
Your Disability Protection
If you become ill or injured while you are an active 
State of Michigan employee, and you can no longer 
work, your retirement plan provides protection for 
you and your dependents. Disability protection is 
provided under Public Act 240 of 1943, as amended. 
Benefits are administered by the Office of Retirement 
Services (ORS), a division of Michigan’s Department 
of Technology, Management and Budget.

Eligibility Criteria
To qualify for a disability retirement, you must meet 
all of the following conditions:

   You file an application with ORS within one 
year of the date of your termination from state 
employment. This filing deadline can be extended 
an additional 12 months if the retirement 
board determines you have shown good cause 
for not filing within one year. If more than 12 
but less than 24 months have passed since your 
termination and you believe you have good cause, 
substantiation for late filing must accompany 
your application.

  An independent medical advisor certifies that 
you are totally and probably permanently disabled. 
Totally disabled means you are unable to perform 
the duties of your current position. Permanently 
disabled means the disability is likely to last your 
lifetime.

   You must be vested to be eligible for a nonduty 
disability (an injury or illness incurred outside of 
work). In most cases, you are vested when you 
have the equivalent of 10 years of full-time State 
of Michigan service. 

		  If you have a duty disability (an illness or injury 
incurred from duties at work), you do not have 
to be vested to be eligible. A benefit could be 
payable regardless of how long you have been 
employed by the state.
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Are You Eligible?
If you answer “yes” to all of the requirements listed 
in the checklist below, you may be eligible for a 
disability retirement. You should read the entire 
contents of this brochure to fully understand your 
rights and options. If you answer “no” to any of the 
requirements, you are not eligible for a disability 
retirement. 

Eligibility Checklist
Nonduty Disability
3    My disability is total and likely permanent.

3  	 It has been one year or less since I was 
terminated from state employment (unless 
extenuating circumstances exist).

3 	 I am vested with the equivalent of 10 years 
of   full-time service credit with the State of 
Michigan. 

Duty Disability
3	 My illness or injury was incurred from duties  

at work.

3	 My disability is total and likely permanent.

3	 It has been one year or less since I was 
terminated from state employment (unless 
extenuating circumstances exist).

3  	My disability occurred before I terminated  
state employment.
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How Pensions Are Calculated
Nonduty disability pension calculations.
A nonduty disability retirement benefit is calculated 
the same as a regular service retirement. To figure 
your annual pension amount, the formula multiplies 
your years of credited service under the Defined 
Benefit (DB) plan, times 1.5 percent, times your final 
average compensation (FAC) under the DB plan.

When you apply, you can choose the straight life 
option, which pays you the most money but does not 
provide any ongoing benefits to a beneficiary when 
you die, or you can elect a survivor option, which 
pays you less but continues pension and 



health insurance benefits to your beneficiary upon 
your death. For more information about your 
retirement options, download the ORS publication, 
Retirement Readiness: A Two‑Year Countdown at 
www.michigan.gov/orsstatedb.

Duty disability pension calculations.       
A duty disability retirement is calculated by 
multiplying your credited years of service under the 
DB plan times 1.5 percent times your FAC under 
the DB plan, but not less than $6,000 per year 
($500 monthly). 

When 
you reach 
age 60, 
your duty 
disability 
pension is 
recalculated 

as a regular service retirement, adding the years you 
received a duty disability pension to your credited 
years of service in the pension formula used 
earlier. If your new years of service total does not 
equal at least 10 years, we’ll use 10 years of service 
to calculate your new pension amount. If the 
recalculated pension amount is less than $6,000 
per year, your annual pension amount will default 
to $6,000 ($500 monthly). The new calculation 
cannot be more than the amount that, when added 
to your workers’ compensation benefit, exceeded 
your final earnings with the State of Michigan. 

The Application Process
File an application. 
Your application for disability retirement must 
be received within one year from the date of your 
termination from state employment. (You may get 
a 12-month extension if 
you are able to show good 
cause.) Any application 
for disability retirement, 
regardless of when it is filed, 
must be for a condition 
you incurred before your 
termination from state 
employment. 

Your first step to apply for a disability pension is 
to contact ORS and request a disability retirement 
packet. Along with an application form, the packet 
contains a medical questionnaire and detailed 

information about insurances and pension options. 
You must sign the medical release forms that 
allow an independent medical advisor to obtain 
and review the medical records pertaining to the 
injury or illness that you believe prevents you from 
working. Once completed, you must send the forms 
to Disability Determination Services (DDS). 

The disability determination. 
DDS is part of Michigan’s Department of Health 
and Human Services. DDS assists ORS in the 
disability application 
process by collecting 
and validating forms, 
obtaining and reviewing 
medical documentation, 
and providing expertise 
in determining medical 
eligibility to the 
retirement board.

DDS will ask the medical 
providers listed on your 
application to send your 
medical records directly 
to DDS for review. An independent medical advisor 
from DDS will review your medical records and, if 
necessary, schedule an exam for you with a medical 
professional. 

If your application is approved.
If DDS determines your medical condition meets the 
disability criteria, ORS will notify you of the approval. 
We will then process your application and insurance 
enrollments and you will receive your first payment 
four to six weeks after all required information is 
received. Your first check will include any past due 
benefits as well.

If your disability retirement is approved and you have 
not terminated your employment with the state yet, 
contact your human resource office immediately so 
your benefits are not delayed. If you do not terminate 
employment within 30 days of ORS’ approval 
notification, you may have to reapply.

If your application is denied. 
If DDS determines that your condition does not 
meet the medical requirements for a disability 
pension as defined in the retirement act, you will 
receive a denial letter. This letter will advise you 
of your appeal rights and the deadline for filing an 
appeal. 

www.michigan.gov/orsstatedb

Our pension estimate tool at 
www.michigan.gov/orsmiaccount 
can help you estimate the monthly 
pension amount you might receive if 
your disability application is approved. 

Be sure to apply 
for a disability 
benefit within one 
year of terminating 
employment.



excess amount to the retirement system (a dollar-
for-dollar reduction in your pension).

Advances in medical treatments may result in an 
improvement in your condition, which may allow 
you to return to full employment. If you feel this 
situation applies to you, contact ORS for further 
information. Disability retirees who improve and 
return to State of Michigan employment can be 
restored to active service and earn years of service 
toward a regular retirement benefit. 

We’re Here to Help
We hope this brochure helped you understand the 
disability application process. We realize you have 
a lot of important decisions to make regarding 
your future. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you have 
any questions regarding disability or retirement 
benefits. 

Glossary of Terms
Duty Disability: An illness or injury incurred from 
duties at work.

Nonduty Disability: An injury or illness incurred 
outside of work, but before terminating employment.

Final Compensation: A member’s annual 
rate of compensation at the time the member 
last terminates employment with the State of 
Michigan.

Final Average Compensation (FAC): Your highest 
three consecutive years of compensation in the DB 
plan are averaged to determine your final average 
compensation. This is used in your  
pension calculation.

Vesting: The guaranteed right to receive a benefit 
at some point in the future. In most cases, you vest 
for your pension when you have the equivalent of 
10 years of full-time State of Michigan service.

Independent Medical Advisor: An independent 
medical advisor will review your medical records 
to assist ORS in the medical determination if you 
file an application for a disability retirement.

Years of Service: The years, or fractions of years, 
you have worked for the State of Michigan, 
including non-central agencies. Total years of 
service determines when you qualify for a pension. 
Your pension calculation will only include service 
earned while in the DB plan.

What to Expect as a Disability Retiree
Your pension payments.                                      
Before your payments 
begin, we will send you 
an award letter that tells 
you the amount of your 
pension payment and when 
you can expect your first 
check. Pensions are paid on 
the 25th of each month.

The award letter will 
include a booklet that 
tells you what to expect 
in retirement, including benefit statements, 
postretirement increases, insurance enrollments, 
and taxes. It will also tell you when and how to get 
in touch with ORS after your pension payments 
begin. 

Annual certifications.                                                   
As a disability retiree, every year until age 59 
you will receive an Annual Disability Certification 
(R0089CG) form that you must complete and return 
to ORS. This form verifies that you are still unable to 
work because of a disabling condition.

Medical reexaminations.   
ORS may require that you have a medical 
reexamination. If the reexam determines that you 
are capable of resuming employment and you 
are restored to active service with the state, your 
disability benefits will stop.

If you return to work.                                           
You must get approval from ORS before you return 
to work for any employer. If you don’t, we may 
suspend or even terminate your disability pension 
and insurance. Write a letter to ORS and include 
a job description or complete information on the 
type of work you’ll be doing and the name and 
contact information of your potential employer. 
You will remain eligible for the subsidized health, 
prescription drug, dental, and vision insurances. 

If you are approved to return to work outside of 
state employment, there is a limit on how much 
you can earn without affecting your pension. As a 
disability retiree, you can earn up to the difference 
between your final compensation and your annual 
pension without your pension being reduced. If you 
earn more than the limit, you will have to repay the 

www.michigan.gov/orsmiaccount

Be sure to ask your 
human resource office 
about other programs 
you may be eligible 
for such as social 
security disability 
benefits, workers’ 
compensation, 
long-term disability 
insurance, and more.



P.O. Box 30171
Lansing, MI 48909-7671

www.michigan.gov/orsstatedb 

800-381-5111 or  
517-322-5103

The intent of this publication is to summarize basic Defined Benefit plan provisions under Michigan’s Public Act 240 
of 1943, as amended. Current laws, rates, and factors are subject to change. Should there be discrepancies between 
this publication and the actual law, the provisions of the law govern. Published by State of Michigan, Department of 
Technology, Management and Budget, Office of Retirement Services.

This publication can be made available in alternative formats to meet the needs of our customers with visual or 
physical limitations. Please contact ORS if you require this service.                                                              
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Use miAccount for personalized online 
account access. Use our Message Board to 
contact a representative with your questions.

State of Michigan

Office of Retirement Services

P.O. Box 30171 

Lansing, MI 48909-7671

Find us on Facebook!

facebook.com\michiganors

Follow us on Twitter!

@MichiganORS

mi




