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A bail bondsmen can be liable for a false arrest.

Vincent Bright was arrested in Missouri for a drug
charge.  Vincent identified himself using his
brother’s social security number and address.
Vincent skipped bond and a warrant was issued.
Subsequently the brother, Dennis Bright, was
arrested by a bounty hunter in Michigan and taken
to Missouri where the mistake was discovered.  The
plaintiff then sued the bounty hunter for false
imprisonment.  The Michigan Supreme Court
upheld the lawsuit.

Under MCL 764.16 a private citizen may make an
arrest for a felony that has been committed.
“Because it is undisputed that plaintiff had not
committed a felony, defendants did not have
authority to arrest him.”  Bright v Ailshie, MSC No.
119111 (April 9, 2002)

An inoperable vehicle is still considered mobile for
the automobile exception to a search warrant.

Without a search warrant, an arson investigator
searched a vehicle that had been damaged by a fire.
The search occurred 12 hours after the fire was
extinguished and the investigator had reason to
believe it was deliberately set.

Under the automobile exception to the search
warrant rule, officers may search a vehicle without
a warrant when they have probable cause to believe
the vehicle contains contraband or evidence of a
crime due to its mobility.  “Although the motor of
the automobile was inoperable after the fire, the
vehicle was capable of mobility. During the time
interval between the first and second search,
defendant could have moved the automobile by
summoning a tow truck. Defendant’s automobile
could have been hauled to any location while the
police were preoccupied in court seeking a search
warrant.”  People v Carter, C/A No. 233493 (March
29, 2002)

Soliciting minor for immoral purposes does not
require knowledge of actual age: P.A. 45 of 2002 –
MCL 750.145a (June 1, 2002)

A person who accosts, entices, or solicits a child
less than 16 years of age, regardless of whether the
person knows the individual is a child or knows the
actual age of the child, or an individual whom he or
she believes is a child less than 16 years of age with
the intent to induce or force that child or individual
to commit an immoral act, to submit to an act of
sexual intercourse or an act of gross indecency, or
to any other act of depravity or delinquency, or who
encourages a child less than 16 years of age,
regardless of whether the person knows the
individual is a child or knows the actual age of the
child, or an individual whom he or she believes is a
child less than 16 years of age to engage in any of
those acts is guilty of a felony punishable by
imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of
not more than $4,000.00, or both.  Second offense
increased to 10-year felony.

“New” procedures for obtaining search warrants:
P.A. 112 of 2002 (April 22, 2002)

MCL 780.654(3) – Affidavits may be suppressed

Upon a showing that it is necessary to protect an
ongoing investigation or the privacy or safety of a
victim or witness, the magistrate may order
that the affidavit be suppressed and not be given to
the person whose property was seized or whose
premises were searched until that person is
charged with a crime or named as a claimant in a
civil forfeiture proceeding involving evidence
seized as a result of the search.

MCL 780.655 – Affidavits do not have to be left
at scene.

(1)The officer is not required to give a copy of
the affidavit to that person or to leave a copy of the
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affidavit at the place from which the property or
thing was taken.  (The Criminal Division of the
Attorney General’s office has taken the position that
the better practice is that the affidavit should be
served unless a suppression order has been issued.)

(2) The officer shall file the tabulation promptly
with the court or magistrate. The tabulation may be
suppressed by order of the court until
the final disposition of the case unless otherwise
ordered. The property and things that were seized
shall be safely kept by the officer so long as
necessary for the purpose of being produced or used
as evidence in any trial.

MCL 780.651 – Information on search warrants
kept at court are non public

(8) A search warrant, affidavit, or tabulation
contained in any court file or record retention
system is nonpublic information.

New statute broadens jurisdiction for criminal
prosecution: P.A. 129 of 2002 – MCL 762.2

(1)A person may be prosecuted for a criminal
offense he or she commits while he or she is
physically located within this state or outside of this
state if any of the following circumstances exist:
• He or she commits a criminal offense wholly or

partly within this state.
• His or her conduct constitutes an attempt to

commit a criminal offense within this state.
• His or her conduct constitutes a conspiracy to

commit a criminal offense within this state and
an act in furtherance of the conspiracy is
committed within this state by the offender, or
at his or her instigation, or by another member
of the conspiracy.

• A victim of the offense or an employee or agent
of a governmental unit posing as a victim
resides in this state or is located in this state at
the time the criminal offense is committed.

• The criminal offense produces substantial and
detrimental effects within this state.

A criminal offense is considered under subsection
(1) to be committed partly within this state if any of
the following apply:

(a)An act constituting an element of the criminal
offense is committed within this state.
(b) The result or consequences of an act constituting
an element of the criminal offense occur within this
state.
(c) The criminal offense produces consequences
that have a materially harmful impact upon the
system of government or the community welfare of
this state, or results in persons within this state
being defrauded or otherwise harmed.

Age for prostitution lowered from 17 to 16:
P.A. 46 of 2002 – (June 1, 2002)

Sec 448.  A person 16 years of age or older who
accosts, solicits, or invites another person in a
public place or in or from a building or vehicle, by
word, gesture, or any other means, to commit
prostitution or to do any other lewd or immoral act,
is guilty of a crime punishable as provided in
section 451.

Sec. 450. A person 16 years of age or older who
aids, assists, or abets another person to commit or
offer to commit an act prohibited under section 448
or 449 is guilty of a crime punishable as provided in
section 451.

Sec. 462. A person who, for a purpose other than
prostitution, takes or conveys to, or employs,
receives, detains, or allows a person 16 years of
age or less to remain in, a house of prostitution,
house of ill-fame, bawdy-house, house of
assignation, or any house or place for the resort of
prostitutes or other disorderly persons is guilty of a
crime punishable as provided in section 451.

Increased penalties for prostitution:
P.A. 44 of 2002 – (June 1, 2002)

Sec. 451. (1) Except as otherwise provided in this
section, a person convicted of violating section 448,
449, 449a, 450, or 462 is guilty of a misdemeanor
punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93
days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.
• Second offense = misdemeanor punishable by

imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine
of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

• Third offense = felony punishable by
imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or a
fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both.

This update is provided for informational purposes only.
Officers should contact their local prosecutors for their interpretations.


