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 Michigan Brandy Manufacturer 

 Licensing Requirements & General Information 

 
  

A Brandy Manufacturer license: 

 License issued by the Liquor Control Commission (“Commission”) to manufacturer and 

sell brandy as defined by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (“TTB”). 

 Required to hold a Wine Maker of Small Wine Maker license issued by the Commission. 

 May offer free samples to consumers from the manufacturing premises. 

 May sell brandy directly to consumers for off-premises consumption (take-out) from the 

manufacturing premises at the uniform price set by the Commission. 

 May sell brandy to consumers for on-premises consumption at the manufacturing premises 

in conjunction with a restaurant at the winery premises. 

 May sell brandy to the Commission who will resell the brandy to licensed retailers through 

the Commission’s distribution system. 

 Must contract with an Authorized Distribution Agent (“ADA”) to warehouse and deliver 

brandy to retailers if the Brandy Manufacturer wants to sell their brandy through the 

Commission’s spirit distribution system. 

 Must obtain a “Distilling, Rectifying, Blending and/or Bottling Spirits” Basic Permit from 

TTB. 

 $100.00 annual license fee. 

 

How To Apply For A Brandy Manufacturer License: 
Applicants for a Brandy Manufacturer license must submit the following documents: 

 LICENSE APPLICATION - “Application for New License, or Application of Buyers for 

Transfer of Ownership or Interest in License” (Form LC-687).  Additional documents are 

required for corporate, LLC & partnership applicants, as described on pages 2 & 3. 

 

 INSPECTION FEE - A $70.00 nonrefundable inspection fee for each license applying for is 

required to authorize the field investigation. (Check payable to “State of Michigan”.) 

 

 FEDERAL BASIC PERMIT – “Distilling, Rectifying, Blending and/or Bottling Spirits” 

Basic Permit, issued by the TTB.  The Federal Basic Permit does not have to be submitted 

with the initial application.  Issuance of this Permit by TTB will need to be verified prior to 

the Commission issuing a license.  For Basic Permit info contact: 

   TTB 

                              550 Main St. 

                              Room 8002 

                              Cincinnati, OH 45202 

                              (800) 398-2282 

   www.ttb.gov 

 

In addition to the preceding documents required by all applicants, CORPORATIONS shall submit 

the following information per Rule 436.1109: 

 Copy of current, filed Articles of Incorporation. 

 Current "Certificate of Good Standing" from the state where  incorporated, if incorporated 

outside of this state. 

  “Report of Corporate Officers, Directors & Board of Directors” (Form LC-52). 

 “Individual Stockholder/Corporate Stockholder Questionnaire” (Form LC-621), completed by 

https://www.ttb.gov/
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each stockholder holding 10% or more stock interest. 

 “Limited Partners, Stockholders & Members Statement” (Form LC-38), completed by each 

stockholder holding less than 10% stock interest. 

 Note: All stockholders holding 10% or more corporate stock in applicant corporation will be 

required to be fingerprinted by local law enforcement agency.  Enforcement Investigator will 

release necessary forms and instruct you to contact local law enforcement agency. 

 

In addition to the LC-687 and other documents required by all applicants, LIMITED LIABILITY 

COMPANIES (“LLC”) shall submit the following information pursuant to Rule 436.1110: 

 Copy of Articles of Organization and copies of any amendments to the Articles of 

Organization. 

 Copy of Certificate of Authority to do business in Michigan, if the LLC is a non-Michigan 

LLC. 

 Copy of Operating Agreement entered into by members. 

 Copy of most recent annual statement filed with the Michigan Department of Consumer & 

Industry Services, Corporations and Securities Bureau.  Newly organized LLC’s will not 

have filed any such document yet. 

 “Report of Limited Liability Company Members, Managers and Assignees” (Form LC-52A). 

 “Individual Stockholder or Corporate Stockholder Questionnaire” Form (LC-621), completed 

by each member holding 10% or more of the total interest in LLC.  Also, Form LC-621 

should be completed for an assignee of a membership interest or a manager with a percentage 

distribution of 10% or more in the LLC. 

 “Limited Partners, Stockholders or Members Statement” (Form LC-38), completed by 

member holding less than 10% of the total interest in the LLC.  Also, Form LC-38 should be 

completed for an assignee of a membership interest or a manager with a percentage 

distribution of less than 10% in the LLC. 

 Note: All members holding 10% or more interest in LLC and assignees of membership 

interest or managers with 10% or more percentage distribution will be required to be 

fingerprinted by the local law enforcement agency.  The Commission Enforcement 

Investigator will release the necessary forms and instruct you how to contact the appropriate 

agency. 

 

In addition to the preceding documents required by all applicants, PARTNERSHIPS shall submit 

the following information per R436.1111: 

 Partnership Agreement (required for limited partnerships). 

 “Application for New Licenses or Application of Buyers for Transfer of Ownership or Interest 

in License” (Form LC-687) completed by each general partner. 

 “Limited Partners, Stockholders or Members Statement” (Form LC-38), completed by each 

limited partner.  In the case where the limited partner is a corporation or a limited liability 

company, an “Individual Stockholder or Corporate Stockholder Questionnaire” Form (LC-

621), should be completed by each of the limited partners. 

   Note: All general partners will be required to be fingerprinted by local law enforcement 

agency.  Enforcement Investigator will release necessary forms and instruct you to contact 

local law enforcement agency. 

*** Applicants for a new Brandy Manufacturer license who are simultaneously applying for a Wine 

Maker or Small Wine Maker license, which is required to be held in conjunction with a Brandy 

Manufacturer license, need only submit one “Application for New License, or Application of Buyers 

For Transfer of Ownership or Interest in License” (Form LC-687) and one set of supporting 

documents.  An additional $70.00 inspection fee is however required for the additional license to 

authorize the investigation. 
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*** Applicants for a new Brandy Manufacturer license who already hold the necessary Wine Maker 

or Small Wine Maker license need only submit the “Application for New License, or Application of 

Buyers For Transfer of Ownership or Interest in License” (Form LC-687) and the $70.00 inspection 

fee to authorize the investigation. 

 

 

Send all applications to: Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

                             Manufacturers & Wholesalers Section 

                             P.O. Box 30005 

                             Lansing, MI 48909 

                             (517) 322-1420 

    www.michigan.gov/lcc 
 

Licensing Process: 
An investigation for a new license or transfer of an existing license is initiated by the applicant 

submitting an “Application for New License, or Application of Buyers For Transfer of Ownership or 

Interest in License” (Form LC-687), and the appropriate corporate, LLC or partnership documents, 

along with a $70.00 inspection fee for each license applying for.  Upon receipt of this information, 

the Commission’s Licensing Division will authorize an investigation and forward the file to the 

Commission’s Enforcement Division.  An investigator from the Commission’s Enforcement 

Division will contact the applicant; advise them of the documentation necessary to be provided for 

review; and schedule an appointment with the applicant(s) to conduct the investigation.  The 

investigation will cover a variety of areas including but not limited to: ownership structure; 

background of individuals; projected cost of the project/transaction; source of finances, including 

source of any money lender’s finances; present ownership verification; and physical inspection of the 

facility, if the physical premises is built and available for inspection.  Upon completion of the 

investigation, the investigator will submit a report to the Commission. 

 

The Commission investigator will also release forms and fingerprint cards to the local law 

enforcement agency and a resolution form to the local governing body.  The local law enforcement 

agency’s investigation is independent of the Commission’s investigation.  It is the responsibility of 

the applicant to follow-up with the local law enforcement agency and the local governing body to 

ensure that their recommendations are forwarded to the Commission. 

 

The Commission will issue a formal order approving, denying, or holding the application for 

additional information. The applicant will be advised of the Commission's decision and provided 

with a copy of the Commission Order.  If approved, the applicant will be provided with a check sheet 

listing any additional requirements or documentation necessary to be submitted to the Commission 

prior to issuance of the license and a contract for signatures.  If the application is denied, the 

applicant will have the opportunity to appeal the denial 

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
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License Fee: 
Brandy Manufacturer annual license fee is $100.00.  License renews annually on May 1.  The license 

fee may not be prorated for part-year licensure.  License fee is payable upon MLCC approval of your 

application. 
 MCL 436.1525 

 

Michigan Spirit Distribution System: 
Michigan operates as a “control” state for the sale of spirits.  That is, the Commission acts as the 

wholesaler for all spirit products.  A Vendor of Spirits sells spirits to the Commission.  The 

Commission then resells the spirits to both on and off-premises retail licensees.  Spirit products are 

warehoused and delivered to retail licensees by Authorized Distribution Agents (“ADA”).  An ADA 

is required to be certified by the Commission and is also required to have a contract with each 

Vendor of Spirits they represent to deliver their particular spirit products.  Spirit products that are 

sold to consumers for off-premise consumption by licensed Specially Designated Distributors 

(“SDD”) are sold statewide at uniform prices set by the Commission.  The uniform price set by the 

Commission is determined by the cost of the spirit product to the Commission plus a 65% mark-up, 

plus a combination of specific taxes.  All of the aforementioned components of the system are further 

described below. 

 

Vendor of Spirits: 
A Brandy Manufacturer must also register with the Commission as a "Vendor of Spirits" in order to 

sell their spirit products to the Michigan Liquor Control Commission.  Michigan is a "control" state, 

which means the Michigan Liquor Control Commission acts as the wholesaler for all spirit products, 

excluding mixed spirit drinks.  The Commission purchases spirits from Vendors of Spirits.  The 

Vendor of Spirits is responsible for registering product lines and filing quotations with the 

Commission.  The Commission then adds the statutory mark-up (currently 65%) and specific taxes 

(currently totaling 13.85%) and sells the spirits to licensed retailers who in turn may sell to 

consumers.  There is no fee for registering as a Vendor of Spirits.  There is also no licensing 

investigation for registering as a Vendor of Spirits.  Additional information on registering as a 

Vendor of Spirits may be found at the Commission’s Website www.michigan.gov/lcc. 

 

Authorized Distribution Agents: 
A Brandy Manufacturer who desires to sell its brandy through the Commission’s spirit distribution 

system must as a Vendors of Spirits contract with an Authorized Distribution Agent (“ADA”) to 

warehouse and distribute spirits.  The ADA is required to be certified by the Commission to store 

and deliver spirits.  A signed contract with a Certified ADA is required to be filed prior to the 

Commission approving any product distribution.  If a Brandy Manufacturer only intends to sell 

their product directly to consumers from their licensed manufacturing premises, they do not 

need to contract with an ADA.  

 

An ADA must have a written contract with each Vendor of Spirits they represent. The contract must 

specify the following: 

 The contract must designate each brand of spirits the ADA is authorized to warehouse and 

deliver. 

 The contract must specify the ADA’s authorized geographical delivery area.  Statewide 

distribution must be covered by an individual ADA or by contracting with multiple ADA’s. 

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc


 5 

 The contract must indicate the responsibilities of both parties. 

 The contract must have a specific beginning and ending date. 

 The contract must specify the amount per case to be paid to the ADA by the Vendor of 

Spirits.  This warehouse/delivery fee must be a minimum of $8.32 per case (the MLCC 

offsets this per case fee by paying $6.97 to the liquor vendor). 

 Both the ADA and the Vendor of Spirits must sign the contract. 

 

An ADA is required to make weekly deliveries to any retail licensee making a one case or more 

minimum order.  An ADA may not charge any split case fees nor may they charge any delivery fee 

except for emergency orders placed by retail licensees in addition to their weekly delivery.  In such 

cases, an ADA may charge a $20.00 delivery fee.  The ADA is responsible for collecting payment 

from the retail licensee on behalf of the Commission and is responsible for submitting various sales 

documents to the Commission.  An ADA may not have any interest, directly or indirectly in any 

Vendor of Spirits or in any retail licensee.  A Vendor of Spirits must make each of its products 

available statewide to all retail licensees.  While a Vendor of Spirits may utilize more than one ADA 

to cover the state, all document transmittals required by the Commission must be done by only one 

ADA. 

 

Vendor Representative: 
Vendors of Spirits are required to license an individual as a Vender Representative to represent them 

in dealings with the Commission.  The Vendor Representative license fee is $50.00. Current 

licensing period is May 1, 1993 through April 30, 1996.  Enclosed is a Vendor Representative 

application and instructions.  Additional information and application for Vendor Representative 

licenses may be found at the Commission’s Website www.michigan.gov/lcc. 

 

Definitions: 
(g)"Brandy" means an alcoholic liquor as defined in the federal regulations, 27 C.F.R. 

5.22(d)(1980). 
 MCL 436.1105(8) 

 

Manufacturing & Labeling: 
Brandy shall be manufactured, identified and labeled in accordance with federal spirit regulations 

published in Code of Federal Regulations (ACFR@) Title 27, part 19 and Title 27, part 5.  Please 

check with BATF regarding federal labeling requirements. 
 Rule 436.1825, Rule 436.1827 

 

Product Registration: 
All spirit products, including brandy, are now registered on-line through the Commission’s E-Quote 

system.  Each Vendor of Spirits is provided with a User Name, Password and Database Identifier to 

access the on-line E-Quote spirit registration system.  For more information on Michigan’s on-line 

spirit product registration system, visit the Liquor Control Commission’s Website at 

www.michigan.gov/lcc or contact the Commission’s Financial Management Division at (517) 284-

6260. 
 Rule 436.1829 

 

Hospitality Room – Sampling by Consumers: 
A Brandy Manufacturer may allow persons 21 years of age or older to sample brandy manufactured 

by them at no charge in a hospitality room located at the manufacturing premises. 
 MCL 436.2025 

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
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Sales to Consumers for On-Premises Consumption: 
A Brandy Manufacturer may sell brandy it manufacturers to consumers for on-premises consumption 

in a restaurant at the manufacturing premises.  If no restaurant is operated at the manufacturing 

premises, brandy may not be sold to consumers for on-premises consumption but may be sampled 

free of charge. 
 MCL 436.1603(5) 

 

Sales to Consumers for Off-Premises Consumption (Take-Out): 
A Brandy Manufacturer may sell brandy it manufacturers to consumers for off-premises 

consumption (take-out) from its manufacturing premises at the minimum price set by the 

Commission. 
 MCL 436.1105(9), MCL 436.1603(5) 

 

Minimum Price: 
A Brandy Manufacturer selling its brandy to consumers for off-premises consumption must sell 

spirits to consumers at the minimum price set by the Commission.  This minimum price is 

determined as follows: Vendor of Spirits (Brandy Manufacturer or their representative) files price 

quotations with the Commission.  The Commission uses the per-case quoted price as submitted by 

the Vendor of Spirits to determine the per-bottle price.  A 65% mark-up is computed on the per-

bottle price.  Then a series of specific taxes (4% specific tax for school aid fund, a 4% specific tax 

for the general fund, a 4% specific tax for convention facilities & tourism and a 1.85% specific tax 

for liquor purchase revolving fund) are calculated on the per-bottle price after the mark-up has been 

added.  The 1.85% tax is added only on sales to off-premise licensees.  In addition, there is a 6% 

sales tax collected separately by the retail licensee.  All retail licensees receive a 17% discount on 

purchases from the Commission that is calculated before any specific taxes but after the mark-up has 

been added to the Commission’s cost.  Retailers selling for on-premises consumption may sell spirits 

at any price above their cost.   
 MCL 436.1603(5), MCL 436.2201, MCL 436.2203, MCL 436.2207 

 

Interest In Another License:  
A Brandy Manufacturer is prohibited from holding any direct or indirect interest in any other 

alcoholic beverage wholesale, retail or supplier license.  A Brandy Manufacturer may however hold a 

Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker license in the same legal entity.  Examples of prohibited interests 

include stock ownership; leasing real estate to/from another licensee; interlocking officers or 

directors; and financial interest in any manner, such as a moneylender, in another license. 
 MCL 436.1603 

 

Salesperson License: 
Any person employed by a Brandy Manufacturer to sell, deliver, promote, or otherwise assist in the 

sale of alcoholic liquor in this state is required to hold a Salesperson license issued by the 

Commission.  Office staff and winery personnel who work exclusively at the winery premises and 

have no personal contact with retailers or consumers off the winery premises do not need a 

Salesperson license.  Salesperson's must be 18 years of age or older.  Salesperson licenses are  

$35.00 for three-year licensing period.  Licensed salespersons are prohibited from being employed by 

a retail licensee on a paid or any other basis.  Licensed truck drivers or delivery persons are 

prohibited from consuming alcoholic beverages while on duty. 
 Rule 436.1853 

 

 

Aid and Assistance: 
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Section 609 of the Code, being MCL 436.1609, and Rule 436.1035 prohibit alcoholic beverage 

manufacturers, suppliers or wholesalers from aiding or assisting any other licensee by giving them 

anything of value.  Further, a licensee is prohibited from accepting aid and assistance from another 

industry member.  Alcoholic beverage suppliers are prohibited from giving anything of value to their 

wholesalers or retailers.  Likewise, alcoholic beverage wholesalers are prohibited from giving 

anything of value to their retailers.  This principle is the cornerstone of Michigan’s trade practices 

regulatory structure.  It is designed to provide a level playing field for all industry members.   

Suppliers and wholesalers are prohibited from giving anything of value to retail licensees, including 

but not limited to: alcoholic beverages, merchandise, furniture, fixtures, equipment, uniforms, cash 

or loans, labor, etc.  While wholesalers and suppliers may provide point-of-sale materials such as 

posters, banners, table tents, flyers, etc., to retailers promoting their brands and prices, they are 

prohibited from providing anything that has any secondary use, value or purpose, other than actual 

advertising value to retailers without prior Commission approval.  This same principle prohibits 

suppliers and wholesalers from providing free advertising, incentive programs, free or discounted 

product, draft system installation and maintenance, etc.  Violations in the aid and assistance statute 

will result in all participants (retailer, wholesaler and supplier) being cited before the Commission. 
 MCL 436.1609, Rule 436.1035 

 

Bulk Alcoholic Liquor For Blending: 

A Brandy Manufacturer may purchase bulk alcoholic liquor to be used for blending purposes from a 

licensed Outstate Seller of Wine.  A shipment of bulk wine to a Brandy Manufacturer must be 

accompanied by a “Release of Alcohol or Alcoholic Beverages for Commercial Use” (LC/MW 836) 

approved by the Commission. 
 Rule 436.1721 

 

Record Retention: 

All licensees are required to maintain all sales, purchase and salesperson expense records for a 

minimum of four (4) years.  Records may be maintained electronically or otherwise as long as a hard 

copy of the record can be created upon demand. 
 Rule 436.1007, Rule 436.1641, Rule 436.1865 

 

Inspection of Premises and Books & Records: 

A licensee must make the licensed premises available for inspection and search by a Commission 

Investigator or any law enforcement officer empowered to enforce the Commission’s rules and code 

during regular business hours or when the premises is occupied.  The Commission or its duly 

authorized agent may examine the books, records or papers of a licensee. 
 MCL 436.1217, Rule 436.1645 

 

Samples: 
A Brandy Manufacturer is allowed to sample their products with on-premises or off-premises retail 

licensees and the retailer’s employees.  Sample tastings may not be offered to consumers.  All 

containers used to sample products with retailers must be marked with the word “Sample” in 

lettering at least ½-inch high.  While a Brandy Manufacturer may offer tasting samples to retailers 

from multiple beverages, only one (1) sample container of 750 ml size or smaller may be left with a 

retail licensee for sampling by the retailer and their staff.   Again, the container must be marked 

“Sample”.  A sample container must be removed from the premises within 24 hours and again may 

not be sampled by consumers. 
 Rule 436.1001, Rule 436.1421, Rule 436.1511, Rule 436.1513, Rule 436.1863 
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Purchasing Drinks For Consumers: 
A licensed Salesperson, for promotional purposes, may purchase one (1) wine drink for each 

customer of an on-premises retail licensee only.  The drink shall be purchased from the on-

premises licensee and shall be of a brand represented by the salesperson. 
 Rule 436.1865 

 

Advertising and Promotions: 
Inside advertising signs must be unilluminated and no more than 3,500 square inches in 

dimension. Advertising that promotes anything other than or in addition to your alcoholic 

beverage product requires prior commission approval.  Point-of-sale advertising may not contain 

the name of any retail licensee of promote anything other than your products.  Advertising on 

anything having any secondary value, use or purpose other than advertising, requires prior 

Commission approval.  Direct all advertising and promotion requests to Manufacturers & 

Wholesalers Section. 
 Rule 436.1301 – Rule 436.1339 

 

How To Contact BATF: 
BATF may be contacted as follows: www.ttb.gov 

Federal Basic Permits:  Federal Label Approvals: 

TTB    TTB    

Technical Services  Alcohol Labeling & Formulation 

550 Main St., Rm 6525 650 Massachusetts Ave., N.W. 

Cincinnati, OH 45202  Washington, DC 20226  

(800) 398-2282  (866) 927-2533   

 

How To Contact The Michigan Liquor Control Commission: 
Questions relating to Brandy Manufacturer licenses and other non-retail licenses may be directed 

to: 

 

 Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

 Manufacturers & Wholesalers Section 

 P.O. Box 30005 

 Lansing, MI  48909 

 Toll –Free: 1-866-813-0011 

 Email: MLCCMWapplications@michigan.gov 

 Website: www.michigan.gov/lcc 

https://www.ttb.gov/
mailto:MLCCMWapplications@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/lcc

