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          Captain’s Corner
                               Captain Robert R. Powers, Jr.

    November 2005

After one of the nicest Michigan summers in years, Fall is finally upon us.  As
we all know only too well, with Fall comes shorter daylight, inclement weather,
and hazardous driving conditions.  Despite record high gasoline prices, our
highways remain congested and the trucks are everywhere.  For those of us
dedicated to promoting traffic safety this is indeed a busy and important time
of the year.

This Fall will bring us a new generation of Motor Carrier Officers.  Twenty new
officers will graduate from the 15th Motor Carrier Recruit School on November
4.

With the completion of this recruit school near, we have begun the recruiting
and selection process for the 16th Motor Carrier Recruit School that will begin
on October 8, 2006.  If you or anyone you know are interested in a career as
a Motor Carrier Officer, please contact Sergeant Hines at 517-336-6284 for
more information.

I am pleased to announce that the Motor Carrier Division has received a special
grant from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to fund
the issuance of USDOT numbers to intrastate motor carriers.  This grant
requires a 20 percent match which will be funded by the Michigan Truck
Safety Commission.  This program will enable the collection and analysis of
citation, crash, and inspection data on intrastate carriers, which in turn will
provide data upon which commercial vehicle enforcement and safety programs
can be built or expanded.  The Motor Carrier Division plans to begin this
program early in 2006.

In closing I want to remind you that applications are now being accepted for
the Michigan Association of Chiefs of Police (MACP) award for Excellence in
Commercial Vehicle Safety for 2005.  Local law enforcement agencies, sheriff
departments and state police posts are all eligible for that award, valued at
$6,000.  For more information and to download an application please go to
the MACP website at www.michiganpolicechiefs.org.  The entry deadline is
January 6, 2006.

Have a safe, happy, and prosperous holiday season.



                                                                         Changes to Part 393

Inspections

FMCSA issued a final rule on August 15, 2005, making
numerous general amendments to Parts and Accessories.
The rule took effect on September 14, 2005.  Below is a
synopsis of most of the major changes.  It is strongly
recommended that readers review the entire rule.

Many of the changes bring the FMCSR into line with the
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards developed by
USDOT/NHTSA.

Section 390.5, Driveaway-towaway operation definition has
been amended to mean one of the following circumstances
where a vehicle is being transported:
1. between a vehicle manufacturer’s facilities;
2. between a vehicle manufacturer and a dealership or a

purchaser;
3. between a dealership or other entity selling or leasing

the vehicle, and a purchaser or lessee;
4. to a motor carrier’s terminal or repair facility for the

repair of disabling damage following a crash;
5. to a motor carrier’s terminal or repair facility for repairs

associated with the failure of a vehicle component or
system;

6. by means of a saddle mount or tow bar.

Section 393.5 – new definitions for various brake
systems and other components, as well as for the term
boat trailer.

Section 393.9 – FMCSA incorporated into this section
an interpretation that only those lights that are required
to be present must be operable.  Additional lamps that
are inoperable do not constitute a violation.

Section 393.11 – Boat trailers over 80" in width are
exempted from both front and rear clearance lights.
FMCSA removed a sentence in footnote 4 that required
side marker lamps to be visible in the rearview mirror.
Footnote 5 is amended to clarify that converter dollies
only need one stop/tail light.  Footnotes 9 and 10 are
amended to remove the requirement for a lamp on
projecting loads during daylight hours.

Suggestions  or comments should be submitted to Lt. David Ford, 517-336-6449, Fax 517-333-4414, email forddw@michigan.gov
Check us on the web!  www.michigan.gov/msp.  You will find us under “Specialized Divisions.”
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Section 393.40 –  The section for required brakes has
been completely revised, but generally, if the vehicle is
maintained according to the FMVSS at time of
manufacture, it should be in compliance.

Section 393.41 – parking brakes – revised to clarify that
all self-propelled CMVs must have parking brakes.

Section 393.42 – the exception for trailers with a GVWR
under 3,000 lbs. from having brakes on all wheels has
been amended.  The term GVWR is being replaced with
gross weight.”  To be eligible for the exception now, a
trailer must have a gross weight of 3,000 lbs. or less, in
addition to the 40% “tongue weight” limitation.  The tongue
weight determination is also based on gross weight, not
GVWR.

Section 393.43 – FMCSA must now explicitly states
that the tractor protection device operate when the air
pressure on the towing vehicle is between 20 –45 psi.
FMCSA also amends the regulations to specify that all
brakes must apply automatically upon breakaway,
except for trailers with more than 2 axles.

Section 393.48 is amended to exempt unladen converter
dollies from having operative brakes, provided they were
manufactured prior to March 1, 1988.  House moving
dollies and similar vehicles used to move extremely
large loads are also exempted from brakes.

         * * * * * *

       Act 181/432/300 Legislation

Special Edition

Because of recent legislation amending Act 181, Act
300, and Act 432, a Size and Weight article is not
included in this edition.  This article offers a brief
overview of the changes, but readers are cautioned to
obtain official copies of the legislation (http://
www.legislature.mi.gov/) and review them thoroughly.

All three bills were tie-barred together and have an effective
date of October 20, 2005.



Act  300, amended by Act 179

· Creates Section 257.321g, which moves the
HM endorsement violations from Act 181 to Act
300.

· Deletes Section 257.714a, mudflaps, which is
moved to Act 181.

· Deletes Section 257.714b, fuel systems, which
conflicted with the FMCSR.

· Amended Section 257.723, identification
requirements:

o Now applies to “commercial vehicles”
(as defined in 257.7) single or
combination, GVWR/actual gross, over
5,000 lbs., and all wreckers.

o Vehicles in compliance with Section
390.21 of the FMCSR shall be deemed
in compliance with 257.723.

o The farm/manufacturer plate exemption
only applies to vehicles under 10,000
lbs.

· Section 257.724(5) – language identifying what
vehicles are required to cross the scales is
clarified:

o Commercial vehicles (as defined in
257.7) with other vehicles or trailers in
combination;

o A truck or truck tractor, single or in
combination;

o Any special mobile equipment.
· Section 257.724(7) – dumping load to avoid a

weigh is now a violation of the “refuse to weigh”
provision.

Act 181, amended by Act 177

      · Title of Act amended to include authority over HM
shippers.

· Sec. 11a – added Parts 40, 356, 365, 368, 371-
373, 375, 376, 379, 385 and all appendices

· All intrastate definitions removed (including
CMV), except for HM inspection/testing facility.

· Sec. 2d – Driver Qualifications:
o 16 year old farm provision removed.
o 18 year old HM farm (40K) provision

removed.
o Now all drivers intrastate must be 18,

interstate 21, HM placards (intra or
inter) must be 21.

· Sec. 3 – Appeal Board/Medical Waiver
provisions.
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· Sec. 4 – Grandfather Cards.  (4) All cards

expire December 31, 2014.
· Sec. 4a – MCD can no longer issue grandfather

cards, effective October 20, 2005.
· Sec. 5 – Exemptions:

o (1) Farm Vehicle Driver – no change.
o (2) Implement Exemption – restricted to

implements and farm tractors as power
unit.

o (3) Utility drivers – restricted to non-
CDL vehicles.

o (4) Rear End protection exemption –
language for trailers over 50’ removed.

o (6) Government vehicles – no changes.
o (7) Surge Brakes – 26K or less for

combination, no HM placards or 16 or
more passenger vehicles.

o (8) School buses and Act 432 buses –
no changes.

o (9) “Public Utility” defined.
o (10) “Implement of husbandry” and

“farm tractor” defined (as in Act 300).
· Sec. 6 – editorial changes.
· Sec. 7 – (3) added for OOS orders.
· Sec. 7a – authority to promulgate rules.
· Sec. 7b – $500, state civil infraction.
· Sec. 7c – editorial changes.
· Sec. 7d – editorial changes.
· Sec. 8, 9, 10 – no changes.
· Sec. 11 – editorial changes.
· Sec. 12 – editorial, violation to overfill HM

container.
· Sec. 13 – HM restricted routes, state civil

infraction.
· Sec. 14 – bond/bond card provisions.
· Sec. 15 – Mudflaps, moved from 257.714a
· Removed from Act 181:

o Mechanics exemption (480.12r).
o HOS exemptions for specific industries

(480.12v and 12w).

Act 432, amended by Act 178

Act 432, which is administered by the Michigan
Department of Transportation, regulates for-hire
passenger carriers.  The Act adopts the FMCSR into
state law, and has been amended to include Part 365,
which regulates carriers based in Mexico.  USDOT
required the states to adopt Part 365 as part of the
implementation of NAFTA.



Wrecker Apportioned Plates

Motor Vehicle Code

In 1994, legislation was passed to allow wreckers to purchase “wrecker” plates in lieu of EGVW plates, which
was discussed in the April 2003 edition of the CMV Enforcement Quarterly.

The wrecker plate, per Section 257.79c, restricts the use of the wrecker to no more than 2 vehicles (and cannot
use a fifth wheel device or a trailer).  Wreckers towing/transporting more than two vehicles must purchase an
EGVW plate.

For interstate transportation, certain vehicles must obtain an apportioned (IRP) plate.  To identify what fees
have been paid on an IRP plate, the Secretary of State created two wrecker codes to differentiate between the
fees paid for a wrecker and those paid for EGVW.

Officers must be sure to review the IRP cab card on a wrecker closely to see what code is indicated.  Under the
box marked “Type,” a “WK” code indicates the fees have been paid to tow/transport more than 2 vehicles
(EGVW fees).  A “WR” code indicates the fees have been paid to tow/transport no more than 2 vehicles
(wrecker fees).

                       REMINDER BOX
♦ Cargo securement for sod:  The  last Quarterly
discussed the securement of sod.  One reader
brought up the requirement of Section 393.112,
adjustability of tiedowns, and noted that the use
of bungee cords would be a violation of this sec-
tion as well.

♦ As a condition of grant funding, USDOT/FMCSA
requires personnel to conduct LEIN checks of CDL
drivers during traffic stops.  MSP/MCD strongly
encourages all officers to routinely file check all
CDL drivers.  Recently, a truck driver operating on
a suspended CDL was involved in a fatal crash in
Maine.  Two days previously, the same driver had
been inspected and issued a citation in New York,
but apparently no driver license check was con-
ducted.
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This publication funded by a grant administered by the Michigan Truck Safety Commission.  The opinions, findings, and conclusions
expressed in this publications are those of the authors and not necessarily of those of the Michigan Truck Safety Commission nor the
Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning.

Below are samples of each code on a Michigan IRP cab card:
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     “WK”

     “WR”


