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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION LEGISLATION

1 FEDERAL LEGISLATION

1.1 THE JAcOB WETTERLING ACT

The 1997 Federal Crime Act contained a provision called “The Jacob Wetterling Act” (42
USC 14071) requiring all states to pass a sex offender registration and notification law or
face the loss of millions of dollars in federal crime prevention funds. Michigan'’s
allocation is approximately $15 million annually and distributed to each county via a
formula.

This act was named after 11-year old Jacob Wetterling who was abducted by a masked
man at gunpoint near his home in October 1989. Jacob’s mother, Patty, became an
advocate for missing children and was appointed to a Governor’s Task Force that
recommended stronger sex offender registration requirements in Minnesota. Later, the
U.S. Congress passed the “Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually
Violent Offender Registration Act” in Jacob’s honor.

1.2 MEGAN’S LAW

“Megan’s Law” was passed by the New Jersey Legislature in 1994. This amended the
Wetterling Program with regard to the disclosure of information collected by a state sex
offender registry program. The law gives states broad discretion to determine whom
should be notified about offenders, under what circumstances, and about which
offenders.

The law was named after 7-year old Megan Kanka accepted an invitation from a
neighbor in Hamilton Township, New Jersey, to see his new puppy. The neighbor,
Jesse Timmendequas, was a twice-convicted pedophile. He raped her, murdered her,
and dumped her body in a nearby park. Megan’s parents stated that they never would
have allowed her to travel the neighborhood freely if they had known that a convicted
sex offender was living across the street.

1.3 PAM LYCHNER SEXUAL OFFENDER TRACKING AND IDENTIFICATION
ACT OF 1996

The “Pam Lychner Sexual Offender Tracking and Identification Act of 1996” requires the
Attorney General to establish a national database at the FBI to track the whereabouts
and movements of certain convicted sex offenders. It tracks sex offenders with
convictions of a criminal offense against a minor, sexually violent offenses, or if the
offender is a sexually violent predator. It requires a lifetime registration requirement for
certain serious offenders and recidivists.
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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION LEGISLATION

The act was named after Houston real estate agent Pam Lychner who was preparing to
show a vacant home to a prospective buyer. Awaiting her at the house was a twice-
convicted felon who brutally assaulted her. Her husband arrived and saved her life. She
then formed a victims rights advocacy group that lobbies for tougher sentences for
violent criminals. Lychner and her two daughters were killed in the explosion of TWA
Flight 800 off the coast of Long Island in July of 1996. Later that year, Congress passed
the Pam Lychner Sexual Offender Tracking and Identification Act of 1996 in her
memory.

1.4 THE “JAcoB WETTERLING IMPROVEMENTS ACT OF 1997

The “Jacob Wetterling Improvements Act of 1997” mandated that sex offenders
convicted in military, tribal, and federal courts are required to register in his or her state
of residence. It also mandated that sex offenders required to register in his or her state
of residence must also be registered in the state where they work and/or attend school.
It also mandated that each state enacts anti-stalking laws for offenders adjudicated as
juveniles.

1.5 THE 1998 APPROPRIATIONS ACT FOR COMMERCE, JUSTICE, AND
STATE DEPARTMENTS

“The 1998 Appropriations Act for Commerce, Justice, and State Departments” requires
states to participate in the FBI National Sex Offender Registry (NSOR). Additional
offenses that require registration were added such as kidnapping of a minor.
Registration is based on a range of offenses specified by state law, which must be
comparable to or exceed the range of offenses in the Jacob Wetterling Act.

1.6 THE CAMPUS SEX CRIMES PREVENTION AcCT OF 2000

“The Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act of 2000” requires state and local law
enforcement notification of a registered sex offender’s employment and/or student status
at an institution of higher learning.

This act was enacted in memory of Jeanne Anne Clery, who was tortured, raped,
sodomized, and murdered in her dormitory room at Lehigh University in 1986. Her killer
was a drug and alcohol abuser, and a Lehigh student whom Jeanne had never met.
Jeanne’s parents later discovered that 38 violent crimes had occurred on the Lehigh
campus in the three years prior to her murder.
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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION LEGISLATION

2 STATE LEGISLATION

2.1 1994-1995 MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDERS REGISTRATION ACT

The “Michigan Sex Offenders Act” (Public Acts 286, 287, 294 and 355 of 1994), requires
registration, address information and address changes of persons convicted of certain
sexual offenses or on parole for those offenses after October 1, 1995. It established a
minimum registration period of 25 years, with lifetime registration requirements for
second or subsequent offenses. The registration includes juvenile offenders. The
registration information was available to law enforcement only and exempt from
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Failure to comply with the registration
requirements is a four-year felony.

2.2 1996 MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDERS REGISTRATION ACT

Public Act 494 of 1996 opened the registry to the public. Public access was limited to
public notification at his or her local law enforcement agency.

2.3 1999 MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDERS REGISTRATION ACT

Public Act 85 of 1999 made the sex registry information available to the public via the
Internet. Additionally, the list of offenses for required registration was expanded and the
ten-year after release from prison provision was added. Offenders who move out of
Michigan must report the change of address to the Michigan State Police (MSP) and
must comply with registration requirements in his or her new state of residency. Address
verification requirements were added, the frequency of which dependent upon his or her
conviction of a felony or misdemeanor.

2.4 2002 MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDERS REGISTRATION ACT

Public Act 542 of 2002 required all registered sex offenders, who attend and/or work at
an institution of higher learning, to report his or her campus status to the local law
enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the campus. The Act also required that the
information be made available to the public.

2.5 2004 MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDERS REGISTRATION ACT
Public Act 237 of 2004 required offenders to pay a one-time fee of $35.

Public Act 238 of 2004 required the inclusion of offender photographs to be available on
the Public Sex Offenders (PSOR) website.
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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION LEGISLATION

Public Act 239 of 2004 provided changes for offenders sentenced under the Holmes
Youthful Trainee Act (HYTA). It restricts the availability of youthful trainee status to
individuals who commit Criminal Sexual Conduct 3" Degree or Criminal Sexual Conduct
4™ Degree, if the only factor that led to the charges was that the victim had not reached
the age of consent.

Public Act 240 of 2004 provided changes to the registration requirements as it relates to
juveniles and persons assigned to youthful trainee status. Offenders assigned youthful
trainee status after October 1, 2004 are not required to register as sex offenders unless
the youthful trainee status is revoked and an adjudication of guilt is entered. The Act
also allows juvenile offenders convicted of certain specific offenses to petition the court
for alternative registration.

ﬁ Note: The text of the legislation can be found at the Michigan Legislature
web site, www.michiganlegislature.org or in Appendix D of this manual.
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3 PuBLIC NOTIFICATION INFORMATION

3.1 PuBLIC NOTIFICATION AT LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES

The 1996 amendments to the Act provided for public access to printed sex offender
registries. All Michigan State Police posts, sheriff's departments and local law
enforcement agencies must have a Public Sex Offender Registration (PSOR) list
available for public inspection during regular business hours. It is recommended that all
agencies periodically run a PSOR list by his or her zip code(s) for public viewing.
Agencies are not required to make a copy or otherwise provide a hard copy for the
public. The PSOR list will not contain offenders adjudicated as juveniles.

ﬁ Note: A PSOR inquiry requires the following data elements:

SCAN LINE | DEFINITION
48 Zip Code
55 Operator
56 For

Example of a PSOR LEIN Inquiry:
PSOR.48:48413.55:SGT C SHELL.56:PO RAY BROWN/BIG CITY PD.

3.2 PuBLIC INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET

The public can access the PSOR web site at www.mipsor.state.mi.us. It is updated
directly from LEIN and the information is current as of 6:00 am each morning. The web
site also includes:

¢ Terms and definitions of all registerable offenses
¢ Link to the Sex Offenders Registration Act
¢ Frequently Asked Questions

The registry can be searched by:

¢ Zip code
¢ First and last name and estimated age plus or minus 5 years (all three fields
are required for this type of search)
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MICHIGAN
Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR) Inquiry

This information is being provided in accordance with the Sex Offenders Registration Act as amended in 1999,
This Sex Offender Registry is updated daily at 6:00 A M. The information contained in this registry is obtained by local law

enforcement agencies when Sexial Offenders register with those local agencies. For questions of concerns regarding the
contact the Michigan State Police, Criminal Tustice Information Center, Identification Sectior, 7150 Harris Drive, Latig
(517) 322-5098. Please read Frequently A sked Cuestions priot to calling,

Enter First Name.

ZIP Code Search Name and Age Search

[John F,-IstName‘ Enter Last Name.

| 5 Digit ZIP code [Smith W
[40] Estimated Age (within 5 years)

Searchby 2P_ | [ SearchbyName | The Estimated Age field

must be used to perform

FREQUENTLY ASKED SEX OFFENDERS a name and age search.
QUESTIONS REGISTRATION ACT
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After a successful search is complete, the following information will be provided:

®10476703
@Name: Sex: M Race: W Dob: 07/07/1970
®Height: 600 Weight: 180 Hair: BROWN Eye: BROWN
@Address: 123 ANY ST City: BIG CITY State: MI Zip: 48823
®O0ffense: 750.158 Description: SODOMY

Offense: 750.335A Description: INDECENT EXPOSURE
®Alias:

Explanation

System ID# assigned to each sex offender registration record

Name of offender, sex, race and date of birth

Offender’s height, weight, hair and eye colors

Offender’s address or “address unknown” or if incarcerated, the
facility address

MCL Offense code and description of the code

96 ® 068

Alias

@ FYI: The numbers above are for clarification purposes only, they will not appear on
the report.

ﬁ Note: If a search is not successful, the search results page will indicate that no
records exist for the criteria that you entered.

? Questions: For further information concerning the Sex Offender Registration process
and legal requirements, please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions in this manual.

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
REVISION DATE OCTOBER 2004 PAGE 7




REGISTRATION

4 REGISTRATION

4.1 PERSONS REQUIRED TO BE REGISTERED
The following persons are required to register as a sex offender:

¢ Any person who has been convicted of a listed offense on or after October
1, 1995. A summary of Michigan listed sex offenses can be found on page
B-1 of this manual.

¢ Any person who was convicted of a listed offense prior to October 1, 1995,
who was under the supervision of a criminal justice agency, such as prison,
parole, probation or juvenile court for the listed offense

¢ Any person registered or required to be registered in another state or
country who is residing, temporarily residing, working or attending school in
Michigan

4.2 INITIAL REGISTRATION

4.2.1 MicHIGAN OFFENDERS — AT TIME OF CONVICTION

Prior to sentencing, entry of the order of disposition or assignment to youthful trainee
status, the probation officer and/or juvenile division of the probate court shall be
responsible for initial registration.

4.2.2 MicHIGAN OFFENDERS — PoST CONVICTION

Any person no longer under the supervision of the court or Department of Corrections
who was not registered shall be registered by the law enforcement agency having
contact with the offender.

4.2.3 OFFENDERS CONVICTED IN OTHER STATES

Offenders who are registered or required to be registered in another state shall be
registered by the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the offender’s
residence.

4.3 IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

All registered sex offenders shall maintain either a valid Michigan operator or chauffeur
license or a Michigan personal identification card with a digitized photograph. The
address on the card shall match the current address on the sex offender registry. This
card must be used as proof of residence. Agencies may request other proof of
residency, such as a voter registration card or utility bill, until the agency is satisfied that
proof of residency has been established.
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4.4 REGISTRATION DURATION

The registration requirement applies for 25 years following conviction, or a minimum of
10 years after being released from prison, whichever is longer. If a person has been
convicted of a second or subsequent conviction, regardless of when the first conviction
occurred, the registration requirement is life.

In some cases, juveniles who meet certain requirements are eligible to petition the court
for alternative registration. Juveniles whom petitions have been granted by the court will
register until age 18, or as ordered by the court, whichever is first.

There are some first offenses that require automatic lifetime registration. Those
offenses are:

750.520b CSC 1 Degree

750.520c(1)a CSC 2™ Degree (victim under 13)

750.349 Kidnapping

750.350 Child Kidnapping

750.145¢(2) & (3) Child Sexually Abusive Commercial Activity

4.5 REGISTRATION FEES

All registered sex offenders must pay a one-time $35 registration fee. This fee may only
be collected at a local law enforcement agency, sheriff department, or State Police post.

4.6 METHOD AND TIME REQUIREMENTS

Registrations will be done on LEIN. LEIN shall serve as the computerized database for
registrations of convicted sex offenders. Refer to the LEIN Policy Manual or contact
Michigan State Police, LEIN Field Services Section for information to complete these
requirements.

The registration entry must be completed within 3 business days of receiving the
information. The Michigan Sex Offender Registration Form (DD-4) must be completed
prior to entering the information to ensure all necessary information is entered and a
copy must be provided to the offender.

4.7 DD-4 COMPLETION

The Act requires the offender receive a copy of the initial registration. The DD-4 shall be
used for this purpose. The registration form shall be completed by the agency official.
Do NOT allow the offender to complete either form.

Both the registering official and offender shall sign and date the form. If an offender
refuses to sign the form, the agency official shall write “Refused to Sign” on the
offender’s signature line and forward to the address below. If appropriate, have the
parent and/or guardian of a juvenile offender sign the forms. Refusal to sign the
registration form is a 93-day misdemeanor.

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
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REGISTRATION

A copy of the DD-4 form (at initial registration only) shall then be forwarded to:
Michigan State Police
Sex Offender Registration Unit
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, Ml 48913

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
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REGISTRATION

4.8 DD-4 INSTRUCTIONS
STEP ONE:

[J OFFENDER SHALL PRESENT HIS OR HER VALID MICHIGAN DRIVER’S LICENSE OR
MICHIGAN PERSONAL ID CARD. This is used as proof of residency.

STEP TWO

[0 Query SOR Recorp (LEIN) to ensure offender has no pre-existing record.
0 pp-4 provided by the court, go to step three

[0 RuN CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD to determine conviction and duration of
registration.

STEP THREE
[J compLETE DD-4 Do not allow the offender to complete this form.

[J REGISTERING OFFICIAL AND OFFENDER must sign the DD-4.
STEP FOUR

D PROVIDE COPY OF DD-4 FORM TO OFFENDER
STEP FIVE

[0 EnTER DD-4 information into LEIN using the QSOR message key.
[ Query SOR RECORD (LEIN) to ensure all information has been entered correctly.

O The original should be forwarded to:
Michigan State Police
Sex Offender Registration Unit
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, Ml 48913

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
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DD-4 (B/04)
Michigan State Police

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

Portions of this registration are confidential. Disclosure of confidential information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.

THIS SECTION FOR INITIAL REGISTRATION MDOC
REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) ALIAS(S)
Doe, John David Doe, David John
STREET ADDRESS APTALOT |CITY STATE | zIP COUNTY
123 Main Street Some Town M |48823 33
DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY STATE ID FBI
. 6-6-72 123-45-6789 123456A 123456AB7
=8 DRIVER LICENSE RACE SEX HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR EYE
<L
E D123-456-789-012 White Male 6'0" 225 Brown Blue
Ell PLACE OF BIRTH |SKIN TONE SMT FINGERPRINT CLASSIFICATION
Bl California Fair Tattoo: Chest Scar: L Wrist 1510111604 11091117 13
DNA AVAILABLE |DNA LOCATION BLOOD TYPE
Yes Michigan State Police Forensic Lab Storage 0+
DATE REGISTERED | REGISTRATION DURATION EXEMPT FROM VERIFICATION? VERIFICATION REQUIREMENT
O 10YEARS N Y & QUARTERLY
8 25 YEARS g no O YEARLY
10-1-2004 LIFETIME
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY | STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
CSC 3rd (Person 13-15) 750.520D1A 01-2345-67 33 MI 8-1-2004
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY | STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
o
Sl TYPE OF REGISTRATION CONVICTION TYPE DATE OF OFFENSE VICTIM'S AGE AT OFFENSE
Sl O mMicHIGAN 1-1-2004 14
Bl O ouToFSTATE O  JUVENILE ADJUDICATION
o 0 FEDERAL/ MILITARY O  ADULT CONVICTION CTN
S5 TR G HyTA 33-01234567-89
REMARKS
SUBJECT HAD INTERCOURSE WITH DAUGHTER OF LIVE-IN GIRLFRIEND
CAMPUS CODE | CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT QO EMPLOYEE
@ O NOLONGER ATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
o
=8 CAMPUS CODE | CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
9 O NOLONGER ATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
THIS SECTION FOR VERIFICATION AND CHANGE OF ADDRESS
O CHANGE OF ADDRESS O ADDRESS VERIFICATION O MOVING OUT OF STATE O INCARCERATED

SYSIDNO REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) DRIVER LICENSE

STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT | CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY

THIS SECTION FOR RECEIPT OF $35 REGISTRATION FEE PAYMENT

PAYMENT MADE |METHOD OF PAYMENT| REASON FOR NONPAYMENT
K YES
Cash

Q nNo
ATURE OF ORFENDER

SIGNATURE OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL
L nyf | Qa/rcﬁ WInud

v
SIGNATURE OF PAIL-(ENT OR GUARDIAN

SIGNATURE-QF REGISTERING QFFICIAL PRINTED NAME OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL
L a/r : 1184 ’Y}LLT Sgt. Jane Smith
REﬁ}STERIh@' AGENCY ORI DATE (M.CLLA. 28.721, 1994 PA
295, Amended 1896,
Michigan State Police Post 99 MI0123456 10-1-2004 1899, 2002, 2004)

Mail to: Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center, Sex Offender Registration, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing, Ml 48913




NOTIFICATION

5 NOTIFICATION

The Act requires that all registered sex offenders are notified of his or her responsibilities under
the Act. All offenders are explained his/her duties and responsibilities while registered as a sex
offender and are notified in writing of any legislative changes to the Sex Offenders Registration
Act. The DD-4A form, Explanation of Duties to Register as a Sex Offender, is used for this
purpose.

5.1 NOTIFICATION AT INITIAL REGISTRATION

5.1.1 COURT, PROBATION OR PAROLE

The DD-4A form will be explained to the offender upon initial registration by the authorized
court, probation or parole employee.

5.1.2 OFFENDERS CONVICTED IN ANOTHER STATE

The DD-4A form will be explained to offenders, whom are not currently being supervised by a
court, probation or parole office, by the local law enforcement agency, sheriff department, or
State Police post who has jurisdiction over the offender’s residence.

5.2 NOTIFICATION AFTER INITIAL REGISTRATION

5.2.1 COURT, PROBATION OR PAROLE

If an offender is currently under the supervision of a court, probation or parole office, and has
not been notified of his or her responsibilities as a registered sex offender, the DD-4A form will
be explained to the offender by court, probation, or parole personnel.

5.2.2 MicHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS PRISONER

If an offender is incarcerated, the DD-4A form will be explained to the offender by an MDOC
authorized employee just prior to his/her release.

5.2.3 OFFENDERS CONVICTED OUT OF STATE

If an offender was convicted in another state, the local law enforcement agency, sheriff
department, or State Police post who has jurisdiction over the offender’s residence.

5.3 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY

Each agency shall ensure that a notification form is completed and submitted for all persons
residing in his or her jurisdiction.




NOTIFICATION

5.4 RETENTION OF DD-4A FORM
In all cases, the original DD-4A form, with or without the individual’s signature shall be mailed to:
Michigan State Police
Sex Offender Registration Unit

7150 Harris Drive

Lansing, Ml 48913
The DD-4A will be kept on file as evidence that the offender was explained his duties and
responsibilities as required under the Act.
5.5 CERTIFIED COPIES OF DD-4A

Certified copies of DD-4A forms are available from the Sex Offender Registration Unit. When
submitting a request for certified copies, you must include the following information:

¢ Offender name and date of birth
¢ Requestor’'s name and title

¢ Requesting agency name and complete mailing address




NOTIFICATION

wengn sweraice EXPLANATION OF DUTIES TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER

Pursuant to Michigan Public Act 295 of 1994 as amended in 1996, 1999, and 2002, and in accordance with the Jacob Wetlerling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent
Offender Registration Act (42 United States Code 14071), Pam Lychner Sexual Offender Tracking and Identification Act of 1996 (42 United States Code 14072), and the
Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act (42 United States Code 14071), you are hereby notified of your responsibilities to register as a convicted sex offender.

o~

Offender must initial each of the following:

| understand that it is my duty to register as a sexual offender. | understand that failure to sign the form(s) is a misdemeanor and shall
result in criminal prosecution.

| understand that | must register for a period of 25 years or a minimum of 10 years after being released from prison, whichever is longer. |
understand that registration will be for LIFE for a second or subsequent conviction of a registerable offense or for a first conviction of one of
the following crimes: 750.520b: Criminal Sexual Conduct 1* Degree; 750.520c(1)(a): Criminal Sexual Conduct 2™ Degree (Person under 13);
750.349: Kidnapping; 750.350: Child Kidnapping; 750.145¢c(2)(3): Child Sexually Abusive Commercial Activity, or the attempt of any of the
above listed offenses.

| understand that if | was adjudicated as a juvenile or sentenced under the Holmes Youthful Trainee Act, | may be eligible to petition the court
for alternative registration duration. | understand that it is my responsibility to petition the sentencing court in a manner prescribed by the
court.

| understand that within ten days of changing my residence, | must report in person to the local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department,
or State Police post having jurisdiction over my residence and provide the new address. | understand that failure to report a change of

address is a felony and shall result in criminal prosecution.

| understand that within fourteen days of moving into this state, if | am registered or required to be registered as a sex offender in another
state, | must register as a sex offender at the local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or State Police post having jurisdiction over

my residence. | understand that failure to report a change of address is a felony and shall result in criminal prosecution.

| understand that ten days prior to changing my residence to another state, | must report in person to the nearest State Police post and provide
my new address. Upon moving, | shall comply with the registration requirements of that state. | understand that failure to report a change

of address is a felony and shall result in criminal prosecution.

| understand that | shall maintain either a valid Michigan operator or chauffeur license or Michigan personal identification card with digitized
photograph. The address on this card shall match my current address on the sex offender registry. This card may be used as proof of
residence. Other proof of residency may be required, such as a voter registration card or utility bill. | understand that my digitized photograph
will be included on the public sex offender registry web site.

| understand that | shall pay a one-time registration fee of $35.00. | understand that if | am determined to be indigent by the collecting agency,

this fee will be waived temporarily. | understand that failing to pay the registration fee is a misdemeanor and shall result in criminal
prosecution.

I understand that | shall have my fingerprints taken, if not already on file with the department of State Police. | understand that those
fingerprints will be forwarded to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, if not already on file with the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
understand that | must be reprinted if my fingerprints were expunged and/or returned to me.

1 understand that if | am registered for a misdemeanor listed offense, | shall verify my address between January 1 and January 15 of each year
and if | am registered for a felony listed offense, | shall verify my address during the first fifteen days of January, April, July and October of
each year. During this verification, | shall report to the local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or State Palice post having
jurisdiction over my address and provide proof of residency. Note: 750.520e: Criminal Sexual Conduct 4" Degree is a felony listed offense.

l understand that failing to verify my address is a misdemeanor and shall result in criminal prosecution.

| understand that if | attend, am employed, or volunteer at an institute of higher learning, | must report in person the name and location of the
campus as well as my status either as a student or employee to my local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or State Palice post.

I understand that any change in status must be reported within 10 days. 1 understand that failure to report status at an institute of higher
learning is a felony and shall result in criminal prosecution.

| acknowledge that | have read and/or had read to me, the above requirements as set forth by statute.

oA

£ P PEEEEBEEB B

SIGNATURE OF OF FENDER SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN (JUVENILE OFFENDERS ONLY)
“TO BE COMPLETED BY NOTIFYING OFFICIAL (DO NOT LEAVE SECTIONS BLANK)
PRINTED NAME OF oFFENDER_DOE, JOHN DAVID DATE OF BIRTH___6-6-1972
ssn 123-45-6789 sip_123456A FBIL123456AB7 DOC/Prison
that | specifically informed the offe_nder of his/her duties as set forth above and he/she indicated to me an understanding of those duties.

A SGT. JANE SMITH

RE OF NOTIFYING OFFICIAL PRINTED NAME/RANK OR POSITION OF NOTIFYING OFFICIAL
NOTIEYING AGENGY MICHIGAN STATE POLICE POST 99 oAt 1-1-2004
Mail the original to: Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center
Sex Offender Registration (M.C.L.A. 28.721, 1994 MI P.A. 295,
7150 Harris Drive Amended 1996, 1999, 2002, 2004)
Lansing, Ml 48913




ADDRESS VERIFICATION

6 ADDRESS VERIFICATION

All registered sex offenders are required to verify his or her address.

In some cases, juveniles who meet certain requirements are eligible to petition the court for
alternative registration. Juveniles for whom petitions are granted by the court will be exempt
from verification.

6.1 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY

The offender will report to the local law enforcement agency, sheriff department, or State Police
post having jurisdiction over the offender’s residence for verification. Law enforcement
agencies are responsible for the verification of all offenders living within his or her jurisdiction.

6.2 IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

All registered sex offenders shall maintain either a valid Michigan operator or chauffeur license
or a Michigan personal identification card with a digitized photograph. The address on the card
shall match the current address on the sex offender registry. This card must be used as proof
of residence. Agencies may request other proof of residency, such as a voter registration card
or utility bill, until the agency is satisfied that proof of residency has been established.

6.3 VERIFICATION PERIODS

The offender must register during the appropriate verification period. Verification periods
remain the same each year. Yearly or quarterly verification is based on the offense. A
summary of Michigan Listed Sex Offenses can be found on page B-1 of this manual.

The verification periods are:

Verification Period Offense Dates
Misdemeanor Listed
Yearly Offenses January 1 to January 15
January 1 to January 15
. April 1 to April 15
Quarterly Felony Listed Offenses July 1 to July 15
October 1 to October 15

6.4 DD-4 COMPLETION

The Act requires that the offender receive proof of verification. The DD-4 shall be used for this
purpose. The verification section of the registration form shall be completed by the agency
official. Do not allow the offender to complete the form. Both the registering official and
offender shall sign and date the form. If the offender refuses to sign the form, the agency official
shall write “Refused to Sign” on the offender’s signature line and forward to the address below.
If appropriate, have the parent and/or guardian of a juvenile offender sign the forms. Refusal to
sign the registration form is a 93 day misdemeanor.
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ADDRESS VERIFICATION

This form shall then be forwarded to:
Michigan State Police
Sex Offender Registration Unit
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, Ml 48913

6.5 ENFORCEMENT

At the end of each verification month, LEIN shall make available, by zip code, a list of persons
failing to verify his or her address for that period. The list is available using the VSOR message
key. Each law enforcement agency is strongly encouraged to take rapid and appropriate
enforcement action for these violations of the Act.

Agencies may provide a list of zip codes for which the agency has jurisdiction and the MSP
SOR Unit will provide a list of the offenders who are in felony violation in his or her jurisdiction.

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
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ADDRESS VERIFICATION

6.6 ADDRESS VERIFICATION DD-4 INSTRUCTIONS
STEP ONE:

[J PRESENT IDENTIFICATION: OFFENDER SHALL PRESENT HIS OR HER VALID MICHIGAN DRIVER’S
LICENSE OR MICHIGAN PERSONAL ID CARD. This is used as proof of residency.

STEP TWO

[0 QuErY SOR RECORD (LEIN) AND CHECK FOR LAST DATE OF ADDRESS VERIFICATION. If
the offender has missed his or her previous verification date, you should save all LEIN
work for possible warrant request submissions. Once the address is verified, all prior
verification data is overwritten and is not retrievable by the MSP Data Center.

[ cHEck SOR RECORD (LEIN) FOR “CAMPUS NOTIFICATION MADE TO OFFENDER FLAG” IF this

statement is not on the SOR record, complete a DD-4A (Explanation of Duties to Register
as a Sex Offender).

STEP THREE

[J ComPLETE “ADDRESS VERIFICATION” PORTION OF THE DD-4. Do not allow the offender to fill
out this form

[0 compLETE DD-4A IF NEEDED. Do not allow the offender to fill out this form.

[J REGISTERING OFFICIAL AND OFFENDER OR PARENT/GUARDIAN must sign the DD-4 (and DD-
4A if completed). Refusal by the offender to sign either form is a 93-day misdemeanor.

[0 maIL copy oF DD-4 (AND DD-4A IF COMPLETED) TO:
MICHIGAN STATE POLICE
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION UNIT
7150 HARRIS DRIVE
LANSING, MI 48913

STEP FOUR

D ACTIVATE “ADDRESS VERIFICATION FLAG” IN LEIN.

@ Note: During the January verification period, all currently registered offenders are

required to pay the $35 registration fee, unless proof of indigence is proven. New registrants
will pay the $35 registration fee at the time of the first address verification.

Remember to set the LEIN flag to Y or | to indicate payment.
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REVISION DATE OCTOBER 2004 PAGE 18




DD-4 (8/2004)
Michigan State Police

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

Portions of this registration are confidential. Disclosure of confidential information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.

THIS SECTION FOR INITIAL REGISTRATION

MDOC
REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) ALIAS(S)
STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT CITY STATE | ZIP COUNTY
DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY STATE ID FBI
4
E DRIVER LICENSE RACE SEX HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR EYE
=
@
Q PLACE OF BIRTH |SKIN TONE SMT FINGERPRINT CLASSIFICATION
(4
DNA AVAILABLE [DNA LOCATION BLOOD TYPE
DATE REGISTERED REGISTRATION DURATION EXEMPT FROM VERIFICATION? VERIFICATION REQUIREMENT
O 10 YEARS a YES 0O QUARTERLY
QO 25YEARS a NO 0O  YEARLY
O LIFETIME
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
8
5 TYPE OF REGISTRATION CONVICTION TYPE DATE OF OFFENSE VICTIM'S AGE AT OFFENSE
S O  micHIGAN
5 O ouTOF STATE O  JUVENILE ADJUDICATION
o O FEDERAL/ MILITARY O  ADULT CONVICTION CTN
O  TRIBAL QO HyTa
REMARKS
CAMPUS CODE |CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
g O NO LONGER ATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
[
% CAMPUS CODE |CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
O NO LONGER ATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
THIS SECTION FOR VERIFICATION AND CHANGE OF ADDRESS
O CHANGE OF ADDRESS X ADDRESS VERIFICATION O MOVING OUT OF STATE O INCARCERATED

SYSIDNO REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) DRIVER LICENSE
12345678 DOE, JOHN DAVID D123-456-789-012

STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT |CITY STATE zip COUNTY
456 SOME STREET ANY TOWN Ml 48823 |33

THIS SECTION FOR RECEIPT OF $35 REGISTRATION FEE PAYMENT

PAYMENT MADE |METHOD OF PAYMENT [ REASON FOR NONPAYMENT
Q VYEs
O nNo

SIGNATURE OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL

SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

S ATURE OF OFFéNDER
Si ATURE@I&G{ISTER]NG OFFICIAL
A, « /K.Q { J&]’}L(_u_,

PRINTED NAME OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL

JANE SMITH/ SERGEANT
REGISTERING AGENCY ORI DATE (LA 28721, 1864 PA
. Amended 1 R
MICHIGAN STATE POLICE POST 99 MI10123456 1/1/05 1999, 2002?2034)




OFFENDER CHANGE OF ADDRESS WITHIN MICHIGAN

7 OFFENDER CHANGE OF ADDRESS WITHIN MICHIGAN

To report an address change within Michigan, the offender shall appear at the local law

enforcement agency, sheriff department, or State Police post having jurisdiction over the
offender’s address within 10 days of the change. Failure to report change of residence

is a felony.

7.1 IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

All registered sex offenders shall maintain either a valid Michigan operator or chauffeur
license or a Michigan personal identification card with a digitized photograph. The
address on the card shall match the current address on the sex offender registry. This
card must be used as proof of residence. Agencies may request other proof of
residency, such as a voter registration card or utility bill, until the agency is satisfied that
proof of residency has been established.

7.2 LAW ENFORCEMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

7.2.1 TRANSFER TO COMMUNITY RESIDENTIAL PROGRAM OR MiNniMuMm CUSTODY
FAciLITY

If the person is in prison and is transferred to a community residential program or a
minimum custody facility of any kind, the Michigan Department of Corrections shall notify
the affected local police agency, sheriff department, or State Police post with 10 days.

7.3 DD-4 COMPLETION

The Act requires that the offender receive proof of address change. The DD-4 shall be
used for this purpose. The address change section of the registration form shall be
completed by the agency official. Do not allow the offender to complete the form.
Both the registering official and offender shall sign and date the form. If the offender
refuses to sign the form, the agency official shall write “Refused to Sign” on the
offender’s signature line and forward to the address below. If appropriate, have the
parent and/or guardian of a juvenile offender sign the forms. Refusal to sign the
registration form is a 93-day misdemeanor.
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OFFENDER CHANGE OF ADDRESS WITHIN MICHIGAN

7.4 CHANGE OF ADDRESS WITHIN MICHIGAN DD-4 INSTRUCTIONS
STEP ONE:

[J PRESENT IDENTIFICATION: OFFENDER SHALL PRESENT HIS OR HER VALID MICHIGAN
DRIVER’S LICENSE OR MICHIGAN PERSONAL ID CARD. This is used as proof of
residency.

STEP TWO

[0 Query SOR RecorD (LEIN) AND CHECK FOR “CAMPUS NOTIFICATION MADE TO
OFFENDER FLAG” IF this statement is not on the SOR record, complete a DD-4A
(Explanation of Duties to Register as a Sex Offender).

STEP THREE

] COMPLETE “CHANGE OF ADDRESS” PORTION OF THE DD-4. Do not allow the
offender to fill out this form. If the offender is homeless, enter 123 Homeless as the
street address.

[0 compLETE DD-4A IF NEEDED. Do not allow the offender to fill out this form.

[J REGISTERING OFFICIAL AND OFFENDER must sign the DD-4 (and DD-4A if
completed). Refusal by the offender to sign either form is a 93-day misdemeanor.

D A COPY MUST BE GIVEN TO THE OFFENDER FOR PROOF OF ADDRESS CHANGE.

[J MaIL coPY oF DD-4A, IF COMPLETED TO:
MICHIGAN STATE POLICE
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION UNIT
7150 HARRIS DRIVE
LANSING, MI 48913
STEP FOUR

[ ENTER DD-4 INFORMATION INTO LEIN
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DD-4 (8/04)
Michigan State Police

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

Portions of this registration are confidential. Disclosure of confidential information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.

THIS SECTION FOR INITIAL REGISTRATION MDOC
REGISTRANT NAME (Last First, Middle) ALIAS(S)
STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT CITY STATE | ZIP COUNTY
DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY STATEID FBI
=
E DRIVER LICENSE RACE SEX HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR EYE
&
o
g PLACE OF BIRTH | SKIN TONE SMT FINGERPRINT CLASSIFICATION
14
DNA AVAILABLE |DNA LOCATION BLOOD TYPE
DATE REGISTERED REGISTRATION DURATION EXEMPT FROM VERIFICATION? VERIFICATION REQUIREMENT
O 10 YEARS a  vEs O QUARTERLY
QO  25YEARS a  No O  YEARLY
Q  LIFETIME
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
5
5 TYPE OF REGISTRATION CONVICTION TYPE DATE OF OFFENSE VICTIM'S AGE AT OFFENSE
> O micHiGAN
Fll O outoFsTaTE 0 JUVENILE ADJUDICATION
Q U FEDERAL MILITARY O  ADULT CONVICTION CTN
O  TRIBAL Q HYTA
REMARKS
CAMPUS CODE CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
% O NO LONGER ATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
[«
g CAMPUS CODE  |CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
O NOLONGER ATTENDING O NO LONGER EMPLOYED
THIS SECTION FOR VERIFICATION AND CHANGE OF ADDRESS
Q CHANGE OF ADDRESS 0 ADDRESS VERIFICATION O MOVING QUT OF STATE QO INCARCERATED
SYSIDNO REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) DRIVER LICENSE
12345678 Doe, John David D123-456-789-012
STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT [CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY
456 Some Street Some Town Ml 48823 |33

THIS SECTION FOR RECEIPT OF $35 REGISTRATION FEE PAYMENT

PAYMENT MADE (METHOD OF PAYMENT | REASON FOR NONPAYMENT

a
Q

YES
NO

SIGNATURE OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL

SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

SIENATURE @RREGISTERING OFFICIAL

uih

PRINTED NAME OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL

‘ ML Sgt. Jane Smith
REG’}‘ITERING@GENCY CRI DATE (MCLLA. 26721, 1994 PA
{ 295, Amended 1996,
Michigan State Police Post 99 MI0123456 1-1-05 1699, 2002, 2004)

Mail to: Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center, Sex Offender Registration, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing, MI 48913




CHANGE OF ADDRESS OUT OF STATE

8 CHANGE OF ADDRESS OUT OF STATE

The offender must report in person to the State Police post having jurisdiction over
his/her residence and report a change of address out of state 10 days prior to the move.

8.1 OFFENDER RESPONSIBILITIES

8.1.1 IDENTIFICATION

All registered sex offenders shall maintain either a valid Michigan Operator or Chauffeur
License or a Michigan Personal Identification Card with a digitized photograph. The
address on the card shall match the current address on the sex offender registry. This
card must be used as proof of residence. Agencies may request other proof of
residency, such as a voter registration card or utility bill, until the agency is satisfied that
proof of residency has been established.

8.1.2 REPORTING CHANGE OF ADDRESS

The offender will provide the city and state to which they are moving, along with the
complete address, if known.

8.1.3 COMPLIANCE WITH REGISTRATION IN NEW STATE

Upon moving to another state, the offender shall comply with the registration
requirements of that state.

8.2 LAW ENFORCEMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

8.2.1 LocAL PoLICE AGENCIES

Local police agencies shall direct any individual who reports a change of address to
another state to the nearest Michigan State Police post to process the out of state
change of address.

8.2.2 MICHIGAN STATE PoOLICE POSTS

The Act requires that the offender receive proof of address change. The DD-4 shall be
used for this purpose. The address change section of the registration form shall be
completed by Michigan State Police officials. Do not allow the offender to complete
the form. Both the registering official and offender shall sign and date the form. If the
offender refuses to sign the form, the official shall write “Refused to Sign” on the
offender’s signature line and forward to the address below. If appropriate, have the
parent and/or guardian of a juvenile offender sign the forms. Refusal to sign the
registration form is a 93 day misdemeanor.
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CHANGE OF ADDRESS OUT OF STATE

The form shall then be mailed to:
Michigan State Police
Sex Offender Registration Unit
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, Ml 48913

8.2.3 SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY STAFF

The Sex Offender Registry staff shall prepare the necessary documents and forward to
the new state. They shall provide essential information to the state registering agency in
order to facilitate registration in the new state.

8.3 DEPLOYED SEX OFFENDERS

Registered sex offenders who are deployed by the U.S. Government out of the country
or within the United States should be processed as such in LEIN. The offender must
report, in person, this information 10 days prior to deployment. The offender may have
to comply with the registration requirements in the location where he or she is
temporarily residing during the military mission. The offender must update his or her
address upon his or her return to Michigan.

When entering the address change into LEIN, you should type “Deployed” in the street
scan line. The remainder of the scan lines are as required.

8.4 DEPORTED SEX OFFENDERS

Registered sex offenders who are deported by the U.S. Government should be
processed as such in LEIN.

Documentation for deportation should be forwarded to the MSP SOR Unit where it will
be retained in the offender’s file for future inquiry. Documentation may include, but is not
limited to:

+ Police report

¢ Deportation documents

¢ Department of Corrections correspondence indicating deportation
¢ LEIN verification of deportation

When entering the address change into LEIN, you should type “Deported” in the street
scan line. The remainder of the scan lines are as required.
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8.5 MoVING OUT OF STATE DD-4 INSTRUCTIONS
STEP ONE:

] PRESENT IDENTIFICATION: OFFENDER SHALL PRESENT HIS OR HER VALID MICHIGAN
DRIVER’S LICENSE OR MICHIGAN PERSONAL ID CARD.

STEP TWO:

[0 Query SOR RecorD (LEIN) AND CHECK FOR “CAMPUS NOTIFICATION MADE TO
OFFENDER FLAG” IF this statement is not on the SOR record, complete a DD-4A
(Explanation of Duties to Register as a Sex Offender).

STEP THREE
] COMPLETE “MOVING OUT OF STATE” PORTION OF THE DD-4. Do not allow the

offender to fill out this form. If the street address is unknown, enter 123 No
Address. The city and state must be entered.

[0 compLETE DD-4A IF NEEDED. Do not allow the offender to fill out this form.

[J REGISTERING OFFICIAL AND OFFENDER OR PARENT/GUARDIAN must sign the DD-4
(and DD-4A if completed). Refusal by the offender to sign either form is a 93-day
misdemeanor.

D GIVE A COPY OF THE COMPLETED DD-4 (AND THE DD-4A IF COMPLETED) TO THE
OFFENDER

[0 MAIL ORIGINAL DD-4 (& DD-4A , IF COMPLETED) TO:
MICHIGAN STATE POLICE
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION UNIT
7150 HARRIS DRIVE
LANSING, MI 48913

STEP FOUR

D ENTER DD-4 INFORMATION INTO LEIN
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MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

DD-4 (8/04)
Michigan State Police Portions of this registration are confidential. Disclosure of confidential information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.
THIS SECTION FOR INITIAL REGISTRATION MDOC
REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) ALIAS(S)
~
STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT CITY STATE | ZIP COUNTY
DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY STATE ID FBI
z
8 DRIVER LICENSE RACE SEX HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR EYE
&
@
ﬁ PLACE OF BIRTH [SKIN TONE SMT FINGERPRINT CLASSIFICATION
[
DNA AVAILABLE |DNA LOCATION BLOOD TYPE
DATE REGISTERED REGISTRATION DURATION EXEMPT FROM VERIFICATION? VERIFICATION REQUIREMENT
Q 10 YEARS a YES. O QUARTERLY
0  25YEARS a NO 0O  YEARLY
Q  LIFETIME
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
g
S8 TYPE OF REGISTRATION CONVICTION TYPE DATE OF OFFENSE VICTIM'S AGE AT OFFENSE
> QO micHigan
5 O  outoF STATE O  JUVENILE ADJUDICATION
(&) O FEDERAL/ MILITARY Q  ADULT CONVICTION CTN
0O TRBAL Q  HyTA
REMARKS
CAMPUS CODE | CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
s O NO LONGER ATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
o
% CAMPUS CODE | CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT QO EMPLOYEE
O NO LONGER ATTENDING 0O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
THIS SECTION FOR VERIFICATION AND CHANGE OF ADDRESS
O CHANGE OF ADDRESS 0O ADDRESS VERIFICATION % MOVING OUT OF STATE 0O INCARCERATED
SYSIDNO REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) DRIVER LICENSE
12345678 Doe, John David D123-456-789-012
STREET ADDRESS APT/ILOT | CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY
123 Any Street Port Orange FL 32118 |0OS

THIS SECTION FOR RECEIPT OF $35 REGISTRATION FEE PAYMENT

PAYMENT MADE [METHOD OF PAYMENT [ REASON FOR NONPAYMENT SIGNATURE OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL
Q YEs

Q nNo

NAJURE OF ?FFENDER SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

NATURE ORREGISTERING OFFICIAL PRINTED NAME OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL
{ . El‘/iﬁl CC(\_/ Sgt. Jane Smith

RE%GTERJNG(AGENCY ORI DATE (M.C.LA 28721, 1994 PA
295, Amended 1996,
Michigan State Police Post 99 MI10123456 1-1-05 1999, 2002, 2004)

Mail to: Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center, Sex Offender Registration, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing, Ml 48913
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9 STATUS AT AN INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING

Persons registered as a sex offender who are employed or attend an institute of higher
learning that requires them to be present on campus for 14 or more consecutive days or
30 or more total days in a calendar year must report his or her status. Any change in
status must be reported within 10 days. All registered persons are required to report this
status regardless of financial compensation or governmental or education benefit. This
includes all full and part-time employees and/or students, contractual providers,
employees of contractual providers and volunteers.

An institute of higher learning is any public or private community college, college,
university, trade and vocational or occupational school. High schools, alternative
schools and GED programs are not institutes of higher learning.

The reporting requirement applies to Michigan residents as well as non-Michigan
residents.

Failure to report status at an institution of higher learning is a felony.

9.1 OFFENDER RESPONSIBILITIES

9.1.1 IDENTIFICATION

All registered sex offenders shall maintain either a valid Michigan Operator or Chauffeur
License or a Michigan Personal Identification Card with a digitized photograph. The
address on the card shall match the current address on the sex offender registry. This
card must be used as proof of residence. Agencies may request other proof of
residency, such as a voter registration card or utility bill, until the agency is satisfied that
proof of residency has been established.

If the offender is traveling daily to attend and/or work at an institution of higher learning,
an out of state driver’s license and campus identification card is acceptable.

9.1.2 DOCUMENTATION

Written documentation is required when an offender reports status at an institution of
higher learning. This would include employment, contractual relationship, volunteer or
student status. Written documentation may include, but is not limited to, any of the
following:

W-2 form

Pay stub

Written statement by an employer
Contract

Student identification card
Student Transcript

* & & O o o
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STATUS AT AN INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING

9.2 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES

9.2.1 LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, SHERIFF DEPARTMENT, STATE POLICE

An offender who resides in Michigan, either temporarily or permanently, and attends or
is employed by an institution of higher learning must report his/her status to the local law
enforcement agency, sheriff’s department or Michigan State Police post that has
jurisdiction over the offender’s residence.

9.2.2 CAMPUS PoLIiCE DEPARTMENT

An offender who does not reside in Michigan but, instead, travels daily to attend or work
at an institution of higher learning must report his/her status to the campus police
department. If the institution of higher learning does not have a campus police
department, the offender must report his/her status to the law enforcement agency
having jurisdiction over the institution of higher learning.

9.2.3 DD-4 Form COMPLETION

To change the address of an offender, the DD-4 shall be completed, signed, and dated
by the agency official. The offender shall sign the DD-4 form. A copy of the DD-4 shall
be given to the individual. After entering the address change into LEIN, a copy may be
retained in a local file or destroyed.

9.2.4 LEIN ENTRY INFORMATION

The new screens for adding campus information are operational and can be accessed
through the terminal emulator (blue screen).

To input campus information, type F SESUP.

Scan Line
 Agency ORI Use the agency ORI
55 OPR Operator Name
20 SYSIDNO | System ID Number
1 NAM Name of the offender.
150 CAM Campus code. This mandatory field requires a numerical

code. The list of schools and numerical codes can be
accessed by typing in F Campus

151 CCY Campus City. This field is used for the city or campus
location. This must be typed in manually. Campus City
should be used when an offender is at a satellite campus.

152 CST Student This mandatory field requires a 'Y or N

153 CEM Employee. This mandatory field requires a’Y or N

To cancel campus information, type F SCSUP and use the same scan lines as above.
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9.3 STATUS AT AN INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING INSTRUCTIONS
STEP ONE:

D PRESENT IDENTIFICATION: OFFENDER SHALL PRESENT WRITTEN DOCUMENTATION AS
DETAILED ON THE PREVIOUS PAGE.

STEP TWO

[J Query SOR RECORD (LEIN) FOR “CAMPUS NOTIFICATION MADE TO OFFENDER FLAG”
IF this statement is not on the SOR record, complete a DD-4A (Explanation of
Duties to Register as a Sex Offender).

STEP THREE

] CoMPLETE “CAMPUS INFORMATION PORTION OF THE DD-4. Do not allow the offender
to fill out this form.

[0 compLETE DD-4A IF NEEDED. Do not allow the offender to fill out this form.

[J REGISTERING OFFICIAL AND OFFENDER OR PARENT/GUARDIAN must sign the DD-4
(and DD-4A if completed). Refusal by the offender to sign either form is a 93-day
misdemeanor

D GIVE A COPY OF THE COMPLETED DD-4 (AND THE DD-4A IF COMPLETED) TO THE
OFFENDER

STEP FOUR

D ENTER CAMPUS INFORMATION INTO LEIN.
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DD-4 (8/04)
Michigan State Police

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

Portions of this registration are confidential. Disclosure of confidential information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.

THIS SECTION FOR INITIAL REGISTRATION MDOC
REGISTRANT NAME  (Last, First, Middle) ALIAS(S)
STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT CITY STATE | ZIP COUNTY
DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY STATE ID FBI
z
,_9_ DRIVER LICENSE RACE SEX HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR EYE
&
@
(:3 PLACE OF BIRTH |SKIN TONE SMT FINGERPRINT CLASSIFICATION
(4
DNA AVAILABLE |DNA LOCATION BLOOD TYPE
DATE REGISTERED REGISTRATION DURATION EXEMPT FROM VERIFICATION? VERIFICATION REQUIREMENT
O 10YEARS =] YES 0 QUARTERLY
O 25YEARS a NO O  YEARLY
O  LIFETIME
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
OFFENSE STATUTE DOCKET COUNTY STATE DATE OF CONVICTION
8
5 TYPE OF REGISTRATION CONVICTION TYPE DATE OF OFFENSE VICTIM'S AGE AT OFFENSE
> O  MmICHIGAN
ll O ourorsTaTe O JUVENILE ADJUDICATION
S} O FEDERAL/ MILITARY O  ADULT CONVICTION CTN
O  TRBAL O HYTA
REMARKS
CAMPUS CODE | CAMPUS CITY ¥ STUDENT O EMPLOYEE
(72} 4
3 2290 East Lansing, Ml O NOLONGER ATTENDING 0 NOLONGER EMPLOYED
% CAMPUS CODE | CAMPUS CITY O STUDENT Q EMPLOYEE
O NOLONGERATTENDING O NOLONGER EMPLOYED
THIS SECTION FOR VERIFICATION AND CHANGE OF ADDRESS
O CHANGE OF ADDRESS Q ADDRESS VERIFICATION O MOVING OUT OF STATE O INCARCERATED

SYSIDNO REGISTRANT NAME (Last, First, Middle) DRIVER LICENSE

12345678 Doe, John David D123-456-789-012

STREET ADDRESS APT/LOT | CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY
456 Some Street Some Town Ml 48823 (33

a
a

YES
NO

THIS SECTION FOR RECEIPT OF $35 REGISTRATION FEE PAYMENT

PAYMENT MADE | METHOD OF PAYMENT| REASON FOR NONPAYMENT

SIGNATURE OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL

SﬁATURE OF OFF?NDER

SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

SIGNATURE EGISTERING OFFICIAL"
ik A

Sgt. Jane Smith

PRINTED NAME OF REGISTERING OFFICIAL

REGJSTERING(/GENCY

Michigan State Police Post 99

ORI
MI0123456

DATE
1-1-05

(M.C.L.A. 28,721, 1994 PA
285, Amended 1996,
1998, 2002, 2004)

Mail to: Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center, Sex Offender Registration, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing, Ml 48913




CANCELLING RECORDS

10 CANCELLING RECORDS

Agencies should not remove or delete sex offender registration records. Any
documentation regarding the removal of a sex offender should be forwarded to the
Michigan State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit.

10.1 REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS WHO HAVE DIED

All documentation regarding an offender’s death should be forwarded to the Michigan
State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit. The information will be retained by the Sex
Offender Registration (SOR) Unit for future inquiry. The SOR Unit will cancel the
offender’s registration record upon review of the required documentation.

10.1.1 DOCUMENTATION
Documentation should include one of the following:

¢ Death Certificate

Police Report

Department of Corrections discharge as a result of death
Secretary of State records reflecting death

Social Security records reflecting death

Military records discharge as a result of death

* & & o o

Documentation that will not be accepted as proof of death include, but are not limited to:
¢ Obituary

Letters or statements from relatives and/or citizens

Newspaper articles or media reports

Returned letters from U.S. Postal Service marked “deceased”

Photographs

Any other non-government document issued document

* & & o o

10.2 SET ASIDE CONVICTIONS OR EXPUNGEMENTS

Registered sex offenders who have his/her convictions expunged from his/her criminal
history record or who have his/her convictions set aside should not be cancelled in LEIN.
Agencies should inform the offender that for purposes of the Michigan Sex Offenders
Registration act, the offender is still considered to be convicted of that offense and must
continue to comply with the requirements as provided in the Michigan Sex Offenders
Registration act.

For further information, please review M.C.L. 780.622 and M.C.L 28.722(2)(a)(l).
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10.3 OFFENDERS SENTENCED UNDER HOLMES YOUTHFUL TRAINEE ACT
(HYTA)

Registered sex offenders who are sentenced under HYTA should not be cancelled in
LEIN upon completion of his or her HYTA probation. In some cases, certain offenders
who meet specific requirements are eligible to petition the court for alternative
registration. If the petition is granted by the court and an order is received by the
Michigan State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit, the offender will be required to
register for 10 years.

For further information, please review M.C.L. 28.722(2)(a)(ii).

10.4 CoURT ORDER REMOVAL

All court orders instructing an agency to remove an offender from the sex offender
registry and any relevant documents should be forwarded to the Michigan State Police,
Sex Offender Registry Unit. After review and upon determining the validity of the court
order, the SOR Unit will mail a letter to the offender’s last reported address regarding the
removal of his/her name from the sex offender registry.
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11 NON LISTED OFFENSES

On September 12, 2003, the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Michigan
issued a letter to the Department of State Police regarding the registration of sex
offenders for non-listed offenses.

According to M.C.L. 28.722(d)(x) and People v. Meyers, 250 Mich App 637 2002, an
offender may be registered for a non-listed offense, if the following three part criterion is
met.

Element One:

Was the defendant convicted of a state law violation or municipal ordinance violation?
Element Two:

Did the offense, by its nature, constitute a sexual offense?

“By its nature” is defined as “inherent qualities”.

“Sexual offense” is defined as “of or pertaining to sex”.

Element Three:

Was the victim under the age of 18 when the offense occurred?

From the letter:

“The underlying facts which give rise to the charge, not merely the conviction offense or
facts elicited in the allocution, control whether the registration requirements of the SORA
are triggered.”

The Michigan State Police will not make the determination if the offender should
or should not be registered for a non-listed offense.

You must refer to your legal counsel and the Attorney General of the State of
Michigan if you are unsure.

Any court orders issued by a judge negating the registration of an individual
which falls under the three listed elements should be referred to the Office of the
Attorney General of the State of Michigan.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

12 FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q.

A.

> O

> 0

>

Does everyone who has ever been convicted of a sex crime have to register in
Michigan?

No. Only those offenders who have been convicted of a listed offense on or after
October 1, 1995, or those persons who were convicted prior to that date who were
still incarcerated, on parole or probation for a listed offense on October 1, 1995 must
be registered.

. Are there juveniles on the Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR)?

Yes. However, only juveniles adjudicated for Criminal Sexual Conduct First Degree
and Criminal Sexual Conduct Second Degree after his or her 18" birthday.

| know an offender who was convicted of one of the listed offenses, but his or
her name is not on the list. Why don’t | see it?

The PSOR shows the address for offenders who are currently known to be in the
community. The following is a list of reasons why his or her name is not shown:

Offender is an adjudicated juvenile

Offender has moved out of state or out of the country

Offender is deceased

Offender’s case is before the Attorney General’s office

Offender’s conviction was not a listed offense

Offender’s conviction date was prior to October 1, 1995, and the offender
was no longer involved with the criminal justice system for that offense.

What are the responsibilities of sex offenders required to be registered?

* & & & o o

Offenders are required to register at the time of conviction, prior to sentencing. If
the offender was convicted in another state and subsequently moves to Michigan,
they must register within 14 days of moving to Michigan.

How often are the addresses updated?

Offenders convicted of a misdemeanor listed offense must report to a local law
enforcement agency and verify his or her address yearly, during January 1 through
January 15 of each year. Failure to do so is a misdemeanor.

Offenders convicted of a felony listed offense must report to a local law enforcement
agency and verify his or her address quarterly, during the first fifteen days of
January, April, July, and October. Failure to do so is a misdemeanor.

Offenders must also report a change of address within ten (10) days. Failure to do
so is a felony.




FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

> 0

> 0

How can | get more detailed information on an offense committed by a listed
offender?

There are several ways to get more specific details of the offense. If you know the
offense was committed locally, you should contact the county clerk’s office and
request to see the court file.

If you do not know where the offense was committed, you must request a Criminal
History Record (CHR) on the offender. It will show the convictions and the counties
in which these offenses occurred, which will allow you to then contact the county
clerk’s office in that county to attempt to gain further information.

How do | get a Criminal History Record?

Contact the Criminal Justice Information Center Applicant Team in writing. You must
include the offender’s name and date of birth. If you know his or her social security
number, and/ or driver’s license, include that information. There is a charge of $10
per name requested. Include a check or money order in the proper amount made
payable to the State of Michigan along with the address that you wish the record
mailed to. Send this information to:

Michigan State Police Criminal Justice Information Center
Attn: Applicant Team
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, Ml 48913

Alternately, you look up the records on line through ICHAT (Internet Criminal History
Tool) at http://mi-mall.michigan.gov/ichat. You must first set up an account and pay
$10 per record requested.

Will the Criminal History Record include convictions from another state?
No, the CHR will only show convictions in Michigan.

I requested a CHR for an offender, however | was told there was no CHR for
this person. Why is that?

If the offender has a sealed or expunged record, or was convicted in another state,
those convictions will not be present on his or her criminal history record.

Who should | contact if | know of an error on the website?

You should contact the local law enforcement agency where the offender’s listed
address is located.

What should | do if | know an offender has moved and not changed his or her
address?

If you know that an offender has moved and not changed his or her address, you
should contact the local law enforcement agency where the offender is actually
residing.
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>

>

>

| recently moved into a residence, and found out that a registered sex offender
lived here before me. My new address is listed on the PSOR, but the offender
no longer lives here. How can | get my address removed from the PSOR?

In order to get your address removed from the PSOR, you must contact your local
law enforcement agency. Your local law enforcement agency will investigate the
matter and you may be required to show some proof that the offender is not residing
in the home (such as mortgage or rental agreements). Once convinced that the
offender does not reside at that address, your local law enforcement agency can
apply a “false address flag” to the offender’s registration record. This will remove
your address from the PSOR, and will flag the offender’s record when he or she has
contact with a law enforcement agency.

Is there a place where | can view the SOR law?

Yes. You can click on “Sex Offender Registration Act” on the home page of the SOR
web site and view the entire act. It can also be accessed at
www.michiganlegislature.org. It is also included as Appendix D of this manual.

How long are convicted sex offenders required to be registered?

Depending upon the charge, offenders will remain on the SOR for 25 years, or for
life. Offenders released from prison must remain on the SOR for a minimum of 10
years following release. For example, if an offender served 20 years in prison for a
listed offense, he or she would have to remain on the SOR for 10 years following
release.

Are there similar web sites where | can access information regarding offenders
listed in other states?

Yes. Some states have Internet sites listing his or her registered sex offenders.
Some are accessible at the following website:
http://www.sexoffender.com/search.htmi

Can juveniles and/or youthful offenders ever be removed from the registry?

Yes. Juveniles and/or youthful offenders should contact the sentencing court to
determine if they are eligible to petition the court for alternative registration.
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13 SEX OFFENDER LEIN FLAGS

13.1 JUVENILE FLAG (SCAN LINE 82 OR JUV)

This scan line is mandatory and is used to flag the SOR record as a juvenile record.
Juvenile records are not to be released to the public. This scan line must be entered if
the offender is adjudicated as a juvenile.

This scan line is administered by all law enforcement agencies and is required by statute
to prohibit adjudicated juveniles from appearing on the public registry.

The following caveat will be added to the SOR record when the Juvenile Flag is set:
*SUBJECT IS AN ADJUDICATED JUVENILE**

13.2FALSE ADDRESS FLAG (SCAN LINE 85 OR FAF):

Agencies may receive complaints by citizens that a registered sex offender is no longer
living at the address listed on the Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR). Once the
agency is satisfied that the address is not correct, the False Address Flag should be set.

This scan line is administered by all law enforcement agencies and blocks a sex
offender’s false address from appearing on the public registry.

The following caveat will be added to the SOR record when the False Address Flag is
set:

**FALSE ADDRESS FLAG IS ON**

13.3JUDICIAL FLAG:

This scan line is ordered by the Attorney General’s Office and is administered by the
SOR staff. This scan line blocks a sex offender’s record from the public registry while a
decision is being made on a court order to remove the sex offender from the registry.
This scan line remains in effect until the Attorney General’s Office makes a decision on a
case by case basis regarding the Order to Remove Sex Offender from Registry.

The following caveat will be added to the SOR Record when the Judicial Flag is set:
**COURT ORDERED REMOVAL FROM PUBLIC LIST**

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
REVISION DATE OCTOBER 2004 PAGE 37




SEX OFFENDER LEIN FLAGS

13.4NOTIFICATION FLAG:

The Sex Offender Registry staff administers this scan line. This scan line was used
when the 1999 — 2001 version of the DD-4A was received by Sex Offender Registration.
When the form was received, the Sex Offender Registration staff activated this flag to
notify law enforcement agencies that the offender has been explained his responsibilities
to register as a sex offender. This form is maintained at the Sex Offender Registration
Office as evidence.

The following caveat was added to the SOR Record when the Notification Flag was set:
**NOTIFICATION HAS BEEN MADE TO OFFENDER**

13.5CAMPUS NOTIFICATION FLAG:

The Sex Offender Registry staff administers this scan line. This scan line is used when
the 2002 — present version of the DD-4A is received by Sex Offender Registration.

When the form is received, the Sex Offender Registration staff activates this flag to notify
law enforcement agencies that the offender has been explained his responsibilities to
register as a sex offender. This form is then maintained at the Sex Offender Registration
Office as evidence.

The following caveat will be added to the SOR Record when the Notification Flag is set:
**CAMPUS NOTIFICATION HAS BEEN MADE TO OFFENDER**
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14 PENALTIES AND PROSECUTION JURISDICTION

14.1 FAILURE TO REGISTER

First Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or
a fine of not more than $2,000, or both.

Second Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 7 years or
a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

Third Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 years
or a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

14.2 FAILURE TO CHANGE ADDRESS

First Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or
a fine of not more than $2,000, or both.

Second Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 7 years or
a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

Third Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 years
or a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

14.3FAILURE TO REGISTER STATUS AT AN INSTITUTION OF HIGHER

LEARNING

First Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or
a fine of not more than $2,000, or both.

Second Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 7 years or
a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

Third Conviction

Felony; punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 years
or a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

14.4FAILURE TO VERIFY

An individual who fails to comply with verification is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable
by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.

14.5FAILURE TO SIGN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION FORMS

An individual who fails to sign a registration, notice or verification form is guilty of a
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine or not
more than $1,000, or both.
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14.6 PROSECUTION JURISDICTION

An individual’s failure to comply with the Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act may

be prosecuted in the judicial district of any of the following:

¢ The individual’s last registered address or residence

¢ The individual’s actual address or residence

¢ Where the individual was arrested for the violation

14.7 ARREST CODES
The File Class is “5000” Fugitive

Failure to Register

5089

Failure to Comply with Reporting Duties (Change of Address) | 5090 Felony

Failure to Comply with Reporting Duties (Verify Address)

5090 Misdemeanor

Failure to Sign Form 5091
14.8 MSA CODES

Failure to Register 28.729
Failure to Comply with Reporting Duties (Change of 8.7291
Address or Report Campus Information) '
Failure to Comply with Reporting Duties (Verify Address) | 28.7292
Failure to Sign Form 28.7293
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14.9 PROSECUTING FAILURE TO CHANGE ADDRESS

The Attorney General of the State of Michigan has provided guidelines for prosecuting a
violation of “Failure to Change Address”. These guidelines are:

1. “That a defendant was previously convicted of a crime requiring registration under
the Sex Offenders Registration Act (M.C.L. 28.723).

A. Certified Copy of Prior Conviction

B. Proof of Identity, such as arrest photo, fingerprint card, or parole officer ID
testimony.

2. “That the defendant:
A. Changed residence, domicile, place of work, or place of education;
B. Was paroled; or
C. Was released from the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections”
i. If paroled or released, certified MDOC records

ii. If residence changed, witness testimony, or investigative report of officer,
showing that defendant does not live at last known address.

3. “That the defendant did not notify the State Police of his new residence or domicile
(or did not notify the local law enforcement agency where his or her new residence or
domicile is located within ten days of the event described in element #2).”

A. Certified Copy of DD-4A, Explanation of Duties to Register as a Sex Offender

B. Certified Copy of Sex Offender Registration record or testimony by MSP SOR
Unit showing no change of address occurred.

Certified copies in element #3 can be obtained by contacting the MSP SOR Unit
directly and including the following information:

1. Offender name and date of birth
2. Requestor’'s name and title

3. Requesting Agency name and full mailing address
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15 SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION LEIN EXAMPLE
QSOR.1:CASE/TEST//.2:UM.7:19101010.55: CSHELL.56: CSHELL/MSP CJIC.

A LEIN 85489 30 05/10/02 1324 ELIR02
MI3300634

RE:CASE/TEST// 10/10/1910
FOR:CSHELL/MSP CJIC
OPR:CSHELL

*#*SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION PER ACT 295, P.A. 1994
**DO NOT ARREST, DETAIN OR SEARCH BASED SOLELY UPON THIS RESPONSE**

NAM:CASE/TEST// DOB:10/10/1910
RAC:WHITE SEX:MALE HGT:611 WGT:200

HALI:LBLONDE EYE:BLUE

ORIGINAL ADD:123 TEST ROAD, TEST, MI 48909 CO:33
**SUBJECT IS AN ADJUDICATED JUVENILE**

** ADDRESS VERIFIED ON 04/08/2001 BY MI3300633**
NOTIFICATION HAS BEEN MADE TO OFFENDER

CAMPUS NOTIFICATION HAS BEEN MADE TO OFFENDER

2004 NOTIFICATION HAS BEEN MADE TO OFFENDER

CAMPUS NAM:MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY
CAMPUS CITY: EAST LANSING

**STUDENT** DATE ENTERED: 01/13/2003
CAMPUS NAM:HILL VOCATIONAL

CAMPUS CITY:LANSING

**EMPLOYEE** DATE ENTERED: 01/13/2003

$35 FEE PAID ON 9/23/04 BY MI3300782
DNA PROFILE AVAILABLE:NO
DURATION:25 YEAR REGISTRATION

REMARKS:THIS IS A TEST CASE
COMP LAW CIT:750.520D(CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT - THIRD DEGREE)
(MULTIPLE VARIABLES)

ENTERED LEIN:10/19/2000 1333 HRS

MI3300634 — MSP CJIC SEX OFFENDER REG
SYSIDNO:11657916

END MSG
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A. APPENDIX A: GLOSSARY AND ACRONYMS

CHR Criminal History Record

DD-4 Michigan Sex Offender Registration Form

DD-4A Explanation of Dutigs_ to .Register as a Sex
Offender Form (Notification Form)

FOIA Freedom of Information Act

ICHAT Internet Criminal History Access Tool

Institution of Higher Learning

Any private or public community college,
college, university, trade and vocational or
occupational school.

MSP Michigan State Police

PSOR Public Sex Offender Registry
SOR Sex Offender Registry

USsC United States Code
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B. SUMMARY OF MICHIGAN LISTED SEX OFFENSES

Misdemeanor Listed Offenses (Yearly verification : Jan. 1 —Jan. 15)

MCL CODE OFFENSE

750.145a Children — Accosting for Immoral Purposes (conviction prior to 6/1/02)

750.145c¢(4) Child Sexually Abusive Material (conviction prior to 4/1/03)

750.167(1)(f) Disorderly Person (Indecent or Obscene Conduct in Public Place)

750.335a Indecent Exposure

750.448 Soliciting & Accosting to Commit Prostitution or Immoral Act
Felony Listed Offense (Quarterly verification: Jan, Apr, July & Oct 1 — 15)

MCL CODE OFFENSE

750.10a Sexually Delinquent Person

750.145a Children — Accosting for Immoral Purposes (conviction after 6/1/02)

750.145b Children — Accosting for Immoral Purposes 2™ Offense

750.145c¢(2) Child Sexually Abusive Commercial Activity

750.145c¢(3) Child Sexually Abusive Activity — Distributing or Promoting

750.145c(4) Child Sexually Abusive Material (conviction after 4/1/03)

750.158 Sodomy

750.338 Gross Indecency Between Male Persons *

750.338a Gross Indecency Between Female Persons *

750.338b Gross Indecency Between Male & Female Persons *

750.349 Kidnapping

750.350 Child Kidnapping

750.455 Pandering

750.520b Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 Degree

750.520¢ Criminal Sexual Conduct 2™ Degree

750.520d Criminal Sexual Conduct 3™ Degree

750.520e Criminal Sexual Conduct 4" Degree

750.5209g Assault with Intent to Commit Criminal Sexual Conduct

Registration requires three convictions of 750.167(1)f, three convictions of
750.335a, or a combination of three convictions of both offenses.

Pertains only to a victim is under 18 years of age.
* These offenses are not registerable if the offender was adjudicated as a juvenile.

This act also includes offenses that are:

An attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the above offenses. Also, any person convicted of a
similar offense as those listed above under federal law, or the law of any state or any country,
must also register.

Any other violation of a law of this state or local ordinance of a municipality that by its nature
constitutes a sexual offense against an individual who is less than 18 years of age.
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C. APPENDIX C: STATE REGISTERING AGENCIES

ALABAMA

ALASKA

Alabama Department of Public Safety
Bureau of Investigation
Phone:  (334) 260-1181

Alaska Department of Public Safety
Division of Alaska State Troopers
Phone:  (907) 269-5511

Fax: (334) 260-2563 Fax: (907) 269-5033
ORI: ALAST0047 ORI: AKAST1500
ARIZONA ARKANSAS

Arizona Department of Public Safety
Sex Offender Compliance Unit
Phone:  (602) 555-0611

Arkansas Crime Information Center

Phone:  (501) 682-2222

Fax: (602) 223-2949 Fax: (501) 682-2269
ORI: AZDPS1900 ORI: AR060015Y
CALIFORNIA COLORADO

California Department of Justice
Violent Crime Information Center
Phone:  (916)227-3280

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

Phone:  (303)239-4222

Fax: (916)227-4814 Fax: (303) 233-8336
ORI: CA0349428 ORI: COCBI0000
CONNECTICUT DELAWARE
Connecticut Department of Public Delaware State Police
Safety
Phone:  (860)685-8503 Phone:  (302) 739-5880
Fax: (860)685-8354 Fax: (302) 739-5888
ORI: CTCSP3900 ORI: DEDSP0000
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA FLORIDA

Metropolitan Police Department

Phone:  (202) 727-5516

Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Missing Children Information
Clearinghouse & Sexual
Offender/Predator Unit

Phone:  (888) 357-7332

Fax: (202) 727-4464 Fax: (850) 410-8599
ORI: DCMPD0000 ORI: FL0370100
GEORGIA HAWAII

Georgia Bureau of Investigation

Phone:  (404) 244-2835
Fax: (404) 212-3028
ORI: GAGBI00287

Department of the Attorney
Criminal Justice Data Center
Phone:  (808) 587-3100
Fax: (808) 587-3109
ORI: H1002015Y
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IDAHO

ILLINOIS

Idaho State Police
Bureau of Criminal Identification
Phone: (208) 884-7136

Illinois State Police

Phone:  (217) 785-0633

Fax: (208) 884-7193 Fax: (217) 782-4996
ORI: ID01015Y ORI: IL08425V1
INDIANA IOWA

Indiana Criminal Justice Institute
Phone:  (317) 232-1233

lowa Division of Criminal Investigation
Phone:  (515) 281-5138

Fax: (317) 232-4979 Fax: (515) 281-4898
ORI: ORI: IADCI0006
KANSAS KENTUCKY

Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Phone:  (785) 296-8277

Kentucky State Police Records Section
Phone:  (502) 227-8781

Fax: (785) 296-6781 Fax: (502) 227-8734
ORI: KSKBI0000 ORI: KYKSP0003
LOUISIANA MAINE

Louisiana State Police
Bureau of Criminal Identification &

Maine State Police
State Bureau of Identification

Information

Phone: (225) 925-6095 Phone: (207) 624-7097

Fax: (225) 925-7005 Fax: (207) 624-7088

ORI: LALSPO0001 ORI: MESPSBI00
MARYLAND MASSACHUSETTS

Department of Public Safety &
Correctional Services

Crimes Against Children & SOR Unit
Phone:  (410) 764-5665 x317

Sex Offender Registry

Phone: (617) 660-4741

Fax: (410) 764-5172 Fax: (617) 660-4613
ORI: MDO003105Y ORI: MACJIS094
MINNESOTA MISSISSIPPI

Minnesota Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension
Phone:  (651) 603-6748

Department of Public Safety
Criminal Information Center
Phone: (601) 933-2600

Fax: (651) 643-3024 Fax: (601) 933-2660
ORI: MNBCA0000 ORI: MSMHP0000
MISSOURI MONTANA

Missouri State Highway Patrol

Phone:  (573) 526-6160
Fax: (573) 751-9382
ORI: MOMHPO001

Department of Justice

Division of Criminal Investigation
Phone:  (406) 444-9479

Fax: (406) 444-2759

ORI: MT026035Y
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NEBRASKA

NEVADA

Nebraska State Patrol
Sex Offender Registry
Phone:  (402) 471-8640

Nevada Highway Patrol

Phone:  (775) 687-1600 x266

Fax: (402) 471-8496 Fax: (775) 687-1843
ORI:NBNSP003 ORI:NV0131749
NEW HAMPSHIRE NEW JERSEY

New Hampshire State Police
Phone:  (603) 271-2663

Division of State Police
Phone: (609) 882-2000 x2318

Fax: (603) 271-2520 Fax: (609) 538-0544
ORI: NHNSP0800 ORI: NJNSP0230
NEW MEXICO NEW YORK

Department of Public Safety

Phone:  (505) 827-9191
Fax: (505) 827-3388
ORI:NMNSP0000

Division of Criminal Justice Services
Sex Offender Registry

Phone:  (518) 457-6326

Fax: (518) 457-6965

ORI: NY001025Y

NORTH CAROLINA

NORTH DAKOTA

State Bureau of Investigation
Division of Criminal Information
Phone: (919) 662-4500

Bureau of Criminal Investigation

Phone:  (701) 328-5500

Fax: (919) 662-4523 Fax: (701) 328-5510
ORI: NCDCI0000 ORI: NDBCA0000
OHIO OKLAHOMA

Bureau of Criminal Identification and
Investigation
Phone: (740) 845-2223

Oklahoma Department of Corrections

Phone:  (405) 228-2065

Fax: (740) 845-2221 Fax: (405) 228-2088
ORI: OHBCI0000 ORI: OK055025C
OREGON PENNSYLVANIA

Oregon State Police
Phone:  (503) 378-3720
Fax: (503) 363-5475
ORI: OROSP5900

Pennsylvania State Police
Phone:  (717) 783-4363
Fax: (717) 772-3681
ORI: PAPSP0O0U9

RHODE ISLAND

SOUTH CAROLINA

Department of the Attorney General

Phone:  (401) 274-4400 x2347
Fax: (401) 222-1331
ORI: RI004015Y

South Carolina Law Enforcement

Department

Phone:  (803) 896-7142
Fax: (803) 896-7022
ORI: SCLEDO0000
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SOUTH DAKOTA

TENNESSEE

South Dakota Office of Attorney
General

Division of Criminal Investigation
Phone:  (605) 773-3331

Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

Phone:  (615) 744-4302

Fax: (605) 773-4629 Fax: (615) 744-4655
ORI: SDDCI0062 ORI: TNTBI0000
TEXAS UTAH

Texas Department of Public Safety
AFIS/CJIC Bureau

Sex Offender Registration Program
Phone:  (512) 424-2471

Department of Corrections

Phone:  (801) 265-5626

Fax: (512) 424-5911 Fax: (801) 265-5569
ORI: TX0000000 ORI: UT018095C
VERMONT VIRGINIA

Vermont Crime Information Center
Phone: (802) 241-5220

Virginia Department of State Police
Phone:  (804) 674-2022

Fax: (802) 241-5400 Fax: (804)674-2105
ORI: VTVSP0000 ORI: VAVSP0000
WASHINGTON WEST VIRGINIA

Washington State Patrol
Identification and Criminal History
Section

Phone:  (360) 705-5105

West Virginia State Police

Phone:  (304) 746-2177

Fax: (360) 705-5108 Fax: (304) 746-2402
ORI: WAWSP0000 ORI: WVWSP000Z
WISCONSIN WYOMING

Wisconsin Department of Corrections

Phone:  (608) 266-3831
Fax: (608) 267-1751
ORI: WI013135C

Wyoming Division of Criminal
Investigation

Phone:  (307) 777-7809
Fax: (307) 777-7252
ORI: WY0110400
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ACT—295 OF 1994

D.SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION ACT. ACT 295 OF 1995

28.721 Short title.

Sec. 1.

This act shall be known and may be cited as the “sex offenders registration act”.
History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.721a Legislative declarations; determination; intent.

Sec. la.

The legislature declares that the sex offenders registration act was enacted pursuant to the legislature's exercise
of the police power of the state with the intent to better assist law enforcement officers and the people of this
state in preventing and protecting against the commission of future criminal sexual acts by convicted sex
offenders. The legislature has determined that a person who has been convicted of committing an offense
covered by this act poses a potential serious menace and danger to the health, safety, morals, and welfare of the
people, and particularly the children, of this state. The registration requirements of this act are intended to
provide law enforcement and the people of this state with an appropriate, comprehensive, and effective means to
monitor those persons who pose such a potential danger.

History: Add. 2002, Act 542, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.722.Definitions.

Sec. 2.

As used in this act:

(a) “Convicted” means 1 of the following:

(i) Having a judgment of conviction or a probation order entered in any court having jurisdiction over criminal
offenses, including, but not limited to, a tribal court or a military court, and including a conviction subsequently
set aside under 1965 PA 213, MCL 780.621 to 780.624.

(ii) Either of the following:

(A) Being assigned to youthful trainee status under sections 11 to 15 of chapter II of the code of criminal
procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 762.11 to 762.15, before October 1, 2004.

(B) Being assigned to youthful trainee status under sections 11 to 15 of chapter II of the code of criminal
procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 762.11 to 762.15, on or after October 1, 2004 if the individual's status of youthful
trainee is revoked and an adjudication of guilt is entered.

(iii) Having an order of disposition entered under section 18 of chapter XIIA of the probate code of 1939, 1939
PA 288, MCL 712A.18, that is open to the general public under section 28 of chapter XIIA of the probate code
of 1939, 1939 PA 288, MCL 712A.28.

(iv) Having an order of disposition or other adjudication in a juvenile matter in another state or country.

(b) “Department” means the department of state police.

(c) “Institution of higher education” means 1 or more of the following:

(i) A public or private community college, college, or university.

(ii) A public or private trade, vocational, or occupational school.

(d) “Local law enforcement agency” means the police department of a municipality.

(e) “Listed offense” means any of the following:

(i) A violation of section 145a, 145b, or 145c¢ of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145a,
750.145b, and 750.145c.

(i1) A violation of section 158 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.158, if a victim is an
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individual less than 18 years of age.

(iii) A third or subsequent violation of any combination of the following:

(A) Section 167(1)(f) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.167.

(B) Section 335a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.335a.

(C) A local ordinance of a municipality substantially corresponding to a section described in sub-subparagraph
(A) or (B).

(iv) Except for a juvenile disposition or adjudication, a violation of section 338, 338a, or 338b of the Michigan
penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.338, 750.338a, and 750.338b, if a victim is an individual less than 18 years
of age.

(v) A violation of section 349 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.349, if a victim is an
individual less than 18 years of age.

(vi) A violation of section 350 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.350.

(vii) A violation of section 448 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.448, if a victim is an
individual less than 18 years of age.

(viii) A violation of section 455 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.455.

(ix) A violation of section 520b, 520c, 520d, 520e, or 520g of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL
750.520b, 750.520c, 750.520d, 750.520e, and 750.520g.

(x) Any other violation of a law of this state or a local ordinance of a municipality that by its nature constitutes a
sexual offense against an individual who is less than 18 years of age.

(xi) An offense committed by a person who was, at the time of the offense, a sexually delinquent person as
defined in section 10a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.10a.

(xii) An attempt or conspiracy to commit an offense described in subparagraphs (i) to (xi).

(xiii) An offense substantially similar to an offense described in subparagraphs (i) to (xii) under a law of the
United States, any state, or any country or under tribal or military law.

(f) “Municipality” means a city, village, or township of this state.

(g) “Residence”, as used in this act, for registration and voting purposes means that place at which a person
habitually sleeps, keeps his or her personal effects, and has a regular place of lodging. If a person has more than
1 residence, or if a wife has a residence separate from that of the husband, that place at which the person resides
the greater part of the time shall be his or her official residence for the purposes of this act. This section shall not
be construed to affect existing judicial interpretation of the term residence.

(h) “Student” means an individual enrolled on a full- or part-time basis in a public or private educational
institution, including, but not limited to, a secondary school, trade school, professional institution, or institution
of higher education.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff. Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff.
Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.723 Individuals required to be registered.

Sec. 3.

(1) Subject to subsection (2), the following individuals who are domiciled or temporarily reside in this state for
14 or more consecutive days, who work with or without compensation or are students in this state for 14 or more
consecutive days, or who are domiciled, reside, or work with or without compensation or are students in this
state for 30 or more total days in a calendar year are required to be registered under this act:

(a) An individual who is convicted of a listed offense after October 1, 1995.

(b) An individual convicted of a listed offense on or before October 1, 1995 if on October 1, 1995 he or she is on
probation or parole, committed to jail, committed to the jurisdiction of the department of corrections, or under
the jurisdiction of the juvenile division of the probate court or the department of social services for that offense
or is placed on probation or parole, committed to jail, committed to the jurisdiction of the department of
corrections, placed under the jurisdiction of the juvenile division of the probate court or family division of circuit
court, or committed to the department of social services or family independence agency after October 1, 1995 for
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that offense.

(c) An individual convicted of an offense described in section 2(d)(xiii) on or before October 1, 1995 if on
October 1, 1995 he or she is on probation or parole that has been transferred to this state for that offense or his or
her probation or parole is transferred to this state after October 1, 1995 for that offense.

(d) An individual from another state who is required to register or otherwise be identified as a sex or child
offender or predator under a comparable statute of that state.

(2) An individual convicted of an offense added on September 1, 1999 to the definition of listed offense is not
required to be registered solely because of that listed offense unless 1 of the following applies:

(a) The individual is convicted of that listed offense on or after September 1, 1999.

(b) On September 1, 1999, the individual is on probation or parole, committed to jail, committed to the
jurisdiction of the department of corrections, under the jurisdiction of the family division of circuit court, or
committed to the family independence agency for that offense or the individual is placed on probation or parole,
committed to jail, committed to the jurisdiction of the department of corrections, placed under the jurisdiction of
the family division of circuit court, or committed to the family independence agency on or after September 1,
1999 for that offense.

(c) On September 1, 1999, the individual is on probation or parole for that offense which has been transferred to
this state or the individual's probation or parole for that offense is transferred to this state after September 1,
1999.

(d) On September 1, 1999, in another state or country the individual is on probation or parole, committed to jail,
committed to the jurisdiction of the department of corrections or a similar type of state agency, under the
jurisdiction of a court that handles matters similar to those handled by the family division of circuit court in this
state, or committed to an agency with the same authority as the family independence agency for that offense.
History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1995, Act 10, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff. Sept.
1, 1999 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.724.Registration; procedures.

Sec. 4.

(1) Registration of an individual under this act shall proceed as provided in this section.

(2) For an individual convicted of a listed offense on or before October 1, 1995 who on or before October 1,
1995 is sentenced for that offense, has a disposition entered for that offense, or is assigned to youthful trainee
status for that offense, the following shall register the individual by December 31, 1995:

(a) If the individual is on probation for the listed offense, the individual's probation officer.

(b) If the individual is committed to jail for the listed offense, the sheriff or his or her designee.

(c) If the individual is under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for the listed offense, the
department of corrections.

(d) If the individual is on parole for the listed offense, the individual's parole officer.

(e) If the individual is within the jurisdiction of the juvenile division of the probate court or the department of
social services under an order of disposition for the listed offense, the juvenile division of the probate court or
the department of social services.

(3) Except as provided in subsection (4), for an individual convicted of a listed offense on or before October 1,
1995:

(a) If the individual is sentenced for that offense after October 1, 1995 or assigned to youthful trainee status after
October 1, 1995, the probation officer shall register the individual before sentencing or assignment.

(b) If the individual's probation or parole is transferred to this state after October 1, 1995, the probation or parole
officer shall register the individual within 14 days after the transfer.

(c) If the individual is placed within the jurisdiction of the juvenile division of the probate court or family
division of circuit court or committed to the department of social services or family independence agency under
an order of disposition entered after October 1, 1995, the juvenile division of the probate court or family division
of circuit court shall register the individual before the order of disposition is entered.
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(4) For an individual convicted on or before September 1, 1999 of an offense that was added on September 1,
1999 to the definition of listed offense, the following shall register the individual:

(a) If the individual is on probation or parole on September 1, 1999 for the listed offense, the individual's
probation or parole officer not later than September 12, 1999.

(b) If the individual is committed to jail on September 1, 1999 for the listed offense, the sheriff or his or her
designee not later than September 12, 1999.

(c) If the individual is under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections on September 1, 1999 for the listed
offense, the department of corrections not later than November 30, 1999.

(d) If the individual is within the jurisdiction of the family division of circuit court or committed to the family
independence agency or county juvenile agency on September 1, 1999 under an order of disposition for the listed
offense, the family division of circuit court, the family independence agency, or the county juvenile agency not
later than November 30, 1999.

(e) If the individual is sentenced or assigned to youthful trainee status for that offense after September 1, 1999,
the probation officer shall register the individual before sentencing or assignment.

(f) If the individual's probation or parole for the listed offense is transferred to this state after September 1, 1999,
the probation or parole officer shall register the individual within 14 days after the transfer.

(g) If the individual is placed within the jurisdiction of the family division of circuit court or committed to the
family independence agency for the listed offense after September 1, 1999, the family division of circuit court
shall register the individual before the order of disposition is entered.

(5) Subject to section 3, an individual convicted of a listed offense in this state after October 1, 1995 shall
register before sentencing, entry of the order of disposition, or assignment to youthful trainee status. The
probation officer or the family division of circuit court shall give the individual the registration form after the
individual is convicted, explain the duty to register and to pay a registration fee, to verify his or her address, and
to provide notice of address changes, and accept the completed registration for processing under section 6. The
court shall not impose sentence, enter the order of disposition, or, before October 1, 2004, assign the individual
to youthful trainee status, until it determines that the individual's registration was forwarded to the department as
required under section 6.

(6) All of the following shall register with the local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or the
department within 14 days after becoming domiciled or temporarily residing, working, or being a student in this
state for the periods specified in section 3(1):

(a) Subject to section 3(1), an individual convicted in another state or country after October 1, 1995 of a listed
offense as defined before September 1, 1999.

(b) Subject to section 3(2), an individual convicted in another state or country of an offense added on September
1, 1999 to the definition of listed offenses.

(c) An individual required to be registered as a sex offender in another state or country regardless of when the
conviction was entered.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff. Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2004, Act 237, Eff.
Oct. 16, 2004 ;--Am. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.724a.Status report to local law enforcement agency; requirements; reports; written documentation.
Sec. 4a.

(1) An individual required to be registered under this act who is not a resident of this state shall report his or her
status in person to the local law enforcement agency or sheriff's department having jurisdiction over a campus of
an institution of higher education, or to the department post nearest to that campus, if any of the following occur:
(a) Regardless of whether he or she is financially compensated or receives any governmental or educational
benefit, the individual is or becomes a full- or part-time employee, contractual provider, or volunteer with that
institution of higher education and his or her position will require that he or she be present on that campus for 14
or more consecutive days or 30 or more total days in a calendar year.

(b) The individual is or becomes an employee of a contractual provider described in subdivision (a) and his or
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her position will require that he or she be present on that campus for 14 or more consecutive days or 30 or more
total days in a calendar year.

(c) The status described in subdivision (a) or (b) is discontinued.

(d) The individual changes the campus on which he or she is an employee, a contractual provider, an employee
of a contractual provider, or a volunteer as described in subdivision (a) or (b).

(e) The individual is or enrolls as a student with that institution of higher education or the individual discontinues
that enrollment.

(f) As part of his or her course of studies at an institution of higher education in this state, the individual is
present at any other location in this state, another state, a territory or possession of the United States, or another
country for 14 or more consecutive days or 30 or more total days in a calendar year, or the individual
discontinues his or her studies at that location.

(2) An individual required to be registered under this act who is a resident of this state shall report his or her
status in person to the local law enforcement agency or sheriff's department having jurisdiction where his or her
new residence or domicile is located or the department post nearest to the individual's new residence or domicile,
if any of the events described under subsection (1) occur.

(3) The report required under subsections (1) and (2) shall be made as follows:

(a) For an individual registered under this act before October 1, 2002 who is required to make his or her first
report under subsections (1) and (2), not later than January 15, 2003.

(b) For an individual who is an employee, a contractual provider, an employee of a contractual provider, or a
volunteer on that campus on October 1, 2002, or who is a student on that campus on October 1, 2002, who is
subsequently required to register under this act, on the date he or she is required to register under this act.

(c) Except as provided under subdivisions (a) and (b), within 10 days after the individual becomes an employee,
a contractual provider, an employee of a contractual provider, or a volunteer on that campus, or discontinues that
status, or changes location, or within 10 days after he or she enrolls or discontinues his or her enrollment as a
student on that campus including study in this state or another state, a territory or possession of the United States,
or another country.

(4) The additional registration reports required under this section shall be made in the time periods described in
section 5a(4)(a) and (b) for reports under that section.

(5) The local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or department post to which an individual reports
under this section shall require the individual to pay the registration fee required under section 5a or section 7(1)
and to present written documentation of employment status, contractual relationship, volunteer status, or student
status. Written documentation under this subsection may include, but need not be limited to, any of the
following:

(a) A W-2 form, pay stub, or written statement by an employer.

(b) A contract.

(c) A student identification card or student transcript.

History: Add. 2002, Act 542, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 237, Eff. Oct. 16, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.725.Notice to law enforcement agency.

Sec. 5.

(1) Within 10 days after any of the following occur, an individual required to be registered under this act shall
notify the local law enforcement agency or sheriff's department having jurisdiction where his or her new
residence or domicile is located or the department post of the individual's new residence or domicile:

(a) The individual changes his or her residence, domicile, or place of work or education, including any change
required to be reported under section 4a.

(b) The individual is paroled.

(c) Final release of the individual from the jurisdiction of the department of corrections.

(2) Within 10 days after either of the following occurs, the department of corrections shall notify the local law
enforcement agency or sheriff's department having jurisdiction over the area to which the individual is
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transferred or the department post of the transferred residence or domicile of an individual required to be
registered under this act:

(a) The individual is transferred to a community residential program.

(b) The individual is transferred into a minimum custody correctional facility of any kind, including a
correctional camp or work camp.

(3) An individual required to be registered under this act shall notify the department on a form prescribed by the
department not later than 10 days before he or she changes his or her domicile or residence to another state. The
individual shall indicate the new state and, if known, the new address. The department shall update the
registration and compilation databases and promptly notify the appropriate law enforcement agency and any
applicable sex or child offender registration authority in the new state.

(4) If the probation or parole of an individual required to be registered under this act is transferred to another
state or an individual required to be registered under this act is transferred from a state correctional facility to any
correctional facility or probation or parole in another state, the department of corrections shall promptly notify
the department and the appropriate law enforcement agency and any applicable sex or child offender registration
authority in the new state. The department shall update the registration and compilation databases.

(5) An individual registered under this act shall comply with the verification procedures and proof of residence
procedures prescribed in sections 4a and Sa.

(6) Except as provided in subsections (7) and (8), an individual shall comply with this section for 25 years after
the date of initially registering or, if the individual is in a state correctional facility, for 10 years after release
from the state correctional facility, whichever is longer.

(7) Except as provided in subsection (8), an individual shall comply with this section for life if the individual is
convicted of any of the following or a substantially similar offense under a law of the United States, any state, or
any country or under tribal or military law:

(a) A violation of section 520b of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b.

(b) A violation of section 520c(1)(a) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520c.

(c) A violation of section 349 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.349, if the victim is less than
18 years of age.

(d) A violation of section 350 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.350.

(e) A violation of section 145¢(2) or (3) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145c.

(f) An attempt or conspiracy to commit an offense described in subdivisions (a) to (e).

(g) Except as provided in this subdivision, a second or subsequent listed offense after October 1, 1995 regardless
of when any earlier listed offense was committed. An individual is not required to comply with this section for
life if his or her first or second listed offense is for a conviction on or before September 1, 1999 for an offense
that was added on September 1, 1999 to the definition of listed offense, unless he or she is convicted of a
subsequent listed offense after September 1, 1999.

(8) An individual who is ordered to register as provided in section 8d shall register subject to that section.
History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff. Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff.
Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.725a.Notice to registered individual; explanation of duties; reporting requirements.

Sec. Sa.

(1) Not later than December 1, 2004, the department shall mail a notice to each individual registered under this
act who is not in a state correctional facility explaining the individual's duties under this section and this act as
amended and the procedure for registration, notification, and verification and paying the registration fee
prescribed under subsection (7) or section 7(1).

(2) Upon the release of an individual registered under this act who is in a state correctional facility, the
department of corrections shall provide written notice to that individual explaining his or her duties under this
section and this act as amended and the procedure for registration, notification, and verification and payment of
the registration fee prescribed under subsection (7) or section 7(1). The individual shall sign and date the notice.
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The department of corrections shall maintain a copy of the signed and dated notice in the individual's file. The
department of corrections shall forward the original notice to the department within 30 days, regardless of
whether the individual signs it.

(3) Not later than January 15, 2000, an individual registered under this act who is not incarcerated shall report in
person to the local law enforcement agency or sheriff's department having jurisdiction where he or she is
domiciled or resides or to the department post in or nearest to the county where he or she is domiciled or resides.
The individual shall present proof of domicile or residence and update any information that changed since
registration, including information that is required to be reported under section 4a. An individual registered
under this act who is incarcerated on January 15, 2000 shall report under this subsection not less than 10 days
after he or she is released.

(4) Except as provided in subsection (5), following initial verification under subsection (3), or registration under
this act after January 15, 2000, an individual required to be registered under this act who is not incarcerated shall
report in person to the local law enforcement agency or sheriff's department having jurisdiction where he or she
is domiciled or resides or to the department post in or nearest to the county where he or she is domiciled or
resides for verification of domicile or residence as follows:

(a) If the person is registered only for 1 or more misdemeanor listed offenses, not earlier than January 1 or later
than January 15 of each year after the initial verification or registration. As used in this subdivision,
“misdemeanor listed offense” means a listed offense that is any of the following:

(i) A violation of section 145a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145a, committed before June
1, 2002.

(i1) A violation of section 145¢c(4), 167(1)(f), or 448 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145c,
750.167, and 750.448.

(iii) A violation of section 335a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.335a, other than a violation
committed by a person who was, at the time of the offense, a sexually delinquent person as defined in section
10a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.10a.

(iv) A violation of a local ordinance of a municipality substantially corresponding to a section described in
subparagraph (i), (ii), or (iii).

(v) A violation of a law of this state or a local ordinance of a municipality that by its nature constitutes a sexual
offense against an individual who is less than 18 years of age if the violation is not specifically designated a
felony and is punishable by imprisonment for 1 year or less.

(vi) An attempt or conspiracy to commit an offense described in subparagraphs (i) to (v).

(vii) An offense substantially similar to an offense described in subparagraphs (i) to (vi) under a law of the
United States, any state, or any country or under tribal or military law.

(b) If the person is registered for 1 or more felony listed offenses, not earlier than the first day or later than the
fifteenth day of each April, July, October, and January following initial verification or registration. As used in
this subdivision, “felony listed offense”” means a listed offense that is any of the following:

(i) A violation of section 145a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145a, committed on or after
June 1, 2002.

(ii) A violation of section 145b, 145¢(2) or (3), 349, 350, 455, 520b, 520c, 520d, 520e, or 520g of the Michigan
penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145b, 750.145¢, 750.349, 750.350, 750.455, 750.520b, 750.520c, 750.520d,
750.520e, and 750.520g.

(iii) A violation of section 335a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.335a, committed by a
person who was, at the time of the offense, a sexually delinquent person as defined in section 10a of the
Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.10a.

(iv) A violation of a law of this state that by its nature constitutes a sexual offense against an individual who is
less than 18 years of age if the violation is specifically designated a felony or is punishable by imprisonment for
more than 1 year.

(v) An attempt or conspiracy to commit an offense described in subparagraphs (i) to (iv).

(vi) An offense substantially similar to an offense described in subparagraphs (i) to (v) under a law of the United
States, any state, or any country or under tribal or military law.

(5) The continued reporting requirements of this section following initial registration do not apply to an
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individual convicted as a juvenile of committing an offense described in section 8c(15)(a) or (b) committed by
the individual when he or she was less than 17 years of age, except that the individual shall report a change in his
or her residence within this state or to another state as provided in this section within 10 days after the change of
residence is made. If the individual fails to file a petition under section 8c before he or she becomes 18 years of
age, or if his or her petition is denied by the court, the individual shall report as otherwise required under this
section.

(6) When an individual reports under subsection (3) or (4), an officer or authorized employee of the local law
enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or department post shall verify the individual's residence or domicile
and any information required to be reported under section 4a. The officer or authorized employee shall sign and
date a verification form. The officer shall give a copy of the signed form showing the date of verification to the
individual. The officer or employee shall forward verification information to the department by the law
enforcement information network in the manner the department prescribes. The department shall revise the
databases maintained under section 8 as necessary and shall indicate verification in the compilation under section
8(2).

(7) Except as otherwise provided in section 5b, beginning October 16, 2004, an individual who reports as
prescribed under subsection (3) or (4) and who has not already paid the fee prescribed under section 7(1) shall
pay a $35.00 registration fee. An individual shall only be required to pay a fee once under this subsection.

(8) An individual required to be registered under this act shall maintain either a valid operator's or chauffeur's
license issued under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923, or an official state
personal identification card issued under 1972 PA 222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300, with the individual's current
address. The license or card may be used as proof of domicile or residence under this section. In addition, the
officer or authorized employee may require the individual to produce another document bearing his or her name
and address, including, but not limited to, voter registration or a utility or other bill. The department may specify
other satisfactory proof of domicile or residence.

(9) Not earlier than January 1, 2000 or later than January 15, 2000, an individual registered under this act who is
not incarcerated shall report in person to a secretary of state office and have his or her digitized photograph
taken. An individual registered under this act who is incarcerated on January 15, 2000 shall report under this
subsection not less than 10 days after he or she is released. The individual is not required to report under this
subsection if he or she had a digitized photograph taken for an operator's or chauffeur's license or official state
personal identification card before January 1, 2000, or within 2 years before he or she is released. The
photograph shall be used on the individual's operator's or chauffeur's license or official state personal
identification card. The individual shall have a new photograph taken when he or she renews the license or
identification card as provided by law. The secretary of state shall make the digitized photograph available to the
department for a registration under this act.

(10) If an individual does not report under subsection (3) or (4) or section 4a, the department shall notify the
local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or department post. An appearance ticket may be issued for
the individual's failure to report as provided in sections 9a to 9g of chapter IV of the code of criminal procedure,
1927 PA 175, MCL 764.9a to 764.9g.

(11) The department shall prescribe the form for the notices and verification procedures required under this
section.

History: Add. 1999, Act 85, Eff. Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 237,
Eff. Oct. 16, 2004 ;--Am. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.725b.Sex offenders registration fund; creation; disposition of money; use; lapse; claim of indigence;
waiver of fee; payments.

Sec. 5b.

(1) Of the money collected by a court, local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or department post
from each registration fee prescribed under this act, $25.00 shall be forwarded to the department, which shall
deposit the money in the sex offenders registration fund created under subsection (2), and $10.00 shall be
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retained by the court, local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or department post.

(2) The sex offenders registration fund is created as a separate fund in the department of treasury. The state
treasurer shall credit the money received from the payment of the registration fee prescribed under this act to the
sex offenders registration fund. Money credited to the fund shall only be used by the department for training
concerning, and the maintenance and automation of, the databases, compilation, and information required under
section 8. Money in the sex offenders registration fund at the close of the fiscal year shall remain in the fund and
shall not lapse to the general fund.

(3) If an individual required to pay a registration fee under this act is indigent, the registration fee shall be
temporarily waived. The burden is on the individual claiming indigence to prove the fact of indigence to the
satisfaction of the local law enforcement agency, sheriff's department, or department post where the individual is
reporting.

(4) Payment of the registration fee prescribed under this act shall be made in the form and by means prescribed
by the department. Upon payment of the registration fee prescribed under this act, the officer or employee shall
forward verification of the payment to the department by the law enforcement information network in the
manner the department prescribes. The department shall revise the databases maintained under section 8§ as
necessary and shall indicate verification of payment in the compilation under section 8(2).

History: Add. 2004, Act 237, Eff. Oct. 16, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.725c.Fee collected by department of corrections; prohibition.

Sec. 5c.

The department of corrections shall not collect any fee prescribed under this act.
History: Add. 2004, Act 237, Eff. Oct. 16, 2004 .

28.726 Providing or forwarding copy of registration or notification.

Sec. 6.

(1) The officer, court, or agency registering an individual or receiving or accepting a registration under section 4
or receiving notice under section 5(1) shall provide the individual with a copy of the registration or notification
at the time of registration or notice.

(2) The officer, court, or agency registering an individual or receiving or accepting a registration under section 4
or notified of an address change under section 5(1) shall forward the registration or notification to the department
by the law enforcement information network within 3 business days after registration or notification.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1996, Act 494, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.727.Registration form.

Sec. 7.

(1) A registration under this act shall be made on a form provided by the department and shall be forwarded to
the department in the format the department prescribes, along with a $35.00 registration fee for each original
registration, except as otherwise provided in section 5b. A registration shall contain all of the following:

(a) The individual's name, social security number, date of birth, and address or expected address. An individual
who is in a witness protection and relocation program is only required to use the name and identifying
information reflecting his or her new identity in a registration under this act. The registration and compilation
databases shall not contain any information identifying the individual's prior identity or locale. The department
shall request each individual to provide his or her date of birth if it is not included in the registration, and that
individual shall comply with the request within 10 days.

(b) A brief summary of the individual's convictions for listed offenses regardless of when the conviction
occurred, including where the offense occurred and the original charge if the conviction was for a lesser offense.
(c) A complete physical description of the individual.
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(d) The photograph required under section Sa.

(e) The individual's fingerprints if not already on file with the department. An individual required to be
registered on September 1, 1999 shall have his or her fingerprints taken not later than September 12, 1999 if not
already on file with the department. The department shall forward a copy of the individual's fingerprints to the
federal bureau of investigation if not already on file with that bureau.

(f) Information that is required to be reported under section 4a.

(2) A registration may contain the individual's blood type and whether a DNA identification profile of the
individual is available.

(3) The form used for registration or verification under this act shall contain a written statement that explains the
duty of the individual being registered to provide notice of a change of address under section 5, the procedures
for providing that notice, and the verification procedures under section Sa.

(4) The individual shall sign a registration, notice, and verification. However, the registration, notice, or
verification shall be forwarded to the department regardless of whether the individual signs it or pays the
registration fee required under subsection (1).

(5) The officer, court, or an employee of the agency registering the individual or receiving or accepting a
registration under section 4 shall sign the registration form.

(6) An individual shall not knowingly provide false or misleading information concerning a registration, notice,
or verification.

(7) The department shall prescribe the form for a notification required under section 5 and the format for
forwarding the notification to the department.

(8) The department shall promptly provide registration, notice, and verification information to the federal bureau
of investigation and to local law enforcement agencies, sheriff's departments, department posts, and agencies of
other states requiring the information, as provided by law.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1996, Act 494, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff.
Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 237, Eff. Oct. 16, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.728.Database; compilation; availability.

Sec. 8.

(1) The department shall maintain a computerized database of registrations and notices required under this act.
(2) The department shall maintain a computerized database separate from that described in subsection (1) to
implement section 10(2) and (3). Except as provided in subsection (3), the database shall consist of a compilation
of individuals registered under this act.

(3) The database described in subsection (2) shall not include the following individuals:

(a) An individual registered solely because he or she had 1 or more dispositions for a listed offense entered under
section 18 of chapter XIIA of the probate code of 1939, 1939 PA 288, MCL 712A.18, in a case that was not
designated as a case in which the individual was to be tried in the same manner as an adult under section 2d of
chapter XIIA of the probate code of 1939, 1939 PA 288, MCL 712A.2d. Except as provided in subdivision (b),
the exclusion for juvenile dispositions does not apply to a disposition for a violation of section 520b or 520c of
the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b and 750.520c, after the individual becomes 18 years of
age.

(b) An individual who is exempt under section 8d from that database.

(4) The compilation of individuals shall be indexed numerically by zip code area. Within each zip code area, the
compilation shall contain all of the following information:

(a) The name and aliases, address, physical description, and birth date of each individual registered under this act
who is included in the compilation and who resides in that zip code area and any listed offense of which the
individual has been convicted.

(b) The name and campus location of each institution of higher education to which the individual is required to
report under section 4a.

(c) Beginning May 1, 2005, the photograph of each individual registered under this act. The department shall

MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION TRAINING MANUAL
REVISION DATE OCTOBER 2004 PAGE D-10




APPENDIX D SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION ACT
ACT—295 OF 1994

obtain the photographs submitted under section 5a from the secretary of state for purposes of implementing this
subdivision.

(5) The department shall update the compilation with new registrations, deletions from registrations, and address
changes at the same time those changes are made to the database described in subsection (1). The department
shall make the compilation available to each department post, local law enforcement agency, and sheriff's
department by the law enforcement information network. Upon request by a department post, local law
enforcement agency, or sheriff's department, the department shall provide to that post, agency, or sheriff's
department the information from the compilation in printed form for the zip code areas located in whole or in
part within the post's, agency's, or sheriff's department's jurisdiction. The department shall provide the ability to
conduct a computerized search of the compilation based upon the name and campus location of an institution of
higher education described in subsection (4)(b).

(6) The department shall make the compilation or information from the compilation available to a department
post, local law enforcement agency, sheriff’'s department, and the public by electronic, computerized, or other
similar means accessible to the post, agency, or sheriff's department. The electronic, computerized, or other
similar means shall provide for both a search by name and by zip code.

(7) If a court determines that the public availability under section 10 of any information concerning individuals
registered under this act, including names and aliases, addresses, physical descriptions, or dates of birth, violates
the constitution of the United States or this state, the department shall revise the compilation in subsection (2) so
that it does not contain that information.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1996, Act 494, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff.
Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 238, Eff. May 1, 2005 ;--Am. 2004, Act
240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.728c.Individual convicted of violation described in subsection (15); petition; jurisdiction; limitations;
oath; contents; false statement; filing copy with office of prosecution; notice; entry on database; hearing;
rights of victim; factors in court determination; court order; individuals with right to petition.

Sec. 8c.

(1) An individual described in subsection (15) who is convicted before October 1, 2004 of a violation described
in that subsection may petition the court under this section for an order allowing him or her to register under this
act as provided in section 8d(1).

(2) An individual described in subsection (15)(a) or (b) who is convicted on or after October 1, 2004 of a
violation described in that subsection may petition the court under this section for an order allowing him or her
to register under this act as provided in section 8d(1).

(3) This section is the sole means by which an individual may obtain judicial review of his or her registration
requirements under this act. This subsection does not prohibit an appeal of the conviction or sentence as
otherwise provided by law or court rule.

(4) A petition filed under this section shall be filed in the court in which the individual was convicted of
committing the listed offense. A petition filed under subsection (1) shall be filed before October 1, 2007 or
within 3 years after the individual is discharged from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court or, if the individual
was assigned to youthful trainee status, within 3 years after he or she has successfully completed youthful trainee
status, whichever is later, and, except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the court shall not consider a
petition filed by the individual after that date. A petition filed under subsection (2) shall not be filed before the
individual's seventeenth birthday or after the individual's twentieth birthday. If the individual is charged in this
state or elsewhere with committing, attempting to commit, or conspiring to commit a felony, other than the
felony for which he or she has filed the petition for registration as provided under section 8d, or an offense that if
committed by an adult would be a felony, the court may hold the petition in abeyance until the charges are
finally disposed of. If the court holds the petition in abeyance, the 3-year limitation periods described in this
subsection begin to run when the period of abeyance has ended. A petition shall not be filed under this section if
a previous petition was filed under this section and was denied by the court after a hearing. As used in this
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subsection, “felony” means a crime that is specifically designated to be a felony or that is punishable by
imprisonment for more than 1 year.

(5) A petition filed under this section shall be made under oath and shall contain all of the following:

(a) The name and address of the petitioner.

(b) A statement identifying the offense for which registration as provided in section 8d is being requested.

(c) A statement of whether the individual was previously convicted of a listed offense for which registration is
required under this act.

(d) A statement specifically stating that the individual is not disqualified under subsection (14) from filing a
petition under this section.

(6) An individual who knowingly makes a false statement in a petition filed under this section is guilty of perjury
as proscribed under section 423 of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.423.

(7) A copy of the petition shall be filed with the office of the prosecuting attorney that prosecuted the case
against the individual at least 30 days before a hearing is held on the petition. The prosecuting attorney may
appear and participate in all proceedings regarding the petition and may seek appellate review of any decision on
the petition.

(8) If the name of the victim of the offense is known by the prosecuting attorney, the prosecuting attorney shall
provide the victim with written notice that a petition has been filed and shall provide the victim with a copy of
the petition. The notice shall be sent by first-class mail to the victim's last known address. The petition shall
include a statement of the victim's rights under subsection (11).

(9) If an individual petitions the court under subsection (1) or (2) for an offense described in subsection (15)(a)
or (b) and the individual is not on the database maintained under section 8(2) at the time the petition is filed, the
court may order the department not to place the individual on that database during the period in which the court
is considering whether to grant the petition as follows:

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), for a period of 30 days after the date the order is issued or as provided
by the court, whichever occurs first.

(b) If jurisdiction is continued by the court past the individual's seventeenth birthday, during the period in which
jurisdiction is continued. The court shall notify the department of the order as required under section 8d.

(10) If an individual properly files a petition with the court under this section, the court shall conduct a hearing
on the petition as provided in this section.

(11) The victim has the right to attend all proceedings under this section and to make a written or oral statement
to the court before any decision regarding the petition is made. A victim shall not be required to appear at any
proceeding under this section against his or her will.

(12) The court shall consider all of the following in determining whether to allow the individual to register under
this act as provided in section 8d:

(a) The individual's age and level of maturity at the time of the offense.

(b) The victim's age and level of maturity at the time of the offense.

(c) The nature of the offense.

(d) The severity of the offense.

(e) The individual's prior juvenile or criminal history.

(f) The individual's likelihood to commit further listed offenses.

(g) Any impact statement submitted by the victim under the crime victim's rights act, 1985 PA 87, MCL 780.751
to 780.834, or under this section.

(h) Any other information considered relevant by the court.

(13) If the court determines that the individual meets the criteria for registration under section 8d, the court may
order the individual to register under this act as provided in that section.

(14) The court shall not grant a petition filed under this section if any of the following apply:

(a) The individual was previously convicted of a listed offense for which registration is required under this act.
(b) The individual fails to carry the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that he or she is not
likely to commit further listed offenses.

(c) The court determines that the offense involved any of the following:

(i) A factor set forth in section 520b(1)(b) to (h) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b.
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(ii) A factor set forth in section 520c(1)(b) to (1) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520c.

(iii) A factor set forth in section 520d(1)(b) to (e) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520d.

(iv) A factor set forth in section 520e(1)(b) to (f) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520e.

(d) The individual is charged in this state or elsewhere with committing, attempting to commit, or conspiring to
commit a felony, other than the felony for which he or she has filed the petition for registration as provided
under section 8d, or an offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony. This subsection does not
prohibit the court from holding the petition in abeyance under subsection (4). As used in this subdivision,
“felony” means a crime specifically designated to be a felony or that is punishable by imprisonment for more
than 1 year.

(e) The individual was sentenced for the offense as an adult. This subdivision does not apply to an individual
described in subsection (15)(c) who successfully completed his or her probationary period and was discharged
from youthful trainee status.

(15) The right to petition under this section applies to all of the following individuals:

(a) An individual who is convicted as a juvenile under section 520b, 520c, or 520d of the Michigan penal code,
1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b, 750.520c, and 750.520d, of committing, attempting to commit, or conspiring to
commit a violation solely described in section 520b(1)(a), 520c(1)(a), or 520d(1)(a) of the Michigan penal code,
1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520b, 750.520c, and 750.520d, if either of the following applies:

(i) The individual was under 13 years of age when he or she committed the offense and is not more than 5 years
older than the victim.

(ii) The individual was 13 years of age or older but less than 17 years of age when he or she committed the
offense and is not more than 3 years older than the victim.

(b) An individual who was charged under section 520b, 520c, or 520d of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328,
MCL 750.520b, 750.520c, and 750.520d, with committing, attempting to commit, or conspiring to commit a
violation solely described in section 520b(1)(a), 520c(1)(a), or 520d(1)(a) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA
328, MCL 750.520b, 750.520c, and 750.520d, and is convicted as a juvenile of violating, attempting to violate,
or conspiring to violate section 520e or 520g of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520e and
750.520g, if either of the following applies:

(i) The individual was under 13 years of age when he or she committed the offense and is not more than 5 years
older than the victim.

(ii) The individual was 13 years of age or older but less than 17 years of age when he or she committed the
offense and is not more than 3 years older than the victim.

(c) An individual who has successfully completed his or her probationary period under sections 11 to 15 of
chapter II of the code of criminal procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 762.11 to 762.15, for committing a listed
offense, and has been discharged from youthful trainee status.

History: Add. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.728d.Court order granting petition.

Sec. &d.

(1) An individual who petitions the court under section 8c to register as provided in this section shall register
under this act as follows:

(a) For a violation described in section 8c(15)(a) or (b), the individual shall register under this act until the
petition is granted but is not subject to the requirements of section 8(2).

(b) For a violation described in section 8c(15)(c) and for which the petition is granted, the individual shall
register under this act for a period of 10 years after the date he or she initially registered or, if the individual was
in a state correctional facility, for 10 years after he or she is released from that facility, whichever is greater, and
is subject to the requirements of section 8(2) during that registration period.

(2) If the court under section 8c orders an individual to register under this section pending the court's
determination of the petition, the court shall promptly provide a copy of that order to the department and to the
individual. If the department is provided with an order under this subsection for an individual described in
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section 8c(15)(a) or (b), the department shall not enter the individual's registration into the database maintained
under section 8(2) until ordered by the court to do so or until expiration of the order, whichever occurs first.

(3) If the court grants a petition filed under section 8c, the court shall promptly provide a copy of that order to
the department and to the individual. If the department is provided with an order under this subsection for a
violation described in section 8c(15)(a) or (b), the department shall not enter the individual's registration into the
database maintained under section 8(2) or, if the person is already registered, shall promptly remove that
registration from the database maintained under section 8(2). The department shall promptly remove an
individual's registration from the database maintained under section 8(1) upon expiration of the applicable
registration period described in subsection (1) or (2) as provided in those subsections.

History: Add. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.729.Violations; penalties.

Sec. 9.

(1) Except as provided in subsections (2), (3), and (4), an individual required to be registered under this act who
willfully violates this act is guilty of a felony punishable as follows:

(a) If the individual has no prior convictions for a violation of this act, other than a failure to comply with section
Sa, by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both.

(b) If the individual has 1 prior conviction for a violation of this act, other than a failure to comply with section
Sa, by imprisonment for not more than 7 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.

(c) If the individual has 2 or more prior convictions for violations of this act, other than a failure to comply with
section 5a, by imprisonment for not more than 10 years or a fine of not more than $10,000.00, or both.

(2) An individual who fails to comply with section 5a, other than payment of the fee required under section 5a(6)
is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than
$1,000.00, or both.

(3) An individual who willfully fails to sign a registration, notice, or verification as provided in section 7(4) is
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than
$1,000.00, or both.

(4) An individual who willfully refuses or fails to pay the registration fee prescribed in section 5a(6) or section
7(1) within 90 days of the date the individual reports under section 4a or S5a is guilty of a misdemeanor
punishable by imprisonment for not more than 90 days.

(5) The court shall revoke the probation of an individual placed on probation who willfully violates this act.

(6) The court shall revoke the youthful trainee status of an individual assigned to youthful trainee status who
willfully violates this act.

(7) The parole board shall rescind the parole of an individual released on parole who willfully violates this act.
(8) An individual's failure to register as required by this act or a violation of section 5(1), (3), or (4) may be
prosecuted in the judicial district of any of the following:

(a) The individual's last registered address or residence.

(b) The individual's actual address or residence.

(c) Where the individual was arrested for the violation.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff. Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff.
Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 237, Eff. Oct. 16, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.730.Confidentiality; exemption from disclosure; availability of information from compilation; violation
as misdemeanor; penalty; civil cause of action; applicability of subsections (4) and (5) to compilation.

Sec. 10.

(1) Except as provided in this act, a registration or report is confidential and information from that registration or
report shall not be open to inspection except for law enforcement purposes. The registration or report and all
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included materials and information are exempt from disclosure under section 13 of the freedom of information
act, 1976 PA 442, MCL 15.243.

(2) A department post, local law enforcement agency, or sheriff's department shall make information from the
compilation described in section 8(2) for the zip code areas located in whole or in part within the post's, agency's,
or sheriff’s department's jurisdiction available for public inspection during regular business hours. A department
post, local law enforcement agency, or sheriff's department is not required to make a copy of the information for
a member of the public.

(3) The department may make information from the compilation described in section 8(2) available to the public
through electronic, computerized, or other accessible means.

(4) Except as provided in this act, an individual other than the registrant who knows of a registration or report
under this act and who divulges, uses, or publishes nonpublic information concerning the registration or report in
violation of this act is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine
of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(5) An individual whose registration or report is revealed in violation of this act has a civil cause of action
against the responsible party for treble damages.

(6) Subsections (4) and (5) do not apply to the compilation described in section 8(2) or information from that
compilation that is provided or made available under section 8(2) or under subsection (2) or (3).

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 ;--Am. 1996, Act 494, Eff. Apr. 1, 1997 ;--Am. 1999, Act 85, Eff.
Sept. 1, 1999 ;--Am. 2002, Act 542, Eff. Oct. 1, 2002 ;--Am. 2004, Act 240, Eff. Oct. 1, 2004 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.731 Effective date.

Sec. 11.

This act shall take effect October 1, 1995.
History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 .

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan

28.732 Conditional effective date.

Sec. 12.

This act shall not take effect unless all of the following bills of the 87th Legislature are enacted into law:

(a) Senate Bill No. 193.

(b) Senate Bill No. 194.

(c) Senate Bill No. 400.

(d) House Bill No. 4601.

History: 1994, Act 295, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995 .

Compiler's Note: The bills referred to in this section were enacted into law as follows: Senate Bill No. 193 was
filed with the Secretary of State July 13, 1994, and became P.A. 1994, No. 286, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995. Senate Bill
No. 194 was filed with the Secretary of State July 13, 1994, and became P.A. 1994, No. 287, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995.
Senate Bill No. 400 was filed with the Secretary of State July 14, 1994, and became P.A. 1994, No. 294, Eff.
Oct. 1, 1995. House Bill No. 4601 was filed with the Secretary of State December 22, 1994, and became P.A.
1994, No. 355, Eff. Oct. 1, 1995.

© 2004 Legislative Council, State of Michigan
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