
  

 
Michigan No-Fault Automobile Insurance 

NO-FAULT INSURANCE is required by law in Michigan.  Every car owner must buy certain basic coverages in order 
to get license plates.  It is against the law to drive or let your car be driven without no-fault insurance.   

The basic no-fault policy has three parts: 
 
 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
If you are hurt in an auto accident, this part of your no-
fault policy will pay all of your medical costs.  It will also 
pay, up to a maximum amount, for the wages you 
would have earned if you had not been hurt, for up to 
three years. 

In 2002, the amount is $4,027 per month. If you are 
killed in an accident, your policy will pay your family up 
to the monthly amount for three years, based on what 
they would have received from your earnings and 
fringe benefits.  

You may also be entitled to up to $20 per day in 
replacement services. This is to pay for services you 
are no longer able to provide for yourself or your family 
because you are injured, such as housekeeping and 
yard work.   

You may coordinate PIP coverage with any other 
health or disability policy you have (except Medicaid, 
Medicare or a Medicare supplemental policy) to reduce 
your PIP premium.  The health or disability plan then 
becomes the primary payer for medical or wage loss 
expenses, and the auto policy would cover remaining 
medical or wage loss expenses.  These auto insurance 
coverages are also called excess medical and excess 
wage loss. 
 
 Property Protection Insurance (PPI) 
No-fault will pay up to $1 million for damage your car 
does in Michigan to other people's property, such as 
buildings and fences. It will also pay for damage your 
car does to other people's properly parked vehicles. 
 

Residual Liability Insurance Bodily 
Injury and Property Damage (BI/PD) 

The no-fault law protects insured persons from being 
sued as the result of an auto accident except in certain 
special situations.  In general, these are the 
circumstances under which you could be sued: 

• if you cause an accident in Michigan in which 
someone is killed or seriously injured;  

• if you are involved in an accident in a state other 
than Michigan; 

• for up to $500 in damages to another person's car 
which are not covered by insurance, if you are 
50% or more at fault in the accident. 

Your required no-fault policy will pay up to your 
coverage limit amounts if you are sued or are legally 
responsible for damages in the above situations. 

 

The minimum required BI/PD coverage limits are: 

• Up to $20,000 for a person who is hurt or killed in 
an accident. 

• Up to $40,000 for each accident if several people 
are hurt or killed. 

• Up to $10,000 for property damage in another 
state. 

These limits are often described as 20/40/10.  Courts 
sometimes award more than these amounts. If this 
happens, you would be responsible for paying the 
amount not covered by your policy. To protect 
themselves, many people buy extra liability insurance. 

 
There are some optional insurance 

coverages you may wish to consider: 
Your no-fault insurance does not pay for repairs to 
your car if it is damaged in an accident. If your car is 
properly parked and hit by another car, the other 
driver's insurance will pay for your repairs. Except for 
this situation, the only kinds of auto insurance that pay 
for repairs to your car are Collision and 
Comprehensive. 

Collision Insurance pays for repairs to your car when 
it is damaged in a crash.  There are three basic kinds 
of collision insurance to choose from:  limited, 
standard and broad form. Collision insurance is 
usually sold with a deductible.  A deductible is the 
money you agree to pay toward the cost of repairs 
before the insurance company steps in and pays the 
rest. The larger the deductible, the lower the cost of 
your collision insurance. 

! Broad Form collision pays for damages regardless 
of fault, with a deductible which applies only if you 
are substantially at fault. 

! Standard collision pays for damages regardless of 
fault, with a deductible which always applies. 

! Limited collision pays only if you are not 
substantially at fault, and may or may not have a 
deductible. 

Comprehensive Insurance pays for your car if it is 
stolen or for repairs if it is damaged by a falling object, 
fire, flood, vandalism or collision with an animal. 

Uninsured Motorists Coverage will pay if you or a 
member of your family are injured by an uninsured 
motorist. Uninsured motorists coverage is usually sold 
with limits of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per 
accident (20/40). This coverage will not pay for 
damage to your vehicle. 
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