MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, GREAT LAKES, AND ENERGY
DRINKING WATER AND ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH DIVISION
ot ad B -

EJLEG CHANGE OF PuBLIC SWIMMING PooL PROGRAM
CONSTRUCTION PERMIT AND LICENSE FEES

In late 2004, the Public Health Code (PHC), 1978 PA 238, as amended, authorized the Michigan
Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) to charge construction permit and
license fees for public swimming pools. These fees replaced the general fund tax dollars formerly
used to fund the public swimming pool program. The PHC also authorized that these fees be
adjusted every three (3) years by an amount that reflects the cumulative annual percentage
change in the Detroit consumer price index. The sixth and most recent three-year change is in
effect beginning 10/01/2022 with an increase of 16.2%.

The adjusted Public Swimming Pool Construction Permit (CP) and License fee schedule based on
the pool surface area is as follows and is effective through 2025:

Swimming Pool Fee Category Adjusted Fee
CP 0 —500 sq. ft. $806
CP 501 — 1500 sq. ft. $1,028
CP 1501 — 2400 sq. ft. $1,172
CP 2401 — 4000 sq. ft. $1,907
CP 4001 + sq. ft. $2,641
Modification CP $404
Initial License 0 — 500 sq. ft. $806
Initial License 501 — 1000 sq. ft. $881
Initial License 1001 — 1500 sq. ft. $918
Initial License 1501 — 2000 sq. ft. $955
Initial License 2001 — 2500 sq. ft. $1,028
Initial License 2501 — 3500 sq. ft. $1,172
Initial License 3501 — 4500 sq. ft. $1,321
Initial License 4501+ sq. ft. $1,466
Initial License Modification $404
Renewal License by December 31 $81
Late Fee after December 31 to April 30 $81 + $100
Lapsed Fee after April 30 $81 + $150
License Transfer $60

EGLE has revised the Public Swimming Pool Construction Permit Application to reflect the
adjusted fee schedule. The CP application and swimming pool rule book documents are posted
on our webpage at Michigan.gov/EGLEPublicSwimmingPools.

Pre-printed license invoices mailed to public swimming pool owners, generally in October, will have
the correct licensing fee. Please note that the late fee adds $100 to the annual renewal fee and is
assessed after December 31 through April 30. The lapsed fee adds another $50 to the annual
renewal fee and is assessed after April 30.

Please note that local health departments are entitled to, and may collect, additional fees for
services provided, such as swimming pool inspections. Please contact your local health
department for their fee information and schedule. Please do not send the local health department
inspection fee to EGLE.
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If you need this information in an alternate format, contact EGLE-Accessibility@Michigan.gov or
call 800-662-9278.

EGLE does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital
status, disability, political beliefs, height, weight, genetic information, or sexual orientation in the
administration of any of its programs or activities, and prohibits intimidation and retaliation, as
required by applicable laws and regulations. Questions or concerns should be directed to the
Nondiscrimination Compliance Coordinator at EGLE-NondiscriminationCC@Michigan.gov or
517-249-0906.

This form and its contents are subject to the Freedom of Information Act and may be released to
the public.
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