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I.  Sex Offenders Registration Act Overview 
 
The Michigan Sex Offender Registry (SOR) is a database containing the names, 
addresses and listed offense information of all persons in Michigan convicted of 
certain sexual offenses.  The complete SOR is only available for law enforcement 
purposes through the Law Enforcement Information Network (LEIN). 
 
The SOR was established in 1994 by the Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act 
(Public Acts 286, 287, 294 and 355 of 1994).  The Act created the database in 
response to the Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent 
Offender Registration Act (42 USC 14071 et seq.) of 1994.  This federal act required 
states to establish specific requirements for persons convicted of certain crimes 
against minors and convicted of sexually violent offenses. 
 
The Michigan SOR Act also established the Michigan State Police (MSP) as the 
repository of SOR data and the keeper of the registry.  As such, the department works 
closely with the legislature to ensure any changes made to the Sex Offender 
Registration Act comply with federal requirements.  
 
In addition, MSP posts, like other local law enforcement agencies, serve as locations 
where sex offenders can verify and/or change their addresses.  MSP posts also 
participate in sex offender sweeps and arrest absconders.   
 
For a complete summary of SOR legislation, please click here. 
 

A. Registry Requirements 
 

The SOR Act requires all sex offenders in Michigan to register their address 
with law enforcement after conviction, prior to sentencing.  Offenders remain on 
the registry for 25 years or life, depending on the conviction.  Offenders 
released from prison must remain on the registry for a minimum of 10 years or 
the duration of their sentence, which ever is longer. 
 
After registering, offenders convicted of a felony-listed offense must report to a 
local law enforcement agency (city/township police department, county sheriff 
or MSP post) to verify their address during the first 15 days of January, April, 
July and October.  Offenders convicted of a misdemeanor-listed offense must 
report to a local law enforcement agency to verify their address during the first 
15 days of January (Jan. 1 – Jan. 15) each year.  The penalty for failing to 
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verify an address is a 93-day misdemeanor and the penalty for failing to change 
an address is a felony. 

 
 

B.  Sex Offenders Registration Act Violations 
 
Individuals not in compliance with the SOR Act are offenders who fail to 
register, fail to sign the registration form and/or fail to comply with reporting 
duties, including failing to verify and/or change their address.  These individuals 
are also known as absconders. 
 
The SOR Act allows an arrest warrant to be authorized by a prosecutor for an 
absconder.  After a warrant is entered into LEIN, the absconder can be 
apprehended during a traffic stop or any other contact with law enforcement.  In 
addition, law enforcement agencies conduct periodic sex offender sweeps, 
during which offenders’ addresses are verified and absconders are actively 
sought. 
 
Law enforcement agencies also rely on the public to help identify absconders.  
Citizens are encouraged to contact their local law enforcement agency if they 
think someone is in violation of the SOR Act.   

 
 
II. Public Sex Offender Registry 
 
Similar to the SOR, the Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR) is a database containing 
the names, addresses and listed offense information of persons in Michigan convicted 
of certain sexual offenses after October 1, 1995, or under the supervision of the 
Michigan Department of Corrections for a listed offense on October 1, 1995.   When 
first established in 1996, the PSOR was accessible to the public by visiting a local law 
enforcement agency to view a paper copy of the list.  In 1999, as a result of Public Act 
85, the PSOR became available online at http://www.mipsor.state.mi.us/, allowing for 
searches by zip code or name and approximate age to identify registered sex 
offenders.  
 
Under the SOR Act, certain offenders are exempt from the PSOR (even though they 
remain on the SOR).  These offenders include all juveniles and offenders who have 
successfully completed the probation process outlined in Public Act 240 of 2004.  Any 
juvenile convicted of criminal sexual conduct first or second degree is listed on the 
PSOR following his/her 18th birthday. 
 
In addition, those individuals who are deceased and offenders who have moved out of 
the state or out of the country are removed from the PSOR following the submission of 
a death certificate or notification of a change of address.  
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A. Offender Photographs 
 
Public Act 238 of 2004 requires the PSOR to include the photograph of each 
individual registered under the SOR Act.  To fulfill this requirement, PA 238 
allows the MSP to obtain photographs from the Secretary of State.   
 
The photographs were posted beginning May 1, 2005.  By May 31, 
approximately 65 percent of the photographs were available on the PSOR.  The 
remaining offenders either do not have a Michigan driver’s license or state 
identification card, or the Secretary of State records did not match the 
information in the PSOR.  Records without photographs are being addressed 
by the SOR Unit staff.  

 
 
III. Sex Offender Registry Statistics*  
 
As of July 29, 2005, there were 37,296 offenders in the SOR.  Of those, 2,395 were 
juveniles and 12,028 were incarcerated.  On average, 200 new offenders are added to 
the SOR per month.  The Michigan SOR has a compliance rate of approximately 54 
percent.  Those offenders not in compliance either failed to change their address or 
failed to verify their address.  (Note: Statistical comparisons among states are often 
inaccurate because each state has different requirements for who is registered and 
how statistics are reported.) 
 
Of the 37,296 offenders in the SOR, 24,022 are required to verify their address either 
yearly or quarterly depending on their offense.  Incarcerated offenders and offenders 
who have reported they left Michigan and moved to another state are not required to 
verify.  At the end of the July 2005 verification period, 15,601 offenders were in 
compliance with SOR Act requirements and 8,421 offenders had failed to comply with 
requirements of the Act.   
 
 A.  Public Sex Offender Registry Statistics 
 

As of July, 2005, there were 20,546 offenders on the PSOR.  The PSOR does 
not include offenders who have moved out of the state, are incarcerated, have 
a known false address or are juveniles. 

 
*Statistics are updated quarterly following mandated verification periods. 
 
 
IV. Additional Information and Resources 
 
• Supporter of PA 238 of 2004 (placing offenders’ photos online): Rep. Leon Drolet 
• National Sex Offender Registry: http://www.nsopr.gov/ 
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• Other state Sex Offender Registries: http://www.fbi.gov/hq/cid/cac/states.htm 
• The Center for Sex Offender Management: http://www.csom.org/ 
 

http://www.fbi.gov/hq/cid/cac/states.htm
http://www.csom.org/

