
Background:

Michigan lawmakers passed the Safe Delivery of Newborns 
law to end the tragedy of unwanted newborns being hidden 
and left to die in unsafe places. More than 100 newborns 
were surrendered in the fi rst 10 years the law was in ef-
fect, with the majority of these infants adopted by loving 
families. 

What the law provides?

 • Unharmed newborns, up to 72 hours old, can be taken to  
  an Emergency Service Provider (ESP), meaning a 
  uniformed or otherwise identifi ed employee or contractor  
  of a fi re department, hospital or police station who is   
  inside the building and on duty. ESP includes a paramedic  
  or EMT when either responds to a 9-1-1 call. The parent(s)  
  has the choice to leave the infant without giving any   
  identifying information to the ESP.

 • The ESP is authorized to accept the infant and provide  
  whatever care may be necessary.

 • The ESP will make a reasonable effort to provide the   
  parent(s) with the following information:

 1. A written statement of the parent’s rights following 
  surrender of the infant.

 2. Information about other confi dential infant placement  
  options, as well as information about the availability 
  of  confi dential medical and counseling services, such as  
  Public Health, Community Mental Health, Family 
  Planning Clinics, Adoptions Agencies.

What are the rights of the surrendering parent?

 • To be informed that by surrendering the newborn, the   
  parent is releasing the newborn to a child placing agency  
  to be placed for adoption.

 • To petition the court to regain custody of the newborn  
  within 28 days of surrender or notice of surrender.

 • Any information the parent(s) provides the ESP will not be  
  made public.

 • A criminal investigation shall not   
  be initated solely on the basis of a  
  newborn being surrendered to an ESP.

 • To fi le a consent to release identifying  
  information with the Adoption Central  
  Registry.

FACT Sheet

SAFE. LEGAL. ANONYMOUS.

Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

Michigan’s



What happens to the baby?

 • After the child’s medical status is assessed and any 
  urgent medical needs are met, the newborn is placed 
  under the temporary custody of the court in an 
  approved pre-adoptive family.

 • After the 28-day period for the parent(s) to petition   
  the court for custody elapses, there will be a public   
  hearing to terminate parental rights.

 • There will be a public notice of this hearing, and 
  the notice will not contain the parent’s name, even 
  if known.

 • The parent will not receive personal notice of this   
  hearing, even if the parent(s) has provided a name 
  and address to the ESP.

 • The infant will be placed for adoption as soon as   
  parental rights have been legally terminated.

Can the parent provide background information?

Yes! Defi nitely, yes. The ESP will make a reasonable attempt 
to offer the parent(s) the opportunity to:

 1. Identify herself/himself and the other parent.

 2. Provide information about prenatal care.

 3. Provide the family medical history and any history 
  of parental substance abuse.

 4. Sign a release of parental rights.

 5. Receive information about confi dential medical care   
  she may need herself.

For more information call:

Toll-Free: 1–866–733–7733

Cost: $1,908.01 ($.04 ea.)
Quantity:  50,000

Authority: DHS Director

Department of Human Services (DHS) will not discriminate against any 
individual or group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, 
height, weight, marital status, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or 
expression, political beliefs or disability. If you need help with reading, writing, 
hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you are invited to 
make your needs known to a DHS offi ce in your area.
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