidnapping and the newly created crime
of unlawful imprisonment.

Kidnapping

The crime of kidnapping will continue to be
codified in MCL 750.349 and is punishable
by imprisonment for life or any term of years.
Under the amended statute, a person has
committed kidnapping when he or she
knowingly restrains another with the intent to
do one or more of the following:

1. Hold that person for ransom or
reward.

2. Use the person as a hostage or
shield.

3. Engage in criminal sexual conduct.

4. Take the person outside of
Michigan.

5. Hold the person in involuntary
servitude.

requirement.

Unlawful Imprisonment
The crime of unlawful imprisonment is
codified in the newly created MCL 750.349b
and is punishable by a term of 15 years.
Under the new statute, a person commits
unlawful imprisonment when he or she
knowingly restrains another person under
any of the following circumstances:

1. The restraint is by means of a
weapon or dangerous instrument.

2. The person was secretly confined.

3. The restraint was used to facilitate
the commission of, or flight from,
another felony.

In this section, ‘restrain’ is defined the same
as in the kidnapping section except that
force must be used to accomplish the
restraint.

‘Secretly confined’ is defined as:

1. To keep the confinement secret or
2. To keep the location of the person
secret.
Public Act 159 of 2006

Public Act 160 of 2006

MCL 750.462a — 750.426i

Human trafficking statutes created
Effective August 24, 2006

Public Act 162 of 2006 creates a new
chapter of Michigan’s Penal Code containing
nine new statutes criminalizing human
trafficking.

Continued next page...
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Human trafficking, continued

The new statutes prohibit a person from
knowingly subjecting or attempting to
subject another person to forced labor or
services by:

1. Causing or threatening physical
harm to another person (750.462b).

2. Physically restraining or threatening
to physically restrain another person
(750.462c).

3. Abusing or threatening to abuse the
law or legal process (750.462d).

4. Destroying, concealing, removing,
confiscating, or possessing an
actual or purported passport or
other government identification
(750.462¢).

5. Using blackmail, threatening or
causing financial harm, or exerting
or threatening to exert financial
control (750.462f).

It is also now illegal to facilitate human
trafficking, to benefit financially, or to receive
anything of value from a venture engaged in
human trafficking (750.462h).

Under those sections, human trafficking is
punishable by a term of 10 years except if a
person is inured (15 years) or killed (life).

When the trafficking involves obtaining a
minor for the purposes of child sexually
abusive activity, it is punishable by a term of
20 years (750.4629).

Public Act 162 of 2006

The county trial court ultimately dismissed
the case as a result of the officer’s refusal to
take the defendant to the hospital of his
choice.  The Michigan Supreme Court
disagreed and held that dismissal is not the
appropriate remedy when police deny an
independent test.

However, the Court made it clear that the
right to an independent test still exists under
MCL 257.625a(6)(d). In fact, the Court
crafted a jury instruction for use by trial
courts. The instruction (found on page 14 of
the opinion) allows the trial judge to inform
the jury that a defendant was denied the
opportunity for an independent test. The
instruction also allows a jury to decide for
itself the significance of the denial.

This opinion should not change police
practice. Officers should continue to offer
independent tests as required by MCL
257.625a. If a request for a test seems
unreasonable enough to deny, officers
should contact their prosecutor for guidance,
rather than make an independent decision to
deny the test.

OWI LAw

Full citations have been omitted.

Police failure to provide a driver with an
independent chemical test does not
require dismissal of the case.

In People v. Anstey, the defendant was
arrested for OUIL and asked for
independent tests at distant locations. The
officer refused, but offered to take the
defendant to a closer hospital, which the
defendant declined.

LEGAL RESOURCES

Many of Michigan's state agencies have
authority, granted by statute, to promulgate
administrative rules. Promulgated rules have
the full force of statutory law.

The State Office of Administrative Hearings
and Rules web site offers links to each
department with rule promulgation authority.
Clicking on the department name will take
the user to a list of rules promulgated by that
department or its subordinate divisions or
agencies.

Several departments promulgate rules that
have a direct impact upon law enforcement.
They include the Departments of State
Police, Natural Resources, and Labor and
Economic Growth.

This update is provided for informational purposes only. Officers should contact their local prosecutor for an
interpretation before applying the information contained in this update.
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CRIMINAL LAW &
PROCEDURE

Full citations have been omitted.

A firearm does not have to be operable in
order to support a conviction for felon in
possession of a firearm or possession of
a firearm during the commission of a
felony (felony firearm).

In People v. Peals, the defendant found a
gun in two pieces and placed it in his pocket,
believing that the gun was inoperable. At
trial, a police officer testified that the gun
would not function.

The Michigan Supreme Court held that the
definition of firearm contained in MCL
750.222 does not require that “the weapon
be operable or reasonably or readily
repairable” (internal quotations omitted).
Instead, the Court held that the definition of
firearm focuses on what the weapon was
designed to do, rather than whether it can
actually do it.

by federal law (The Law Enforcement
Officers Safety Act, 19 USC 926B, et seq).
That Act allows active and retired police
officers to transport a pistol anywhere in the
United States notwithstanding state firearms
laws, provided they meet the requirements
of the Act.

The bottom line under these statutes is that
persons from other states may not bring a
pistol into Michigan unless they are a police
officer or hold a CPL from their state of
residence. There are no exceptions for
persons who wish to bring a pistol to
Michigan to hunt or target shoot.

DID YOU KNOW?

Note: The following material does not represent new
law. Instead, it addresses issues raised by work sites
throughout the state.

Generally, persons from other states may
not possess a pistol in Michigan unless
they are a police officer or a concealed
pistol license holder.

MCL 28.422 requires a person to obtain a
License to Purchase before they purchase,
transport, or carry a pistol in Michigan. MCL
28.422(3)(c) requires that a person be a
“legal resident of this state” in order to obtain
a license (which begins the registration
process). The only exception in that statute
is for active-duty military members, who
have 30 days after returning to Michigan to
register a pistol.

Other exceptions to the registration
requirement can be found in MCL 28.432.
That statute includes an exception for
concealed pistol license holders from other
states. Active and retired police officers are
exempted from the registration requirements

BACK TO BASICS

Note: The following material does not represent new
law. Instead, it is intended to reinforce basic rules of
law that police officers frequently apply.

The inventory exception to the search
warrant rule requires that officers
conduct the inventory pursuant to a
written department policy.

In 1976, the United States Supreme Court in
South Dakota v. Opperman held that
routine, warrantless inventory searches of
lawfully impounded vehicles do not violate
the Fourth Amendment's search warrant
requirement. In order to be lawful, the
inventory must be required by a written
department policy.

Inventory searches are reasonable because
they help protect the owner’s property while
in police custody, they help protect the
police against property claims or disputes,
and they protect the police from potential
danger. The Opperman court also held that
officers are not under an obligation to make
alternative arrangements to avoid
impoundment.

Searches of closed containers found in an
inventoried vehicle must only be conducted
if the department’s inventory policy requires
it. Without such a policy, searches of closed
containers are unlawful (Florida v. Wells).
The U.S. Supreme Court has also extended
the inventory exception to an arrestee’s
personal effects during lodging (lllinois v.

Continued next page...
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Inventory exception, continued

Lafayette), when the search is done
pursuant to a departmental policy.

Police policies governing the inventory of
impounded vehicles should: 1. clearly define
circumstances under which a vehicle must
be impounded, 2. define the scope of the
inventory, and 3. be explicit enough so that
inventories are conducted because they are
required by policy, and not officer discretion.

SUBSCRIPTIONS

It is the intent of the Executive Division to
provide the Legal Update to all interested law
enforcement officers.  Officers from any
agency are welcome to subscribe, and may
do so by sending an e-mail to
MSPLegal@Michigan.gov. The body of the
e-mail must include:

1. Name (first & last)
Rank
Department
Work phone
E-mail address
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