DEPARTMENT OF

ATTORNEY GENERAL

MEMORANDUM

September 16, 2008

1o: James Selleck
Director, Office of Fiscal Management

rrom: D, J. Pascoe
Assistant Attomey General
Consumer Protection Division

re: Taco Bell Corp. AG File No. 2008-3024157-A
Franchise Cost-efIavestigation (-1 vil Fine
Index Code 04100

Enclosed please find one check in the amount of $1,250.00 which represents payment of
the civil fine for the above.

DJP:dh

Enc.

c: Ann Murphy
forms/ad /bristol-fr

CHECK NUMBER | -

: CHECK DATE N / , - AMOUNT B :
' 09{12/2008 00407012 . | _*'*"*‘**_f-**f’_‘****f***1 250. oo'
\ ' ~voip AFTER 180 DAYS

PAY One Thousand Two Hundred Fifty dollars and 00/100 cenis

) - ,.ji JPMorgan Chase Bank '-'g:
L}
— :
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TO THE MICHIGAN ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE
ORDER OF CONSUMER PROTECTION FRANCHISE SEC
525 W OTTAWA STREET
WILLIAMS BLDG 6TH FLOOR

LANSING MI 48933
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| STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEP’ ARTMENT OF ATTORNEY GENERAL

F.0. Box 30213

LANSTNG, MICHIGAN 48909
ATTORNEY GENERAL ECE ] VE D
S
September 3, 2008 EP1s 2008
i D
Jobn A, Makarewich Spt of
Franchise Counsel COnsumer F’rlq “Orney Gen
Taco Bell Corp Ole fon . eral
17901 Von Karman, MD 1218 Chise
Irvine, CA 92614

Dear Mr. Makarewich:

Re:  Taco Bell Corp. :
Your fetter of August 15, 200

I received your lefter acknowledging that Taco Bell failcd to register as required by Michigan Compiled
Laws § 445.1507a for the period August 18, 2006 1o July 21, 2008. Although you assert that most of the
sales were exempt, you acknowledge that some were not.

Pursuant to MCL § 445.1507a(4} “{flailure to file the potice required in subscction (1) shall be punishable
by a civil fine of not more than $100.00 for the first day 2 franchise is offered and each following day
until the notice is filed” Given the tough economic times and Michigan's continuing desire to encourage
business to prosper in Michigan, the civil fine will only be $1,250.00. A check for this amount, made out
to the State of Michigan, should be forwarded to this offico within the noxt 15 days.

Additionally, each franchige sale during the lapse period violated the statute, and warraats a fine not to
exceed $10,000 per violation. MCL § 445.1538. This minimal civil five assumes the information you
provided that only four of the sales were not exerapt under the statute and the other 46 transactions were
exempt under either MCL §§ 445.1506(e), (g), or (b) is accurate. If we subsequently determine this
information is not accusate, we may pursue additional remedies for violation of the Michigan Franchise
Investment Law. '

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

D.J. Pascoe

Assistant Attorney General
Consuiners Protection

MI Department of Attorney General -
525 W. Ottawe Street ’

Lansing, MI 48933

(517) 3353129




