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SECTION I – FUNDING AND GUIDELINES      
 

A. Purpose 
Regional Detention Support Services (RDSS) is a nationally recognized program. The purpose of 
RDSS is to provide alternatives to jail and detention for juvenile offenders who have been 
detained and are awaiting a hearing and/or a placement.  RDSS components include holdover, 
home detention, transportation, and tether. RDSS will reimburse volunteers a stipend for 
providing components of the RDSS program. 
 

B. Eligible Jurisdictions 
Eligible jurisdictions include 53 rural counties that do not have secure detention facilities in 
Michigan and Native American Tribal Jurisdictions.  Local DHHS office juvenile justice specialists 
may utilize all RDSS program components through establishment of a protocol with the local 
court. 
 
Counties eligible for a Basic Grant under Child Care Fund will not have to pay a 50% chargeback 
for the RDSS holdover, home detention, transportation and electronic monitoring services 
unless the county operates their program with primarily professional rather than volunteer 
staff.  RDSS is 100% state funded if the county meets requirements. 
 

C. Legal Basis 
“Counties shall be subject to 50% chargeback for the use of alternative Regional Detention 
Support Services if they do not fall under the Basic Grant provisions of section 117E of the Social 
Welfare Act 280 of the Public Act of 1939, being section 400.117E of the Michigan Compiled 
Laws or if the county operates these programs primarily with professional rather than volunteer 
staff.” 
 
1939 PA 280 states, “(1) A county having a population of less than 75,000 is eligible to receive 
an annual basic grant of state money of $15,000.00.  (2) To be eligible to receive state financial 
support under subsection (1), a county shall meet the requirements of this act. A county shall 
not be required to contribute matching funds to receive state financial support under subsection 
(1).  (3) A basic grant may be used only to supplement added juvenile justice service costs and 
shall not be used to replace county money currently being expended on juvenile justice services.  
(4) The office shall establish qualifying criteria for awarding the basic grants and may specify 
conditions for each grant.  (5) To provide for early intervention to treat problems of delinquency 
and neglect within the child's home and to expedite a child's return to his or her home, the office 
may expend money from the child care fund or from other sources authorized in legislative 
appropriations for new or expanded programs, if the office determines that the programs are 
alternatives to out-of-home institutional or foster care. The office shall establish criteria for the 
approval of expenditures made under this subsection. The office shall submit to the legislature 
and the governor a report summarizing and evaluating the implementation of this subsection 
and containing recommendations for its future use.” 
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D. Jail Reduction Commitments Required 

Local court jurisdictions utilizing RDSS are expected to make a commitment to work toward 
eliminating juvenile incarceration, with the exception of violent offenders. The use of jail with 
an attendant can be funded for youth who are 15 years of age or older charged with a Class I 
Offense (i.e., assault with intent to murder, assault with intent to rob, attempted murder, 
murder I, murder II, criminal sexual conduct 1, robbery armed, manufacturing, possession 
intent to deliver >650 grams 1 & 2 and carjacking).  See Section III for guidelines on use of jail. 
 

E. Authorized Court Officer(s) 
Local court jurisdictions utilizing RDSS are to designate a court officer(s) who is authorized to 
approve the use of holdover, home detention, transportation or electronic monitoring. 
 

F. Recruitment of RDSS Workers 
Local court jurisdictions utilizing RDSS are to recruit their own holdover attendants, home 
detention /electronic monitoring workers and transporter, who must work under an agreement 
with the court.  See Appendix for a sample agreement. 
 
Payment requests (for any component) for court staff who supervise delinquent wards or their 
immediate families will not be approved under any circumstance even though they may 
provide service on a relief basis from time to time. 
 
Workers recruited and trained for any component may be used interchangeably for any/or all 
components. 
 
There are no education or experience requirements for RDSS workers. The basic requirements 
are the individual must be at least 21 years old and have the interest and capacity to work with 
troubled youth detained who are awaiting hearing and/or placement. Police, protective 
services and background checks are to be completed on all perspective attendants-initially and 
every year thereafter.  Individuals with a criminal history or protective services conviction are 
not to be utilized within the RDSS program. 
 
Numerous approaches to recruiting RDSS workers have been used with success. These include, 
but not limited to, utilizing existing court volunteers, college students, senior citizens, off-duty 
human service professionals, off-duty police officers and in general adults interested in 
community services.  
 

G. Pre-employment/Start-up Requirements for RDSS Workers 
As a rule, new RDSS workers should not assume responsibility with youth until they have 
attended one of the new worker training sessions (See Section VIII). Exceptions to this rule may 
be made with documentation of the rationale by the court and prior approval by RDSS staff. 
Individuals with credentials (degrees/pertinent experience) in the child caring field may be 
waived but are strongly encouraged to attend the new worker training at a later date, or 



6 

 

individuals without credentials may be waived with an orientation by RDSS staff but will be 
required to attend the new worker training at the first opportunity. 
 
Under no circumstances should a new worker assume responsibility with a youth until they 
have a meeting with the local court administrator for the program. 
 

H. Payment Procedures for Holdover, Jail, Home Detention and Transportation 
The case specific documentation required for payment varies for holdover, jail, home detention 
and transportation as outlined in the separate components and forms section of the RDSS 
Guidelines. 
 
The DHHS-1050-RDC, RDSS Voucher is the basic document that is used for RDSS holdover, jail, 
home detention and transportation payments.  For holdover and transportation, this form 
should be submitted at the conclusion of the service provided.  For home detention and 
electronic monitoring this form should be submitted monthly. 
 
An attendant serving several youth during any given time should submit a separate voucher for 
each youth (except for more than one youth held in holdover at the same time or youth 
transported at the same time). 
 
An attendant working in holdover and/or jail and/or home detention and/or electronic 
monitoring and/or transportation during any given time should submit a separate voucher for 
each component. 
 
All attendants working with a single youth for any given component should submit a separate 
voucher. 
 
An attendant, who by chance serves in holdover at the end of the month, when two different 
months are covered - i.e. the 31st and the 1st, should submit only one voucher. 
 
Please write clearly when filling out the form.  Special attention should be given to the 
following items to minimize RDSS corrections and avoid delayed payments: 
 

#3 Indicate the county you have signed up with for RDSS or in instances where a 
quasi-volunteer has signed with more than one county, indicate the county 
requesting service on that date. 

 
#9 Give a brief description of service performed. 
 
#10 List starting time and ending time for holdover, electronic monitoring and 

transportation.  And actual time spent with the youth for home detention. Be 
sure to indicate AM and PM. 
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#11 Mileage should be in accordance with the Michigan map and be computed at 
current State premium or county rates (whichever is less). No vicinity mileage 
will be made. 

#13 RECEIPTS REQUIRED ON ALL MEAL EXPENDITURES OR REIMBURSEMENT WILL 
NOT BE MADE.  Receipts need the name of the restaurant, the time and the 
date.  The receipts need to be itemized. Please indicate if the meal was for a 
youth, transporter or attendant, by writing the names on the receipt.  

 
#14 Indicate any miscellaneous expenditures, which must be accompanied with a 

receipt. 
 
#15 Compute hourly rates for holdover and transportation or daily rates for home 

detention and electronic monitoring. 
 
 Please compute totals for each line as well as totals at the bottom of each column. 
 
The local court should keep the third copy of the RDSS voucher after it is approved by the 
probate judge, juvenile officer or designee. The last copy is to be given to the worker to retain 
for tax purposes. The first two copies and the casework specific documentation for each 
component should be submitted to: 
 

Regional Detention Support Services 
235 South Grand Ave, Suite 1315 

Lansing, Michigan 48909 
 

I. Additional Payment Information for RDSS Components 
 

1. Jail/Holdover 

 RDSS will pay the current rate of $12.00/day for attendants to monitor youth while 
they are being held in the jail or holdover site. 

 RDSS will pay for meals up to the State rate for the youth and attendant while  
the youth is in the holdover site/jail. Receipts must be submitted for 
reimbursement. 

 RDSS will not pay mileage or time to and from the holdover site/jail for  
the attendant traveling from his/her own home. 

 
2. Home Detention  

 RDSS will pay current rates per day for the home detention worker to see  
the youth once a day and make one phone call per day to the youth. A home visit 
should normally be one hour (unless otherwise specified by the court) as shown on 
the worker’s RDSS voucher. Phone calls to the youth will not be reimbursed. (Time 
on the voucher should be reflective of time spent with the youth and should not 
include travel time.) 

 RDSS will reimburse for snacks and various social events, i.e. consumable  
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items only, not to exceed $10.00 per week.  Receipts may not be carried over from 
week to week.  Receipts are required for all expenditures. 

 RDSS will pay the worker’s mileage at current RDSS rates to and from the  
youth’s home. 

 RDSS will pay the worker’s time (at current RDSS rate of $12.00/hr) while the worker  
attends at a hearing if attendance is requested by the court or DHHS.  This 
appearance is in lieu of, not in addition to, the daily visit. 

 
3. Detention Transportation 

 RDSS will pay the attendant the current rate per hour during detention  
transportation. (Only approved attendants qualify for payment.) 

 RDSS will pay mileage at current State premium or county rates  
(whichever is less) to transport a youth from court to court ordered secure 
detention centers. 

 RDSS will not pay the transporter and/or attendant mileage or time from  
his/her home to the court. All mileage will be computed from the court 
(workstation) to the designated secure detention center. 

 RDSS will pay for transporting a youth to a placement interview and/or  
final placement from a secure detention center. 

 If a transporter works for more than one county, the preceding payment  
schedule still applies, i.e. mileage and time will start and end at the court for which 
he/she is providing service on that day. 

 Transporters will be paid map mileage to detention centers from the court of 
jurisdiction. 

 
4. Electronic Monitoring 

 RDSS will pay current rates per day for an electronic monitoring visit  
(duties, requirements and guidelines similar to home detention). RDSS will pay 
current rates per day for dispositional electronic monitoring visits (for the first seven 
days only).  NOTE: If a youth has been on home detention and electronic monitoring 
prior to disposition, no worker is needed for dispositional electronic monitoring. 

 RDSS will reimburse for snacks and various social events, i.e. consumable  
items only, not to exceed $10 a week. Receipts are required for all expenditures. 
Youth may accompany the worker out of the home ONLY with prior consent from 
the court worker. 

 RDSS will pay the worker’s mileage at current RDSS rates to and from the  
youth’s home. 

 RDSS will pay the worker’s time (at current rates per day) while the  
worker is in attendance at a hearing if attendance is requested by the court or DHHS 
and the worker is not also providing and billing for a home detention visit on that 
day. 
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SECTION II – HOLDOVER COMPONENT 
 

A. Youth Eligible/Holdover Duration 
Holdover sites are used in rural counties (counties without a secure juvenile detention center) 
and in Native American Tribal Jurisdictions.  In general, youth who are detained, and who 
cannot be returned home, may be held for up to 16 hours in a holdover pending a face-to-face 
meeting with a court worker, and/or a preliminary hearing.  Procedurally, to be eligible, youth 
must either be charged with a new offense, or be on probation and have a complaint petition 
filed with the court or Native American Tribal Court.  Abused and neglected youth are not to be 
held in holdover. 
 

B. Holdover Extension Request 
An 8-hour extension from 16 hours to a total of 24 hours in holdover may be made in unusual 
situations with advance approval. During normal hours court staff must call RDSS and ask for 
approval.  After normal office hours court staff must call RDSS the following working day to 
obtain approval after the fact for holdover over 16 hours. Requests for payment over 24 hours 
will be approved on a case-by-case basis, primarily because a license is required to hold a youth 
in care over 24 hours.  In the event the court elects to utilize holdover beyond 24 hours without 
advance approval, the fiscal responsibility may have to be assumed by the county. 
 

C. Assignment of Holdover Worker(s) 
A holdover worker/attendant normally provides one-on-one supervision. The attendant should 
be of the same sex as the youth being supervised.  If additional help might be required during 
holdover due to intoxication, drugs, incorrigibility or there is any other reason to believe the 
youth is a high security risk, the court can use, at its own discretion, two or more attendants, to 
supervise one youth. When more than one attendant is utilized, at least one attendant should 
be the same sex as the youth supervised. 
 
RDSS will pay individual attendants current rates per hour for up to a maximum of 16 
consecutive hours while sitting in holdover. This 16 consecutive hour maximum also applies to 
any combination of service performed (i.e., holdover, home detention and transportation). 

 
Cost for meals/snacks for youth and attendant will be reimbursed with receipts.  Transportation 
costs for workers are not reimbursed for holdover unless a youth has to be moved in an 
emergency from one location to another location during holdover supervision. 
 

D. Site Selection, Remodeling and Supplies 
Holdover sites must be located in a non-secure area at a sheriff’s office, state police post, 
county service center, detoxification center, community mental health center, local hospital or 
similar facility. An attendant provides one-on-one supervision.  The county must obtain 
approval of the holdover site from RDSS staff as well as the administration of the host agency.  
The holdover site must have a couch or hide-a-bed for sleeping, a nearby bathroom, a nearby 
phone, and capability to prepare, have catered in or otherwise obtain meals/snacks.  The 



10 

 

holdover should be located in or be adjacent to a 24 hour-a-day staffed agency for backup 
assistance in the event of an emergency. 
 

E. Court and Law Enforcement 
When a youth is taken into custody by law enforcement agency or court officer for a law 
violation or probation violation, and the youth cannot be returned home, authorization for use 
of holdover must be obtained from the local juvenile Judge, juvenile officer or his/her designee, 
but not the local sheriff. 
 
If holdover is approved, the juvenile Judge, juvenile officer or designee should contact an 
appropriate holdover worker(s) and direct him/her to report to the holdover site. The law 
enforcement or juvenile court officer is to maintain custody of the youth at the holdover site 
until the holdover attendant(s) arrives. Once the holdover worker arrives and assumes 
responsibility for the youth, constant, direct supervision is to be provided to the youth until 
relief is authorized by the court. Attendants are, under no circumstance, to sleep and/or nap 
while on duty in the holdover site even if there are two attendants. The youth should be made 
as comfortable as possible. 
 
The court official authorizing holdover is responsible to insure that a face-to-face meeting with 
the youth is made by a court worker and or an informal or preliminary hearing is conducted 
within 24 hours. 

 
RDSS does not support use of mechanical restraints, i.e., handcuffs, leg cuffs, straightjackets, 
etc., in holdover. Nonetheless, in the event a court elects to utilize mechanical restraints they 
are to be authorized only on an individual case basis. During normal working hours, RDSS is to 
be contacted immediately to make staff aware of this use, or contact is to be made the first 
working day after the fact if restraints are utilized on weekends or holidays. Written 
documentation on the need for restraints is to be submitted to RDSS along with the holdover 
vouchers. No youth is to be handcuffed to a fixed object in the holdover site, as this constitutes 
a secure holdover /jailing. Under no circumstances is the decision to utilize restraints left to 
RDSS attendants but must be determined by court personnel. In the event the court elects to 
utilize mechanical restraints without following these guidelines or getting proper approval, the 
fiscal responsibility may have to be assumed by the court. 
 

F. Attendant Operation Procedures 
The attendant should also address the following issues: 

 Has the juvenile going into the holdover site been searched?  (Verify with the deputy in 
charge or a “pat” search can be conducted if approved by the juvenile court officer.) 

 Has the youth been advised of his/her rights?  (Verify with the deputy in charge. Attendants 
should advise youth that anything the youth discloses must be shared with the juvenile 
court.) 

 Have the parents been notified? 

 Why is the youth being detained in the holdover site?  (The attendant should know why the 
youth is being held for the attendant’s own protection.) 
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 Are there any medical problems requiring medication/treatment?  (Verify with the deputy 
in charge or with staff from the court/DHHS. If medication/treatment is needed, check with 
court personnel or the deputy on duty for instruction.) 

 Is the youth allowed to have visitors?  (Verify with the deputy in charge or with staff from 
the court or DHHS.) 

 Personal effects of youth and attendant should be in a safe, secure place.  (Place personal 
effects in a locker, box or give them to the deputy in charge. make a list of all articles taken 
from the youth.) 

 Should the youth be provided with a meal or snack?  When did the youth last eat anything 
of substance?  (Arrange to have food brought to the holdover site, if necessary.) 

 Ask the youth if he/she has any bruises or cuts.  (Is medical attention required?  If so, check 
with court personnel or the deputy for instructions. Find out how the bruises occurred and 
make a note of this.) 

 Attendants may have to sign a form at the holdover site accepting responsibility for the 
youth.  (If attendant is relieved by another worker, a new form may have to be signed 
accepting responsibility for the youth.) 

 Any items brought to the youth by outsiders should be searched. 

 If the juvenile becomes violent, having a drug reaction, or some other unusual incident 
occurs, the attendant should notify the deputy and court personnel in charge. 

 RDSS prefers the attendants to be of the same sex as the youth. When two attendants are 
required one of the attendants should be of the same sex as the youth. 

 The door to the holdover must remain unlocked at all times. 

 Attendants are responsible for the youth while he/she is in the holdover site.  Attendants 
are not allowed to sleep/nap while on duty. 

 Attendants are not to be on duty for more than a maximum of 16 consecutive hours. This 
applies not only to consecutive hours in holdover, but includes any combination of on duty 
hours, i.e., holdover, home detention and transportation.  The court is fiscally responsible 
for payment of any hours over the 16 consecutive hours per attendant maximum. 
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SECTION III – JAIL 
 

A. Definition of Jail 
Jail is defined as a facility that is locked and designed to securely hold a person. This definition 
has been adopted for Federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) 
monitoring purposes. 
 

B. Youth Eligible/Duration/Reporting 
The use of jail with an attendant can be funded for youth who are 15 years of age or older and 
are being charged with Class I Offenses (Life Felonies) i.e., assault with intent to murder, assault 
with intent to rob, attempted murder, murder I, murder II, criminal sexual conduct I, robbery 
armed, manuf., poss. intent to or delivery> 650 grams and 1 & 2 and carjacking.  Alleged violent 
offenders may be held in jail for up to 16 hours pending a face-to-face meeting with a court 
worker and/or an informal hearing and/or a preliminary hearing. (Note: the basis for this 16-
hour jail component is Federal OJJDP Guidelines, which permit a small, deminimus, number less 
than 50 per year in Michigan’s 53 rural counties without secure juvenile detention centers.)  

 
Even though RDSS attendants are used, the use of jail must be reported on the Monthly 
Juvenile Summary – County Locked Facility (Department of Corrections reporting form) as a 
juvenile jailing. 
 

C. Jail Extension Requests 
The procedures for extending beyond 16 hours jail for alleged violent offenders are identical to 
extension requests for holdover. (See Section II for guidelines on holdover extension requests.) 
 

D. Assignment of Worker(s)/Payments 
The assignment of workers and payments is identical to the procedures for holdover. (See 
Section II for guidelines on Assignment of Holdover Worker(s)/Payments.) 
 

E. Site Selection, Remodeling and Supplies 
Holdover sites must be located in a non-secure area at a sheriff’s office, state police post, 
county service center, detoxification center, community mental health center, local hospital or 
similar facility. An attendant provides one-on-one supervision.  The county must obtain 
approval of the holdover site from RDSS staff as well as the administration of the host agency.  
The holdover site must have a couch or hide-a-bed for sleeping, a nearby bathroom, a nearby 
phone, and capability to prepare, have catered in or otherwise obtain meals/snacks.  The 
holdover should be located in or be adjacent to a 24 hour-a-day staffed agency for backup 
assistance in the event of an emergency. 
 

F. Court, Law Enforcement and Attendant Operating Procedures 
The operating procedures are identical to holdover (see Section II).  In addition, a Jail 
Monitoring Log MUST be maintained by the attendant (see Appendix, Page 5, for a sample copy 
of the Jail Monitoring Log).  A log entry should be made every 15 minutes indicating the 
behavior and/or the attitude of the juvenile in jail. 
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G. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment 

In addition to the RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I for instructions), the 
following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur: 

 A copy of the police complaint or petition. 
o NOTE: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, a copy of a lien or 

documentation form the court/ DHHS of alleged offenses may also be used. 

 Jail Monitoring Log (see Appendix).  
 

H. Additional Payment Information for Jail Attendants 

 RDSS will pay attendants to monitor youth while they are being held in jail. 

 RDSS will pay for meals and/or snacks for the youth and attendant while the youth is in jail. 
Receipts must be submitted for reimbursement. 

 RDSS will not pay mileage or time to and from the jail for the attendant traveling to and 
from his/her own home. 
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SECTION IV – TRANSPORTATION COMPONENT 
 

A. Eligible Counties 
Eligible jurisdictions include the 53 rural counties in Michigan without a secure juvenile 
detention center and Native American Tribal jurisdictions. 
 

B. Eligible Youth 
Youth are eligible for the transportation component if they meet the requirements of Juvenile 
Court and if a probate court, Native American Tribal Court, or local DHHS Director is 
authorizing: 

 Placement in one of the secure juvenile detention centers in Michigan; 

 A trip to court or a placement interview from one of the secure detention centers; 

 A return trip from court or placement interview to one of the secure detention centers; 

 A trip from one of the secure detention centers to placement; 

 Return of a runaway who has been picked up by authorities in another county of residence; 

 A trip from holdover to a doctor or hospital for emergency treatment. 

 A trip from a detention center to a psychiatric examination or psychological examination. 
 

C. Youth Not Eligible 
Transportation costs will not be reimbursed for: 

 Returning out-of-state youth arrested in Michigan to their home state. Likewise, 
transportation costs will not be reimbursed for returning to Michigan a Michigan youth 
arrested in another state. (NOTE:  While local jurisdiction may assist in interstate 
transportation, the fiscal responsibility will have to be established on an individual basis by 
the separate jurisdictions via the Interstate Compact Administrator);  

o EXCEPTION: counties that border on state lines may travel up to 50 miles into the 
state to pick up or return a runaway to county of residence. 

 Transporting a youth to and from treatment programs at detention centers; 

 Transporting youth from residential programs to court hearings; or 

 Transporting youth from secure detention to routine doctor and/or dental appointments. 
 

D. Transporters and Attendants Eligible 
The probate courts and Native American Tribal Jurisdictions are responsible for recruiting their 
own transporters and attendants. Transporters must have a valid Michigan Driver’s license and 
proper court identification, and have contacted their automobile insurance company prior to 
transporting to insure adequate coverage. 
 

E. Vehicles 
It is the transporter’s responsibility to assure the vehicle is safe and equipped with appropriate 
items, for example, spare tire, jack, lug wrench and safety flares.  The transporter should have 
funds or a credit card for procurement of gasoline, motels and meals and start out with a full 
tank of gas.  Seatbelts are to be in working order and worn at all times per Michigan state law. 
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F. Insurance 

A privately owned vehicle used by a transporter must be insured in accordance with Michigan’s 
no fault law (Act NO. 294, P.A. 1972).  Transporters are required to consult with their insurance 
agents before transporting youth in privately owned vehicles. Juvenile courts and Native 
American Tribal Courts (and DHHS offices, as applicable) should verify transporters have the 
referenced car insurance and a valid Michigan operator’s license. (NOTE: If the probate court, 
Native American Tribal Court or local DHHS office furnishes a vehicle for the transporter, the 
transporter remains personally liable for his/her actions even though the state/county fleet 
insurance policy provides coverage required under Michigan’s no fault law and/or its financial 
responsibility law.) 
 

G. Alternatives 
Each jurisdiction may determine on an individual basis what transportation alternative is in the 
best interest of the youth and the court involved. In selected counties local DHHS offices have 
made State cars available (when not in use for other state business) for RDSS transporters 
utilize instead of using the private car. 

 
If there are no local county transporters available, counties may also subcontract with other 
jurisdictions, to provide transportation.  It is expected, however, that counties with trained 
transporters will make every effort to utilize their own transporters prior to making 
arrangements with other counties. 
 

H. Rates 
Current RDSS rates will be paid to each transporter and attendant during their working hours 
(i.e., if an overnight is involved, wages will not be paid when the transporter and attendant are 
not in transit and a youth is not in their custody).  Overnights will be approved on an individual 
basis. Prior approval from RDSS staff is required for reimbursement for overnight lodging.  If 
prior approval is not obtained, counties may have to assume fiscal responsibility for this 
expense. Mileage should be computed at current State premium or county rates (whichever is 
less), using map mileage. Reimbursement for meals will be allowed only when following state 
approved guidelines: 

 For each holdover assignment of each 5 consecutive hours of duration or more (not 
including travel time) the contractor may be reimbursed to the maximum of $8.50 for 
meal expenses for the holdover attendant(s). 

 For each transportation assignment of five consecutive hours of duration or more 
(inclusive of time between youth pick-up and the end of the assignment) the Contractor 
may be reimbursed a maximum of $8.50 for meal expenses for the transporter and 
attendant. Itemized receipts must be attached with the volunteer’s names included. 

 County may be reimbursed up to $8.50 for meals for the youth when they are picked up 
and for each 5 consecutive hours thereafter with itemized receipts attached. 
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I. Security 
 

1. Documentation:  Transporters should verify the identification of persons being moved. 
Transporters should assure that available detention orders, medication, medical release 
and social history reports accompany youth to detention or to placement agencies 
following release from detention. 

 
2. Communication:  Transporters should be notified of youth to be transported who may 

be sick, injured, handicapped, and suicidal or a security hazard and be given special 
handling instructions if a problem occurs. The following information should be 
telephoned to the point of destination prior to a youth being conveyed. 

 Names of the transporter, attendant and youth being conveyed 

 Description of the care and the license plate number 

 Route of travel 

 Time of departure and estimated time of arrival 
 

3. Same Sex Safeguard:  The transporter or attendant should be of the same sex as the 
youth being conveyed. 

 
4. Searches:  Youth should be checked (patted and pocket searched only) each time they 

come into the transporters custody, including transport to and from court appearances. 
Vehicles should also be examined prior to transport to assure that no potentially 
harmful or dangerous items are present. 

 
5. Youth Comfort:  Youth should be made as comfortable as possible and yet be secured as 

necessary. Although they should normally be permitted to communicate, transporters 
should be instructed not to discuss alleged offenses that are being contested.  While 
care must be taken to allow reasonable opportunities for eating in transit and use of 
toilet facilities youth should remain under observation at all times.  Youth should be 
accompanied to the bathroom by an attendant of the same sex.  Note what the youth is 
wearing, if he/she should escape a good description of the youth would be needed. 

 
Transporters and attendants should not allow a youth to smoke or provide cigarettes to youth 
(per Michigan law). In consideration of this, transporters and attendants are not to smoke while 
transporting youth or while a youth is in their care. 

 
6. Need for Restraint Devices:  In detention transportation situations, the use of 

mechanical restraint devices must be determined on an individual basis by court 
personnel. Under normal circumstances, the following youth should be transported with 
a restraint device, unless there are clear indications that a restraint device is not 
necessary: 

 who have a history of running away; 



17 

 

 youth whose runaway history is unknown, i.e., the only information available is 
basic identifying information and the alleged offense; and  

 Youth who are anxious about an interview, hearing placement, etc., to which they 
are being transported.  
 

 
7. Use of Handcuffs:  Handcuffs should be double locked so they do not tighten or loosen. 

Handcuffs should always be used in front of the body of a youth. While seated in the 
car, the arms of the youth should not be secured under the lap seat belt. One of the 
following alternatives should be used to limit the free use of arms in the vehicles: 

 One Youth:  The youth to be transported should be placed on the passenger side of the 
car in the back seat. The attendant should sit in the back seat behind the driver. 

 Two Youth:  One youth should be placed on the passenger side of the car in the back 
seat. The second youth should be placed in the middle seat of the car in the back seat. 
The attendant should sit in the back seat behind the driver. 

 
J. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment 

In addition to the DHHS RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (See Section I for instructions) 
the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur: 

 A court order for secure detention. 

 A court order for detention is not required for nonresidents held in detention pending 
return to their county of residence. 

 A copy of the police complaint or petition. 
 
NOTE: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, a copy of a lien or 
documentation from the court/DHHS may be used (documentation must include the 
alleged offense or the specific probation violation as well as the date of birth, sex and 
race of the youth if the forms do not so indicate). This demographic data is needed for 
evaluation purposes. 

 
K. Additional Payment Information for Transporters 

 RDSS will pay the transporter and attendant current rates during detention 
transportation. (Only approved transporters and attendants qualify for payment.) 
RDSS will pay mileage at current RDSS rates to transport a youth from the court to the 
detention center. 

 RDSS will not pay the transporter and/or attendant mileage or time to and from his/her 
own home to and from the court. All mileage will be computed from the court (work 
station) to the designated secure detention center. 

 RDSS will pay for transporting a youth to a placement interview and/or final placement 
from a secure detention center. 

 If a transporter works for more than once county, the preceding payment schedule still 
applies, i.e., mileage and time will start and end at the court requesting service. 
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 Transporters will be paid map mileage to secure detention centers from the court 
requesting service. 

 RDSS requires prior approval for overnight lodging expenses.  In the event prior approval 
is not possible, the court should contact RDSS immediately on the next normal working 
day.  If prior approval is not obtained, the court may be fiscally responsible for any 
expenses occurred. 
 
  

SECTION V – PRE-DISPOSITIONAL HOME DETENTION COMPONENT 
 

A. Youth Eligible/Home Detention Duration 
The RDSS model of home detention is designed for rural counties (counties without a secure 
juvenile detention center) and Native American Tribal Jurisdictions. In general, home detention 
is for youth who are detained and whose parents need additional adult supervisory assistance 
and/or the court needs additional information on the youth and family for dispositional 
purposes. In these situations, the youth arrested maybe returned to their own homes following 
a preliminary hearing under the supervision of a home detention worker for up to 90 days 
pending a formal adjudication and/or disposition hearing. Procedurally, to be eligible youth 
must be charged with an offense, be on probation and have a complaint/petition filed with the 
court, or be charged with repeatedly running away from home. Youth who are abused and 
neglected are not to be ordered to be on home detention. 
 

B. Home Detention Extension Requests 
Home detention is designed to be short term in nature with the expectation that due process 
and disposition will be expedited – thus the 90 day limits on funding. It is recognized, some 
individual cases demand more time. Court staff may request extensions if necessary, with 
justification. Rationale may include, but is not limited to, the following: 

 The court calendar prohibits a final hearing until a specific date. 

 More time is required to assess the youth/family in order to make a disposition. 

 More time is required to find a placement. 

 The youth is on a waiting list, which is likely to delay placement until and approximate date. 
 

Home detention is not to be used for ongoing “treatment” purposes. 
 

C. Assignment of Home Detention Worker/Payments 
One-on-one supervision is normally provided by home detention workers, although 
occasionally two workers may be assigned to prolonged home detention cases so that daily 
contacts with youth may be maintained in the absence of one of the workers.  Normally, home 
detention workers are of the same sex as the youth being supervised. This is not a requirement, 
however, as the case dynamics may indicate the supervision/case assessment may be enhanced 
with a worker of the opposite sex. In this event precautions need to be taken to protect the 
worker and youth from exploitation or the appearance of the same. 
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Payment is the current rate for one or more contacts per day with the youth plus daily mileage 
to and from the worker’s home. Out of pocket expenses of up to $10.00 per week may be 
reimbursed with receipts for food items or for activities with a youth during home detention, 
i.e., tickets to a ball game, bowling, hamburger and a coke, etc. The miscellaneous expenditure 
may not be accumulated from week to week. Exception: The use of monies for non-consumable 
items must be approved by RDSS staff prior to expenditures. 
 
 

D. Home Detention Operating Procedures 
All youth receiving this service are required to have a preliminary hearing and a court order 
authorizing home detention. The court order should indicate what out of home placement, i.e., 
shelter care, secure detention, jail, etc., would have been used if this service was not available, 
and the date set for the formal adjudication and/or disposition hearing, if known. 
 
A contract should be signed by the youth, parents and the court at the preliminary hearing, 
which outlines the conditions that must be followed during the period of home detention. (See 
Appendix for a sample copy of a contract.) 
 
Home detention workers are expected to make a minimum of a daily face-to-face contact with 
the youth and a nightly phone contact with the youth to insure that the conditions of the 
contract, including curfew, are met. Additional contacts may be routinely made with the family, 
school and employer, depending on the nature of the contract conditions and adjustment 
problems being experienced by the youth. A daily contact log is to be maintained by home 
detention worker(s) and be submitted to the court intermittently and/or at the conclusion of 
home detention. (See Appendix for a sample copy of the daily contact log.) If a home detention 
worker is unable to make a daily contact, another home detention worker or court worker 
should make the face-to-face contact. An explanation of the contact person and circumstances 
should be noted on the billing or in an attached memorandum. Any exception to the daily face-
to-face contact requirement by the worker or substitute worker must be explained to RDSS. 
 
In the event a youth is not at home when the home detention worker makes the daily contact, 
the home detention worker is to notify the court. If the home detention worker makes a second 
visit and finds the youth, again, not home, the worker is to contact the court and receive new 
instructions as to whether the home detention will continue or be ended as a result of this 
breach of contract. If the court authorizes the home detention worker to continue visits, the 
court must accept fiscal responsibility for subsequent “no show” contacts as RDSS will only be 
fiscally responsible for two visits when the youth is not at home. RDSS will pay mileage for 
subsequent “no show” visits but will not be responsible for the $12 per day rate. 

 
Prior to the final disposition hearing, or during the hearing, the home detention worker should 
review with the court the youth’s adjustment during home detention, and offer, as appropriate, 
recommendations on placement (own home/ probation, foster care, residential care, training 
school, etc.). 
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E. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment 
In addition to the DHHS RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I, pages 6-8, for 
instructions), the following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur: 

 A copy of the petition. 
NOTE: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, a copy of a LEIN or 
documentation from the court/DHHS of alleged offenses may be used. 

 A court order for home detention and the date of the formal adjudication/disposition 
hearing, if known.  
 

F. Additional Payment Information for Home Detention Workers 

 RDSS will pay $12 per day for the home detention worker to see the youth once a day 
and make one phone call per day to the youth. A home visit should normally be at least 
an hour (unless otherwise specified by the court) as shown on the worker’s voucher 
(time on the voucher should be reflective of the time spent with the youth and should 
not include travel time). 

 RDSS will pay only two visits when the youth is not there for a face-to-face  
contact. After each “no show” visit the home detention worker is to notify the court and 
after the second “no show” visit be advised by the court whether the home detention 
will continue. If the home detention continues, the court will be fiscally responsible for 
any subsequent “no show” visits. RDSS will pay mileage for these subsequent visits but 
will not be responsible for the $12 per day rate. 

 RDSS will reimburse for snacks and various social events (consumable items only)  
not to exceed $10.00 a week. Itemized receipts are required. The $10 miscellaneous 
expenditure may not be accumulated, from week to week. 

 RDSS will pay the workers mileage at State premium or county rates (whichever  
is less) to and from the youth’s home. 

 RDSS will pay the worker’s time (at a $12.00 per day rate) while he/she is in  
attendance at a hearing if attendance is requested by the court. This 
appearance/payment is in lieu of, not in addition to, the daily visit. 
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SECTION VI – DISPOSITIONAL USE OF HOME DETENTION COMPONENT LIMITED 
TO THE FIRST THIRTY DAYS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING DISPOSITION 
 

A. Eligible Jurisdictions 
Eligible jurisdictions include the 53 rural counties in Michigan and Native American Tribal 
jurisdictions currently eligible for the RDSS program. 
 

B. Eligible Youth 
To be placed on Dispositional Home Detention a youth must have been adjudicated for a law 
violation or a probation violation. 
 

C. Assignment of Home Detention Worker/Payments 
One-on-one supervision is to be provided by home detention workers. Normally, home 
detention workers are of the same sex as the youth being supervised. This is not a requirement, 
however, as the case dynamics may indicate the supervision may be enhanced with a worker of 
the opposite sex. In this event precautions need to be taken to protect the worker and youth 
from exploitation or the appearance of the same.  

 
Rate of payment is current pay for one contact per day with the youth plus daily mileage to and 
from the worker’s home. 
 

D. Home Detention Operation Procedures 
All youth receiving this service are required to have a dispositional hearing and a court order 
authorizing home detention. 
 
The youth, parents, and the court must sign a contract, which outlines the conditions that is to 
be followed during the period of home detention.  This contract must be signed at the 
Dispositional Hearing.  (See Appendix for a sample copy of a contract.) 

 
The duration of dispositional home detention is limited to the first thirty days immediately 
following a dispositional hearing. Workers may determine to use the full thirty days or use a 
more flexible schedule. Flexibility could be, but is not limited to, seeing the youth every day for 
the first week immediately following the hearing, then tapering off to only as often as needed, 
or seeing the youth every other day, three times a week, or only on weekends throughout the 
entire thirty day period. 
 
IN NO CASE WOULD RDSS PAY FOR A YOUTH TO BE SEEN MORE THAN ONCE A DAY OR FOR 
MORE THAN THE FIRST THIRTY DAYS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE DISPOSITIONAL 
HEARING. NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE GRANTED. 
 
Home detention workers are expected to make a minimum of a daily face to face contact with 
the youth.  A daily contact log is to be maintained by the home detention worker and be 
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submitted to the court intermittently and/or at the conclusion of the home detention. (See 
Appendix for a sample copy of the daily contact log.) 
 
In the event a youth is not at home when the home detention worker makes the daily contact, 
the home detention worker is to notify the court.  If the home detention worker makes a 
second visit and finds the youth, again, not home, the worker is to contact the court and 
receive new instructions as to whether the home detention will continue or be ended as the 
result of this breach of contract. If the court authorizes the home detention worker to continue 
visits, the court must accept fiscal responsibility for subsequent “no show” contacts as RDSS will 
only be fiscally responsible for two visits when the youth is not home.  RDSS will pay mileage for 
subsequent “no show’ visits but will not be responsible for the current rate.  
 
The $10.00 weekly, miscellaneous expenditure for consumable item/activities may NOT be 
utilized for this component.  
 

E. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment 
In addition to the RDSS Voucher that is used for payment (see Section I for instructions), the 
following case specific documents must be submitted for payment to occur: 

 A copy of the petition. 
NOTE: Local police complaint forms, probation violation forms, a copy of a LEIN or 
documentation from the court/DHHS of alleged offenses may be used with RDSS approval. 

 A court order for home detention. 
 
F. Additional Payment Information for Home Detention Workers 

 RDSS will pay the current rate per day for the home detention worker to see the  
youth once a day and make one phone call per day to the youth. A home visit should 
normally be at least an hour as shown on the worker’s voucher (time on the voucher should 
be reflective of the time spent with the youth and should not include travel time.)  

 RDSS will pay only two visits when the youth is not there for a face-to-face contact. 

 RDSS will pay the workers mileage at State premium or county rates (whichever is less) to 
and from the youth’s home. 

 No weekly, miscellaneous expenditure is authorized. 

 RDSS will pay for a worker’s attendance at the youth’s court hearing only if it is in lieu of a 
daily visit and included as one of the thirty (30) approved visits. 
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SECTION VII – FLEXIBLE SCHEDULE FOR PRE-DISPOSITIONAL HOME DETENTION 
VISITS 

 
The existing home detention component may be modified to allow a flexible schedule for visits 
as opposed to the required daily visits. Court/DHHS workers have the flexibility to determine if 
a youth is to be seen daily or on a more flexible schedule between the preliminary hearing and 
dispositional hearing.  Flexibility could be, but is not limited to, seeing the youth every day 
immediately following the preliminary hearing, then tapering off to only as often as needed, or 
seeing the youth every other day, three times a week, or only on weekends through –out the 
entire period.  
 
In no case will a youth be seen more than once a day. 
 
If a Court/DHHS worker elects to implement the flexible schedule visits plan, the weekly $10.00 
expenditure for consumable items/activities may NOT be used. 

 
All case specific documentation requirements remain in place. All existing rules and 
requirements of Home Detention are applicable. 
 
 

SECTION VIII – TRAINING COMPONENT FOR HOLDOVER, HOME DETENTION AND 
TRANSPORTATION 

 
A. RDSS Training Sessions - Dates and Locations Announced Periodically 

It is essential that new RDSS workers receive training which will enable them to respond to the 
youth who are assigned to them through the RDSS program. This type of content with youth 
will probably be new to a majority of the workers. Training will be available to all new recruits. 
Announcements will be distributed periodically with the dates and locations of orientation and 
training sessions. Approximately 30-35 people will be trained at one time, and attendance will 
be determined by allocations and training needs.  Training venues will be determined by the 
areas of need 

 
Training content will include: 

 Transportation Safety, Rules and Guidelines; 

 Improving communication skills and De-Escalation Techniques; 

 Volunteer and Youth Relationships; 

 Home Detention Visits and Safety; 

 Proper Use of Mechanical Restraints 
 
Attendees will be paid for each day of training as well as mileage. Lodging and meals at training 
will be provided directly without cost to the workers. 
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B. Regional Ongoing Training with New Workers on an Ongoing Basis 
As part of the total training package regional meetings will be held on an intermittent basis with 
RDSS staff and local court staff responsible for administering the program to gain feedback 
from the workers as a problem solving time and ongoing training. Attendants will have the 
opportunity to share experiences with workers from other counties. 
 
RDSS workers will be paid per day and/or mileage to attend each meeting. Meals and lodging 
will be provided without cost to participants. 
 

C. Funding for Ongoing Local Training for RDSS Workers 
The third part of the training component recognizes the need for ongoing training on a local 
level based on the individual needs of the workers as well as training in areas not totally 
covered in the initial four-day period. 
 
Training can be purchased from local community colleges, private agencies, Red Cross, etc., or 
audiovisual training aids may be purchased for ongoing use. Local courts should discuss their 
ongoing training needs with RDSS staff and submit requests to conduct training estimating the 
cost involved. 
 
Prior approval from RDSS Staff must, be received for training expenditures to be reimbursed. 

 
RDSS workers will be paid per day plus mileage and meals for each day of approved training 
attended. Overnight lodging will not be approved. 
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SECTION IX – PRE-DISPOSITIONAL ELECTRONIC MONITORING COMPONENT 
 

A. Eligible Jurisdictions 
Eligible jurisdictions include the rural counties in Michigan without a secure juvenile detention 
center and Native American Tribal jurisdictions. 
 

B. Eligible Youth/Duration 
This component is an extension of the home detention program, thus basic guidelines for home 
detention apply (see RDSS Guidelines, Home Detention Component – Section V). 
 
Youth must be placed on home detention before electronic monitoring can be utilized. 
Procedurally, to be eligible youth must be charged with an offense so serious that release 
would endanger public safety or a high risk youth who is targeted for a detention center or a jail 
and could not be maintained on home detention without this added surveillance. Electronic 
monitoring is designed to be short term in nature so the same 30 day limit for home detention 
will apply. Court staff may request two week extensions with justification as in home detention. 
Rationale could be the same as in the home detention component (see Section IV). 
 

C. Continued Use of Home Detention Workers 
As stated, the Wearable Miniature Tracking Device (WMTD) is an extension of the Home 
Detention Program. Courts are to continue to utilize home detention workers on a daily basis 
and all requirements of the home detention worker apply. In addition to the normal 
requirements, workers should be checking the WMTD for any signs of tampering, which should 
be reported to the court immediately. The court should then notify RDSS. 
 

D. Electronic Monitoring Procedures 

 All youth assigned to the WMTD Component must have a preliminary hearing and a court 
order ordering home detention and the use of electronic monitoring. The court order 
should indicate the date set for the formal adjudication and/or dispositional hearing, if 
known. 

 A home detention contract for youth and parents (guardians), an electronic monitoring 
agreement for parents and the electronic monitoring rules and regulations for youth must 
be signed by the youth, parents (guardians) and the court at the preliminary hearing that 
outlines the conditions, which must be followed during the period of home detention and 
EM (see Appendix for samples of these forms).  

 The court Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker will call RDSS at (517) 335-6144 with the request 
for the use of the WMTD, giving the following information:  

o The youth’s name, social security number, birth date, sex, race, offense, home 
telephone number and county, home address, curfew schedule and the date and 
time requested for the WMTD to commence, and  

o The name and daytime telephone number, email for tether alerts, fax number and 
the after-hours telephone number of the court Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker 
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authorized to make curfew changes and to be contacted in the event of equipment 
failure or violations. 

 

 RDSS will contact the appropriate RDSS technician indicating which county has requested 
the WMTD and verify the availability of the technician. 

 RDSS will contact the Juvenile Officer/DHHS worker to verify that a technician will be 
available to meet with him/her on the date and time requested for installation. 

 The RDSS technician will meet with the Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker and proceed to 
meet with the youth and family, hook up the WMTD device, explain the rules and 
procedures and answer any questions. 

 If curfew changes are necessary during normal working hours, the Juvenile Officer or 
designee will call or email DOC with curfew information at 1-800-877-5664 or 
CORREMC@michigan.gov. 

 The Home Detention Worker will check the device daily for signs of tampering and report 
any signs of tampering to the court. If equipment trouble develops or a tamper alert occurs, 
call DOC at 1 (800) 877-5664 for assistance and troubleshooting.  If they are unable to 
resolve the issue, the Juvenile Court Officer or DHHS must call RDSS to request the 
assistance of the tether technician. 

 To obtain access to the 3M system to view GPS maps, the JCO or DHHS worker must provide 
the following information to RDSS 
o Is this a NEW ACCESS or a PASSWORD RESET 
o Full name 
o Email address 
o Login ID(2-3 initials and last 4 of SSN) 
Temporary passwords must be used within three days or the password will no longer be 
valid and require a password reset 

 Juvenile Court Officers or DHHS workers will receive automated email notification of any 
tether problems or tampering via email. 

 At the end of the WMTD monitoring period, the Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker must call 
RDSS to have a tether technician remove the tether equipment. 

 RDSS will contact the tether technician to remove and pick up the device. 
 

E. Case Specific Documentation for Payment 
Since this component is in conjunction with Home Detention the same case specific documents 
apply with the addition that the court order must include Electronic Monitoring. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:CORREMC@michigan.gov
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SECTION X – FLEXIBLE SCHEDULE FOR PRE-DISPOSITIONAL HOME DETENTION 
VISITS IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE ELECTRONIC MONITORING COMPONENT 

 
The existing pre-dispositional WMTD component may be modified to allow Court/DHHS 
workers to determine whether or not to include daily home detention visits. Court/DHHS 
workers have the flexibility to determine on a case-by-case basis if a youth is to be seen daily, 
on a more flexible schedule between the preliminary hearing and dispositional hearing as 
outlined in Section XI, or for the first seven (7) days only as required with the Dispositional 
WMTD Component. Note: If a flexible schedule of visits is elected, the plan must include the 
provision to see the youth for the first seven (7) consecutive days as required in the existing 
Dispositional WMTD Component (Section VIII).  
 
Court/DHHS workers are requested to indicate to RDSS at the time of tether enrollment which 
type of Home Detention will be utilized or if the visits will be restricted to the first seven days 
only. 
 
If a Court/DHHS worker elects to implement the flexible schedule visits plan, the weekly $10.00 
expenditure for consumable items/activities may NOT be utilized. 

 
All cases specific documentation requirements remain in place. All existing rules and 
requirements of Home Detention are applicable. 
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SECTION XI - DISPOSITIONAL USE OF ELECTRONIC MONITORING COMPONENT 
 
 

A. Eligible Jurisdictions 
Eligible jurisdictions include the 53 rural counties in Michigan without a secure juvenile 
detention center and Native American Tribal jurisdictions. 
 

B. Eligible Youth 
The following criteria must be met in order to place a youth on probation with a WMTD 
component on a post-dispositional basis: 

 The youth must have been adjudicated for a law violation or a probation violation. 

 The youth must either have been placed on home detention with EM for at least one week 
prior to the dispositional hearing or the youth must be placed on WMTD at this 
dispositional hearing with a RDSS worker for the first week to: 

o Ensure the WMTD device is working properly; 
o To determine the youth can benefit from EM; and  
o To determine that the family will comply with the EM conditions. 

 The youth must be targeted for jail or detention on a dispositional basis, or targeted for a 
foster home, group home or other public or private residential placement. 

 
C. Duration 

Court ordered probation combined with Electronic Monitoring can be utilized for up to 90 days. 
This period of time can be extended upon a court ordered review hearing with documentation 
of rationale sent to RDSS. 
 

D. Electronic Monitoring Procedures 

 All youth ordered on probation and Electronic Monitoring as a disposition must have a 
dispositional hearing and the COURT ORDER MUST DOCUMENT THE YOUTH IS TARGETED 
FOR JAIL, DETENTION, A FOSTER HOME, GROUP HOME OR OTHER PUBLIC OR PRIVATE 
RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT PROGRAM and state probation combined with Electronic 
Monitoring is an alternative to that placement. The court order should also specify the 
expected length of time for Electronic Monitoring and, if possible, a projected review date 
of the order. 

 To clarify the conditions of EM, the following should be signed by the youth, parents 
(guardians), and the court at the disposition hearing (see Appendix for sample of these 
forms): 

o An Electronic Monitoring agreement for parents (guardians) and; 
o Electronic Monitoring rules and regulations for youth. 

 The court Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker will call RDSS at (517) 335-6144 with the request 
for the use of WMTD, giving the following information:  

o The youth’s name, social security number, birth date, sex, race, offense, home 
telephone number and county, home address, curfew schedule and the date and 
time requested for EM to commence, and      
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o The name and daytime telephone number, email for tether alerts, fax number and 
the after-hours telephone number of the court Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker 
authorized to make curfew changes and to be contacted in the event of equipment 
failure or violations. 

 RDSS will contact the appropriate RDSS technician indicating which county has requested 
EM and verify the availability of the technician. 

 RDSS will contact the Juvenile Officer/DHHS worker to verify that a technician will be 
available to meet with him/her on the date and time requested for installation. 

 The RDSS technician will meet with the Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker and proceed to 
meet with the youth and family, hook up the WMTD device, explain the rules and 
procedures and answer any questions. 

 If curfew changes are necessary during normal working hours, the Juvenile Officer or 
designee will call or email DOC with curfew information at 1 (800) 877-5664 or 
CORREMC@michigan.gov. 

 The Home Detention Worker will check the device daily for signs of tampering and report 
any signs of tampering to the court. If equipment trouble develops or a tamper alert occurs, 
call DOC at 1-800-877-5664 for assistance and troubleshooting.  If they are unable to 
resolve the issue, the Juvenile Court Officer must call RDSS to request the assistance of the 
tether technician. 

 Juvenile Court Officers or DHHS workers will receive automated email notification of any 
tether problems or tampering via email. 

 At the end of EM period, the Juvenile Officer or DHHS worker must call RDSS to have a 
tether technician remove the tether equipment. 

 RDSS will contact the tether technician to remove and pick up the device. 

 The family and court will then evaluate the use of EM, supplying RDSS with a copy of the 
evaluations (see Appendix for samples of these forms). 
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SECTION XII - USE OF ELECTRONIC MONITORING ON RETURN FROM LONG TERM 
RESIDENTIAL PLACEMENT 

 

LIMITED TO THE FIRST THIRTY DAYS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING RETURN FROM 
PLACEMENT 

 
A. Eligible Jurisdictions 

Eligible jurisdictions include the 53 rural counties in Michigan and Native American Tribal 
jurisdictions currently eligible for the RDSS program. 
 

B. Eligible Youth 
To be eligible youth must have been adjudicated for a law violation or a probation violation and 
be returning from long term (minimum of sixty days) residential placement. 
 

C. Electronic Monitoring Operating Procedures 
All youth receiving this service are required to have a dispositional hearing and a court order 
authorizing Electronic Monitoring (EM). 
 
All guidelines and requirements for post-dispositional use of EM (See RDSS Guidelines, Section 
VIII) are to be followed including, but not limited to 1) contracts for both the youth and parents 
must be signed, 3) the name and phone number of a 24 hour contact person who is able to 
respond to youth tether violations must be on file with RDSS, and 4) the assignment of a RDSS 
trained volunteer to monitor the tether unit for the first seven (7) days only to ensure the 
equipment is working properly and the youth and family are adjusting to the EM system.  
 
The duration of EM for youth returning from residential placement is limited to the first thirty 
(30) days immediately following their return to the community. 
 
IN NO CASE WIL RDSS PAY A YOUTH TO BE ON TETHER FOR MORE THAN THE ALLOTTED 
THRITY (30) DAY PERIOD. NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE GRANTED. 
 

D. Case Specific Documentation Required for Payment 
In addition to the RDSS Voucher that is used for payment, the following case specific 
documents must be submitted for payment to occur: 

 Copy of the petition. 

 Court order for Electronic Monitoring. 
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SECTION XIII - REGIONAL DETENTION SUPPORT SERVICES PERSONAL SAFETY 
DURING HOME DETENTION VISITS 

 
A. Information the Court Will Attempt to Provide 

 Specific directions to the home. 

 Is there a phone in the home – get the number. 

 Youth’s offense/history with the court. 

 Who lives in the home – parents, significant others, siblings, extended family, others? 

 Known excessive alcohol or drug abuse in the home. 

 Attitude of youth and family toward court. 

 History of explosive behavior by youth or family members. 

 Animals in the home- is there a need to have them tied or locked up? 
 

B. General Safety Issues 

 Lock valuables (or tempting items) in the trunk. 

 Let someone know your schedule especially if going to a remote area. 

 Keep car doors locked when traveling. 

 Carry a cell phone if you have one.  
 

C. Your Personal Checklist 

 Remember your goal is to remain safe and the safety of the youth. 

 You are on “sacred” ground – someone else’s home.  Be respectful of that and all it implies 
– don’t act superior, know it all, give orders or try to clean up the home. 

 Dress neat & appropriate, but comfortable and functional (walking swiftly). 

 Don’t carry a lot of things with you – large purse, planner, etc. which could be left behind in 
a hurried departure. 

 
D. Arrival at Home 

 Carefully decide where to park car, lock your vehicle.  

 Sit in your car a minute or two, look around and be aware of animals, # of cars, people 
hanging around, neighbors in their yard, and signs of heavy drinking. 

 Be confident, introduce yourself politely and show ID. If a youth answers the door ask for an 
adult. Assess the attitude and demeanor of adult. 

 Ask to see juvenile. 
 

E. Inside – Be Aware 

 The number of people you see or think might be home. 

 The condition (sobriety) of everyone you see in the home.  

 The attitude of everyone you see in the home.  

 The interaction of everyone you see in the home.  

 The location of the exits.  

 Where you sit.  
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 Actual weapons or things to be used as weapons.  

 Continually assess the atmosphere –if in doubt-leave. 

 If too many people or feeling slightly uncomfortable suggest a walk, sit on the porch, etc. 
 

F. Departure 

 Have keys in hand to unlock car.  

 Quickly look at car to be sure no one is around it, leaning on it, etc. 

 Be sure nothing is blocking the vehicle’s exit.  

 Report anything unusual to your worker.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



33 

 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
REGIONAL DETENTION SUPPORT SERVICES 

ELECTRONIC MONITORING FACT SHEET 
 
The youth must STAY INSIDE THE HOME ZONE at all times, except during approved time out. 

 
The device that is attached to the ankle is part of a computerized electronic monitoring system 
that uses Global Positioning Systems (GPS). It sends out signals. 
 

It is not WATERPROOF.   Showers are fine, but do NOT immerse in bath. 

 
Responding to Vibrations/LEDs Flashing 
 
I. You will feel 3 consecutive vibrations to inform you of an alarm.  Look to see what LED is  

flashing to alert you of what you need to do: 
 
A. RED PWR flashing – charge the device.  Once fully charged it will vibrate once  

and the PWR LED will be solid green.  Remove the charger. 
 

B. RED GPD flashing – walk outside with the device uncovered to an area with a  
clear view of the sky.  Don’t stand under trees, building awnings, etc.  When the 
alarm has cleared, the GPS LED will be off. 
 

C. RED ZONE – either leave the location where you are not permitted to be or go to  
the location where you are scheduled to be.  When the alarm has cleared, the 
Zone LED will be off. 
 

D. RED PWR, GPS, ZONE – the officer has sent an alert for you to contact them.   
Press the Acknowledge button to acknowledge the alert.  The GPS and ZONE 
LEDs will stop flashing and be off.  The PWR LED will be flashing green.  Call (866) 
936-8477 and advise the operator that you are wearing a device and someone 
sent you an alert. 

 
The computer is manned 24 hours a day. It will tell the staff on duty any time a leave from 
home or a return home occurs. A person will be given certain times he can leave and certain 
times he must return. Anytime a person returns late or leaves early, the computer will notify 
the staff on duty. The computer will also notify staff of any attempts to take the transmitter off 
the ankle, or any attempts to tamper with the transmitter or the band in any way. 

 
If the computer tells the staff on duty that a person has left home before curfew, returned late, 
or attempted to tamper with the transmitter or any of the equipment in the house, it will be 
considered in violation of the rules of the program. 
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APPENDIX – FORMS 
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 _______________ COUNTY PROBATE COURT 
AGREEMENT FOR 

RDSS QUASI-VOLUNTEERS 
 
This agreement by and between the Probate Court of the County of                             and 
                     manifests the following understanding and agreements. 
 
The Probate Court for the County of                           and the Regional Detention Support Services 
(RDSS) has entered into agreement for non-secure holdover, home detention, transportation 
and electronic monitoring services. The intent of the program being to maintain the low 
number of youth placed in jail pending a preliminary hearing or other hearings and to provide 
alternatives to secure detention for youth. 
 
The Court hereby retains                        to provide services as a RDSS quasi-volunteer consistent 
with the written policies of RDSS and the Court. 
 
The volunteer acknowledges that he/she is not an employee of the County or the State of 
Michigan and that no income tax or social security will be withheld from payments made to the 
volunteer. Further, the volunteer is considered and individual contractor and no fringe benefits 
will be provided. The volunteer is not responsible for being available at any given time nor shall 
the court be responsible for providing any work at all for the volunteer. 
 
The court shall, following submission of the appropriate forms and documentation, forward the 
documentation to the Supervisor, Regional Detention Support Services, for payment of the 
current rate per hour for the hours of services rendered as a holdover attendant and 
transporter and $12.00 per day plus appropriate expenses as a home detention/electronic 
monitoring worker. Mileage at current RDSS rates will be paid for transportation and travel for 
home detention visits. 
 
The terms of this Agreement are from                                    to                                      . This can be 
submitted ‘terminated without cause’ upon fifteen days prior written notice by either party or 
upon termination of the RDSS program. 
 
This agreement may not be assigned or otherwise modified except by written amendment by 
the parties. 
 
                                                                                                  Attendant                                              Date 
 
 
                                                                                                 Juvenile Officer                                      Date 
 
 
                                                                                                Judge of Probate                                     Date 
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HOME DETENTION CONTRACT FOR YOUTH AND PARENTS 
 
I, ____________________________, will obey the rules of this Home Detention contract, which 
are checked below. I further agree to obey the laws of this community, keep appointments on 
time, and cooperate with my parent(s), Home Detention Worker and Probation Officer or Social 
Worker as part of this contract. I understand that breaking any of these rules could cause me to 
be placed in the Regional Detention Center. 
 
Residence 
 
________   1.  I will remain at my place of residence at all times of the day and night. 
 
_________2.  I will leave my residence only during school hours, _________. 
 
_________3.  I will leave my residence only during work hours, __________. 
 
_________4.  I will leave my residence only when my parent(s) or In-Home Detention Worker 

is with me. 
_________5.  I will leave my residence only on weekends and only with the permission of my      
                        parent(s) and In-Home Detention Worker. 
_________6.  I will leave my place of residence only with the permission of my parent(s) and    
                        Home Detention Worker.  
 
Hours 
 
_________7.  I will obey the hours set for me on a daily basis by my parent(s) and Home  

           Detention Worker. 
_________8.  If given the permission of my parent(s) and In-Home Detention Worker to leave  

my residence, I will return to my residence no later than the following curfew:   
Sunday through Thursday__________. 

                                                     Friday and Saturday_______________. 
 
School Work 
 
_________9.  I will attend school and all my classes every day; I will do my work and not cause  
             behavior problems while there, or interfere with the education of others. I will  

attend school every day unless my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker gives 
me permission to remain at home, for reasons of illness.  

________10.  I will be at work every day and not cause behavioral problems, or interfere with  
                         other workers or customers, while there. I will be at work every day unless my  

parent(s) and Home Detention Worker give me permission to remain at home, 
for reasons of illness. 
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Driving 
 
________11. I will not drive a car or other motorized vehicle. 
 
________12.  I will drive a car or other motorized vehicle only when my parent(s) or Home 

Detention Worker is with me. 
________13.  I will drive a car or other motorized vehicle only when given permission by my 

parent(s) and Home Detention Worker.  
 
Associates 
 
________14.  I will participate in activities with other persons only if given prior permission by 

my parent(s) and Home Detention Worker. 
________15.  I will not associate with persons whom my parent(s) and Home Detention 

Worker prohibit me from seeing. 
________16.  Specifically, I will not associate with the following persons: 
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Activities 
 
________17.  I will participate in the following activities as a part of this agreement: 
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________18.  I will not participate in the following activities as part of this agreement: 
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Other 
 
________19.  
 
This Agreement will be in effect from ____________ through______________. 
Place of Residence:________________________________________________. 
 
_____________________________                             ________________________________ 
Date                                                                          Signature of Juvenile 
 
_____________________________                             ________________________________ 
Signature of Parent(s)                                                 Signature of Juvenile Court Officer 
 
_____________________________                                   __________________________ 
Signature of Home Detention Worker                      Signature of Judge/Referee 
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ELECTRONIC MONITORING FOR PARENTS 
 
We understand that in order for our son/daughter to participate in the Electronic Monitoring 
Program we must agree to do the following:  
 
1. To allow our son/daughter to remain at home under the close supervision of the WMTD 

equipment. 
 

2. To not to tamper with or destroy any of the WMTD equipment. 
 

3. To not to remove any of the WMTD equipment from the youth or the home. 
 

4. To not to remove the youth from the home without first obtaining approval from the 
juvenile court officer (this includes, but is not limited to , shopping trips, visit with relatives 
and other family outings). If an emergency arises, such as a medical emergency, whereby 
the youth must be removed from the home, we will notify the juvenile court officer as soon 
as possible. 
 

5. To notify the juvenile court officer immediately if the youth is absent from the home during 
unapproved periods of time. 
 

6. To notify the juvenile court officer immediately if the youth participates in any illegal 
activities, violates any federal or state law or violates any municipal ordinance. 
 

7. Other                                                                                                 _______________________       
 
 
 
                                                              Signature of Parent                      Date 
 
 
                                                              Signature of Parent                             Date 
  
 
                                                              Signature of Guardian                         Date 
  
 
                                                              Signature of JCO                                Date 
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ELECTRONIC MONITORING PROGRAM 
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR YOUTH 

 
 

As a participant of the Electronic Monitoring Program, you will be required to follow these rules 
and regulations, in addition to the other terms of your community case specific plan. 

 
1. You will wear the tether WMTD transmitter at all times until removed by the technician. 

You are not to damage, tamper with or remove the transmitter.  
 

2. You will stay at your approved residence except during those hours as designated by your 
juvenile court officer. 
 

3. You will leave home and go places for which only you have received prior approval by your 
juvenile court officer or DHHS worker. Adjustments of curfew must be completed in 
advance by you and your juvenile court officer or DHHS worker. 
 

4. You or your parent/guardian will immediately call your juvenile court officer or DHHS 
worker to report equipment malfunction. 
 

5. You are financially responsible for any intentional damage to the WMTD equipment and you 
are subject to criminal prosecution if you intentionally damage the equipment. If you run 
away and the equipment is not returned, you may be subject to criminal prosecution for the 
theft of state property upon apprehension and be held financially responsible for the lost 
equipment.  The cost of the tether device is $400.00. 

 
6. If you submerge the WMTD equipment in water (i.e. by going swimming) you will be 

financially responsible for the damage.  
 
7. You will permit the juvenile court officer, DHHS worker and/or tether technician to inspect 

the electronic monitoring transmitter for tampering.  
 

I have read or have had read to me the above rules and regulations and have received a copy. I 
fully understand these terms or instructions and agree to abide by them. Violation of these 
terms or instruction may result in my immediate detention and violation of probation. 
 
 
                                                           
                                                                  Signature                                      Date 
  
 
 
                                                                    Witness                                       Date 
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JUVENILE OFFICER OR JUVENILE COURT CASEWORER EVALUATION 
ELECTRONIC MONITORING SUMMARY 

 
Youth’s Name                                                                    County                                         . 
 
 
Dates of Electronic Monitoring                                                    to                   ____         . 
 
 
Evaluation by Family: 
 
 
 
 
Evaluation by Court: 
 
 
 
 
Comments: 
 
 
 
 
Electronic Monitoring Successful           Electronic Monitoring Unsuccessful   ____    
 
 
Did youth attend the scheduled adjudication/disposition hearing?               __ 
 
 
At completion was youth jailed          At completion was youth placed in Detention_____         
 
 
Signed                                                                                  Date_______________________ 
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CURRENT RDSS RATES 
(April 1, 2015) 

 
RDSS 
 
Hourly rate for holdover - $12.00 per hour (no mileage paid). 
 
Hourly rate for transporters - $12.00 per hour plus mileage. 
 
Home Detention visits (60 minutes) - $12.00 per day plus mileage. 
$10.00 per week may be spent on consumable items only-(not to be accumulated from 
week to week). 
 
Hourly rate for tether technicians - $12.00 per hour plus mileage. 
 
Mileage Rate – Current State Rate or County Rate, whichever is less not to exceed 
$0.575. 
 
Training -- $12.00 per day. 
 
Meals for youth and RDSS volunteers -- $8.50 after 5 consecutive hours. 
 
MEALS DURING TRAINING (OVERNIGHT) 
 
Breakfast $8.50 
Lunch $8.50 
Dinner $19.00 
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TAX INFORMATION 
 

You are responsible for reporting RDSS income for tax purposes. Unless you earn over $600.00 
the Michigan Treasury Department does not send out a statement of earnings. In addition, 
there are no deductions taken out of the RDSS checks. Therefore, we recommend you retain a 
copy of all your check stubs as well as your vouchers.  
 
DO NOT EXPECT RDSS OR YOUR LOCAL COUNTY OFFICE TO ASSUME THIS RESPONSIBILITY FOR 
YOU!  
 
 
 
 
 
 


