
 

 

 

Medical Waste Producers Registration and Fee Payment Portal 

Agency: Environmental Quality 
 

Contact: medicalwaste@michigan.gov 
 
Description:   
 
Two sites have been developed to allow users to apply for either an Initial Registration as a Medical Waste 
Producing Facility or to renew an existing registration, in accordance with the Medical Waste Regulatory Act, 
Part 138 of the Michigan Public Health Code, 1978 PA 368, as amended.  Each physical location and facility 
in Michigan generating, storing, or treating medical waste prior to disposal is required to register initially upon 
open of operation and every 3 years thereafter. 
 
Instructions:         

The Medical Waste Regulatory Program’s registration system now allows both initial registrants and returning 
users with existing registrations to complete their application and fee payment for registration as a medical waste 
producing facility online.   
 
If you are a new applicant, following completion of the registration process, you will receive a confirmation e-mail 
verifying your payment, facility registration number, etc. as proof that you have registered sent to the e-mail you 
provided as required.  You should receive the confirmation e-mail within 24 hours following successful completion 
of your registration. 

Official registration certificate(s) will arrive at your facility automatically via postal mail generally one to two weeks 
following the completion of your online renewal or initial registration and fee payment.  It is recommended that you 
wait at least two weeks to contact us at medicalwaste@michigan.gov if you still don’t have your certificate. 

You may also check on the status of your facility’s registration or find out if you are already registered by visiting 
the Licensing and Regulatory Affairs “Verify a License” site.  
 
            Please continue the registration process by clicking on the applicable link below: 

 

  

PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU ARE REGISTERING MULTIPLE FACILITIES, YOU MUST RETURN TO THIS PAGE 
AND COMPLETE THIS PROCESS FOR EACH ADDITIONAL FACILITY YOU WOULD LIKE TO REGISTER. 

 

 

 

 

     Already Registered? Renew Here!  Not Registered? Apply Here! 

mailto:medicalwaste@michigan.gov
mailto:medicalwaste@michigan.gov
https://w2.lara.state.mi.us/VAL/License/Search
https://mylicense.mdch.state.mi.us/MyLicenseEnterprisemwren/Login.aspx
https://mylicense.mdch.state.mi.us/MyLicenseEnterpriseMW/

