
REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD 
 

For Additional Information:  (517) 335-8666    www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords 
  
Please type or print clearly and legibly 

 
APPLICANT   (PERSON REQUESTING VERIFICATION)       DATE:          /            / 

 
 Agency Name 

 Area Code and Phone Number 

(          ) 
 
 Applicant’s Name 

 

 
 Mailing Address 

 

 
 City/State/Zip 

 

 
 
 

     APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:           (Sign Here) ____________________________________________________ 
 

Must be signed in order to process.  By signing this application, I understand that I am agreeing to pay for a search of the State of 

Michigan vital records. This does not guarantee that a record will be found. 

 
 
VERIFICATION INFORMATION - A request for a verification of a Michigan birth record will be returned to you stamped with an 
indication that a record was identified which matched the supplied facts, or that no record could be identified which matched the 

supplied facts.  State law (MCL 333.2881(2)) allows for verification of ONLY the name of the subject of the birth record, date of 

birth, place of birth and filing date (date the record was originally filed or received by the local registrar – not date of 

issuance).  This information must match exactly what is on the record.  No copy of the record or additional information can be 
verified or supplied by the Vital Records Office.  State law requires an $18.00 fee for each search of the facts for verification. 

 
 
FACTS TO BE VERIFIED  

Must match exactly what is on the record 
 
Child’s Name     

 
_____________________________________________ 
       First                                                 Middle                                                    Last 
 
Child’s Date of Birth   

  
__________________________________________________ 
Month                                                    Day                                                    Year 

 
Child’s Place of Birth 

 

__________________________________________________ 
County 

 

Date of Filing - Enter ONLY if you have a copy of the record.   

(Date the record was originally filed or received by the local registrar and 
not the date of issuance).   
 
________________________________________________________ 
Month                                                    Day                                                    Year 

 

 
 
TURN-AROUND TIME  

 
REGULAR SEARCH - Processing time for mail-in requests will 
be approximately 3 weeks, depending on volume of requests 
received. 
 

EXPEDITED SEARCH – Processing time for a mail-in request will 
be approximately 2 weeks, depending on volume of requests 
received.  A counter request will be processed in 1-2 hours. 

 
 
DCH-0569-VERBX Rev 11-2015   By Authority of MCL 333.2881(2) and 333.2891(4)(f) 

VERIFICATION STAMP (for Vital Records Official Stamp) 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAYMENT – For mail-in requests, payment can be 

made in U.S. funds by check or money order payable to 

the “State of Michigan”.  In addition, cash or a credit 

card can be used for counter requests.  No checks if 

same-day service is requested. 
 

Each Verification Search    (Non-Refundable) 
 
$  18.00 

 
EXPEDITED SEARCH          Add   $12.00 
(In addition to the regular search fee) 

 
$      

 
PAYMENT TO “STATE OF MICHIGAN”    TOTAL: 

 
$ 

 

We cannot process your request without payment. When 

mailing, please remember to include check or money order. 

 

IF REGULAR SEARCH: IF EXPEDITED SEARCH: 
VITAL RECORDS REQUESTS VITAL RECORDS RUSH 
P.O. Box 30721   P.O. Box 30721 
Lansing MI 48909  Lansing MI 48909 

 

If you wish to have the results of the verification faxed to you, 

please indicate the fax number here:    

 

( )   ___________________________ 


