
Michigan’s Auto Insurance Law Has Changed

The information contained in the following publication pertains to auto
insurance policies issued on or before July 1, 2020. Publications about auto
insurance policies issued on or after July 2, 2020 are available at
michigan.gov/autoinsurance.

For more information about the new auto insurance law and how it will affect
you, please visit: www.michigan.gov/AutoInsurance.
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The Michigan Automobile Insurance 
Placement Facility 

 

What Is the Michigan Automobile Insurance 
Placement Facility? 
The Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement 
Facility, known also as the MAIPF or the 
Facility, is an organization designed to provide 
auto insurance to any qualified person who is 
unable to get insurance in the regular market. 
 
Who is Qualified? 
If you have a car registered or to be registered 
in Michigan, or hold a valid (not suspended or 
revoked) driver’s license, you are qualified for 
insurance through the Facility. The only 
reasons you can be refused insurance through 
the Facility are: 
 
1. If you are not required by law to be covered 

by no-fault insurance because you are a 
non-resident who does not intend to live or 
drive in Michigan for at least 30 days. 

 
2. If your driver’s license is suspended or 

revoked for certain reasons; or 
 
3. If you have had an auto insurance policy 

cancelled within the past 2 years because of 
non-payment of premium.  This can be 
overlooked if you pay in advance a premium 
installment amount developed by the 
Facility for the policy you are buying. 

 
When Would I Need Insurance Through the 
Facility? 
You would only need to buy car insurance 
through the Facility if you cannot buy it from an 
insurance company. This would most likely 
happen if you have several tickets or at-fault 
accidents or have been convicted of a serious 
violation such as driving under the influence of 

drugs or alcohol.  There may be other reasons, 
however.  These are explained more fully in the 
Insurance Counselor entitled, “Auto Insurance: 
Are You Eligible?” 
 
While you may be able to find coverage with a 
company specializing in insuring people with 
less-than-perfect driving records, these 
companies can charge very high rates.  If you 
are one of these people, it may be worthwhile to 
ask your agent what rate you would be charged 
through the Facility. 
 
How Do I Get Insurance Through the 
Facility? 
Any agent can help you apply to the Facility.  
Facility policies are issued by several 
companies whose names your agent can give 
you.  The form you fill out gives you a chance to 
choose the company you want to issue and 
service your policy. 
 
If you don’t choose, the Facility will assign you 
to a servicing company.  If you don’t like the 
assignment, you have the right to ask to be 
moved to another company.  Your insurance 
will be from the servicing company you are 
assigned to but will be on forms used by the 
Facility.  Your premium will be the premium 
charged by the Facility. 
 
Are the Rates High? 
The Facility rates are a weighted average of the 
base rates of the five largest insurers in the 
voluntary market in Michigan.  Keep in mind 
that base rates do not include any discounts 
that you may qualify for in the voluntary market 
(i.e., group discount, multi-policy or multi-
vehicle discount).  Therefore, the premium for 
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insurance through the Facility may be much 
higher than what you would pay in the voluntary 
market.  However, all servicing carriers in the 
Facility charge the same rates, so placement 
with any servicing carrier will result in the same 
premium.  If you cannot pay the entire premium 
in advance, the Facility offers a payment plan, 
but you must pay at least 25% of the total 
premium or $100, whichever is greater. 
 
What Types of Coverage Are Available 
Through the Facility? 
The Facility provides the same mandatory 
coverages as those normally found in the 
regular, voluntary market including the ability of 
agents to issue a “binder” upon receipt of the 
application for coverage. As in the regular, 
voluntary market, this “binder” is a temporary 
contract between the insurance company and 
the policyholder which verifies that the 
policyholder has insurance coverage until the 
actual policy is received. 
 
What Can I Do if I Have Been Treated 
Unfairly? 
If you have any questions concerning the 
premium you have been charged, or if you feel 
you have been improperly denied car 
insurance, see your agent.  If your agent is 
unable to help, he or she can tell you how to 
ask for a conference with the insurance 
company. 

If you are not satisfied with the result of the 
conference, or if you do not get a conference 
within 30 days of asking for one, you have the 

right to appeal to the Director of Insurance for 
the State of Michigan. 
 
Most disputes or questions can be handled in 
the manner described above.  However, some 
disputes may involve the actual rules of the 
Facility.  For example, your insurance company 
may have given you the correct rate according 
to the Facility’s rating rules, but you believe 
those rules are improper.  This type of question 
must be answered through a formal hearing 
and decision by the Facility.  The Facility’s 
decision can then be appealed to the Director of 
Insurance within 30 days. 

 
If you have a question about your insurance, 
contact your agent or company.  If they cannot 
answer your question, contact the Department 
of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) at 
the address or telephone number below.  DIFS 
is the state department that regulates insurance 
in Michigan. 
 
About DIFS  
The mission of the Michigan Department of 
Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure 
access to safe and secure insurance and 
financial services fundamental for the 
opportunity, security and success of Michigan 
residents, while fostering economic growth and 
sustainability in both industries. In addition, the 
Department provides consumer protection, 
outreach, and financial literacy and education 
services to Michigan citizens. For more 
information please contact DIFS at 877-999-
6442 or visit www.michigan.gov/DIFS 
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