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Placement Exception Requests (PER) were developed to ensure that safety, permanence and well-being
standards are met for children in Michigan’s child welfare program. PER are tracked by way of monthly
spreadsheets submitted by local offices to Child Welfare Field Operations (CWFQO). DHS local office and
private agency data is merged into statewide reports which are published and posted to the DHS SharePoint
site and distributed by email for private agencies. These spread sheets are used by CWFO, local offices,
private agencies and Michigan Monitoring Team (MMT) to monitor Michigan’s compliance with the Modified
Settlement Agreement (MSA), Section X: Placement Standards and Limitations, pages 42-46. The following
reports were released on 06/29/2012 and indicate non-compliance with the PER provisions within the MSA:

« Foster Home Capacity (FHC)

« Relative Placement (Rels or Relative)
« Jail / Detention (Jail)

« Residential (Res or Residential)

« Shelter

« 75 —Mile Report (75mi)

Private agencies in non-compliance with the required PER also received spread sheets listing the specific cases
in non-compliance and instructions for review and clean-up.

In order for the Department to obtain and maintain future compliance, the actions listed below must be
addressed.

Directive to Resolve Overdue PER:
All PER that are incomplete but were due after October 1, 2011 must be completed and approved by August
17, 2012.

« Complete DHS-399s, DHS-396s and DHS-875 and forward to your POS monitor or other designated DHS
staff. When approved by the DHS County Director, the PER will be added to that county’s placement
exceptions spreadsheet. The spreadsheet is submitted monthly to Child Welfare Field Operations
(CWFO).
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» Relative Licensing Waivers (DHS-875) must be entered into SWSS. Please coordinate with your
local DHS office to ensure that information on your cases is entered into SWSS.

Review of PER due in July, August and September 2012:
Review case plans for PERs due in July, August and September 2012.

« Athorough review of case plans which require PER due in July, August and September must be
completed to determine if the current placement is appropriate or if a less restrictive placement would
meet the child’s treatment needs and permanency goal. Action steps to resolve barriers for a less
restrictive placement are to be developed, implemented and documented in the PER if requesting a
placement extension.

Review of Jail/Detention PER:
Youth placed in jail/detention or correctional facilities must be done so pursuant to either a delinquency or
adult criminal charge.

« Athorough review of case records involving youth placed in jail/detention or correctional facilities
must be completed to ensure the placement occurred as required by Section X of the MSA. Case
records which identify youth placed in such facilities without documented delinquency or criminal
charges require the youth to have been moved within 5 days and DHS must have objected to the
placement on the record. Documentation of these conditions is required in the case record.

Managing PER:

« Develop and implement a PER monitoring process. The process should include the proactive review of
DHS spreadsheets and reports which document compliance with all types of PER, with specific focus on
those that are overdue and coming due in the next 30 and 60 days. Supervisors and managers should
ensure PER are reviewed and discussed in monthly conferences with staff to ensure compliance. Any
non-compliant PERs must be evaluated and monitored by all levels of management to ensure
compliance with the MSA and DHS policy standards (See FOB2012-011 Interim Policy Bulletin:
Modified Settlement Agreement Requirements; effective 05/01/2012.)

It is imperative that caseworkers and supervisors routinely evaluate and document placement exceptions.
Current PER reports reflect non-compliance with policy and consequently, requirements of the MSA. Your
attention to this clean-up and ongoing monitoring is required, particularly to impact upcoming MSA reports.
To demonstrate how Michigan is monitoring the placements in these specific PER circumstances, each local
office and private agency director are asked to submit a brief summary of your PER monitoring process to
Kristine Manion at ManionK@michigan.gov by August 17, 2012. CWFOA will continue to monitor
performance in this area through the monthly reports. In the event improvement is not noted by September’s
report, your office or agency will be contacted to discuss barriers to improved compliance.

The attached Placement Exception Request (PER) Job Aid has been created for your use with supervisors and
caseworkers.

Attachment: Placement Exception Request (PER) Job Aid
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Placement Exception Request (PER) Job Aid

Placement exceptions requests (DHS-396, DHS- 399 and DHS-875) require a thorough evaluation of the child’s
needs and documents justification for the requested placement. The PER process should assist in identifying
placement options which best meet the child’s needs.

Residential Exception Request (DHS-396)
The DHS-396 is to be thoroughly completed with special attention to the following required documentation:

e Date of the most recent Permanency Planning Conference (PPC)/MiTeam with recommendations
attached. Prior to a child entering residential care, a PPC is required.

e Current issues during the quarter which necessitates placement or continued stay in a residential
program.

e Active efforts by the caseworker to maintain this child in the community or to return them to a less
restrictive community placement. This includes dates of contacts made with foster care providers,
treatment foster care providers, less restrictive residential providers, etc.

e Historic information of past and present services/placements to assess what worked in the past, what
has been tried and what needs to be included in a treatment plan.

e Pre-ten waivers will not be granted for periods of more than 90 calendar days.

e The county director’s signature prior to the initial residential placement and/or the PER expiration
date. An approval signature by CWFO is required for placements extending at 12 months or longer;
approval is needed prior to the expiration date.

Foster Home Placement Exception Request (DHS-399)
The DHS-399 evaluates complex living arrangements to ensure foster children are placed in a home with
caregivers that will provide a safe and nurturing environment. Specifically, the DHS-399 requires:

e Completion on all licensed and unlicensed care providers if a placement results in more than three
foster children or a total of six children (including the foster family’s birth and/or adopted children)
and or three children under the age of three in the home.

¢ An assessment of each foster child/sibling, caregiver, and all other children’s needs, to ensure the
caregiver’s abilities are aligned with the challenges and opportunities that exist in foster care
situations.

e The county director’s signature prior to placement.

Over 75 mile Radius (DHS-399-and DHS-396)
For each child placed outside the 75 mile radius of their original home an exception request is required. This is
to ensure DHS makes every attempt to preserve the child’s family, school and community relationships.

For residential placements over 75 miles from the child’s original home, the DHS-396 is to be used.
For all other placements outside the 75 mile radius, the DHS-399 is required.

» One DHS-399 should be completed per child.

» DHS-399’s are required one time, per placement.
One DHS-399 can be used when requesting a 75 mile radius and foster home exception request.
The county director’s signature prior to placement.



Placement Exception Request (PER) Job Aid

Relative Licensing Waivers DHS-875

The decision to waive licensing requirements for relatives should be made only after evaluating the Children’s
Foster Care Relative Placement Home Study (DHS-3130A) and completing the Foster Home Licensing
Requirements for Relative Caregivers (DHS-972).

e A Waiver of Foster Home Licensure (DHS-875) for relatives can be granted in the best interest of the
child(ren).

e A DHS-875 is valid for a 12 month period. After 12 months, a license should be sought or, if necessary,
the waiver can be renewed.

e DHS-875s must be signed by the county director.

Shelters/Emergency Placements

The MSA prohibits the use of emergency shelter placements longer than 30 days or more than one placement
episode within a 12 month period. An exception can be approved by the county director (or designee) using a
DHS- 399 in the following situations:

e To extend a shelter placement up to 45 days if there is an approved placement that is not yet available
or the child’s behaviors have significantly changed requiring the temporary placement to serve as an
assessment for the determination of an appropriate foster care placement.

e Ashelter placement occurs more than once in a twelve month period only if the child is AWOL, facing
a direct threat to their safety. This placement serves as an assessment for the determination of an
appropriate placement and may last not more than 7 days.

Please note: The DHS-396 and 399 have been modified to align with the requirements of the Modified
Settlement Agreement (MSA). Please reference the following documents to assist in the Placement Exception
Request process:

e DHS-396 and DHS-399 (Rev. 5-12)

e FOB 2012-11, Interim Policy Bulletin: Modified Settlement Agreement Requirements, effective
05/01/2012 and issued via eBlast on 05/28/2012.

e Attached PowerPoint presentation; Placement Exception Requests which can also be located at:
http://inside.michigan.gov/dhs/Tools/Collaboration/COTS/FOACS/Shared%20Documents1/Exc
eption%20Requests/Exception%20Requests%20slideshow. pdf

DHS Local Office Reporting Requirements

e Each placement exception must be tracked and documented on the Placement Exception Spreadsheet;
instructions are included in the CWFO memo dated 08/02/2011; New Process for Approval of
Exception Requests, located on SharePoint for local DHS offices. To ensure that exception requests are
completed per DHS policy and the MSA, CWFO monitors all county exception spreadsheets and the
following data reports: Foster Home Capacity, Relative Placement, Jail/Detention, Residential, Shelter
and 75-Mile Report. CWFO analysts report discrepancies to the counties for resolution. Reconciliation
of discrepancies and monthly monitoring of PER due dates is vital to meeting the needs of Michigan’s
children and families and policy/MSA compliance.
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Residential Exception
Requests




What are exception requests?

o Exception request are mandated by the Modified
Settlement Agreement (MSA) and assist counties in
tracking placements of youth in care.

o Exception request are required when placing children in a
residential placement (DHS 396), when placing a child in a
foster home with more then six children or in a foster
home with three or more children under the age of three,
and when placing a child outside the required 75 mile
radius (DHS 399). (page 42-46 of the MSA)

o Approval of the County director is required for all
exception requests. Certain requests are also sent to

CWFOA and BCAL for additional approvals.
- e



Residential Exception Request

DHS 396
o When to submit to County
Director:
BEFORE:

Initial placement

3 months, 6 months, 9 months, 12
months, and every 3 months after 12
‘i months of residential placement
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DHS 396- Residential Exception
Request

When to submit to Field Operations for
approval/signatures-

When placing a child in residential that is under ten years of age
(pre-ten waiver).

Request for a child to remain in residential for longer then 12
months and every three months thereafter.




DHS 396- Residential Exception
Request

When to submit to Bureau of Child and Adult
Licensing (BCAL) for approval/signhatures-

When placing a child in residential placement which is not
contracted through the State of Michigan
A list of contracted and non-contract placements can be found at FOM 905-5.

A/N wards into JJ placements

JJ wards into A/N placements

One to one supervision

Outside of geographical area
Outside of contracted bed capacity



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Date of Initial Residential Placement:
Anticipated date for this placement request:

Anticipated length of stay for this placement request:
CHECK the Type of Residential Placement Exception Request Being Made:

NOTE: There should only be more than one INITIAL residential exception for a child if the child is discharged to a
community placement for 61 or more days and the child returns to residential.

[ ] Initial [ ] 3 Months
[ ] 6 Months [ ] 9 Months
[l 12 Months [[] Beyond 12 Months

[[] Change in Residential Placement

e Check the appropriate box based on the child’s initial
residential placement date (date placed in residential care)

eIf the child has been placed out of residential care for OVER 60
days, the request would be for an initial placement exception
request. UNDER 60 days, continue to track from the initial

placement date in residential care

e Change in Residential Placement could be simultaneously
checked with 3, 6, 9, 12, Beyond 12 months



Section |. Case Information

|. CASE INFORMATION

Child's Name Date of Birth
Legal Stalus DTOp dOowIT DOXES
will appear
Federal Permanency Goal
Date entered care SWSS FAJ Log 1D Case Number
Total number of placements since the date entered care (notincluding this | Funding Source
placement):
Date PPC held - Attach report for this placement request Date of most recent face-to-face contact with child

Were PPC recommendations implemented?  If No, explain:

L] Yes L] No

Ensure all information is complete and accurate!




DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

. QUT-OF-COUNTY RESIDENTIAL PLACEMENT AND EXCEEDS 75 MILE RADIUS:

[] The child’s needs are so exceptional that they cannot be met by a family within the county and 75 mile radius.

Qutline local office efforts to facilitate parenting time and family treatment if goals is reunification:

o Check this box only if the residential
placement is OVER 75 miles away
from the removal household
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DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

IV. RESIDENTIAL PLACEMENT (Checkall that apply):

[] Pre-Ten Waiver A

[ ] Placement Capacity is in Excess of 8 Children

L] Pl tin a Residential P Not Under Contract with DHS Select
acementin a .em ential Program Not Un er. ontract wi exception being
[ ] Placement Outside of the Contracted Geographic Area
requested

[ ] Placement Outside of the Contracted Bed Capacity
[] Placement of an Abuse/Neglect Ward into a Residential Foster Care — Juvenile Justice Program

[ ] Placement of a Juvenile Justice Ward into a Residential Foster Care — Abuse/Neglect Program
[ ] Age (Program Type Exception — Non Pre-Ten Waiver)
[ ] One-on-One Supervision Number of hours requested Hourly rate

Type of Residential Foster Care Facility

It ‘ (‘— Select program type

e Residential Foster Care - AbuseMeqglect
Facility N o .”N £ . N
Residential Foster Care - Juvenile Justice




DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o Pre-Ten Walilver

Required for any child under 10 years old entering or placed in
residential care

Include a “pended” 626 with Pre-Ten requests

The Pre-Ten Waivers only section must be completed and
additional supportive services and efforts (Wraparound,
counseling, etc) must be made to keep the child in a
community placement prior to requesting residential placement

These require a second-line review, monthly phone
conferences, and approval process within Field Operations
before going to the Child Welfare Outstate Director.

A list of all requirements can be found in policy FOM 722-3
page 29-31.



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o Placement Capacity Is in excess of 8 children

Check for every placement that has more than 8
children placed in the facility

o Placement outside the contracted Geoqgraphic Area
o Placement outside the contracted Bed Capacity
o Age (Program Type Exception- Non Pre-Ten Waiver)

Only check these if the residential placement
agency indicates it is necessary

Each residential placement’s contract with DHS
determines if these are applicable



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o Placement in a residential program not
under contract with DHS

Only select this box for any program that is a
non-contracted placement

Verify with the program if they are a contracted
facility for residential placements from DHS, the
per diem rate, and a detailed description of the
program before submitting the exception request

Include a “pended” DHS-626 in your submission
packet for non-contract placements

Additional approval necessary from BCAL



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o Placement of an Abuse/Neglect Ward into a
Residential Foster Care- Juvenile Justice
Program

o Placement of a Juvenile Justice Ward into a
Residential Foster Care- Abuse/Neglect
Program

Select one of these boxes when you have a ward (A/N
or JJ) being placed into a residential program not
designated for their specific wardship (A/N-JJ, or JJ-
A/N only)
o For these placements, obtain consent/agreement of
LGAL, JJ worker and Court and provide documentation
to that effect (example: in PPC documentation)

Adjudicated dual wards (A/N & JJ) who are assigned to
DHS for supervision, approval needs to be obtained
through BJJ/JJAU NOT FOA




DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o One-on-0One Supervision

Select when the child will have full time, one-on-
one supervision within the residential program

Additional approval required from BCAL



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Facility Name

Facility Address

Fer Diem Frovider Mumber Service Code

$

o Complete this section in its entirety.

o Consult the RATES FOR CHILD CARE INSTITUTIONS
AND PLACEMENT AGENCIES section of OLM.

o SWSS-FAJ (for contracted placements) will also
contain this information



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o Section 1V, Questions 1-6

Provide a narrative for all questions
Question 1
List the child's diagnosis (Axis -V, DSM IV TR), Current medications; and any PRN (as needed) medication and

frequency of use. Attach current copies of |EP, psychological tests/cognitive function assessment, behavior freatment
plans, psychiatric reports, medication reviews, as applicable.

Please provide information as instructed above, including
details on youth’s diagnosis and medications. Include
psychological tests, cognitive assessments, behavioral

treatment plans, etc.



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Section 1V, cont'd.
Question 2

List each placement for the child and indicate why each placement was not successful and/or factors contributing to
disruption of placement. Include services provided to prevent replacements.

Include a list of every placement. List the specific
behaviors or incidents which led to child being
replaced. When possible use dates to establish a
timeframe. Include all attempts to prevent

replacement.




DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Section 1V, cont’'d.
Question 3 a &b

Initial Request: List efforts to locate less restrictive or other residential placement(s): list all referrals, including program
name, person contacted, date of referral and reason for rejection:

Include a list of every agency (DHS or private) that was contacted
for placement prior to request for residential. Include date, time,
and person contacted for placement. List reason for the person not
taking the child. This may be an attachment to the packet if

preferable.

Renewal Request: List efforts to locate a less restrictive placement to achieve discharge.

Explain the what efforts have been made to locate less
restrictive placement. If one has not sought out then describe

the reason for not searching for alternative placement and
future plan to transition the child into less restrictive

placement.



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Section 1V, cont’'d.
Question 4

4. List the specific residential treatment components to meet the child’s treatment needs at this facility.

Explain what this placement can specifically offer
to address the specific needs of the child.

@
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DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Section 1V, cont’'d.
Question 5

Attach the most recent court order and Permanency Case Review Form (DHS-643).

Please indicate the permanency goal and attach court
orders and DHS 643.




DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Section 1V, cont’d. Questions 6

s a family dentified as the next placement, and what efforts are being made hy this county to assist the family in
narticipating with child's program?

List all effort to assist the family in participating the //
child’s treatment and progress. List any L :‘“,

attempts to ensure parenting time, sibling /“’\
visits, and other services to ensure family =—4

reunification.
IS




DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

Pre-Ten Waiver Only Section
Question 1

Provide a detailed description of assisted care, Wraparound or other interventions that have been used to maintain { hls
child in the community. |

e Include information on all treatment and services
provided to child/family that would have aided in

maintaining a community placement.
e Attach FAS screening assessment results.

Placement of children less than ten years of age in residential or other institutional settings will not be authorized for more
than three months.

This child’s treatment needs must be reassessed every 90 days, including consideration of the most appropriate and least
restrictive placement setting available to meet the child’s treatment needs. The assessment must be documented in the

Updated Service Plan.
Attach the most recent Service Plan (ISP/USP) and, if applicable, the RISP/RUSP to this request.



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

PROGRESS UPDATES SINCE LASTPLACEMENT EXCEPTION REQUEST

1. Please describe in detail the child’s behaviors and progress in the program since the last request, that necessitates
continued residential placement:

2. Seclusion and restraint numbers for last 3 months:

» Attachthe most recent Service Plan (ISP/USP) and the RISP/RUSP to this request.

» List the specific behaviors or incidents which are the basis for
requesting extension in residential care.
 When possible use dates to establish a timeframe.

* Include all applicable supporting documentation since the last
exception request was completed (USP, RUSP, psychological
evaluations, therapy notes, educational reports, etc.)



DHS 396- Residential Exception Request

o SIGNATURES

ODbtain ALL necessary signatures for
each request PRIOR to submission to
Field Operations

o Worker (direct/monitor)
o Supervisor

o Program manager (if applicable based on
county)

o County Director



Documentation to submit

o Completed and signed exception request
o PPC documentation and outcomes

o Appropriate residential, therapeutic,
educational, court, medical reports
(SWSS reports will be obtained off SWSS
by Field Operations for direct services
cases)

o Psychological or psychiatric reports

o ANYTHING else that may assist In the
review of the placement exception
request
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