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Insurance Information   Public School Retirees 
Your Insurance Benefits
When you retire, you, your spouse, and your eligible 
dependents can enroll in the plan's health, 
prescription drug, dental, and vision insurances. You 
can enroll in Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan 
(BCBSM) with or without prescription coverage or 
one of several Health Maintenance Organizations 
(HMOs) which include prescription coverage.  
For provider information and details about coverage, 
refer to the Insurance Options Summary (R0379C). 

You can also download vendor brochures from our 
website, www.michigan.gov/ORSschools, by 
clicking on Insurance, Health, Prescription Drug, 
and Dental/Vision Insurance. 
To determine if you have the Personal Healthcare 
Fund or the Premium Subsidy benefit, log into 
miAccount at www.michigan.gov/orsmiaccount. 

Premium Subsidy Eligibility 
Hired before July 1, 2008. In most cases, if you 
have the Premium Subsidy benefit and retire while 
an active employee, the date you become eligible 
for your insurance premium subsidy will be your 
retirement effective date. However, your subsidy will 
be delayed if you purchased service credit on or 
after July 1, 2008 that allows you to qualify for your 
pension earlier than if you did not make the 
purchase. 
If a delayed subsidy applies, you can still enroll in 
health, prescription, dental, and vision insurances 
but you will pay the entire premium until the subsidy 
begins. The subsidy will begin at age 60 or the age 
you would have been eligible to retire if you had not 

made the service credit purchase, whichever 
happens first. 
Hired on or after July 1, 2008. If you began 
working for a Michigan Public School on or after July 
1, 2008, you must have at least 10 years of service 
to qualify for a subsidy, and your subsidy is graded. 
With 10 years of service, a 30 percent subsidy is 
available. The subsidy increases by an additional 4 
percent for each additional year of service up to the 
maximum subsidy allowed by law. For more 
information on insurance subsidies, refer to the 
insurance section of the ORS website by clicking on 
Insurance, Insurance Subsidy, and Eligibility. 

Personal Healthcare Fund
If you have the Personal Healthcare Fund, you are 
not eligible for subsidized health, prescription drug, 
dental, or vision insurances under the Premium 
Subsidy benefit through the retirement system.  
You, your spouse, and your dependents may enroll 
in insurances if you enroll immediately when you 
retire but you will be responsible for the entire 
premium. If you disenroll from the plan at any time, 

you, your spouse, and your dependents will not be 
able to re-enroll.  If your spouse or dependents are 
disenrolled at any time, they will not be able to re-
enroll.  
For information about insurance eligibility and 
enrollment, contact ORS. For other information 
about your Personal Healthcare Fund, contact Voya 
Financial® at 800-748-6128. 

Enrolling at the Time of Retirement 
Insurance coverage always begins on the first day 
of a calendar month. For retirees who do not have 
Medicare, coverage can begin the first of the month 
after we receive your completed application and 
proofs. For retirees with Medicare, if we get your 
request and proofs by the 15th of the month, we will 
enroll you the first of the following month. 
For example, if you submit your application and 
proofs on July 25th, for a retirement effective date of 

August 1, your actual insurance effective date may 
be September 1. If we get the request and proofs 
later, but within 30 days of the qualifying event, you 
may not be enrolled until a month later. 
Regardless of when you want your coverage to 
start, we must receive your application and proofs 
for everyone you want to enroll no later than 30 
calendar days after your retirement effective date, or 
those with missing information will be subject to a 
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six month wait to enroll, starting from the date we 
received the new enrollment request and proofs.  
Insurance coverage for you and your dependents  
can begin on your retirement effective date or up to  
90 days past your retirement date if you will have 
insurance coverage with your school employer after 
you retire. If you are a new retiree requesting a 
retroactive retirement effective date, your coverage 
can begin no earlier than the first day of the month  

after the required applications and proofs are 
received, even if your retirement date is earlier than 
that. Check with your school employer to determine 
when your present insurance(s) will terminate so 
there won’t be any break in your coverage and you 
won’t be duplicating coverage. Determining the 
correct effective date is important because we 
can’t refund premiums once they have been 
withheld from your pension. 

Insurance Carrier Identification Cards 
Each insurance carrier will mail insurance ID cards 
and materials directly to you. If you apply 3 months 
before your retirement, your cards will usually arrive 
by your retirement effective date.  

If you need health services before your cards arrive, 
contact the insurance carrier directly to get your 
policy number or to verify coverage. 

Enrolling in or Changing Insurance After Retirement 
Premium Subsidy Benefit. If you have the 
premium subsidy benefit and initiate a new 
enrollment for yourself, your spouse, or another 
dependent in the retirement system's insurance 
after your retirement effective date, your coverage 
will begin on the first day of the sixth month after 
ORS receives your new insurance enrollment 
request and all required proofs. 
For example, if we receive your request with the 
necessary proofs of eligibility on February 10, your 
coverage would begin August 1. 
If you or a dependent has a qualifying event and 
ORS receives the request and proofs within 30 days 
of the qualifying event, your coverage can begin 
sooner.  For retirees who do not have Medicare, 
coverage can begin the first of the month after the 
month we receive your completed application and 
proofs. For retirees with Medicare, if we get your 
request and proofs by the 15th of the month, we will 
enroll you the following month.  

If we get the request and proofs later, but within 30 
days of the qualifying event, you may not be 
enrolled until a month later.  
Personal Healthcare Fund (PHF). If you have 
PHF, you cannot enroll in insurances after you have 
retired. You can only change plans.  
Changing plans. To change your insurance plan, 
log in to miAccount and click on Insurance Coverage, 
or complete an Insurance Enrollment/Change 
Request (R0452C) and return it to ORS along with all 
required proofs. If you are currently enrolled in an 
HMO, you must remain in the HMO for at least six 
months, unless the coverage is no longer available in 
that coverage area. 
Coverage will begin the first day of the month after 
ORS receives your materials if you are enrolling in 
BCBSM or moving out of an HMO coverage area. 
Coverage will begin the first day of the second 
month if you are voluntarily changing HMOs. 

Survivor Coverage 
Premium Subsidy Benefit. Your beneficiary may 
continue medical, prescription drug, dental and 
vision coverage after your death only if you choose 
a survivor pension option (100% Survivor, 100% 
Equated, 75% Survivor, 75% Equated, 50% 
Survivor or 50% Equated). Please refer to 
Retirement Readiness (R0613C), Survivor Options 
section for more detailed information.  

Straight Life. If you elect either Straight Life or 
Straight Life Equated, which do not provide a 
monthly pension to a beneficiary, enrolled 
dependents will have no subsidized group coverage 
after your death. Your enrolled dependents may be 
eligible for continuation of unsubsidized insurance 
coverage for a maximum period of 36 months. Refer 
to Retirement Readiness (R0613C), Straight Life 
Calculation and Equated Plan sections.
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Eligible Dependents 
Coverage for your eligible dependents is the same 
as yours. Eligible dependents for health, drug, 
dental, and vision insurance plans include the 
following: 
• Your spouse. If he or she is an eligible public 

school retiree, you will be covered under one 
contract. 

• Your unmarried child by birth or legal adoption, 
through December 31 of the year in which he or 
she turns age 19. 

• Your unmarried child by legal guardianship until 
age 18. 
Your unmarried child by birth or legal adoption 
from age 19 through December 31 of the year in 

which he or she reaches age 25, if a full-time 
student and dependent on you for support.  
Note: The federal government has determined 
that the provision of the Affordable Care Act that 
extends coverage to adult children through the 
age of 26 does not apply to governmental retiree-
only health insurance plans such as the one 
offered by ORS.  

• Your unmarried child by birth or legal adoption age 
19 or older who is totally and permanently 
disabled, dependent on you for support, and 
incapable of self-sustaining employment. 

• Either your parent(s) or your parent(s)-in-law 
residing in your household—one set of parents or 
the other, but not both. 

Proof of Eligibility 
You must provide proof of eligibility for your enrolled 
dependents. To prove age and relationship, provide 
a copy of the birth certificate. To prove dependency, 
provide the first page of your most recent 1040 tax 
form listing the dependent. To prove legal 
guardianship, provide legal papers issued by a 
court. To prove school attendance, provide a current 
student transcript or tuition receipt documenting full-
time attendance. To prove disability, provide a 
statement from the attending physician that the child 
is disabled and incapable of self-sustaining 

employment and detailing the disability. The signed 
certification must be on the physician’s letterhead 
and dated within the last six months. For parental 
coverage, provide your previous tax year’s 1099 or 
1098, a current voter’s registration card, driver’s 
license, or state-issued ID showing the parent lives 
with you. 
You are responsible for immediately notifying ORS 
of any change in your status or that of your 
dependents. If ORS pays claims for an ineligible 
person, we will adjust your pension accordingly.  

Medicare 
As soon as you or anyone else covered by your 
health insurance becomes eligible for Medicare, that 
person must enroll in both Part A (hospital) and Part 
B (medical). You must have Medicare Parts A and B 
to enroll in retiree insurance and prescription drug 
programs. If you, your spouse, or your dependents 
don’t enroll in Medicare Part B when first eligible, 
the insurance for that person will be canceled and 
there is a six month wait to re-enroll.  
For most people, Medicare begins at age 65 or after 
24 months of social security disability.  If that 
happens before age 65, send ORS this form, and 
make sure ORS has your Medicare number. 

Once you sign up for Medicare, we will enroll you in 
a Medicare Advantage plan. A Medicare Advantage 
plan is a private health plan that contracts with 
Medicare to provide you with all your Part A and 
Part B benefits.  
Medicare Part D (prescription drug) is a federal 
program that is administered by your group 
insurance plan. When you enroll in a retiree 
prescription drug plan, we will automatically enroll 
you in Medicare Part D if appropriate. Don’t sign up 
for a Medicare Part D prescription plan or any other 
supplemental prescription plan. Doing so will result 
in a loss of medical and prescription coverage 
through the retirement system’s plan.  
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Deferred Applicants ONLY 
You are deferred if you are vested but leave public 
school employment before you meet the age 
requirement for retirement, and did not take a 
refund. If you are a deferred member with the 
Premium Subsidy benefit, you may be eligible for an 
insurance premium subsidy. The amount of the 
subsidy depends on when you terminated your 
public school employment and how many years of 
credited service you have. 
If you terminated public school employment on or 
before October 31, 1980, and are eligible to 
receive a deferred pension, you are eligible for the 
maximum subsidy allowed by law. 

If you terminated public school employment after 
October 31, 1980, with at least 21 years of 
service, your subsidy will be 10 percent for each 
year of credited service you have over 20 years. 
With 21 years of service, you get 10 percent of the 
subsidy. With 25 years the subsidy increases to 50 
percent. A retiree with 30 years of service is entitled 
to the maximum subsidy allowed by law. 
If you terminated after October 31, 1980, with less 
than 21 years of service, you can enroll for the 
health, prescription drug, dental, and vision 
insurance but you must pay the entire premium. 

Disability Applicants ONLY 
If the board approves your disability retirement 
application and you have the Premium Subsidy 
benefit, your health, prescription drug, and/or 
dental/vision coverage can begin the first day of the 
following month your application is approved or you 
terminate employment, whichever is later. Continue 
your present insurance to ensure continued 

coverage during the approval process. Indicate in 
the Insurance Options section of your application 
that you would like coverage through the Retirement 
System to begin the first day of the month following 
the Retirement System’s Board approval of your 
retirement application. 

 


