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Child Care Licensing Division

Child Care Center 
Orientation
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Child Care Center Inspections

 Original
 Renewal
 Interim
 Special Investigation
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License Types & Disciplinary Actions

 Original Provisional
 Effective for 6 months

 Regular
 Effective for 2 years

 Disciplinary Actions
 1st/2nd/3rd/4th Provisional

 Effective for 6 months
 Revocation
 Summary Suspension 
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Laws and Rules that Apply to 
Child Care Centers

 Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116)
 Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers
 Other Laws:

 Child Protection Law
 Michigan Vehicle Code
 Natural Resources and Environmental Protection 

Act (NREPA) - Pesticide Management
 American with Disabilities Act
 Children’s Product Safety Act
 Public Health Code
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Children’s Protective Services 
Requirements

Child Protection Law (1975 PA 238)
 Child care providers, including all employees and 

volunteers of a center, are mandated reporters. 
 If reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or neglect 

– it MUST be reported.
 Immediate oral report by calling (855) 444-3911.
 Written report within 72 hours after the oral report 

using the form DHS-3200.
 Resources at:

www.michigan.gov/mandatedreporter.
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Children’s Protective Services 
Requirements

The licensee must have a:
 Written plan to assure compliance with the 

mandated reporting requirement of the 
Child Protection Law.

 Statement signed by each staff and 
volunteer that she/he:
 Knows child abuse and neglect is against the 

law.
 Has been informed of the center’s policies on 

child abuse and neglect.
 Knows ALL staff and volunteers MUST 

immediately contact Children’s Protective 
Services when child abuse/neglect is suspected 
and follow-up in writing in 72 hours.

8125 (11)-(12)



Child Care Center Rules Orientation

2

7

Michigan Vehicle Code (1949 PA 300)
MCL 257.710d and 257.710e

 Requirements for use of child restraint 
devices, e.g., car seats/booster seats/seat 
belts.

 Child restraint devices are not required for 
children transported on a school bus, a 
multifunction school activity bus or any 
vehicle designed to carry 16 or more 
passengers, including the driver.

 Resources at www.michigansafekids.org.

8740(1)-(2)
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NRPEA - Pesticide Management (1994 PA 451)
MCL 324.8316

 Integrated Pest Management program must 
be developed and implemented when 
pesticide application will occur on the 
premises.
 Requires annual parent notification that pesticide 

application occurs. Annual notice must be sent in 
September.

 Advance notice prior to each application of 
pesticides.

 Indoor application only when rooms will be 
unoccupied for at least 4 hours.

8380(9)
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American with Disabilities Act

Americans with Disabilities Act
 Prevents discrimination and exclusion from 

programs.
 Requires programs to make reasonable 

modifications that don’t cause a fundamental 
alteration.

 Requires programs to offer services for effective 
communication that don’t cause an undue 
burden.

 Requires buildings be readily achievable or fully 
accessible.

 Resources at www.ada.gov.
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Children’s Product Safety Act

Children’s Product Safety Act (219 PA 2000)
 Prohibits use of recalled and unsafe 

children’s products.
 Requires list of recalled and unsafe 

products to be posted.
 MCCM has list available at 

www.michigan.gov/mccmatters.
 Resources at www.cpsc.gov.

8173(1)-(2)
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Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) 
MCL 722.115e – Reportable Offenses

 Licensee must report to the department 
within 3 business days after being 
arraigned on a “reportable” offense.

 An employee of a center must report to the 
center within 3 business days after being 
arraigned on a “reportable” offense (BCAL-
1486 can be used).

 Arraigned means going to court and    
having to plead “guilty” or “not guilty”      
to a criminal charge.

 When in doubt, notify your consultant.

8110(1)(e)
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Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) 
MCL 722.115c – Fingerprints

 Fingerprinting required 
for licensee, licensee 
designee and all 
program directors.

 New fingerprint scans 
are not required at 
renewal.

8110(1)(c)
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Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) 
MCL 722.113f – “High Risk” Investigation

 Notification to parents when there is a “high 
risk” investigation (child abuse or neglect 
allegations).

 DHS (CPS) will provide you with written 
notification that you can share with parents.

 Licensing will verify that parents were notified. 

14

Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers

15

Licensee Responsibilities
Have in a place accessible and visible to 
parents:
 Current license and the letter extending the 

license beyond the expiration date, if 
applicable.

 Copy of the current Licensing Rules for Child 
Care Centers and any variances granted. 

 Notice stating that criminal history checks are 
required for employees and whether they are 
done on volunteers.

8110(3)
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Licensee Responsibilities

 Release children to anyone authorized 
by either parent and to either parent 
unless there is a court order on file at 
the center.

 Parents are able to visit the program 
for the purpose of observing their 
children during hours of operation.

8110(6)-(7) 
8179(12)

17

Licensee Responsibilities

 Cooperate with any state or local 
department/agency in connection to 
inspections and investigations related to the 
center license. 
 Assure information provided is accurate

and truthful.
 Provide access to all relevant records,

materials and staff.

8110(9)
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Licensing Notebook
All centers must maintain a licensing notebook. 
 It must include all licensing inspection reports, 

special investigation reports and all related 
corrective action plans (CAP). 

 It must also include a summary sheet outlining 
all the reports and CAPs. The Licensing Notebook 
Summary Sheet (BCAL-5052) may be used.

 It must include all reports issued and CAPs 
developed since May 28, 2010 until the license is 
closed.

 The notebook must be made available for review 
at all times during regular business hours.

MCL 722.113g
8110(4)
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Licensee Responsibilities
All records must be retained for 2 years, 
except:
 The name, address and telephone number 

for each child enrolled and each employee 
for at least 2 years after they have left the 
center.

 Staff/volunteer health records and 
documentation of qualifications retained 
until that person has left the center.

 Licensing notebook maintained and 
retained until the license is closed.

8110(11)

20

Definitions

 Staff – Any compensated employee of the 
center, including the director, 
caregivers, drivers, kitchen
and maintenance personnel.

 Caregiver – Any person 18
years of age or older who 
provides direct care, education, 
supervision, and guidance of children.

 Volunteer – a person 16 years of age or 
older who is not a compensated employee 
of the center. A volunteer can be considered 
a caregiver if 18 years of age or older.

8101(c), (t) & (u)
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Staff Requirements
 Before making an offer of employment, the 

center must perform an ICHAT criminal history 
check on the person (www.michigan.gov/ichat).
 Criminal history results may be shared between school 

districts and licensing.

 Documentation (on BCAL-5001) that fingerprints were 
completed on school employees can be used in lieu of 
ICHAT.

 If the individual has lived outside MI as an
adult within the past 10 years, a criminal 
history check must be requested for all 
states of previous residence during those 
10 years. 

8125(4) & (9)
MCL 722.115d

22

Staff Requirements
If ICHAT reveals any of the following, the center 
must not make an offer of employment to 
that person:
 A “listed” offense (defined 1994 PA 295, MCL 

28.722).
 Child abuse or child neglect.
 A felony involving harm or threatened harm to an 

individual within the 10 years immediately 
preceding the date of hire.

8125(5)
MCL 722.115d

23

Staff Requirements

 Staff must be of responsible character and 
suitable to meet the needs of children.

 Provide documentation before employment 
that the person has not been named as a 
perpetrator of child abuse/neglect.

 Central registry clearance from DHS. 
 Resource: 

www.michigan.gov/canregistryclearance.

8125(2) & (7)

Staff Requirements

Criminal history checks and central registry 
clearances for all staff and volunteers, if 
required, must be updated every 2 years at 
renewal and upon request by the 
department.

24

8125(10)
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Staff Requirements

Staff must have:
 Documentation of negative TB test -

required only once.
 Dated within one year before employment.

 Physical - required only
once.
 Dated 6 months before 

or 30 days after the start
of employment.

 Not required for staff hired after 1/1/14.

8128

26

Volunteer Requirements
 Written policy regarding supervision of 

volunteers, including when a volunteer 
cannot have unsupervised contact with 
children.

 Provide documentation before unsupervised 
contact with children that the volunteer has 
not been named as a perpetrator of child 
abuse/neglect.
 Must have central registry clearance from DHS.
 Resource: 

www.michigan.gov/canregistryclearance. 

8125(3)(b) & (8)

27

Volunteer Requirements
 Provide documentation before unsupervised 

contact with children that the volunteer has 
not been convicted of any of the following:
 Child abuse or neglect.
 A felony involving harm or threatened 

harm within the past 10 years.
 A “listed” offense (defined 1994 PA 295, 

MCL 28.722).
 A self-certifying statement may be used.

8125(6)
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Volunteer Requirements

Volunteers who have contact with children 
for at least 4 hours per week for more than 
2 consecutive weeks must have 
documentation of: 
 Negative TB test - Required only once.

 Less than 1 year old.

 Physical evaluation- required only once.
 Less than 6 months old.
 Not required after 1/1/14.

8128

29

Caregiver Professional Development

Develop a written, on-going professional 
development plan which includes the minimum 
training requirements established by:
 8131(7) & (8) & MCL 722.112a(1) – First aid and CPR training.
 8131(1) – Orientation.
 8131(3) – Blood-borne pathogen training.
 8125(11) – Child abuse and neglect reporting procedures.
 8161 – Emergency procedures.
 8131(6) – Shaken baby syndrome and safe sleep.
 8131(4) – 16 clock hours of professional development. 

8131

30

Caregiver Professional Development

Develop a written, on-going professional development 
plan which includes training topics relevant to job 
responsibilities:
 Child development and learning.
 Teaching and learning.
 Interactions and guidance.
 Health, safety, nutrition.
 Family and community collaboration.
 Program management.
 Observation, documentation, assessment.
 Professionalism.
 Licensing rules.

8131
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Caregiver Professional Development

 16 clock hours of annual professional 
development required for all program 
directors and caregiving staff. 

 Assessed by the calendar year.
 CPR and first aid training may count for 

up to 2 hours of the annual professional 
development hours in the year taken.

 Verification of all required training                    
must be on file.

8131

32

Caregiver Professional Development

 Annual professional development hours may 
include:
 In-service trainings. 
 Sessions offered by community groups, faith-based 

organizations, provider associations.
 Workshops and courses offered by local or intermediate 

school districts or colleges.
 Trainings, workshops, seminars, and conferences 

offered by early childhood organizations.
 Online trainings and correspondence courses with an 

assessment of learning.
 The center may provide training to their 

caregivers.

8131
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Caregiver Professional Development

 Blood-borne pathogen training required for 
all program directors and caregivers before 
unsupervised contact with children.

 All program directors, site supervisors, lead 
caregivers and at least 1 caregiver on duty 
at all times with current infant,
child & adult CPR and first aid.
* Infant CPR not required for

school-age only programs.

8131(3), (7) & (8) 
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All Program Directors
 “Early childhood program director” means the program 

director of a center serving children of all ages.
 “School-age program director” means the program 

director of a center serving only school-age children.
 Be present in the center:

 Full-time for programs operating less than 6 
continuous hours.

 50% of time children in care for programs operating 
more than 6 continuous hours, but at least 6 hours.

 When absent, the program director must designate a 
staff member to be in charge.

8113

35

All Program Directors

 Within 5 business days, the licensee must 
notify the department of the separation of a 
program director or central administrator and 
a plan for replacement of the program 
director or central administrator. 

 A substitute program director must be 
appointed if a program director leaves 
employment or has a temporary 
absence that exceeds 30 consecutive 
workdays. 

8110(8) & 8113(7)

36

All Program Directors

 Before hiring a new program director, a 
center must submit the credentials of the 
proposed program director to the department 
for review and approval.
 Complete the Licensing Record Clearance 

Request (BCAL-1326).
 Submit credentials.

 The consultant will make sure 
person is qualified by credential 
review.

8113(2)
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All Program Directors

Responsibilities:
 Develop, implement and                    

evaluate center policies and                      
program.

 Administer day-to-day
operations, including being 
available to address parent, 
staff and child issues.

 Monitor and evaluate staff, 
including an annual evaluation 
of each staff member.

8113(4)

38

All Program Directors

Requirements:

 At least 21 years of age.
 High school diploma or 

GED.
 Fingerprints. 
 Education requirements approved by 

BCAL prior to hiring as program 
director.

8113

39

All Program Directors

 Education must include 2 semester hours or 3 
CEUs in child care administration.

 Administrative course requirement for PD not 
required with verification that:
 The center has a central administrator 

responsible for developing, implementing and 
evaluating center policies, program and 
monitoring staff.

 The central administrator meets the 
administrative course requirement.

8113(13) & (16)

40

Early Childhood Program Director

8113(9) & (13)

Early childhood program director must meet 1 of the following qualifications:

Education Coursework in Early Childhood 
Education or Child Development

Hours of 
Experience

(a) Bachelor’s degree or higher in 
early childhood education or child 
development

(b) Bachelor’s degree or higher in a 
child-related field with 

18 semester hours with 480 hours

(c) Associate’s degree in early child-
hood education or child 
development with 

18 semester hours with 480 hours

(d) Montessori credential with 18 semester hours with 960 hours

(e) Valid child development 
associate credential with 

18 semester hours with 960 hours

(f) 60 semester hours with 18 semester hours with 1920 hours

41

School-Age Program Director

8113

School-age program directors must meet 1 of the following qualifications:

Education Coursework in Child-Related Field Hours of 
Experience

(a) Bachelor’s degree or higher in 
child related field

(b) Associates degree in child-
related field with 

480 hours

(c) Montessori credential with 12 semester hours with 480 hours

(d) Valid Michigan school-age/youth 
development credential with 

12 semester hours with 480 hours

(e) Valid child development 
associate credential with 

12 semester hours with 480 hours

(f) 60 semester hours with 12 semester hours with 720 hours

(g) High school diploma/GED with 6 semester hours with 2880 hours

42

Lead Caregiver

Lead caregiver responsibilities:
 Oversee planning, implementation and 

evaluation of a classroom program and 
child assessment.

 Oversee caregiving staff for a specific 
group of children.

 Overall care and 
supervision of a group                            
of children.

8122
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Lead Caregiver

 At least 1 lead caregiver must be 
assigned to each group of children in 
self-contained or well-defined space.

 Lead caregiver not required for school-
age children.

 Be present and providing care:
 Full time for programs operating less than 

6 continuous hours.
 At least 6 hours a day for programs 

operating 6 or more continuous hours.

8122

44

Lead Caregiver
 Requirements:

 Be at least 19 years of age.
 High school diploma or GED.

 Infant & toddler lead                       
caregivers must have                             
3 semester hours or 4.5 CEUs in 
infant/toddler development                
and care practices.

8122

45

Lead Caregiver
The qualifications of lead caregiver must also meet one of the following:

Education Coursework in early childhood education, 
child development or child-related field

Hours of 
Experience

(a) Bachelor’s degree or higher in 
early childhood education, child 
development or a child-related field

(b) Associate’s degree or higher in 
early childhood education or child 
development

(c) Montessori credential with 480 hours

(d) Valid child development 
associate credential with 

480 hours

(e) High school diploma/GED with 12 semester hours with 960 hours

(f) High school diploma/GED with Combination of: 12 semester hours and/or 
18 CEUs to equal 180 clock hours with

1920 hours

(g) High school diploma/GED with Combination of: 6 semester hours and/or 
9 CEUs to equal 90 clock hours with 

3840 hours

8122(6)

46

Lead Caregiver

 Individuals hired as or promoted to lead 
caregiver after January 1, 2014 can no longer
be qualified under subrule (6)(g) with  a high 
school diploma/GED and a combination of 6 
semester hours and/or 9 CEUs plus 3,840 hours 
of experience.

 Lead caregivers hired prior to January 2, 2014 
can remain qualified under subrule (6)(g) as 
long as they remain employed with the same 
licensee. 

8122(7)

47

Lead Caregiver

 The lead caregiver’s qualifications are 
approved by the program director. 
 Note: Hours of experience must be serving the 

ages and developmental abilities of the children 
for which the lead caregiver will provide care.

 Program director must appoint a substitute 
for a lead caregiver who has left employment 
or who has a temporary absence that 
exceeds 30 consecutive workdays until the 
return or replacement of the lead caregiver.

 The substitute must meet the qualifications of 
the lead caregiver or be currently enrolled in 
relevant training.

8122(10)

48

Children’s Records
 Complete Child Information Record.

 Updated when center aware information                   
has changed or at least 
annually.

 Immunization records.
 Immunizations must be 

reported to DCH for all children
enrolled using the method 
established by DCH by
October 1 of each year. 
Required by the Public Health
Code.

8143
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Children’s Records

 Within 30 days of initial attendance, a 
physical evaluation:
 Completed within past 3 months for infants.
 Completed within past 6 months for toddlers.
 Completed within past year for preschoolers.

 Physical evaluations updated:
 Yearly for infants and toddlers.
 Every 2 years for preschoolers.

8143

50

Children’s Records

 Written permission for non-routine               
transportation trips prior
to each trip.

 Written permission for routine 
transportation annually.

 Parent notification before each field 
trip.

8149 

51

Daily Attendance

 Must maintain accurate record of daily 
attendance. 

 Must include:
 Date.
 Arrival and departure times each time they 

arrive and leave the center.
 Child’s first and last name.

8143(10)

52

Parent Information

Written information packet provided to parents. 
Written verification that parents have received the 
packet must be kept on file. Packet includes: 
 Admission/withdrawal criteria.
 Schedule of operation.
 Fees.
 Discipline policy for children.
 Food service policy.

8146

53

Parent Information

Written information packet includes: 
 Program philosophy.
 Daily routine.
 Plan to notify parents of accidents, injuries, 

incidents, illnesses.
 Exclusion policy for child illnesses.
 Notification of the Licensing Notebook.

8146

54

Parent Information

 Notification of the licensing notebook must include all 
of the following:
 The center maintains a licensing notebook of all 

licensing reports and all related corrective action 
plans.

 The notebook will be available to parents for 
review during regular business hours.

 Licensing inspection and special investigation 
reports from the past two years are available at 
www.michigan.gov/michildcare. (The website 
address must be in bold print.)

 May use the Parent Notification of the Licensing 
Notebook (BCAL-5053).

8146 
MCL 722.113g
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Parent Information

Parents of children with special needs 
may receive, upon request, a daily written
record of:
 Food intake – time, type of food and 

amount eaten.
 Sleeping patterns – when & how long a 

child slept.
 Elimination patterns.
 Developmental milestones.
 Changes in a child’s usual behavior.

8146

Hand Washing

 Hand washing:  Cleanse hands with soap 
and warm running water for at least 20 
seconds.

 Specifies when hand washing is required 
for staff, volunteers and children. 

 When soap and running water are not 
available during an outing, hand sanitizers 
and/or single-use wipes may be used.

8134

57

Hand Washing

 Hand washing guidelines 
must be posted in food                  
preparation areas, 
toilet rooms and by all 
hand washing sinks.

8134

58

Medication
 Written permission required for all 

prescription and non-prescription 
medication.

 Must be administered by an 
adult caregiver and recorded.

 Topical, nonprescription medications 
(sunscreen, diaper rash ointment, bug 
spray, lotion) require annual parental 
authorization. Records of each application 
not required.

8152

59

Medication

 Prescription medication must be in the 
original container with the pharmacy label.
 Label must include physician’s name, 

child’s name, instructions, and name and 
strength of the medication

 All medication must be in original container, 
stored according to instructions, 
and clearly labeled for a named  
child.

8152

60

Medication

 Medication must be returned to parent or 
destroyed when it is no longer needed or has 
expired.

 Label directions must be followed unless 
authorized in writing by physician.

 Medication may not be added to a bottle or 
food unless indicated on prescription label.

 If non-prescription medication label says to 
contact physician for dosage, written 
instructions from the physician is required.

8152
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Child Illness, Accident, Injury

 The center must develop and implement a plan 
for notifying parents when: 
 Changes in the child’s health are observed.
 A child has an accident, injury or incident.
 When a child is too ill to remain in the group.

 A child too ill to remain in the 
group must be put in a separate 
area, cared for and supervised 
until parent arrives.

8155

62

Staff, Volunteer, Child Illness

 All items and facilities used by an ill person 
cannot be used by another person until 
thoroughly cleaned and sanitized.

 If a staff member, volunteer, child in care 
contracts a communicable disease, parents must 
be notified of:
 The name of the disease.
 Symptoms of the disease.

 See Managing Communicable Diseases in Child 
Care Settings (BCAL-PUB 111).

8155

63

Appropriate Care & Supervision

 The center must 
provide appropriate 
care and supervision 
of children at all 
times.

 Must have adequate 
staff during food 
preparation.

8125(1)
8330(5)

64

Discipline

 Written discipline policy required.
 Copy to staff.
 Copy to parents.

 Policy must specify age        
appropriate discipline.

8140 
8146

65

Discipline

Staff must use positive 
methods that encourage:
 Self-control.
 Self-direction.
 Self-esteem.
 Cooperation.

8140

66

Discipline

No:
 Hitting, spanking, shaking, biting, pinching, corporal 

punishment.
 Restricting child’s movement by binding or tying.
 Inflicting mental or emotional punishment, such as 

humiliating, shaming or threatening.
 Depriving a child of meals, snacks, rest, or toilet use.
 Confining a child in an enclosed area, such as a closet, locked 

room, box, or similar cubicle.
 Excluding a child from outdoor play or other gross motor 

activities.
 Excluding a child from daily learning experiences.

8140
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Capacity and Use Areas

The center must:
 Assure the number of children in care 

does not exceed the licensed 
capacity.

 Maintain age ranges.
 Only use child use areas approved by 

licensing.

8110(5) 
8167(3)

68

Capacity and Use Areas

 Obtain approval from licensing before making 
any changes in the terms of the license, 
including but not limited to:
 Adding use space.
 Changing age groups served.
 Changing program components.
 Changing the capacity of the center.
 Making changes to a room or well-defined space 

that will result in a change in capacity of the room 
or well-defined space.

 Use the Request for Modification 
(BCAL-5054) form to request changes.

8110(10)
8167(3)

69

Ratios

Group Age Ratio

Infant and Toddler Birth until 30 months 1:4

Preschool 30 months until 3 years 1:8

Preschool 3 years 1:10

Preschool 4 years until school-age 1:12

School Age Eligible to attend 
kindergarten until 13 years 1:18

8182

70

Ratios

 If there are children of mixed ages in the same room 
or well-defined space, ratio and group size is 
determined by age of youngest child.

 At least 2 adults, 1 who is a caregiver, required when 3 
or more children aged birth to 3 years are present. A 
second caregiver is required when needed to comply 
with caregiver-to-child ratios.

 At least 2 adults, 1 who is a caregiver, required when 7 
or more children are present. A second caregiver is 
required when needed to comply with caregiver-to-
child ratios.

*Remember: These apply also when taking children off 
the premises.

8182

71

Ratios

When developmentally appropriate and with written 
parental permission:
 Children who have reached 33 months of age may be 

enrolled in a 3-year-old classroom. 
 Children who have reached 45 months of age may, 

be enrolled in a 4-year-old classroom. 
 Children who have reached 57 months of age but 

who are not considered a school-ager may be 
enrolled in a school-age classroom. 

The ratios for the classroom age the child is enrolled in 
apply.

8182

72

Group Size

Group Ages Group Size

Infants & 
Toddlers Birth until 30 months 12

Preschoolers 30 months until 3 years 16

8182

Group size is the specified number of children 
assigned to a caregiver or team of caregivers 
occupying an individual classroom or well-
defined space for each group within a larger 
room.
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Group Size
 Well-defined space can be created by:
 Placement of moveable room dividers (fire 

safety approved).
 Equipment, shelves, floor coverings.

 Each well-defined space must:
 Meet the square footage requirements for 

the maximum number of children in the 
group.

 Have adequate equipment for the children 
using that space.

8182

74

Indoor Space

 Center must have at least: 
 50 sq. ft. per child aged birth until 30 months.
 35 sq. ft. per child aged 30 months and older.

 Indoor space square footage does not include:
 Hallways.
 Bathrooms and kitchens.
 Storage areas and cloakrooms.
 Areas used exclusively for resting, sleeping or 

eating – except for infants and toddlers.
 Floor plan of child use areas required.

8167

75

Equipment

Equipment must be:
 Varied.
 Appropriate to the developmental needs and 

interests of children.
 Safe, clean and in good

repair.
 Child-sized or 

appropriately adapted
for a child’s use.

 Easily accessible.

8173

76

Equipment
The center must have:
 3 playspaces per child in licensed capacity.
 2 playspaces per child accessible at any one time.
A playspace is a piece or pieces of equipment that one 
child can use independently for 15 minutes.

8173

Type of Equipment Number of Playspaces

3 puzzles 1 

2-4 small cars/trucks 1

3 books 1

Dramatic play area 2-4, depending on 
equipment and space

Board game 2-4

Sensory table 2-4

77

Equipment

Children must have access to equipment and 
materials in the following areas on a daily basis:

 Large and small muscle activity.
 Sensory exploration.
 Social interaction and dramatic play.
 Discovery and exploration.
 Early math and science experiences.
 Creative experiences through art, music 

and literature.

8173

78

Equipment

 A first aid kit must be readily accessible to 
staff in the center.

 Trampolines are prohibited.

8173



Child Care Center Rules Orientation

14

79

Program 

 A typical daily routine must be posted in a place 
visible to parents.

 Program must include daily learning 
experiences appropriate to the developmental 
level of the children and designed to develop:
 Physical development.
 Social development.
 Emotional development.
 Cognitive development.

8179(2) & (6)

80

Program 

The program must be planned to provide a 
flexible balance of all of the following 
experiences:
 Quiet and active.
 Individual and groups.
 Large and small muscle.
 Child initiated and staff initiated.

8179(3)

81

Program 

Provide opportunities for children to:
 Feel successful and develop 

independence.
 Be creative.
 Practice social interaction 

skills.
 Learn new ideas and skills.
 Participate in imaginative play.
 Be physically active.

8179(4)

82

Program 

Provide opportunities for children to participate in 
developmentally appropriate language and literacy 
experiences, such as:

 Looking at books with children.
 Reading (individually, in groups, during story time, etc.).
 Felt board stories.
 Show and tell and circle time.
 Verbal interactions.
 Singing and other music experiences.
 Playing games.
 Writing activities.
 Dramatic play activities.
 Finger plays.

8179(4)

83

Program 

Provide opportunities for children to 
participate in early math and science 
experiences, such as:
 Counting.
 Sorting, classifying and sequencing.
 Baking/cooking activities.
 Setting the table, folding laundry.
 Matching games and puzzles.
 Water and sand play.
 Sensory activities.
 Exploring the outdoor environment.

8179(4)

84

Program 

In order to meet a child’s identified needs 
when caring for children with special 
needs, the center must work with:
 Parents.
 Medical personnel.
 Other professionals.

8179(11)
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Media Use

 Media, interactive media and non-
interactive media are defined.

 Use of media is prohibited for children 
under 2 years of age.

8179(1) & (8)

Media Use

When media are used with children 2 years of 
age and older:
 Use of non-interactive media must not exceed 2 

hours per week per child.
 Interactive media must be used to support learning 

and to expand children’s access to content.
 Media must be suitable to the age of the child in 

terms of content and length of use per session.
 Media with violent/adult content are not permitted.
 Other activities must be available during media use.

8179(9)

Media Use

Exemptions to media requirements 
include:
 Use by school-age children for 

academic and educational 
purposes.

 Use by children who use 
assistive and adaptive 
technology.

8179(10)

88

Quiet/Nap Time 

 Children under 18 months must be allowed to sleep 
on demand.

 The center must provide naptime or quiet time when 
children under school-age are in attendance 5 or more 
continuous hours.

 The center must provide opportunities to rest for 
children under age 3 regardless of the number of 
hours in care.

 Quiet activities must be provided for children who do 
not fall asleep.

 Adequate soft lighting needed to allow the caregiver 
to assess children.

8188

89

Sleeping Equipment 
 Cots or mats and a sheet or blanket are 

required:
 For all toddlers and preschoolers under age 3 (unless 

a crib/porta-crib is used instead).
 For each child 3 years and older enrolled for 5 or 

more continuous hours.
 For any child who regularly naps.
 For any child upon a parent’s request.

 If in care for more than 1 hour
between the 11 pm and 6 am, 
a bed and mattress of appropriate size is 
required for each child in care.

8176
8191

90

Sleeping Equipment 
 All sleeping equipment and bedding must be washed, 

rinsed and sanitized:
 When soiled.
 Between uses by different children.
 At least weekly regardless of use by different 

children.
 When sleeping equipment and bedding are stored:

 Sleeping surfaces must not come in contact with 
other sleeping surfaces. Mats may be stacked only if 
they are sanitized prior to each use.

 Bedding must not come in contact with other 
bedding.

 Cots and mats must be spaced at least 18” apart to 
provide free and direct means of egress.

8176
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Program - Outdoor Play

Daily outdoor play required for children 
in care for more than 3 continuous 
hours, including infants, unless:

 Inclement weather.
 Other weather conditions           that 

could result in children 
becoming overheated or 
excessively chilled.

8170(3)

92

Outdoor Play Area

 At least 1,200 sq. feet required.
 More than 1,200 may be required 

if the area is not large enough    
to accommodate the number      
of children in the center.

 If outdoor play area is not 
available adjacent to the   
center, an alternate location 
may be used with       
department approval.

8170(4) & (5)

93

Outdoor Play Area

 Outdoor play area and equipment 
must be maintained in a safe 
condition and inspected daily.

Outdoor play area must 
be protected from 
hazards, when necessary, 
by fence or natural 
barrier that is at least 48” 
high.

8170

94

Outdoor Play Area

 Shaded areas available
to protect children from
excessive sun exposure,
when necessary.

 If used, there must be 
suitable surfaces for 
wheeled vehicles and                      
pull toys.

 Equipment must be age-appropriate.

8170

Outdoor Play Area

For centers licensed after January 1, 2014 or 
any center that alters or adds equipment to an 
outdoor play area after January 1, 2014, the 
equipment & surfacing materials in the outdoor 
play area must comply with the guidelines of 
the 2010 Edition of the Handbook for Public 
Playground Safety. 
 Includes equipment for children under age 2.
 Can’t have residential climbing equipment for 

children under age 2.

8170

Playgrounds

Centers licensed prior to January 2, 2014:
 Were required to obtain documentation of 

compliance with the 1997 Edition of the 
Handbook for Public Playground Safety for 
equipment for children age 2 and older. 

 Can continue to use residential climbing 
equipment for children under the age of 2 but 
cannot add new residential climbing equipment 
for this age group.

8170
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Playgrounds

Compliance with this rule can be verified by:

 A written statement/certificate from the 
equipment manufacturer and installer.

 A report by a certified playground safety 
inspector.

 A written statement from the licensee that 
the equipment will not be used if 
verification of compliance with the 
handbook cannot be produced.

8170

Playground

 All pieces of playground equipment must be 
surrounded by a shock-absorbing surface. This 
material may be either unitary or the loose-fill 
type as defined by the CPSC’s 2010 Edition of 
the Handbook for Public Playground Safety. (See 
chart in TA manual.)

 The depth of the loose-fill surface material must 
be restored to its required depth when it has 
moved or becomes otherwise compromised. 

 Loose-fill surfacing material must not be installed 
over concrete or asphalt. 

8170

Playground

 Natural playground defined:
 An outdoor play area that blends natural 

materials, features and vegetation.

 It may include items such as:
 Logs and stumps.
 Wood pieces, sticks.
 Trees, hills and grassy areas. 
 Gardens. 

8170

Playground

 Materials used on a natural playground must 
not be in the use zones for other playground 
equipment. 

 The elevated playing surface must not exceed 
30 inches. 

 Materials used with elevated playing surfaces 
must not be installed over concrete or asphalt. 

 Surfacing materials are not required under 
elevated playing surfaces. 

8170

101

Incident, Accident, Injury, 
Illness, Death, Fire Reporting

Verbal report to BCAL within 24 hours and written 
report to BCAL within 72 hours of the verbal 
report using Incident Report (BCAL-4605) if: 
 A child is lost or left unsupervised.
 An incident involving an allegation of inappropriate 

contact.
 The death of a child in care.
 A fire on the premises of the center that requires 

the use of fire suppression equipment or results
in loss of life or property.

 The center is evacuated for any reason (not 
including drills).

8158

102

Incident, Accident, Injury, 
Illness, Death, Fire Reporting

 Verbal report to BCAL within 24 hours of 
notification by a parent that a child 
received medical treatment or was 
hospitalized for an injury, accident or 
medical condition that occurred while the 
child was in care.

 Written report to BCAL within 72 hours of 
the verbal report using Incident Report 
(BCAL-4605).

8158
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Emergency Plans

Written procedures for:
 Fire.
 Tornado.
 Other natural or man-

made disasters.
 Serious accident, illness or 

injury.
 Crisis management                 

(including intruders                 
and bomb threats).

8161

Emergency Plans

Written emergency procedures must:
 Include a plan for evacuating and safely 

moving children to a relocation site. 
 Include a method for contacting parents 

and reuniting families.
 Include a plan for how each child with 

special needs will be accommodated 
during each type of emergency. 

8161

105

Emergency Plans

 Fire, tornado, other natural and man-made 
disaster and serious accident/illness/injury 
plans must be posted in a place visible to 
staff and parents.

 Crisis management plans must be in a 
place known and easily accessible to staff.

8161

106

Emergency Plans

 Each staff must be trained on his or her 
duties for all emergency procedures at 
least twice a year.

 Drills:
 Fire drills quarterly.
 Two tornado drills between April – October.

 Maintain a written log of all drills.
 If cribs are used in evacuations, doors 

within means of egress must be wide 
enough to accommodate crib evacuation.

8161

107

Telephone

 A land-line telephone must be available, 
operable and accessible in the 
building during the hours the 
center is in operation.

 When open, the center must        
provide a telephone number         
“known to the public and available to 
parents” to provide immediate access to 
center.

8164

108

Fire Safety
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 Plan review by the Bureau of Fire Services 
is required for proposed centers, 
additions, alterations, and remodeling.

 Projects with a total cost of $15,000 or 
more require sealed architectural plans.

Fire Safety

8510

110

Fire Safety

 Fire inspections by BFS or a QFI
required before issuance of original        
license and every 4 years thereafter
at renewal.

 Fuel-fired furnace and water heater   
inspections required at original             
licensure and every 2 years at renewal.

 Boilers must have current certification from 
LARA.

 Electric water heaters and electric heat 
(baseboard or forced air) do not require an 
inspection at renewal. 

8510

Fire Safety

New (fuel-fired and electric) furnace and 
water heater installations must be 
inspected:
 By LARA or the local mechanical 

inspecting authorities at the time of 
installation.

 By a QFI or BFS to ensure continued 
compliance with appropriate fire safety 
provisions of these rules. 

8510

112

Exiting

 For infants and toddlers, the travel 
distance must be 50 feet or less from 
the door of the room 
to the exit.

 For preschoolers and 
school-agers, the travel distance must 
be 100 feet or less from the door of the 
room to the exit.

8525(2)

113

Exiting

 Newly licensed centers with infant 
and toddlers must 
have exits with 
proper termination 
and within 30 inches
of grade or exits
properly ramped to 
grade.

8525(3)

114

Exiting

 When nighttime care is provided, the 
center must have exits with proper 
termination and within 30 inches of 
grade or exits properly ramped to 
grade.

8525(14)
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Exiting

 Exterior exits must be
identified with an exit sign.

 Exit signs must be:
 Distinctive in color.
 Have the word “EXIT” in letters at least 6 inches 

high on a background of contrasting color with 
strokes not less than ¾-inch wide.

 When nighttime care is provided, exit signs 
must be illuminated and emergency lighting 
provided at exits.

8525(13) & (15)

116

Hazard Areas

 The storage of combustible or 
flammable materials in a heating plant 
room or enclosure is prohibited.

 Combustible materials are items that 
will readily ignite when subjected to 
flame.

 Check TA manual for a list of 
combustible materials.

 Flammable gases, gasoline and 
gasoline-fired equipment are prohibited 
in the center without substantial fire 
resistive separation.  

8530

117

Hazard Areas

 Dryer vents must be metal and 
vented completely to the exterior.

 All appliances and equipment 
must be installed and maintained 
to manufacturer’s specifications.

 Centers must be kept free of all 
conditions that constitute a fire 
safety hazard.

8530

118

Fire Safety
 If any fuel-fired heating system, carbon monoxide 

detectors are required on all levels approved for child use 
and in each use area covered by a different furnace zone .

 2A – 10BC rated fire extinguishers:

 Required in or adjacent to the kitchen 
and heat plant room.

 Additional determined by BFS based on
size, capacity and other factors of the
center.

 Must be properly mounted, inspected 
and maintained.

 Must have a tag with the date of last 
inspection/service and initials of person performing
the service.

8540
8545

119

Fire Safety

 Electrical inspections may be required 
when warranted.

 Electrical outlets must be inaccessible to 
children under school age.

 Ground fault circuit interrupters required 
in outlets w/in 6 feet of sinks.

 If used, power strips must be equipped 
with surge protectors and must not be 
longer than 6 feet or be connected to 
another power strip.

8550

120

Fire Safety

 Combustible materials and decorations may 
be displayed on walls, not to exceed 20% 
of each wall in each room.

 Combustible materials and decorations 
suspended from or near the ceiling are 
prohibited.

 Does not include flame-proofed materials 
when documented with an affidavit. 

8520(14)
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Environmental Health

122

Inspections

Environmental health inspections by the local 
health department required: 
 Before issuance of original license and every 2 

years thereafter at renewal if: 
 The center has private well or septic.
 The center provides food service where food is 

prepared AND served on-site.
 Prior to adding a food service program.
 Prior to adding an infant/toddler program.
 When requested by the department.

8305

123

Premises

 Stairs, walkways, ramps, landings, 
and porches:
 Must have barriers/handrails if 

elevated.
 Must be maintained in a safe 

condition.

 Stairway steps must be no more than 8” in 
height with a minimum tread depth of 9”.

 Ramps must have a minimum rise-to-run 
ratio of 1 to 12.

8375

124

Heating & Temperature

 Indoor temp must be at least 65o F 
in child use areas.

 Measures must be taken to cool 
the children when temps exceed 82o F:
 Air conditioning.
 Fans inaccessible to children.
 Open screened windows.
 Draw blinds/drapes.
 Use dehumidifiers to lower the relative humidity.

 Temperatures must be taken 2 feet from the 
ground/floor.

8365

125

Light, Ventilation, Screens

 Adequate lighting (artificial 
or natural).
 Screens (at least 16 mesh) 

on windows and doors 
used for ventilation.
 Not required for programs 

operating in school buildings.

8370

126

Hand Washing Sinks

 Hand washing sinks must be accessible to 
children either: 
 By platform.
 Installed at children’s level.

 Warm, running water at sinks accessible to 
children.

 Water must not exceed 120o F.
 Soap and single service towels or other 

approved hand drying devices are required.

8350
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Hand Washing Sinks

After 12/6/2006, separate hand washing 
sink is required in the kitchen for:
 New centers with food service 

component.
 Existing centers with food service that 

remodel the kitchen.
 Any center that add a food service 

component.

8350(3)

128

Hand Washing Sinks

 1 toilet and 1 hand washing 
sink for every 15 children 
for full day programs.

 1 toilet and 1 hand washing 
sink for every 20 children when children 
are in attendance for less than 5 
continuous hours per day.

 Toilet rooms for school-age children 
must provide for privacy.

8350

129

Garbage and Refuse
 All garbage must be removed from the 

center daily.
 Garbage containers must be washed 

when soiled.
 Garbage stored outside must be in 

sealed plastic bags in watertight 
containers with tight-fitting covers 
or in a covered dumpster. 

 Outside garbage and refuse must be 
picked up or removed at a minimum of 
once a week. 

8360

130

Premises

 Premises must be maintained in a clean and safe 
condition and not pose a threat to health or 
safety.

 There must be no flaking or deteriorating paint 
on interior and exterior surfaces or equipment 
accessible to children.

 All of the following must be in sound condition 
and maintained in good repair:
 Roofs, exterior walls, doors, skylights, and 

windows.
 Floors, interior walls and ceilings.

8380

131

Premises

 Toilet room floor surfaces must be 
impervious to water, easily cleanable and 
maintained in good repair.

 Light fixtures, vent covers and  
wall-mounted fans must be 
easily cleanable and maintained 
in good repair.

8380

132

Maintenance of Premises

 Lead hazard risk assessment required on all
licensed centers built prior to 1978.

 Any identified lead hazards must be corrected.
 Verification of lead hazard

risk assessment must remain
on file at the center.

 Go to www.michigan.gov/leadsafe for list of 
certified lead risk assessors.

8380



Child Care Center Rules Orientation

23

133

Food Preparation and Storage

134

Food Services & Nutrition

 If the majority of children are in care 2.5 hours more, food 
must be provided unless parents provide food.
 Written agreement if parents providing food.
 The center must provide an adequate amount of formula, milk or 

food if the parent does not.

 A child must served meals and snacks as follows:
 Two and a half hours to 4 hours of operation: a minimum of 1 

snack.
 Four hours to 6 hours of operation: a minimum of 1 meal and 1 

snack.
 Seven hours to 10 hours of operation: a minimum of 1 meal and 

2 snacks or 2 meals and 1 snack.
 Eleven hours or more of operation: a minimum of 2 meals and 2 

snacks.

8330

135

Food Services & Nutrition

 Snacks and meals must meet the minimum meal 
requirements of the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program if provided by the center.
 Resources at www.michigan.gov/cacfp. 

 Children must not be deprived of snacks or meals.
 Planned, dated menus must be posted.

 Substitutions noted the day the substitution 
occurs.

 Adequate staffing to assure food service activities 
do not detract from direct care and
supervision of children.

8330
8335

136

 Beverages and food must be appropriate to each 
child’s individual nutritional requirements, 
developmental stages and specific dietary needs.

 A center must ensure a child with special dietary 
needs is provided with snacks and meals in 
accordance with the child’s needs and with the 
instructions of the child’s parent or licensed 
health care provider.

Food Services & Nutrition

8330

Food Services & Nutrition –
Provided by Parents

 “Same-day supply” means for use during a 
single day.

 Formula and other beverages may be provided 
in a same-day supply by parents in either:
 A larger container that the center can pour into 

clean and sanitary bottles.
 Clean, sanitary, ready-to-feed bottles or beverage 

containers.
 Any food or beverages furnished in a same-day 

supply must be returned to the parent at the 
end of the day or discarded.

8340

Food Services & Nutrition –
Provided by Parents

 Breast milk, formula, milk, other beverages, and 
food furnished in a same-day supply must be 
covered and labeled with the child’s first and last 
name and the date.
 If a parent packages a child’s beverages and/or 

food for a single meal or snack in a larger 
container, such as a lunch bag, just the larger 
container has to be labeled with the child’s name 
and the date. Each individual item in the larger 
container does not have to be labeled with the 
child’s name and the date. 

 Beverages and food must be fed to the intended 
child.

8340
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Food Services & Nutrition –
Provided by Parents

 “Multi-day supply” means for use over a 
multiple day period, up to 7 days.

 Milk, other beverages and non-perishable 
food may be in a multi-day supply in 
unopened commercial containers.

 Milk and other beverages in a multi-day 
supply must be: 
 Labeled with child’s full name.
 Date of opening.
 Returned to parents or discarded within 7 days.

8340 Food Services & Nutrition –
Provided by Parents

 Breast milk, formula and milk must be 
refrigerated until used.

 Other perishable beverages and food 
items must be refrigerated or otherwise 
kept at a safe temperature until used.

8340

141

 If food, bottles or beverage containers are 
warmed, then the warming must be done in a 
safe, appropriate manner.
 Warming bottles and beverage containers in a 

microwave oven is prohibited. Bottles and beverage 
containers can be warmed: 
 Under running warm tap water.
 By placing the bottle in a container of water.
 In a bottle warmer made specifically for this purpose.

 Warmed food, bottles and beverage containers 
must shaken or stirred to distribute the heat and 
the temperature must be tested before feeding. 

Food Services & Nutrition –
Generally

8330

142

 Discard bottle or beverage 
container contents that:
 Appear unsanitary.
 Have been used for a feeding 

period exceeding 1 hour.
 Have been unrefrigerated for more than 1 

hour.
 Formula and milk, including breast milk, 

left in a bottle or beverage container after 
a feeding must not be reused.

Food Services & Nutrition –
Generally

8330

143

 A center must make water available to 
drink throughout the day to children 1 
year of age and older.

 Children are not allowed to have beverage 
containers or food while they are walking 
around or playing.
 This doesn’t prohibit the center from taking 

water bottles outside during outdoor play as 
long as children are standing still or sitting 
when they drink.

Food Services & Nutrition –
Generally

8330

144

 Uneaten food that remains on a dish from 
which a child has been fed must be 
discarded.

 Food, already served and handled by the 
consumer of the food, may not be served 
again, unless it is in the original, unopened 
wrapper.

 Home canned products are prohibited.

Food Services & Nutrition –
Centers Provide Food

8335
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Food Services & Nutrition –
Centers Provide Food

 All fluid milk and fluid milk products must be 
pasteurized and meet the grade “A” quality 
standards.

 Milk may be served from commercially filled 
containers of 1 gallon or less or
from a bulk milk dispenser.

 Milk may be poured directly into 
a sanitized container for 
“family-style” meals.

 Milk must be labeled with 
date opened.

8335

146

Food Services & Nutrition –
Centers Provide Food

 Milk must be served within 7 days of 
opening. 

 Partially filled containers must not be 
combined.

 Milk must not be served if it appears 
unsanitary or has been unrefrigerated for a 
period exceeding 1 hour.

 Contents of milk in single-service containers 
must be discarded after snacks or meals.

8335

147

Food Preparation Areas
 Food must be free from spoilage, filth or 

other contamination and be safe for 
human consumption.

 Carpeting prohibited in food prep areas.
 Food contact surfaces must be:

 Smooth.
 Nontoxic.
 Easily cleanable.
 Durable.
 Corrosion resistant.
 Non-absorbent.

8310

148

Food Preparation Areas
 Mechanical ventilation to the outside 

required for commercial cooking 
equipment.

 Residential hood ventilation system 
permitted when cooking equipment is 
limited to a residential stove and oven 
combination

 Deep fryers are prohibited.
 Live animals prohibited in food 

preparation and eating areas.

8310

149

Food & Equipment Storage

 Lighting fixtures near food areas must 
be properly shielded.

 Refrigerators must be maintained at 
41o F or below.

 Accurate thermometer 
required in refrigerator.

8315

150

Food & Equipment Storage

 Unpackaged bulk foods must be:
 Stored in clean, covered containers.
 Dated.
 Labeled as to contents.

 Food not requiring further washing or 
cooking before serving must be stored 
so that it is protected from foods 
requiring washing or cooking.

 Packaged food must not be stored in 
contact with water or undrained ice.

8315
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Food & Equipment Storage

 Food, food service equipment and 
utensils must not be:
 Located under exposed or unprotected 

sewer lines, open stairwells or other 
sources of contamination.

 Stored in toilet rooms.

 Food and utensils must be stored at 
least 6 inches above the floor.

8315

152

Food & Equipment Storage

Meals that are transported must be:
 Prepared in commercial kitchens.
 Delivered in carriers approved 

by the local health department.

8315

153

Food Preparation

 Food must be prepared on food grade 
surfaces that have been washed, rinsed and 
sanitized. 

 Staff must minimize bare-hand contact with 
foods that will be cooked. 

 Ready to eat foods must not be prepared or 
served using bare hands.

8320

154

Food Preparation

 Raw fruits and vegetables must be 
thoroughly washed before cooked or served.

 Foods must be cooked to heat all parts to 
safe temperatures based on Michigan Food 
Code.
 Contact local Health Department and refer to 

TA manual.

 Accurate metal stem-type food 
thermometers are required to assure 
proper temperatures.

8320

155

Food Preparation
Methods to thaw potentially hazardous foods:
 In the refrigerator at a temperature not to 

exceed 41o F.
 Under cold running water.
 In the microwave:

 Immediately transfer food to conventional 
cooking facilities as part of the continuous 
cooking process.

 For the entire cooking process.
 As part of the conventional cooking process.

8320

156

Food Preparation

 Except during preparation, potentially 
hazardous foods must be:
 41o F or below.
 135o F or above.

 Potentially hazardous foods that have 
been cooked and then refrigerated 
must be reheated rapidly to 165o F or 
higher throughout before serving or 
placing in a hot food storage facility.

8320
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Food Preparation

On field trips:
 All foods must be protected from 

contamination at all times as required 
by 8320(1) – (10).

 If proper hand washing facilities are 
not available, sanitary disposable food 
service gloves must be used by staff 
preparing and serving food.

8320

158

Sanitization

 All dishes, utensils, food contact surfaces and 
food service equipment must be washed, 
rinsed and sanitized after each use.

 Multi-purpose tables must be thoroughly 
washed, rinsed and sanitized before and after 
they are used for meals or snacks.

 Enamelware utensils are prohibited.
 Single-service articles must not be reused.
 Sponges must not be used in a food service 

operation.

8325

159

Sanitization

Options for dishwashing:
 Commercial dishwasher.
 Domestic dishwasher with 

sanitizing capability.
 3-compartment sink with drain boards

 Wash, rinse, sanitize.
 2-compartment sink with drain boards 

(wash & rinse) and a third container for 
complete submersion (sanitizing).

8325(4)

160

Sanitization

 Sanitizing options when manually 
washing dishes:
 Immersion in clean, hot water (at least 

170o F) for at least 30 seconds.
 Immersion in solution (50-100 parts per 

million of chlorine or comparable sanitizing 
agent) of at least 75o F for at least 1 
minute. Test strips must be used. 

 Air dry after sanitizing.

8325(5)

161

Child Care Licensing Updates
Go to www.michigan.gov/michildcare for:

 Information for providers and parents.

 Child care center rules. 

 Technical assistance manual.                               
(It is recommended that this not
be printed out because it is                             
updated often.)

 Forms and publications.

 Resources.

 Sign up for electronic e-mail notifications via 
GovDelivery.

162

Infant/Toddler 
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Caregiver Training

 Infant Safe Sleep & Shaken Baby 
Syndrome training required for infant 
and toddler caregivers prior to caring 
for that age children.

 Training resources at 
www.michigan.gov/michildcare, 
including free online training on 
Infant Safe Sleep.

8131(2)

164

Primary Care

Primary caregiver means the caregiver to whom 
the care of a specific infant or toddler is assigned. 
The primary caregiver is responsible for:
 Direct care.
 Verbal and physical 

interactions.
 Primary responses to the 

child’s physical and emotional needs.
 Continued interaction with the child’s parents 

regarding the child’s experiences.

8185

165

Primary Care

 All infants and 
toddlers must have                             
a primary caregiver.

 No more than 4                           
primary caregivers allowed for a child in 
a week, excluding the first hour after 
the center opens and the hour before 
closing.

8182

166

Primary Care

 Child information must be 
shared daily between 
primary caregivers.

 Primary caregiver 
assignments must be 
documented and provided 
to parents.

8185

167

Confining Equipment

 When awake, use of confining equipment 
for infants must be minimized, not to 
exceed 30 minutes at a time.
 Confining equipment means equipment used 

to assist in caring for infants and includes, but 
is not limited to, swings, stationary activity 
centers, infant seats, and molded seats.

8179(7)

168

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

8176

Many of the rules/guidelines for 
sleeping infants are: 
 Based on the American Academy of 

Pediatrics recommendations.
 In place to reduce the risk of infant 

death. 
 In 2013, 149* infants died in Michigan 

due to unsafe sleep environments.
 Several infants die each year in child 

care due to unsafe sleep environments. 

*Preliminary number
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 Infants must sleep alone in approved 
cribs or porta-cribs.

 Toddlers must sleep alone in:
 Cribs or porta-cribs.
 Cots.
 Mats.

 Pack-n-plays or soft-sided portable cribs 
are not allowed for sleeping.

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

8176
8188

170

 Cribs must have:
 Firm, tight-fitting waterproof mattress, with tightly fitting 

sheet.
 Slats no more than 2 3/8” apart.
 No corner posts over 1/16” high.
 No cutout designs in headboard or footboard.

 All occupied cribs, porta-cribs, cots, and mats must be 
placed in such a manner that there is a free and direct 
means of egress and spaced as follows:
 Cribs and porta-cribs at least 2 feet apart. Cribs or porta-

cribs with solid-panel ends may be placed end-to-end.
 Cots and mats at least 18 inches apart.

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

8176
8188

171

Since June 28, 2011, all full-size and non-full-size baby 
cribs sold in the U.S. are required to be manufactured 
to comply with new federal standards.
 It is presumed that cribs manufactured on or after 

June 28, 2011 comply with the new standards. Check 
the tracking label or registration form on the crib to 
ensure the crib was manufactured after June 28, 
2011.

 If the crib was manufactured prior to June 28, 2011, a 
Children’s Product Certificate (CPC) or test report is 
needed. See the TA manual.

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

8176

172

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

8176

 Blankets must not be draped over 
cribs when in use.

 Soft objects, including pillows, 
comforters, blankets, bumper pads, 
and stuffed  toys are not permitted in 
cribs.

 Swaddle sacks and blankets (for 
infants four months or younger) and 
sleep sacks are permissible.

173

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

 Car seats, infant swings, bouncy seats, 
bassinets, and playpens are not               
approved sleeping equipment.

 Stacking cribs are 
prohibited.

8176

174

Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

 Children under 18 months must be allowed 
to sleep on demand.

 Infants must be placed on their backs for 
sleep or rest.

 Infants unable to roll from their stomach to 
back and back to stomach must be placed 
on their backs when found face-down in 
their cribs.

 Infants who can roll over both ways must 
be initially placed on their back, but then 
allowed to adopt whatever position they 
prefer to sleep.

8188
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Infant/Toddler 
Sleeping Requirements

 An infant’s breathing, sleep position and 
bedding must be monitored frequently for 
possible signs of distress.

 Video surveillance equipment and baby 
monitors can supplement but not replace 
direct supervision.

8188

176

 Centers must support and 
accommodate breastfeeding.
 Have a designated place set

aside for breastfeeding mothers to use.
 A rocking chair or other comfortable, 

adult-sized seating must be 
provided for 50% of the 
caregiving staff on duty who 
are providing infant and 
toddler care.

Seating

8173
8330

177

Foods that may easily cause choking must 
not be served, these include:
 Popcorn.
 Seeds.
 Nuts.
 Hard candy.
 Uncut round foods (grapes, hot dogs, etc.)

Infant/Toddler Feeding

8330

178

 Infants and toddlers must be feed on 
demand.

 Caregivers must hold infants when feeding 
them a bottle unless the infant resists being 
held and can hold his/her own bottle.

 Bottle propping is prohibited.
 Bottles, beverage containers,

or food is not allowed in 
sleeping equipment.

Infant/Toddler Feeding

8330

179

Centers must foster a toddler’s 
independence, language 
development and social 
interactions by:
 Encouraging self-feeding.
 Serving appropriate portion sizes
 Sitting and eating with toddlers at meals.

Infant/Toddler Feeding

8330(22)

180

 Formula must be commercially prepared, 
ready-to-feed.

 All containers of ready-to-feed formula, once 
opened, must be labeled with the date and 
time of opening, refrigerated and used within 
48 hours or discarded.

 Prepared bottles and beverage containers of 
milk and formula must be refrigerated and 
labeled with the child’s name, date and time 
of preparation.

Infant and Toddler Feeding -
Center Provides Formula and Food

8335
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 Contents of unused bottles of formula must 
be discarded, along with any bottle liners, 
after 48 hours.

 All liners, nipples, formula, milk, and other 
materials used in bottle preparation must be 
prepared, handled and stored in a sanitary 
manner.

 Reusable nipples and bottles must be 
washed, rinsed and sanitized before reuse.

Infant and Toddler Feeding -
Center Provides Formula and Food

8335

182

 Bottle liners and disposable nipples are for 
single use only, by an individual child and 
must be discarded with any remaining 
formula or milk after use.

 Commercially packaged baby food must be 
served from a dish, not directly from a 
factory-sealed container, unless the entire 
container will be served to only 1 child and 
will be discarded at the end of the feeding 
period.

Infant and Toddler Feeding -
Center Provides Formula and Food

8335

183

 Solid foods must be introduced to an infant 
according to the parent’s or licensed health care 
provider’s instructions. 

 Cereal may only be added to a bottle or beverage 
container with written parental permission.

 Infants must only be served formula to drink 
unless written authorization is provided by the 
child’s licensed health care provider.

 Children 12 months of age until 2 years of age 
must be served whole homogenized Vitamin D-
fortified cow’s milk, except as provided in 
R 400.8330(4).

Infant and Toddler Feeding -
Center Provides Formula and Food

8335

184

Infant & Toddler Records

Parents must receive a daily 
written record of:
 Food intake – time, type of 

food and amount eaten.
 Sleeping patterns – when & 

how long a child slept.
 Elimination patterns.
 Developmental milestones.
 Changes in a child’s usual 

behavior.

8146(3)

185

Designated Diapering Area
 Physically separated from food 

preparation and service areas. 
 Close to a sink used 

exclusively for hand washing.
 Have a non-absorbent, easily cleanable 

surface in good repair.
 Be sturdy, with railings or barriers.
 Adult work surface height.
 Wash, rinsed and sanitized after each use.

8137

186

Diapering

8137

Children 1 year of age and older may be difficult to 
lift onto a changing table so they may be changed 
in the bathroom and either be changed:
 Standing up. 
 On non-absorbent, easily cleaned and 

sanitized surface with a changing pad 
between the child and the surface. 
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Diapering
 Single-use, disposable wipes or other  

single-use cleaning cloths must be used.
 Diapering not permitted on any sleep 

surface.
 Disposable gloves permitted but not 

required.
 Diapering guidelines must be               

posted in diapering area.
 Rinsing cloth diapers/training               

pants not permitted.

8137

188

Hand Washing Sinks

The diapering area with a readily 
accessible, designated hand washing sink 
was required after December 6, 2006 for 
any center that:
 Is new.
 Adds an infant/toddler component.
 Increases the licensed infant/toddler 

capacity.

8350(2)

189

Toilet Learning

The following may be used for toilet learning:
 Adult-sized toilets with:

 Safe, easily cleaned modified toilet seats.
 Step aids.

 Child-sized toilets.
 Potty chairs provided they are:

 Easily cleaned and sanitized.
 Used only in a bathroom area.
 Used over surfaces impervious to moisture.
 Washed, rinsed and sanitized after each use.

8137(11)

190

School-Age 

191

Multi-Site School-Age 
Program Director

A school-age program director with a bachelors 
degree in a child-related field may oversee up 
to 3 sites.
 Each program must operate less than 6 

hours/day.
 The program director must be

available to the site supervisor
during all hours of operation.

 The program director must be 
at each site for at least 1 session/week.

8116

192

Multi-Site School-Age Programs

Each site must have a site supervisor 
with the following qualifications:
 19 years old.
 High school diploma/GED.
 480 hours (3 months full time) 

experience as a caregiver in a
school-age program.

 15 clock hours, 1 semester hour or 1.5 
CEUs of school-age training.

8119(2)
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Multi-Site School-Age Programs
 Site supervisor must be present at the site during all 

hours of operation.
 Site supervisors are responsible for the daily 

operation and implementation of the site program, 
supervision of the site staff and overall care and 
supervision of children.

 Site supervisors must assist the program director in:
 Developing, implementing and evaluating program and 

center policies.
 Administering day-to-day operations, including being 

available to address parent, child and staff issues.
 Monitoring and overseeing staff.

8119

194

School-Age Program

 A school-age program must supplement 
the areas of development not regularly    

provided for during the school 
day.

8179(5)

195

School-Age Health Records

Signed statement from parent at 
enrollment and annually thereafter:
 Child is in good health – restrictions 

noted.
 Immunizations are up-to-date.
 Immunization record or waiver 

is on file at the child’s school.

8143(8)

196

Transportation

197

Transportation

 When parents make                    
private arrangements                      
for transportation,
these rules do not 
apply.

 All of the transportation                
rules apply when centers provide, 
contract or sponsor transportation.

8710

198

Transportation

When public or public school 
transportation is used only 
the following rules apply:
 R 400.8760 - Ratios.
 R 400.8770 - Time limit 

on child transit. 
 R 400.8149 - Parent 

permission for 
transportation.

8710
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Transportation

 Volunteer vehicles are those
not owned by, leased by
or registered to:
 Child care center.
 Director of the child care center.
 Employee of the child care center.

 These rules apply to volunteer vehicles 
except as noted.

8701(h)

200

Motor Vehicles
 Vans with a seating capacity of 11 or 

more are prohibited.
 Motor vehicles must be in safe operating 

condition.
 Statement that vehicle complies with

MI vehicle code safety requirements must 
be on file.

8720

XYZ Child Care

201

Motor Vehicles
 All motor vehicles, except multifunction school 

activity buses and school buses, must be inspected 
annually by a licensed mechanic and the inspection 
on file. 

 Centers that use multifunction school activity buses 
and school buses must:
 Contact the MSP to determine if MSP will conduct an 

inspection under the Pupil Transportation Act. Keep the 
MSP inspection on file.

 If not, obtain an inspection by a licensed mechanic and 
keep the inspection on file.

 Inspections aren’t required for volunteer vehicles.

8720

202

Safety Equipment

All vehicles must have:
 3 bi-directional reflective triangles properly 

cased and stored in the vehicle. 
 Volunteer vehicles are exempt from this 

requirement.

 A first aid kit securely stored in an accessible 
location in the driver compartment.

8730

203

Safety Equipment

Vehicles with a seating capacity of more than 10 
must have the following in the driver’s 
compartment:
 3 15-minute fusees (flares) or an approved 

battery operated substitute properly cased.
 Mounted fire extinguisher (at least 

2A-10BC).

8730

204

Restraint Devices

 Each child being transported must remain 
seated and properly restrained by a passenger 
restraint device in good working condition.

 Children transported on a school-bus or 
multifunction school activity bus are exempt 
from passenger restraint device requirements.

8740
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Restraint Devices

 Michigan law requires that children up to age 8 
or under 4’9” must be properly buckled in an 
age appropriate child safety seat/booster seat 
while riding in a motor vehicle.

 Check with the Michigan State Police 
department to verify the appropriate Child 
Safety Restraint System.
 Resources at www.michigan.gov/msp.

8740

206

Motor Vehicle Operator
Drivers must:
 Be at least 18 years old.
 Possess a valid operator or chauffeur’s license with 

the appropriate endorsement.
 Have less than 6 active points on driving record.
 Provide a copy of driving record obtained annually 

from the Secretary of State.
 Resources at www.michigan.gov/sos.

 Have proof of valid insurance and registration.

8750

207

Motor Vehicle Operator

 Documents must be on file at center.
 Self-certifying statement for         

volunteer drivers is acceptable. 
 BCAL-5046 may be used.

8750

208

Transportation -
Ratios and Supervision

Transportation caregiver-to-child ratios:
 Infants and toddlers - 1:4. Driver does not count 

in the ratio. 
 Preschoolers under 3 - 1:8. Driver does not 

count in the ratio.
 3 year olds - 1:10. Driver may count in the ratio.
 4 year olds - 1:12. Driver may count in the ratio.
 School-agers - 1:18. Driver may count in the 

ratio. 
* Ratios do not apply to children not part of the 
center transported with center children by a school. 

8760

209

Transportation -
Ratios and Supervision

To count in transportation ratio, additional 
staff or volunteers must be:
 At least 16 years old.
 Seated with the children.
 Responsible for the supervision of 

children.

8760(2)

210

 Children must be received from 
vehicle by a staff person, a 
parent or other person 
designated by the parent.

 Children must not be left 
unattended in a motor vehicle.

 Children under school-age 
must be carried or helped 
into and out of the vehicle.

8760(3)Transportation -
Ratios and Supervision
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Time Limits on Transit

 Children under school age must not 
be in a motor vehicle for more than 1 
continuous hour.

 Rest breaks are not permitted as a way to 
comply with this rule.

8770

212

Parent Permission

 Written permission must be obtained 
annually for routine transportation.

 Written permission for any 
transportation not considered routine 
must be obtained prior to each trip. 

 Must be kept on file at 
the center.

8146
8149

213

Child Care Licensing Updates
Go to www.michigan.gov/michildcare for:
 Information for providers and parents.

 Child care center rules. 

 Technical assistance manual.                               
(It is recommended that this not
be printed out because it is                             
updated often.)

 Forms and publications.

 Resources.

 Sign up for electronic e-mail notifications via 
GovDelivery.


