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Auto Insurance Fraud - Buyer Beware!

As an owner of a car registered in the State of
Michigan you are required by law to carry no-
fault auto insurance. Also, you must give proof
of this insurance to the Secretary of State’s
Office at the time license plates are purchased
and each time you renew Yyour vehicle’s
registration.

Unfortunately, there are people who try to
take advantage of this situation at the public’s
expense. One method which has come to the
DIFS’s attention involves phony insurance
agents offering “good deals” on auto coverage.
In return for a minimum deposit, usually $25 to
$50, these “agents” will give you a document
which looks like a certificate of no-fault
insurance. The document might pass for proof
of insurance when presented to the Secretary of
State’s Office at the time you buy your license
plates. However, you would not have no-fault
coverage. Drivers who are victims of this type
of fraud usually find out when it is too late, after
they have had an accident and after their “agent”
has disappeared. The Department of Insurance
and Financial Services (DIFS) may refer cases
involving phony agents to local law
enforcement agencies for possible criminal
prosecution.

There are also drivers who purchase phony
insurance certificates knowingly to avoid paying
the cost of no-fault insurance coverage. A
person caught driving without no-fault coverage
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could be guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to
a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500,
imprisonment of not more than one year, or
both. You may also incur additional fines and
costs pursuant to the 2003 Michigan Driver
Responsibility Law.

Unlike the previously described situation
involving phony agents, the other most common
no-fault fraud involves actual agents licensed to
sell insurance in Michigan. These agents will
also issue you a document representing proof of
insurance in exchange for a minimum premium
deposit. The document may also make it
possible for you to purchase your license plates
or register your vehicle; but, unless the agent
forwards your premium deposit along with your
application to the insurance company, you may
have difficulty in collecting on a claim in the
event of an accident. In these cases, the agent
simply fails to notify the company of your
application and proceeds to pocket the deposit
and other premium payments.

When brought to the attention of DIFS, agents
operating in the manner outlined above will
have action taken against them to revoke their
licenses and may have to pay restitution. Also, a
referral will be made to the Criminal Division of
the Attorney General’s Office or the local
county prosecutor for prosecution.

Department of Insurance and Financial Services PO Box 30220 Lansing, M1 48909-7720
517-284-8800 Toll Free 877-999-6442



There are no guaranteed methods to avoid

being taken in an insurance fraud, but here
are some tips to reduce the chances.

1.

2.

Buy from a reputable agent.

Talk to several agents before buying -- see
what the market has to offer and be careful
if a rate looks exceptionally low when
compared with others.

Ask to see the agent’s license -- it should be
displayed in the agent’s place of business.
To check if an agent is licensed, contact the
DIFS toll free at 877-999-6442.

Look for an established place of business.
Beware of small shops displaying no-fault
insurance signs in their windows for
extremely low rates, especially those located
close to branch offices of the Secretary of
State, college campuses, and low-income
areas.

Beware of anyone trying to sell you auto
insurance in an unusual situation, such as on
a street corner, in a bar or restaurant, or
while in line waiting to purchase your
license plates.
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6. Beware of the agent who insists on cash
payment of a premium or premium deposit.

7. Make premium payments by a check made
payable to the insurance company, not to the
agent or agency.

8. Always get a written receipt following the
payment of your premium that includes the
name of the insurance company and the
agent and/or agency.

9. If you do not receive a policy within two
weeks of applying for insurance, contact the
insurance company and, if necessary, DIFS
at the address or phone number listed at the
bottom of this sheet.

IF YOU SUSPECT THAT YOU HAVE BEEN THE
VICTIM OF A PHONY OR DISHONEST AGENT,
REPORT YOUR PROBLEM TO:

Department of Insurance and Financial Services
(DIFS) 877-999-6442
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