Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Wage and Hour Division
LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS

_PO Box 30476 CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED.
Lansing , Ml 48909-7976
RICK SNYDER Toll free 1 (855) 464-9243 (4MI-WAGE) SHELLY EDGERTON
GOVERNOR www.michigan.gov/wagehour DIRECTOR

Informational Sheet: Minimum Wage

Youth Training Wage

The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, Public Act 138 of 2014, allows workers under the age of 20 to
be paid a training wage for the first 90 days of employment under certain conditions. The statutory
provisions covering the training wage can be found at Section 4(b)(1) MCL 408.414b(1) of the
Michigan Compiled Laws. Anyone interested in information on the training wage should consult the
statute for the complete text.

An employer covered by the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act may pay a newly hired employee 16
through 19 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.

The following conditions apply to the training wage:

e An employer may not discharge, layoff or displace another employee or reduce the hours,
wages or benefits of an employee to hire a worker at the training wage.

e The overtime rate of pay for a worker subject to the training wage provisions is $6.38 per hour;
1-1/2 times the regular hourly rate of $4.25.

e The training wage period covers 90 days regardless of whether the employment occurs in a
single year or over 1 or more years, employment seasons, or employment periods.

¢ A change in employment classification, duties, or occupation does not extend the training wage
period.

e Employers who violate the training wage provisions are subject to payment of minimum wages,
liguidated damages, and a civil fine of up to $1,000.00.

For more information visit our web site at www.michigan.gov/wagehour or call toll free at 1-855-4MI-
WAGE (1-855-464-9243).
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