
Existing Air Pollution Control Rule R 336.1310 
 
 
From the Michigan Air Pollution Control Rules  
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/apcrats/toc_collapsible_2.shtml  
 
R 336.1310  Open burning. 
 Rule 310.  (1)  A person shall not cause or permit open burning of refuse, garbage, or any 
other waste materials, except for the burning of any of the following: 

 (a)  Waste disposal material from and at 1- or 2-family dwellings if the burning does not 
violate any other department rules. 
 (b)  Structures and other materials used exclusively for fire prevention training. 
 (c)  Trees, logs, brush, and stumps in accordance with applicable state and local 
regulations if the burning is not conducted within a priority I area as listed in table 33, a 
priority II area as listed in table 34, nor closer than 1400 feet to an incorporated city or 
village limit and if the burning does not violate any other department rules. 
 (d)  Beekeeping equipment and products, including frames, hive bodies, hive covers, 
combs, wax, and honey, if burned for bee disease control. 
 (e)  Logs, brush, charcoal, and similar materials that are used in preparing food or for 
recreation. 

 (2) The exceptions specified in subrule (1) of this rule do not authorize open burning if 
prohibited by local law or regulation. 
History:  1979 ACS 1, Eff. Jan. 19, 1980; 1999 MR 1, Eff. Feb. 4, 1999. 

 



Proposed Air Pollution Control Rule R 336.1310 
 
 
R 336.1310  Open burning. 
 Rule 310.  (1)  A person shall not cause or permit open burning of refuse, garbage, or any 
other waste materials, except for the burning of any of the following: 

 (a)  Waste disposal material from and at 1- or 2-family dwellings if the burning does not 
violate any other department rules. 
 (a) Prior to April 1, 2011, waste disposal material from and at 1 or 2 family dwellings 
if the burning does not violate any other department rules. 
 (b)   On and after April 1, 2011, yard clippings and leaves from and at 1 or 2 family 
dwellings if the burning does not violate any other department rules. 
 (b)(c)  Structures and other materials used exclusively for fire prevention training. 
 (c)(d)  Trees, logs, brush, and stumps in accordance with applicable state and local 
regulations if the burning is not conducted within a priority I area as listed in table 33, a 
priority II area as listed in table 34, nor closer than 1400 feet to an incorporated city or 
village limit and if the burning does not violate any other department rules. 
 (d)(e)  Beekeeping equipment and products, including frames, hive bodies, hive covers, 
combs, wax, and honey, if burned for bee disease control. 
 (e)(f)  Logs, brush, charcoal, and similar materials that are used in preparing food or for 
recreation. 

 (g)    Burning on an emergency basis of explosive or other dangerous or 
contraband materials by police or other public safety organization. 
(h)    Prescribed burns designed  to meet ecological or silvicultural management 
objectives and in accordance with Part 515 of the act. 
 

 (2) The exceptions specified in subrule (1) of this rule do not authorize open burning if 
prohibited by local law or regulation. 
 
 



Existing Solid Waste Management Rule R 299.4128 
 
 
From the Michigan Solid Waste Management Act Administrative Rules 
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,1607,7-135-3312_4123-9861--,00.html  
 
 
R 299.4128 Open dumping and open burning prohibited. 
  Rule 128. (1) A person shall not dispose of solid waste in an open dump, except as provided 
in the act. 
  (2) Solid waste from an individual's own household or from the planting of privately owned 
farmland shall be considered a hazard to health and shall not be disposed of in an open 
dump upon the individual's own land, as provided in section 11512 of the act, if it is any of the 
following: 
  (a) Asbestos waste. 
  (b) A hazardous commercial chemical product. 
  (c) A used battery. 
  (d) A pesticide container. 
  (e) Waste from the demolition of the residence, except for components that are listed as 
inert material in R 299.4114. 
  (3) Open burning of solid waste is prohibited, except as provided in subrules (4) through (8) 
of this rule. 
  (4) If not prohibited by local ordinance,  On and after April 1, 2011, an individual shall not 
burn solid waste, other than yard clippings, from the individual’s own household upon 
the individuals own land.  Prior to April 1, 2011, an individual is not prohibited by the act 
and these rules from burning solid waste from the individual's own household upon the 
individual's own land if all of the following conditions are met: 
  (a) The burning is not prohibited by local ordinance. 
  (ab) The burning does not create a nuisance and is otherwise in compliance with part 55 of 
the act and the administrative rules promulgated under part 55 of the act. 
  (bc) The burning is conducted in an approved container constructed of metal or masonry 
that has a metal covering device that does not have openings larger than ¾ inch. 

(5)  An individual shall not burn yard clippings unless, 
(a) the yard clippings are generated by the individuals own household and 
burned on the individuals own land. 

 (b) The burning is not prohibited by local ordinance. 
 (c) The burning is allowed under section 11522 of the act. 
 (d) The burning is not injurious to human life or property and does not 
unreasonably interfere with the enjoyment of life or property. 
(6) A person may burn waste for energy recovery in a facility other than an incinerator under 
R 299.4110. 

  (7) A person may burn trees, logs, brush, and stumps under R 299.4110. 
  (8) The open burning of grass clippings or leaves, or both, is prohibited in any municipality 
that has a population of 7,500 or more persons under section 11522 of the act, unless 
specifically authorized by local ordinance. A municipality shall report an open burning 
ordinance to the department within 30 days of the enactment of the ordinance. 

 
 



Proposed Solid Waste Management Rule R 299.4128 
 
 
R 299.4128 Open dumping and open burning prohibited. 

Rule 128. (1) A person shall not dispose of solid waste in an open dump, except as 
provided in the act. 

(2) Solid waste from an individual's own household or from the planting of privately 
owned farmland shall be considered a hazard to health and shall not be disposed of in an 
open dump upon the individual's own land, as provided in section 11512 of the act, if it is any 
of the following: 

(a) Asbestos waste. 
(b) A hazardous commercial chemical product. 
(c) A used battery. 
(d) A pesticide container. 
(e) Waste from the demolition of the residence, except for components that are listed 

as inert material in R 299.4114. 
(3) Open burning of solid waste is prohibited, except as provided in subrules (4) 

through (8) of this rule. 
(4) If not prohibited by local ordinance,  On and after January 1, 2011, an individual 

shall not burn solid waste, other than yard clippings, from the individual’s own 
household upon the individuals own land.  Prior to January 1, 2011, an individual is not 
prohibited by the act and these rules from burning solid waste from the individual's own 
household upon the individual's own land if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) The burning is not prohibited by local ordinance. 
(ab) The burning does not create a nuisance and is otherwise in compliance with part 

55 of the act and the administrative rules promulgated under part 55 of the act. 
(bc) The burning is conducted in an approved container constructed of metal or 

masonry that has a metal covering device that does not have openings larger than ¾ inch. 
(5)  An individual shall not burn yard clippings unless, 
(a) the yard clippings are generated by the individuals own household and 

burned on the individuals own land. 
(b) The burning is not prohibited by local ordinance. 
(c) The burning is allowed under section 11522 of the act. 
(d) The burning is not injurious to human life or property and does not 

unreasonably interfere with the enjoyment of life or property. 
(6) A person may burn waste for energy recovery in a facility other than an incinerator 

under R 299.4110. 
(7) A person may burn trees, logs, brush, and stumps under R 299.4110. 
(8) The open burning of grass clippings or leaves, or both, is prohibited in any 

municipality that has a population of 7,500 or more persons under section 11522 of the act, 
unless specifically authorized by local ordinance. A municipality shall report an open burning 
ordinance to the department within 30 days of the enactment of the ordinance. 


