
Instructions for Payment of Examination Fees 
 

The fees for Level 5 Type II Drinking Water Certification Exams are: 
 

 D5, F5, or S5 - $45.00 per exam (Make Checks Payable to: State of Michigan) 
 
 Payment by credit card can now be done online at the following website: 

www.thepayplace.com/mi/deq/trainandcertify 
 

Individuals will be charged for all exams applied for and charges will apply upon receipt of the application.  
The applicant will be responsible for payment of the examination fee. 
 

A certified operator will not be allowed to write an examination for a certification that they currently hold. 
 

Be very specific in what you apply for.  No refunds of fees will be given for any reason (such 
as denials, cancellations, no shows, etc.) 
 
In order to obtain certification, the examination fee must be paid.  Notification of examination results 
will not be made until examination fees are received by the State. 

 
COMPLETED APPLICATIONS, WITH ORIGINAL SIGNATURE AND FEE PAYMENT/ 
CREDIT CARD RECEIPT, MUST BE MAILED TO THE FOLLOWING ADDRESSES 

DEPENDENT ON PAYMENT TYPE. 
When paying online, please mail a 
copy of the payment receipt, the 
ORIGINAL application, and all 
documentation to this address.  
DO NOT MAIL CHECKS TO THIS 
ADDRESS: 

 

MDEQ 
Office of Drinking Water and 
Municipal Assistance 
Operator Training and 
Certification 
PO BOX 30241 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-7741 

To pay by check, please mail this 
application, all documentation and 
appropriate fees to: 
 

Make checks Payable to:  
State of Michigan 
 

MDEQ 
Office of Financial Management 
Revenue Control/Cashier’s 
Office 
PO BOX 30657 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-8157 

 

For overnight or express delivery, 
 please send check, application  
and all documentation to: 
 
Make checks payable to: 
State of Michigan 

 

MDOT Accounting Service Center 
425 West Ottawa Street 
Lansing, Michigan  48933 

 

 

 
FAXED, COPIED, OR E-MAILED APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. 

 
ADDITIONAL APPLICATIONS MAY BE DOWNLOADED AT: http://www.michigan.gov/deqoperatortraining 

 
You may receive acknowledgment from the Department of Environmental Quality of receipt of your 
application by enclosing a SELF-ADDRESSED, STAMPED POSTCARD with your application.  We will 
date stamp the card and mail it back to you.  This does not indicate acceptance to the examination; only 
receipt of your application. 

 
ALL APPLICANTS WILL BE NOTIFIED OF ACCEPTANCE OR DENIAL OF THE WRITTEN 
EXAMINATION NO LESS THAN 15 DAYS BEFORE THE DATE OF THE EXAMINATION 

 
 

DO NOT INCLUDE THIS PAGE WITH YOUR SUBMITTED APPLICATION 



 
 

         Michigan Department of Environmental Quality 
       Office of Drinking Water and Municipal Assistance 

 
APPLICATION FOR 

LEVEL 5 CERTIFICATION 
This information is required by authority of 1976 PA 399. 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION - Provide complete contact information and 
education information.  Sign the application on page 1.  The 
application must be received not less than 60 days prior to the 
announced examination date, if paying by credit card 45 days. 
 
TYPE, PRINT, OR WRITE LEGIBILY 
NAME: (First)                                                       (Middle Initial)                           (Last) Operator ID: (If Known) 

ADDRESS: (Number and Street)            (Apartment Number) CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE: 

E-MAIL ADDRESS: HOME PHONE NUMBER: 
(          ) 

BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER: 
(         ) 

LIST ANY MDEQ DRINKING WATER CERTIFICATE(S) HELD: CIRCLE CERTIFICATE(S) APPLIED FOR WITH THIS APPLICATION 
               D-5                    F-5                    S-5 

EMPLOYER          (Name) WSSN NUMBER PHONE NUMBER 
(         ) 

ADDRESS (Number and Street)                      (City)                                (State)                (Zip Code) FAX NUMBER 
(         ) 

 
CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT: 
I certify that all information provided in this application and attachments (if any) is accurate and complete.  I understand 
that misstatement of facts may result in forfeiture of all rights to certification.  I further certify that I have read and 
understand the instruction for payment of examination fees and I am responsible for an examination fee of $45 for each 
exam applied for.  I further understand there are NO REFUNDS. 

SIGNATURE: DATE: 

 
EXAMINATION LOCATION:  I PREFER TO TAKE THE WRITTEN EXAMINATION NEAR 

 CENTRAL MI             EAST MI          WEST MI     UPPER PENINSULA 
       

               NORTHERN LOWER MI    SOUTHEAST MI   SOUTHWEST MI  
Indicate 1st, 2nd, and 3rd choice.  If the site you select is full, you will be moved.  

 

It is recommended that you make a copy of the completed application for your records.  If you would like confirmation that DEQ-
Operator Training & Certification Program received your application; please include a self-addressed & stamped postcard. 
 
Submit completed application form and examination fee of:     $45 
When paying online, go to 
www.thepayplace.com/mi/deq/trainandcertify. 
Please mail a copy of the payment 
receipt, the ORIGINAL application, and 
all documentation to this address.  
DO NOT MAIL CHECKS TO THIS 
ADDRESS: 
 
MDEQ 
Office of Drinking Water and 
Municipal Assistance 
Operator Training and Certification 
PO BOX 30241 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-7741 

To pay by check, please mail this 
application, all documentation and 
appropriate fees of $45.00 to: 
 
Make checks Payable to:  
State of Michigan 
 
 
MDEQ 
Office of Financial Management 
Revenue Control/Cashier’s Office 
PO BOX 30657 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-8157 
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For overnight or express delivery, 
please send check/credit card receipt, 
application and all documentation to: 
 
Make checks payable to(if applicable): 
State of Michigan 
 
MDOT Accounting Service Center 
425 West Ottawa Street 
Lansing, Michigan  48933 
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CLASS EDUCATION EXAM GRADE 
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If you do not have a minimum high school diploma or GED equivalent, you may not be eligible to write any of the exams.  If you do 
not meet the minimum education qualifications, please call (517) 284-5424 discuss your options prior to mailing your application 
and payment. 
 

EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS (OFFICE 
USE ONLY)

HIGH SCHOOL (Name)   (Location)  CIRCLE HIGHEST GRADE COMPLETED 
                                                                                                                             10                    11                  12 

 

HIGH SCHOOL GED or EQUIVALENT                      (Name)                                (Location)   

OTHER TRAINING AND EDUCATION – (Complete this section only if you DO NOT have a High School 
Diploma, GED, or Equivalent)  List short courses, seminars, regional meetings, correspondence courses, and other 
MDEQ Advisory Board Approved training.  List any other in-service training courses, extension courses, or individual 
college courses not part of your degree program.  Give title of course, location, subject, instructor, and other information 
necessary for evaluation and determination of credit to be allowed.  Indicate credit earned by filling out either the class 
hour’s column or the Continuing Education Credit’s (CEC) column.  Verification may be required. 

 

 
COURSE TITLE 

 
LOCATION 

 
SUBJECT 

 
INSTRUCTOR YEAR 

CLASSROOM 
HOURS 

 
CEC’s 

 

        

        

        

        
 IF ADDITIONAL SPACE IS NEEDED, ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS OF PAPER HEADED WITH NAME AND DATE           
               TOTAL  

 
Authority Governing the Certification of Water Works Personnel 

in Accordance with State Law and Administrative Rules 
(Excerpts From the Act and Rules as Amended 12/4/2009) 

SAFE DRINKING WATER ACT 
Act 399, Public Acts of 1976 

 
 AN ACT to protect the public health; to provide for supervision and control over public water supplies; to prescribe the powers and duties 
of the department of environmental  quality, to provide for the submission of plans and specifications for waterworks systems and the issuance of 
construction permits therefore; to provide for the classification of public water supplies and the examination, certification and regulation of persons 
operating those systems; to provide for continuous, adequate operation of privately owned, public water supplies; to authorize the promulgation of 
rules to carryout the intent of the act, and to provide penalties. 
 Sec. 9 (1) The department shall classify water treatment and distribution systems with regard to size, type, location, and other physical 

conditions for the purpose of establishing the skill, knowledge, and experience that individuals need to maintain and operate the systems 
effectively. 

 (4) For individuals meeting the requirements, the department shall issue certificates acknowledging their competency to operate a 
specified class of waterworks system or portion thereof.  The department may suspend or revoke a certificate as specified by rule. 

 (5) A water treatment and distribution system shall be under the supervision of a properly certified operator as specified in the rules. 
 

THE RULES TO IMPLEMENT ACT NO. 399, P.A. 1976 
R 325.10101 TO R 325.12606 

R 325.11901 Classification of treatment systems. 
Rule 1901. (1) Complete treatment systems are classified based on population served by the public water supply or rated treatment capacity of the 
treatment system as follows: 

 (e) Class F-5: Complete treatment systems for noncommunity supplies. 
(2) Limited treatment systems are classified based on population served by the public water supply or rated treatment capacity of the treatment 
system as follows: 
  (e) Class D-5: Limited treatment systems for noncommunity supplies. 
(3) Waterworks systems that use as a source surface water or ground water under the direct influence of surface water shall be classified as F 
systems. 
R 325.11902 Classification of distribution systems and other public water supplies. 
Rule 1902. The following classifications are assigned to public water supplies: 

(e) Class S-5: Nontransient noncommunity water supplies with no treatment or community supplies with no treatment and a distribution 
system limited in extent. 

R 325.1195 
Rule 1915. (1) The department shall renew a certificate on a 3-year cycle. 
(2) To have a Class F-5, Class D-5, or Class S-5 certificate renewed, a certificate holder shall have completed not less than 9 hours of advisory 
board-approved training or continuing education during the renewal cycle. 
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