State of Michigan
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING
MAURA D. CORRIGAN

RICK SNYDER
GOVERNOR DIRECTOR

- May 14, 2014

Phylinda Pladies
4170 W, McMillan
North Muskegon, M| 49445

RE: DF810277164

Dear Phylinda Pladies:

On March 12, 2014 you were mailed a copy of the Department's Notice of Intent to
Revoke your CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION 1o operate a family child care home.
In accordance with that notice and because you did not exercise your right of appeal,
your license has been revoked effective Apill 15, 2014. It is further expected that you
not recelve children for care now or in the future without beinglicensed.

Sincerely,
James 8, Sinnamon, Director
hild Care Licensing Division

JS:em
cct  Yolanda Sim, Area Manager

P.O. BOX 30650 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 48008.8150

BCAL 4105
wavnmchigan.gov » (617) 335-6124
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March 12, 2014

Phylinda Pladies
- 4170 W. McMillan
North Muskegon, Ml 49445

License #: DF610277164
SIR#: 2014D10768010

Dear Ms. Pladles;

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTIGE OF INTENT TO REVOKE YOUR
- CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION to operate a famlly child care home, alleging that
you have violated the Child Care Organizations Act. Your options are as follows:

1} You imay appeal the Notice of Intent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, Is enclosed.,

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, walve the compliance conference, and
proceed.diractly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose hot to appeai the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of Intent, the Department must receive your
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. if the Department
does not receive your written appeal-within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you
will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT {o an administrative law hearing and the proposed

action will be final.

’,_--:/-,
/ﬁ) A0 .‘;:f/—{_.\__,—g«.,,—;ov"‘t—u.._
ames S, Sinnamon, Director
Chlld Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

Sincerely,

Enclosures

Ce: Yolanda Sims, Area Manager

QCAL 12703 P.0. BOX 30850 » LANSING, MICHIGAN 48008-8160
wwv.michigan.goy » {617) 284-0700



STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of ‘License #: DFG610277164
SIR#: 2014D1076010

Phylinda Pladies

NOTICE OF INTENT TO
- REVOKE CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by James S, Sinnamon, Director,
Child Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Aduit Licensling, provides notice
of the intent to revoke the certificate of registration of Registrant, Phylinda Piadies, to
operate a family child care home pursuant to the authority of tha Child Care
Organizétions Act, 1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., for the following
reasons:

1. On or about December 29, 2005, Registrant was issued a certificate of
regisiration to operate a family child care home, with a current registered
capacily of six, at 4170 W. McMillan, North Muskegon, M| 49445,

2. On more than one occasion between 2012 and 2014, the Registrant utilized
physical discipline with child care children in her home. The Registrant physically
disciplined child care children on the following occasions:

a. Onone occasio;{ in 2012, Child A (Méle, DOB: 06/26/07) climbed into the

laundry chute on the main level of the Registrant's home: The Registrant



was doing laundry on the lower level and was unaware that Child A had
climbed into the faundry chute. Child A proceeded to jump down the

laundry .chute to the lower level of the home. When Chiid A appeared in
the laundry room, the Registrant struck the child with a heit as a form of

discipline.

b. On more than one occasion in 2012 and 2013, the Registrant spanked

Child A with her hand.
¢. On one occasion in 2012 or 2013, the Registrant spanked Child B _
(Female, DOB: 02/04/09) with her hand after the child ran out into the

street,

3. On more than one occasion during the fall and winter months of 2013, N




4. On multiple occasions in 2013, the Registrant left Children A and B in the child
care home without the supervision of an adult caregiver. The Registrant is
employed outside of the child care home and works four days per week at a [ocal
Head Start facility. On these occasions, Child A and Child B were thattended In

the home with Minor Household Member 1 and Minor Household Member 2




(Female, DOB: 08/28/96), On at least one occasion in December 2013, Minor
Household Member 1 was left alone in the Registrant's home with Child B.

. On multiple occaslons in 2013, the Registrant brovided overnight care. to Child A
and Ghild B. On January 24, 2014, the Registrant admitted to Licensing
Consultant Kate DeKoning that Child A and Child B slept in her basement when
she provided nighttime child care. The Réglsirant's basement is not approved for
child care use. In 2012, Licensing Consultant Don Vita conducted an inspection
of the Régistrant’s hasement, Af that time, Mr. Vita 'informed the Registrant that
her basement did not meet licensing requirements and could not be approved for
child care use.

. On January 24, 2014, Ms. DeKoning attempled to review the Registrant's chifd
care records. The Registrant informed Ms. DeKoning that she had thrown away
all documentation related {o her child care. The Registrant was unable to
produce the following documentation:

a. Aftendance records; and

b, Child information cards for Child A, Child B, and Child C.




COUNT |

The conduct of NI MR a5 scf forth in paragraphs 3 and 7

above, provides grounds for revocation pursuant to;
R400,1902 Caregiver and chiid care home family.
(3) All persons, Including minors, residing in the child

care home shall be of good moral character and be
suitable to assure the welfare of children.

COUNT ||

The conduct of the Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 5 above,
evidences a violation of:

R400.1911 Supervision, o

(1) The caregiver shall assure appropriate care and supervision
of children at all times,

COUNT lil
The -conduct of the Registrant, as set forth in paragraph 2 above, svidences a
violation of;

R400.1913 Discipline and child handling.
(3) Carediving staff shall not do any of the following:
(a) Hit, spank, shake, bite, pinch, or inflict other forms of
corporal punishment,




COUNT IV
The conduct of thé Registrani, as set.forth in paragraph 5 above, evidences a
violation of:
R400.1915 Indoor space; play equipment and materials.

(2) Only space that has received prior approval for child use by
the depariment may be used for child care.

COUNT V
The conduct of the Registrant, as set forth in paragraph 6 above, evidences a

violation of:

R400,1907 Children’s records.
(1) Prior to initial attendance, the caregiver shall obtain the
following documents:
(a) A completed child information card on a form provide by
the depariment or a comparable subsiitute approved by
the depariment.

COUNT VI
The conduct of the Registrant, as set forth In paragraph 6 above, evidences a
violation of;

R400.1907 Children's records, :
(3) Dated daily attendance records of children in care shall be
maintained and shall include the child's first and last name
and the time of arrival and departure.



COUNT VI

The conduct of the Registrant, as set forth in paragraph 6 above, evidences a

violation of;
R400.1907 Children's records.
(8) The records in this rule shall be retained for a minimum of 4
years.

NOTICE IS GIVEN that, Registrant is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the certificate of registration. if
Registrant appeals the Notice of Intent and comphance is hot shown, formal
proceedings will be commenced pursuant to the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA
116, as amended, MCL 722,111 et seq., rules promuilgated theregunder,, and the
Administrative Procedures Aét, 1969 PA 306, as amended; MCL 24,201 ot seq, Shou!&

formal proceedings commencs, you have the right to attorney representation at your

own expense,

REGISTRANT IS NOTIFIED thal pursuant to MCL 722.121(2} of the Child -Care
Organizations Act, Regisltant has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of
Intent to file a wriften appeal of the proposed action. The appeal shall be addressed to
Kelly Maltby, Departmental Analyst, Buréau of Children and Adult Licensing, Michigan
Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name and
~ license number, and must be submitted using one of the following methods:

« Mail your writlen appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, P.O.
Box 30650, Lansing, Ml 48909. You should obtain some type of delivery

confirmation to verify delivery;



« [Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Aduit Licensing at

'(617) 284-9709. You should keep a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of

sutbmittal: or

 Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. Yot should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submiltal.

REGISTRANT IS FURTHER NOTIFIED that fallure to file a written appeal of this

action within 30 days will result in revocation of the certificate of registration.

pATED: YMecel 12, 20) o @

ames S, Sinnamon, Director
Child Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

This is thé last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Phylinda Pladies, DF610277164,
consisting of elght pages, this page includad.

Kivivi




. STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

License #: DF810277164

Ih the matter of
SIR #: 2014D1076010

Phylinda Pladies

/

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: May 5, 2014 - Time: 11:00 a.m.
Location: Muskegon Co. DHS, 2700 Baker Street, Muskegon Heights, Ml 49444

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder, You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also bring one support person to the compliance conference,

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of Intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, piclures, etc. that you would like the Depariment to
consider, You may also submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance
conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

If you are unable to attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date andfor time. The
Department will make all reasonable aftempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. If you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be .able to schedule the
compliance confersnce to a date earlier than originally scheduled, :

If you are unable to show that you were in compliance with the Child Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the
Department will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative

hearing.



All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compilance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Department at least one week in advance to

make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all wrilten communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, Including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Kelly Mallby, Departmental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4" Floor
P.O. Box 30850

Lansing, Mi 48909-8150



STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

1

in the matter of License #: DF610277164
SIR#: 2014D1076010

Phylinda Pladies

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to revoke the ceriificate of
registration in the above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the
same to them at their address of record by certified mail on March 13, 2014,

Phylinda Pladies
4170 W. McMillan
North Muskegon, Ml 49445

ugerne 2otz

Suzanne Bancroft
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing




