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Michigan has some unique requirements for flammable liquids and gases when transported in bulk.  Due to 
Michigan’s weight law, some restrictions have been placed on the size of tanks used to transport flammable liquids 
and gases.  These provisions can be found in MCLA §257.722a of the Michigan Vehicle Code.  The section 
defines certain terms for use within section MCLA 275.722a only.  As used in this document: 
 
♦ “Bulk” is defined” as an amount of product or material of 3,500 water gallons or more in a single containment 

system. 
 
♦ “Flammable Liquid” is defined as a material having a flashpoint of 70ο Fahrenheit or below. 
 
♦ “Flammable Gas” and “Compressed Flammable Gas” mean as defined by 49 CFR, Parts 100-180. 
 
Under this section, the following operations are prohibited: 
 
♦ A truck pulling a trailer, a truck tractor pulling a semi-trailer and trailer combination, or a truck tractor pulling 

two semi-trailers when transporting a bulk flammable liquid, a bulk flammable gas, or a bulk compressed 
flammable gas. 

 
♦ A truck or truck tractor pulling a semi-trailer for flammable liquids with a water capacity in excess of 13,800 

gallons.  This provision does not apply to vehicles registered with the Motor Carrier Division on or before 
January 1, 1986.  There are currently less than 20 units still operating under this exception. 

 
♦ A truck or truck tractor pulling a semi-trailer shall not transport a bulk flammable liquid in a quantity of more 

than 13,400 gallons.  While the above bullet addresses capacity, this provision restricts the actual quantity to 
13,400 gallons. 

 
Note that neither of the last two bullets addresses flammable gases or compressed flammable gases.   
 
Violation of section 257.722a is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than $3,000.00 or imprisonment 
for not more than 90 days, or both. 
 
Additionally, for a truck tractor pulling a semi-trailer and a trailer or 2 semi-trailers when transporting a combustible 
liquid (as defined by 49 CFR, Parts 100-180), there are additional hitch requirements contained in MCLA §480.20 
of the Michigan Motor Carrier Safety Act.  This provision requires a device that restricts the horizontal and vertical 
rotation of the dolly assembly to the second semi-trailer or trailer.  The law also includes certain recordkeeping 
requirements. 
 
Last, the Michigan “PIN” inspection program ended October 1, 1996.  As of January 1, 1997, all “PIN” decals must 
have been removed from all trailers and vehicles. 

 
 
This document may be republished or distributed without prior permission.  Specific statutes 
should be consulted before implementing any program. Questions should be addressed to your 
local hazardous materials investigator, or contact Sgt. Susan M. Fries at 517/336-6580.  
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