DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND INDUSTRY SERVICES

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

7150 HARRIS DRIVE, P.O. BOX 30476

LANSING, MI 48909-7976

(517) 322-1825
TEENAGER'S GUIDE TO EMPLOYMENT IN MICHIGAN
This guide contains information about employing teenagers in Michigan.  It does not include all the provisions of Act 90, Public Acts of 1978; Act 390, Public Acts of 1978; and Public Act 154, of 1964.

	AGE OF EMPLOYMENT

· Minimum age of employment for most jobs is 14 years of age.

· A youth 11 years of age or older may be employed as a golf caddy, bridge “caddy” or sports referee under certain conditions. 

· A minor 13 years of age or older may be employed in trap setting or farming operations involving corn detasseling, hoeing, or similar work involved in the production of seed.


	WORK PERMITS

· Teenagers must have a work permit, unless exempt from the Youth Employment Standards Act,             before starting work.  The employer completes the intent to employ portion of a work permit, listing the teenager's name, occupation, hours of work, and rate of pay.  The teenager must get his or her school district's approval and return the work permit to the employer before starting work.

· Exemptions  -  The work permit, hours and hazardous work regulations do not apply to:

  -
A 16/17 year-old minor that has completed high school.

  -
A 17 year-old minor that has passed the GED test.

  -
An emancipated minor (e.g., a married teenager).

  -
Employment under a contract between the employer and school board (a coop student).

  -
Employment in a business owned and operated by the parent.

  -
Work on a farm planting, cultivating or harvesting crops or tending livestock.


	MINIMUM WAGE

Michigan Minimum Wage Law:

· Covers employers who employ 2 or more persons 16 years of age or older. (Federal law                        covers employees 14 or older who make goods for sale out of state, or employees of                             businesses that earn over $500,000 per year.  The minimum rate is the same for covered                      employees under state and federal law.) 

· Provides a minimum hourly rate of $5.15.

· Provides an hourly training wage of $4.25 to employees age 16 through 19 for the first 90                     calendar days of employment.

· Provides a minimum hourly rate of $2.65 to tipped employees if the amount of tips received plus           $2.65 equals the minimum wage rate.

· Provides an overtime rate for employees of 1-1/2 times the regular rate of pay.


	HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS

· TEENAGERS CANNOT BE EMPLOYED IN:

 
-   Vehicle drivers (e.g., pizza delivery) and work as an outside helper on a vehicle.

· Construction site work involving construction, excavation, street, highway, bridge construction or    demolition.  (16 and 17 year-olds may do construction work under special approved conditions.)

· Occupations using lead paint, lead solder, varnish, or hazardous cleaners and solvents.

· Slaughtering, butchering, and meat cutting.

· Operation of elevators, hoisting equipment, and power industrial trucks.

· Occupations using power driven equipment, tools, and machinery (e.g., power saws).

· Occupations involving the use of power operated food-processing machines (e.g., mixers, meat slicers).

· 14 and 15 year-olds cannot use ladders, scaffolding, or their substitutes, or operate power driven           lawnmowers.

· 14 and 15 year-olds may not work in occupations involving brazing, welding, soldering, heat-treating, ore reduction, and casting metals.

· Teenagers may be employed in a business where alcoholic beverages are sold or consumed if the sale of food or other goods is at least 50% of the total gross receipts.  14 and 15 year olds cannot work in     the part of the business where alcohol is consumed.  Teenagers under the age of 18 cannot sell, serve or furnish alcoholic beverages.  For information on Liquor Control Commission regulations concerning   selling or serving alcoholic beverages call (517) 322-1370.

Minors Must Be Supervised At All Times By A Person That Is At Least 18 Years Of Age


	HOURS AND BREAKS

· Combined hours of school and work cannot exceed 48 hours in a week.  Work cannot exceed 48 hours if the minor is not attending school.

· Work cannot exceed 6 days in a week, 10 hours in 1 day, and an average of 8 hours a day for the week.

· 14 and 15 year-olds can work between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m., outside of school hours.  (Federal law is more restrictive and may apply to some businesses.)

· 16 and 17 year-olds can work between 6:00 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, and 11:30 p.m. on Fridays and Saturdays during the school year. During school vacation periods and periods     when the minor is not regularly enrolled in school, 16 and 17 year-olds can work between 6:00 a.m. and 11:30 p.m.

· A minor cannot work more than 5 hours without a meal or rest period of at least 30 consecutive minutes.

· Special hours apply to agricultural processing and corn detasseling.


	PAYMENT OF WAGES

· Wages should be paid on a regular basis.  An employer can pay weekly, every two weeks, bi-monthly or monthly.

· An employee that quits or is discharged must be paid on the regular payday following termination.

· Deductions other than those required by law (income tax, social security, garnishments) require a voluntary written authorization.

· Fringe benefits (holiday, vacation or sick pay) earned pursuant to a written contract or policy must be paid according to the terms of the contract or policy.


	COMPLAINTS

For more information or to report a workplace hazard or other violation contact:

The Wage and Hour Division at (517) 322-1825, or write to P.O. Box 30476, Lansing, Michigan 48909-7976
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