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Michigan Environmental 
Compliance Conference

Christine Grossman
Compliance Assistance Specialist
Waste Regulations
grossmanc@michigan.gov
517-373-0590
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Environmental Assistance Center
(EAC)

Phone: 1-800-NO2-WASTE
(1-800-662-9278)

Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Technical Assistance Services Include:

Air Shoreline Development
Waste Brownfield Redevelopment
Water Site Remediation
Wetlands Storage Tanks 
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Waste Session 3

Handling Requirements for:

Transportation
Land Disposal Restrictions
Universal Waste
Used Oil
Liquid Industrial Waste

Dos and Don’ts of Managing Waste
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Transportation
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Act 451, Michigan Natural Resource and 
Environmental Protection Act

Part 111, Hazardous Waste
Part 121, Liquid Industrial Waste

DNRE Transportation Regulations

Act 138, 
Hazardous  
Materials
Transportation
Act
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Hazardous Material
US DOT vs Act 138 

US DOT Hazardous Material
Substances (products & wastes) listed in
Hazardous Materials Table found in 
49 CFR, 172.101

Materials exhibiting a hazard during transport

Hazardous waste is a US DOT hazardous
material

Act 138 Hazardous Material
Includes only hazardous waste and liquid
industrial waste
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Hazardous Material 
Implementing Authority

Michigan State Police, Traffic Safety 
Division implements US DOT regulations 
and permits US DOT hazardous material 
transporters
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DNRE implements Act 138 and 
permits and registers Act 138 
hazardous materials transporters.

Hazardous Material 
Implementing Authority
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Act 138 Contacts
Barbara Stevens – 586-753-3850
Jeanette Noechel – 586-753-3846
EAC – 1-800-662-9278 

(1-800- NO2-WASTE)

Act 138 Web Information
Go to www.michigan.gov/dnre, select 
“Waste,” then “Hazardous and Liquid 
Industrial Waste Transporters”

Act 138 Hazardous 
Material Information

http://www.michigan.gov/dnre


11

US DOT Contacts
Michigan State Police, Traffic Safety 

Division – 517-336-6580

Intrastate U.S DOT Number Information –
888-464-8736 

Michigan Center from Truck Safety –

1-800-682-4682

US DOT web information
www.phmsa.dot.gov/hazmat/regs

US DOT Hazardous 
Material Information
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Act 138 Transporter Requirements

Permit (3 yr) & Registration (1 yr) required 
for:

Hazardous waste transport
Liquid industrial waste transport
Hazardous and liquid industrial waste transport

Fleet liability coverage must be maintained for 
accidental occurrences (no less than 
$1,000,000 per occurrence for hazardous wastes 
and $750,000 or $300,000 per occurrence for 
liquid industrial waste)
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Act 138 Transporter Requirements

Approval of Act 138

permit & registration

result in issuance of

“Credential” at left

Credential must be

carried at all times by

transporter & presented

upon inspection

Credential lists effective

period
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Self transportation:

Applies only to liquid industrial waste (not 
hazardous waste) 

Applies only to a motor carrier transporting 
liquid industrial waste generated on or from 
property or equipment in which he or she 
owns an interest

Act 138 Transporter 
Permit/Registration Exemption 
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Governmental transportation of liquid 
industrial and hazardous waste in vehicles 
owned and operated by government 
employees

On-site (not on public roadway) 
transportation

Act 138 Transporter 
Permit/Registration Exemption
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Hazardous Waste 
Pre-Transport Requirements

(Rule 305)

Package, label, and mark each hazardous 
waste package in accordance with US DOT
regulations AND

Mark each container of ≤119 gallons with: 
“HAZARDOUS WASTE – Federal Law Prohibits
Improper Disposal.  If found, contact the nearest
police or public safety authority or the US 
Environmental Protection Agency.”
Generator name and address
Generator Site Identification Number
Manifest Tracking Number 
Hazardous waste codes identifying the waste 
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SQG shipping > 1000 lbs   
& LQG must have US DOT
placards available for
transporters.  

Call Michigan State
Police, Traffic Safety
Division at 
517-336-6580 for 
more info about placards. 

Placards
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Employ only Act 138 permitted & registered 
transporters to transport hazardous and/or 
liquid industrial waste by public roadway

Verify Act 138 transporter credential 
information by going to

Hazardous and Liquid Industrial Waste 
Transportation Requirements

(Rule 403 & Section 12103)

www.michigan.gov/dnre, 
“Waste,” “Hazardous and 
Liquid Industrial Waste 
Transporters,” and 
“Participating Transporters”

http://www.michigan.gov/dnre
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Self transportation of hazardous waste requires 
Act 138 permit, registration, & fleet liability 
coverage unless government employee 
transporting government waste in government 
vehicle

Self transportation 
of liquid industrial 
waste may be exempt 
from Act 138 permit 
& registration, but 
is subject to having 
fleet liability coverage

Self Transportation
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Self transport of CESQG waste to HHW 
collection is exempt from Act 138 permit & 
registration if transported in volumes < 55 
gallons in accordance Op Memo 121-2

Self transport < 55 gallons without a 
manifest requires explicit records and 
transport of volumes ≥ 55 gallons requires a 
manifest

Self Transportation
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Generators transporting own liquid industrial waste
in volumes < 55 gallons does not require manifest if:

Waste is accompanied by record showing the 
source & quantity of the waste and the designated 
facility where the waste is being shipped

Generator obtains signature from the designated 
facility acknowledging receipt of the waste and 
provides a copy of the record of shipment to the
designated facility

Generator retains a copy of the shipment record
for 3 years from the date of shipment

Self Transportation
(Section 12103(4))
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Land Disposal
Restrictions
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Land Disposal 
Restrictions (LDR) Overview

(Rule 311 and 40 CFR 268)

Applies to listed & characteristic hazardous 
wastes from SQGs & LQGs

Requires generator characterize, provide LDR 
notice to TSD, and maintain records 3 years

Requires treatment before land disposal for 
most wastes 

Determine if treatment required by reviewing if 
waste codes for each waste stream meets the 
standards in 40 CFR 268.40, 268.45 (debris), 
or 268.49 (soil)
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Land disposal includes any disposal on land 
(landfill, land treatment, injection well, salt 
caverns, etc)

Notification required even for shipment to 
non-land based TSDs (e.g. incinerator) 

New LDR notification must be sent when there 
is a waste or facility change 

Notice sent to each TSD for each waste stating 
waste meets or does not meet LDR standards

Land Disposal 
Restrictions (LDR) Overview

(Rule 311 and 40 CFR 268)



25

Generators treating a prohibited waste to meet 
the standards in 40 CFR 268.48 must have a 
written waste analysis plan describing the 
activities they perform to meet the treatment 
standards

All generator LDR records are required to be 
maintained for 3 years from the last date of 
shipment or on-site treatment and/or disposal, 
whichever is later

LDR Generator Recordkeeping
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Universal 
Waste
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Universal Waste Standards
(Rule 228)

Definition: A set of streamlined standards for 
managing hazardous waste that are intended to 
help facilitate easier, less expensive disposal 
and/or development of recycling markets

Universal Waste Types:

Electric Lamps 
Batteries
Pesticides
Consumer Electronics

Mercury Containing Devices
Pharmaceuticals
Antifreeze See DNRE  

Publication Center 

Universal W
aste 

Guidance
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Universal 
Waste 
Electric 
Lamps

See DNRE Publication 

Center Electric
 Lamp 

Guidance
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Mismanaged 
Hazardous Waste 
Electric Lamps 
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On-site bulb crushers are 
NOT RECOMMENDED
due to possible mercury 
emissions

Discuss requirements with 
WHMD, AQD, and MIOSHA

An air use permit to install is 
required

Crushed bulbs must be 
counted toward generator 
statusSee DNRE Publication 

Center B
ulb Crusher 

Guidance
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Mercury Devices

Thermostats, automotive 
mercury switches, 

sphygmomanometers, & 
thermometers
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Mercury Collection Options Include

Collection options include:

MDA Clean Sweep Collections 
(www.michigan.gov/deqmercuryp2)

Local Household Hazardous Waste 
Collections

End of Life Vehicle Solutions Collections 
(elvsolutions.org) 

Michigan Energy Options (www.mec.org)

http://www.michigan.gov/deqmercuryp2
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Consumer Electronics

Devices with circuit boards  or 
liquid crystal/plasma displays 
common to homes and offices 
and the same devices found in 
other settings (e.g. computers, 

cell phones, televisions, 
stereos, PDAs, DVD players, 

etc.)

See DNRE  

Publication Center 

Electronic Equipment 

Guidance
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Pharmaceuticals

Drugs only

Does not include medical waste

Medical waste is infectious or 
potentially infectious (e.g. 
sharps/needles, vaccines
with live viruses, body tissue, etc.)

Do not mix medical waste with pharmaceuticals
unless disposing of the waste at a permitted &
licensed hazardous waste incinerator
authorized to incinerate mixed medical waste

See DNRE  Publication 

Center Mixed Medical 

Waste Guidance
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Universal Waste
Advantages

Volume not included when determining 
generator status 

Can be accumulated up to 1 year (much longer 
than LQG 90 days and SQG 180 days)

Less labeling 

No hazardous waste manifest required, but if 
liquid requires liquid industrial waste manifest

Credentialed hazardous waste transporter not 
required, but if liquid requires credentialed 
liquid industrial waste transporter
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Cannot dispose of universal waste

Cannot treat universal waste except when:

Responding to a release

Performing treatment exempt from 
hazardous waste permitting/licensing or 
authorized under universal waste handler 
regulations

Manage wastes in a way to avoid releases

Can accumulate universal waste for up to one 
year

Universal Waste Requirements 
for All Handlers
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Send or take universal waste to another 
handler, destination facility, or foreign 
destination

Inform employees about proper handling and
emergency procedure for the waste

If mixing universal waste with other 
non-hazardous wastes, managing mixture 
according to the universal waste standards

Make prior arrangement for shipment to 
another universal waste handler

Universal Waste Requirements 
for All Handlers
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Label each item or container holding items:

Universal waste “item name” OR
Waste “item name” OR
Used “item name”

(e.g. “Universal Waste Pharmaceutical”
or “Waste Pharmaceutical” or “Used
Pharmaceuticals”)

Meet liquid industrial waste manifesting 
requirements if liquid

Meet US DOT regulations for all shipments

Universal Waste Requirements 
for All Handlers
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Meet other state’s requirements if shipping 
waste out-of-state

If other state does not recognize the waste 
stream as a universal waste type (and 
waste must be manifested as a hazardous 
waste), note in Box 14 of the out-of-state 
hazardous waste manifest that waste was 
managed as a universal waste in Michigan

Meet exportation requirements if shipping 
universal waste out to other countries

Universal Waste Requirements 
for All Handlers
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Universal Waste Handlers

Handler Types:

Small Quantity Universal Waste   
Handler

No Site Identification Form 
required

Handles < 11,000 pounds (total all
universal waste types combined) 
during entire calendar year
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Handler Types:

Large Quantity Universal Waste 

Handler

Site Identification Form required 

Handles ≥ 11,000 pounds (total all

universal waste types combined)

at any time during calendar year

Universal Waste Handlers
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Used
Oil
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Used oil is “any oil which has been refined from 
crude oil, or any synthetic oil, which has been 
used and as a result of use, is contaminated with 
physical or chemical impurities” and includes:

Used Motor Oils
Used Hydraulic Oils
Used Transmission & Brake Fluids
All Synthetic Oils
Spent Quench Oils
Spent Gear Oils
Non-PCB Transformer Oils
Oil-Water Mixtures if sufficient oil exists for
legitimate recycling

Used Oil

See DNRE 

Publication Center 

Used Oil G
uidance
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Used oil does NOT include petroleum based 
products that were not designed to function as 
lubricating agents or other protective applications

Used oil does NOT include:

Fuels (Gasoline, Diesel, Fuel Oils)
PCB Oils (TSCA)
Mineral Spirits
Certain Test/ Calibration Fluids
Animal Fat or Vegetable Based Oil

Used Oil
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Used oil is subject to waste regulation under 
Parts 111, 121, and 167 of the Michigan 
Natural Resource and Environmental 
Protection Act

Part 111 and 121 establish hazardous waste 
and liquid industrial management standards 
for the used oil

Part 167 requires that the used oil be 
recycled

Used Oil
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Used oil generally does not include used oil
containing >1000 PPM halogens

Used oil with > 1000 PPM halogens is a 
presumed listed hazardous waste unless
sufficient characterization data can be
presented to “rebut the presumption” that 
the halogens are present from mixing used 
oil with a listed hazardous waste 
(chlorinated solvents)

Used Oil
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“Rebutting the presumption” is 
complicated for transporters & processors 
accepting used oil from multiple sources 
and most will not accept used oil > 1000 
PPM halogens

Total halogens are usually tested using 
SW 846 or using on-site testing 
equipment like “Chlor-D-Tect”

Used Oil



48

If used oil contains > 1000 PPM halogens, it is
presumed to have been mixed with listed
halogenated hazardous waste unless rebutted

Can also use knowledge of waste to
characterize, if feasible, but adequate
documentation is required

Transporter usually tests oil prior to pick-up to
verify liquid industrial waste regulatory status
and generators should request and maintain
copies of relevant test on file

Used Oil
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If > 1000 PPM halogens present, additional, 
costly testing is required to “rebut” whether 
used oil was mixed with hazardous waste:

Analyze for all halogenated Appendix VIII 
constituent
If > 100 PPM used oil fails and must be 
managed as a hazardous waste

Used Oil

Conclusion:  Do not mix used oil with other 
wastes to facilitate required recycling and 
avoid being required to manage the mixture 
as a hazardous waste
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Labels are required to say “Used Oil”

Not “Waste Oil”

See DNRE  Publication 

Center Release 

Requirements in
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Liquid
Industrial

Waste

See DNRE Publication 

Liquid Waste Generator 

Guidance
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Characterize wastes and maintain records
for 3 years from last off-site shipment or 
on-site treatment and/or disposal

Keep records of all liquid industrial waste
produced, treated and/or disposed on-site

Keep records of hazardous waste generator
status to verify regulatory status of CESQG
exempted hazardous waste that are liquid

Liquid Industrial Waste 
Generator Standards

(includes most Used Oil)
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Obtain and utilize Site Identification Number 
if manifesting liquid industrial waste for 
disposal

Container or tank accumulation only  

Label containers/tanks with words “Used 
Oil” or their contents

Liquid Industrial Waste 
Generator Standards

(includes most Used Oil)
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Containers/tanks must be compatible 
with the   wastes, closed, and in good 
condition 

Protect waste from weather, physical 
damage, fire, and vandals 

Accumulation conducted to prevent 
escape of wastes to air, water, sewers 
or the ground

Liquid Industrial Waste 
Generator Standards

(includes most Used Oil)



55

Report releases that could threaten health, 
safety, welfare, or environment

Respond to releases to stop, contain, and 
clean up the spill

Manifest off-site shipments unless 
consolidated manifesting or self transporting 
with a trip log

Liquid Industrial Waste 
Generator Standards

(includes most Used Oil)



56

Use Act 138 permitted & registered 
liquid industrial waste transporter

Ship waste only to a designated facility 
with a Site Identification Number unless 
treating and/or disposing of the 

waste on-site

See DNRE Publication Liquid 

Waste Generator Guidance

Liquid Industrial Waste 
Generator Standards

(includes most Used Oil)
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If disposing of liquid industrial waste on-site 
to the POTW, maintain record of POTW 
authorization for the discharge

Manage in accordance with EPA Spill Control 
and Countermeasures requirements; Part 31 
Water Resources Pollution Incident 
Prevention Plan requirements, and any tank 
installation/registration requirements

Liquid Industrial Waste 
Generator Standards

(includes most Used Oil)
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Dos & Don’ts
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Follow exemption requirements

Maintain required records (characterization, 
manifests, land disposal restriction, monthly 
generator status, etc.) 

Minimize waste to minimize regulatory 
burden

Notify DNRE of reportable releases 

Do
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Train staff to handle hazardous waste and 
respond to emergencies

Confirm questionable exemptions with DNRE 
staff

Utilize universal waste standard where 
possible

Institute measures to prevent releases

Do
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Document correction of observed violations 
to DNRE ASAP

Review waste characterization at the time of 
each process or material change

Routinely dispose of wastes

Ship hazardous waste using manifest & via 
credentialed transporter

Do
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Preventing repeat violations during 
subsequent inspections

Keeping waste characterizations 

on- site

Ensure YOU understand the regulations

Do
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Store greater than 90/180 days (SQG/LQG)

Overlook re-characterizing and/or illegally 
dispose

Install hazardous waste tanks without 
certification

Do Not
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Operate as a SQG or LQG without required 
secondary containment, training, and 
emergency planning

Rely solely on your vendor to ensure 
compliance

Transport hazardous waste and/or liquid 
industrial waste without the required permit 
and registration

Do Not
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Need Help?

Go to www.michigan.gov/dnrewaste
Contact the DNRE EAC at 1-800-662-
9278
Search the DNRE Publication Center 
Contact DNRE district waste inspection 
staff
Contact hazardous waste vendors
Contact waste consultants

http://www.michigan.gov/dnrewaste
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