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Lead Training Application 
State-Certified Lead Professional 

 
Michigan=s Lead Abatement Act requires that any person performing lead identification or lead 
hazard control services must be certified with the State of Michigan.  The purpose of this 
application is to provide very low-cost lead training to low- and moderate-income people wanting 
to perform lead work.  Training classes will be fully paid for by the Lead and Healthy Homes 
Section directly to training companies.  Applicants will be required to provide a small co-
payment for initial training.  Refresher training is free. 
 
Do not fill out this application if you are seeking a Lead Safe Work Practices class to satisfy 
requirements of the US Department of Housing and Urban Development=s 24 CFR Part 35 
regulations.  The types of activities covered under this law include remodeling, renovation, and 
operations and maintenance of rental property all being performed on federally funded or 
federally assisted residential properties. 
 
Please complete this application, any other information needed on the instruction sheet, and the 
co-payment required.  Send to:  Michigan Department of Community Health, Lead and Healthy 
Homes Section, PO Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909; phone:  (toll-free) 866.691.LEAD; fax:  
517.335.8800. 
 
Applicant Name_______________________________________________________________ 

 

Company/Agency/Affiliation____________________________________________________ 

 

Applicant Address_____________________________________________________________ 

 

City__________________________ZIP_____________County________________________ 

 

Phone____________________Fax___________________Email________________________ 

 

My earned income for last year was: $ __  __ ,  __  __  __ 

 
Lead training class type: (Check one box only) 
 
G Inspector/ Risk Assessor   G

 Abatement Supervisor Initial (4 days; $25) 
Initial Combination (5 days; $50)  

G Abatement Supervisor Refresher (1 day; free) 
G Inspector/Risk Assessor   

Refresher Combination (2 days; free) G Abatement Worker Initial (3 days; $25) 
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G Lead Inspector Initial (3 days; $25) 
I have read the Summary of Accreditation and Certification Requirements, and believe that I 
meet the education and/or experience needed for the class chosen above.  I will be required to 
take a third-party exam within 6 months of the training class date.  Passing the exam can be 
attempted 3 times within this period for one fee.  The cost of the exam will be the responsibility 
of myself and/or my employer.  If the third-party exam is not taken within the 6 month period, I 
cannot request further training under this program, and will be responsible for reimbursement of 
training costs incurred.  I and/or my employer am responsible for payment of all travel/lodging 
costs and fees associated with my training and certification. 
 
 
Please choose one of the following statements about your work plans after training: 
 
 
1) NOTE:  Inspectors and Risk Assessors can start working independently after they have 

been certified. 
 

When I have completed training and certification as a Lead Inspector and/or Risk 
Assessor, I will be performing the following lead activity: 

 
G    Lead Inspections G    Risk Assessments G    Abatement Clearances 

 

 
2) NOTE:  In order to work as an Abatement Supervisor or Abatement Worker, the person 

must be employed by an abatement company certified by the Lead Hazard Remediation 
Program. 

 
When I have completed training and certification as an Abatement Supervisor or an 
Abatement Worker, 

 
G    I will be seeking employment with a certified lead abatement company 

G    I am currently employed by a certified lead abatement company 

G    I will be starting a certified lead abatement company 

G    I will be overseeing the work of certified lead abatement professionals  

           Explain:  __________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

All of the information given on this application is accurate and true to the best of my knowledge. 
 
Applicant Signature__________________________________________Date_____________ 



 

Lead Training Application Instructions 
to Become a State-Certified Lead Professional 

 
1) Review the Summary of Accreditation and Certification Requirements to ensure that the applicant has 

the needed education and/or experience requirements for the class that certification is being sought.  If 
unsure, contact the Lead and Healthy Homes Section. 

 
2) Fill out the training application and the Certification of Work Experience (Form DCH-1039).  Provide 

a copy of educational degree and professional registration, if needed.  Send all materials to the Lead 
and Healthy Homes Section.  Include a check or money order payable to the State of Michigan for the 
training co-payment.  Keep a copy of the work experience form, because it will need to be sent again 
in Step 5. 

 
3) If approved, a letter for training will be sent.  Information about training companies and the 

certification application will be included.  If the application is denied, the check or money order will 
be sent back with a reason for the denial. 

 
4) Call the training company to register for the course.  Bring your approval letter to the course instructor 

as proof that the training cost will be paid directly by the Lead and Healthy Homes Section. 
 
5) Upon passing the class test, submit the following to the Lead and Healthy Homes Section: 
 

C Lead Professional Certification Application (Form DCH-0047) 
C Copy of training class certificate(s) 
C Certification of Work Experience (Form DCH-1039) 
C A check or money order payable to the State of Michigan for the third-party exam and 

certification fees 
 
6) Upon approval of the certification application, the Lead and Healthy Homes Section will send a 

certification exam notice to take the third-party exam and a date and time will be listed.  The exam 
location will be in Lansing and other cities around the State.  Directions will be provided. 

 
7) Upon passing the third-party exam within the 6-month period, the Lead and Healthy Homes Section 

will mail a certification card with photo identification to the applicant. 
 
8) Certification renewal notices will be sent annually.  The applicant and/or the employer will be 

responsible for payment of annual certification fees. 
 
Questions?  Contact us!  Mention that you are seeking assistance with a training application. 

 
Michigan Department of Community Health 

Lead and Healthy Homes Section 
PO Box 30195 

Lansing, Michigan 48909 
Toll-free 1.866.691.LEAD 

517.335.9390 


