Questions About Your Health
Plan Enrollment

If you have questions, complaints or concerns
about your health care or your health care
provider, there are things you can do.

1. You can call or write a letter to your health
plan about your complaint or concern. Often,
they can help you immediately. If you are not
satisfied, you have the right to file a grievance.
Be sure to read your health plan’s member
handbook for more instructions.

2. You can also write or call the Michigan
Department of Health and Human Services
(MDHHS) Beneficiary Helpline about your
questions, complaints or concerns. You can
request a change in health plans, ask for a
medical exception, a For-Cause Disenrollment
or a Beneficiary Complaint form.

You can appeal a health plan decision you do not
agree with by sending a written request to:

Michigan Department of Health

and Human Services
Medical Services Administration
Beneficiary Helpline
PO Box 30470
Lansing, MI 48909-9753
or call: 1-800-642-3195

You can take any of these actions at any time.

Reporting Medical Beneficiary Fraud

You may be prosecuted for fraud if you:

* Withhold information on purpose or give false
information when applying for health care
coverage or other medical assistance programs,
or

* Do not report changes that affect your eligibility
to your MDHHS specialist.

If you are found guilty under Federal law, you can
be fined as much as $10,000 or can be sent to jail
for up to a year or both.

You can also be prosecuted for fraud under State
law. If you are found guilty, you can be sent to
jail, fined and ordered to repay the State monies
paid on your behalf for health care. And if you are
convicted of a felony under the State law, your jail
sentence may be up to four years.

Report cases of suspected fraud to the Michigan
Department of Health and Human Services
(MDHHS) Office of the Inspector General by
calling 1-800-222-8558. You do not have to give
your name.

Reporting Medicaid or Healthy Michigan

Plan Provider Fraud

A health care provider who is enrolled in the
Medicaid or Healthy Michigan Plan program

is also subject to Federal and State penalties for
Medicaid fraud. Report any provider you suspect
of billing for a service he or she did not perform or
providing a service that is not needed.

Report suspected provider fraud to:

Office of Health Services Inspector General
PO Box 30062
Lansing, MI 48909
or call the 24-hour hotline:
1-855-MIFRAUD (1-855-643-7283)
Or visit the website at www.michigan.gov/fraud
You do not have to give your name.

For questions and/or problems, or help to translate, call the Beneficiary

Help Line at 1-800-642-3195 (TTY 1-866-501-5656).

Spanish: Si necesita ayuda para traducir o entender este texto, por favor
llame al telefono 1-800-642-3195 (TTY 1-866-501-5656)

Arabic:  1-800-642-3195 (TTY 1-866-501-5656)
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Rights and Responsibilities

Your

If you receive Medicaid or the Healthy Michigan Plan

and belong to a health plan




Eligible for Medicaid or Healthy

You Have the Right to:

* Appeal most denials or reductions of Medicaid

Michigan Plan

\ When you get Medicaid
v or the Healthy Michigan
Plan, you are receiving
health care benefits from
the State of Michigan.

It is important to know
what your rights and responsibilities are for these
programs.

You need to know these things to be sure you
receive the best possible care and treatment.

Know the Process...

1. If you are found eligible for Medicaid or
Healthy Michigan Plan, you will receive
information and forms to fill out from
MICHIGAN ENROLLS. This information will
tell you how to sign up for a health plan.

2. You must choose a health plan that is listed in
your area. If you have a serious medical
condition under active treatment with a
doctor who is not in a health plan, you may
not be required to join a health plan. You
should contact MICHIGAN ENROLLS with
questions you have about this process.

3. You need to choose a primary care
provider (PCP), like a doctor, who works with
your health plan. If you do not choose, one
will be assigned to you.

4. Complete the enrollment information and
mail it to MICHIGAN ENROLLS, or call

MICHIGAN ENROLLS at 1-888-367-6557, if
you have questions.

5. You will receive a card and more information
from the health plan you have chosen.

Be treated with respect.

Receive quality health care.

Be seen by a primary provider who will arrange
the care you need.

Get all the facts from your primary provider
about your health and treatment.

Know about all treatments even if they are not
covered by Medicaid or Healthy Michigan Plan.
Refuse treatment.

A second medical opinion.

Be told what services are covered by Medicaid.
Know if a co-payment is required.

Know how your health plan works and the
services available.

Know the names and backgrounds of your health
care providers.

Choose your primary care provider.

Change your primary care provider by following
the rules of the health plan.

Change plans for any reason during the first 90
days of enrollment.

Change plans during a certain time of the year.
Request a disenrollment form to change your
health plan if you have “good cause.”

Get help with any special needs you may have.
Get help with any special language needs you
may have.

Tell your primary care provider how you wish to
be treated if you ever become too ill to decide for
yourself.

Be told in writing when and why benefits are
being reduced or stopped.

Have your medical records kept confidential,
consistent with applicable law.

Get a copy of your medical records, consistant
with applicable law.

Voice your concern about the service or care you
receive.

Contact your health plan with any questions or
complaints that you may have.

Use the health plan’s grievance procedure to
resolve problems.

Contact the Michigan Department of Health

and Human Services with any questions or
complaints that you may have.

or Healthy Michigan Plan eligibility or services.

* Help with transportation if you don’t have a
way to get to and from a doctor’s office or other
medical service.

You Have the Responsibility to:

* Show your health plan and mihealth card to all
providers before receiving services.

* Never let anyone use your cards.

* Choose a primary care provider. Then contact
and make an appointment with the provider
you have chosen.

* Make appointments for routine checkups and
vaccinations (shots).

¢ Keep your appointments.

* Provide complete information about your past
medical history.

* Provide complete information about current
medical problems.

* Ask questions about your care.
¢ Follow your provider’s medical advice.

* Respect the rights of other patients and health
plan employees.

* Use emergency room services only when
you believe an injury or illness could result in
lasting injury or death.

* Notify your primary care provider if emergency
treatment was necessary and make an
appointment for follow-up care if needed.

* Make prompt payment for services not covered
by Medicaid or Healthy Michigan Plan.

* Report changes that may affect your coverage
to the health plan and the local MDHHS office.
This could be an address change, birth of a
child, death of a family member, marriage, or
divorce.

* Promptly apply for Medicare or other insurance
when you are eligible.

* Report other insurance benefits you have to the
Beneficiary Helpline 1-800-642-3195.



