STATE OF MICHIGAN
RICK SNYDER DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES : NICK LYON
GOVERNOR © LANSING . INTERIM.DIRECTOR

.March 4,.2015

Ms. Lisa Hicks
3596 Harper Rd
Mason, M| 48854

Re: License DG330345401

Dear Ms. Hicks:

On or about January 14, 2015 you were certified mailed a copy of the Department of Human
Services’ Notice of Intent to revoke your license to operate a group child care home. In
accordance with that notice, and because you did not exercise your right of appeal, your license
has been revoked effective February 28, 2015. It is further understood that you will not receive
children for care now, or in the future, without being properly licensed.

Sincerely,

-,

/ Je?@-H
“._ Child"Care Licensing Division
‘Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

JH:kam

cc:  Ailene Buchtrup, Licensing Supervisor
Maureen McNamara, Licensing Consultant

Certified Mail- Return Receipt Requested.

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing )
201 North Washington Square, Victor Building, 4'" Floor «+ P.O. BOX 30037 » LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909 -
www.michigan.gov/dhs « {(517) 284-9740 i
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- State of Michigan o,
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES fg ‘ z
% BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING ‘S\*?afm'ﬁ
RlCK SNYDER NICK LYON
GOVERNOR - INTERIM DIRECTOR

January 14, 2015

Lisa Hicks .
3596 Harper Road
Mason, M1 48854

License #: DG330345401
SIR# 2015D0196005

Dear Ms. Hicks:

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTICE OF INTENT TO REVOKE YOUR LICENSE to operate
a group child care home, alieging that you have violated the Child Care Organizations
Act. Your options are as follows:

1) You may appeal the Notice of Intent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, is enclosed.

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, waive the compliance conference, and
proceed directly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose not to appeal the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of Intent, the Department must receive your
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. if the Department
does not receive your written appeal within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you
will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT to an administrative law hearlng and the proposed
action will be final.

Sincerely,
/‘5*’/" N NG AT
¢ Jefry Hendrlck Director

Chﬂd»(}are Licensing Division
“Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

Enclosures

Cc: Aillene Buchtrup, Area Manager

BCAL 01/2015 ’ P.O. BOX 30650 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 48902-8150
v michigan.gov « (917) 284-9700




STATE OF MICGHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DG330345401
SIR#: 2015D0196005

Lisa Hicks

NOTICE OF INTENT TO
REVOKE LICENSE

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by Jerry Hendrick, Director, Child
Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, provides notice of the
intent to revoke the license of Licensese, Lisa Hicks, to operate a group child care home
pursuant to the authority of the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as
amended, MCL 7_22.111 et seq., for the following reasons:

1. On or about July 24, 2014, Licensee was issued a license to operate a group
child care home, with a current licensed capacity of 12, at 3596 Harper Road,
Mason, Mi 48854.

2. On multiple occasions during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
exceeded her licensed capacity of 12 children, caring for as many as 23 children
during a single time period. The Licensee failed to adhere to her child care home
capacity on the following occasions:

a. On Mondays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee

cared for as many as 19 children during a single time period,




b. On Tuesdays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 17 children during a single time period.

c. On Wednesdays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 18 children during a single time period.

d. On Thursdays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 14 children dLlring'a singie time period.

e. On Fridays during the summer énd fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 15 children during a single time period.

f. The Licensee also provided care to five school-age children Monday
through Friday, during both the early morning and afternoon hours. When

~the school-age children were present in the child care home, the Licensee
had as many as 24 children in care during a single {ime period.

g. On August 27, 2014, assistant caregivers Rachelle Finch and Brooke
Sciferf took 17 child care children onla field trip to a park that was located
approximately four fniles from the Licensee’s home. That day, the
Licensee remained in the child care home with several infants.

3. On mu]tiple_occasions during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
failed to maintain rule-required, caregiver-to-child ratios, as evidenced by the
following:

a. The following caregiver-to-child ratios are required in child care homes:

. One caregiver per six children is required for children of all ages.

ii. A maximum number of four children under the age of 30 months

may be cared for by a single caregiver.




iii. A maximum number of two children under the age of 18 months
may be cared for by a single caregiver.

b. On a daily basis, the Licensee left assistant caregivers Rachelle Finch and
Brooke Sciferf on the lower level of the home as the sole caregivers for all
children in care. The Licehsee spent a majo-rity of the day on the main
level of her home with Minor Household Member 1 {(Male, DOB: 10/04/12)
and Minor Household Member 2 (Female, DOB: 04/29/14). The Licensee
only returned to the child use area on the lower level to do laundry or
retrieve food items from the pantry. Ms. Finch and Ms. Sciferf were the
only two caregivers employed by the Licensee during the summer and fall
months of 2014.

c. On Mondays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 19 children during a single time period. 12 of the 19
children were under the age of 30 months, with seven children under the
age of 18 months. Four caregivers should have been present to meet ratio
requirements.

d. On Tuesdays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 17 children during a single time period. 11 of the 17
children were under the age of 30 months, with seven children under the
age of 18 months. Four caregivers should have been present to meet ratio
requirements.

e. On Wednesdays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee

cared for as many as 18 children during a single time period. 11 of the 18




children were under the age of 30 months, with seven children under the
age of 18 months. Four caregivers should have been present to meet ratio
requirements.

O-n Thursdays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 14 children during a single time period. 11 of the 14
children wére under the age of 30 months, with six children under the age
of 18 months. Three caregivers should have been present to meet ratio
requirements.

. On Fridays during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
cared for as many as 15 children during a single time period. Ten of the 15
children were under the age of 30 months, with six children under the age
of 18 months. Three caregivers should have been present to meet ratio
requirements.

. On one occasion during the summer months of 2014, Ms. Finch took ten
child care children on a field trip to a science museum. Ms. Finch was the
sole caregiver providing care to ten children on the field trip. One
additional caregiver should have been present to meet ratio requirements.
On August 27, 2014, Ms. Finch and Ms. Sciferf took 17 child care children
‘on a field trip to a park in Holt, Michigan. While at the park, Ms. Finch and
Ms. Sciferf took the children to the park’s pond and swimming area. Three
| caregivers should have been presenf on the field trip to meet :-ratio

requirements.




j.  On one occasion in October 2014, the Licensee and Ms, Finch took child
.care children on a field trip to an inflatable play equipment center. The
Licensee Iéft Ms. Sciferf in the child care home as the sole caregiver for at
least ten infants and young toddlers. Ms.- Sciferf was 17 yéars of age |
during this time period, in violation of R 400.1904(1)(b). Ms. Sciferf was
alone with the infants aﬁd toddlers for approximately two hours. .

k. On November 17, 2014, at approximately 4:00 p.m., Parent D arrived at
the Licensee’s child care home to pick up Child D (Male, DOB: 09/11/11)
and Child E (Male, DOB: 09/06/13). A caregiver whom Parent D had néver
met before answered the door and allowed Parent D inside the Licensee’s
home. The caregiver intfoduced herself to Parent D as Cherise Perkins.
This was Ms. Perkins’ first day working at the Licensee’s child care home.
The Licensee failed to inform Parent D that Ms. Perkins would be caring
for Child D and Child E in the Licensee’s absence, in violation of R
400.1903(1)(d). Ms. Perkins was the only caregiver present in the
Licensee’s home. Parent D observed at least ten children in Ms. Perkins’
care. As Parent D was leaving the Licensee’s home, he observed the
Licensee arrive at the residence in her vehicle.

4. On multiple occasions during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
provided routine transportation and transported children on field trips in her
vehicle. The Licensee failed to follow child care licensing rules regarding the

transportation of children, as demonstrated by the following:




a. On muitiple occasions during the fall months of 2014, fhe Licensee and
Ms. Finch transported children to school in the Licensee’s 15-passenger
van. The Pupil Transportation Act, 1990 PA 187, prohibits the use of 11 to
15-passenger vans for the transportation of children. |

b. The Licensee transported Child U (Male, DOB: 01106107). and Child V

~ (Male, DOB: 10/10/08) to and from school five days per week. The
Licensee failed to obtain written parental permissién for this routine
transportation.

c. On more than one occasion during the summer and fall months of 2014,
Ms. Finch drove 15 or more children on field trips in the Licensee’s 15-
passenger van. On these occasions, several children had to share a
single seatbelt, as there were more than 15 passengers in the Licensee’s
vehicle. The Licensee failed to assure that children were transported
according to state laws.

d. On August 27, 2014, Ms. Finch drove 16 children to a park located
approximately four miles from the Licensee’s home. During this field trip, a
total of 18 passengers were in the Licensee’s 15-passenger van.

.e. The Licensee failed to obtain written parental permission to transport
children in care on field trips. |

5. On more than one occasion during the summer and fall .months of 2014,
assistant caregiver Rachelle Finch used inappropriate methods of physical

restraint with children in care. Ms. Finch was instructed by the Licensee to force-




feed children when they did not eat certain food items. Children in care were
restrained on the following occasions:

a. On more than one occasion during the summer and fall months of 2014,
Ms. Finch forcefuliy pushed food items into Child DD’s (Male, DOB:
06/15/10) mouth. o

b. On at least one occasion in mid-October 2014, Ms. Finch pinned Child F
(Female, DOB: 02/25/12) in between her legs while standing over the
child. After immobilizing Child F, Ms. Finch force-fed the child.

c. On October 28, 2014, Ms. Finch restrained Child A (Male, DOB: 02/26/10)
in an attempt to force-feed the child cauliflower. When Child A refused to
eat the cauliflower, Ms. Finch pinned Child A on his back on the fioor. Ms.
Finch straddled Child A's waist and pinned both of the child's arms above
his head with her right hand. Ms. Finch then used her left hand to push the
cauliflower into Child A’s mouth. Child A was upset during this incident
and began yelling for his mother.

6. On multiple occasions during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee
refused to :a[!ow parents access to the child care home, as demonstrated by the
following: |

a. On a daily basis during the summer and fall months of 2014, the Licensee -
had Ms. Finch meet parents at the garage entrance of the child care home
during drop off and pick up time. The Licensee also routinely sent children
outside to wait for their parents with Ms. Finch. On these occasions,

infants were buckled into their car seats and were also taken outside. If




the weath_er was colder, the children were made to wait in the garage until
their parents arrived at the Licensee’s home.

. On November 11, 2014, Parent K arrived at the Licensee’s home to drop
off her two children. At that time, Child K (Male, DOB: 11/26/1 3) was fussy
and appeared to be hungry. Parent K was met at the door by Ms. Finch.

| Parent K requested to go inside the Licensee’s home with her children so
that she could breastfeed Child K. Ms. Finch informed Parent K that she
had to get permission from the Licensee to allow Parent K inside the
home. Parent K was made to wait in the garage until Ms. Finch returned to
the door. Ms. Finch then stated to Parent K that the Licensee did not want
her inside the child care home and that the Licensee would feed Child K a
bottle. Parent K had to breastfeed Child K in her vehicle before returning
the child to Ms. Finch at the Licensee’s door.

. On November 18, 2014, and December 4, 2014, Licensing Consultant
Maureen McNamara interviewed assistant caregivers Rachelle Finch and
Brooke Sciferf. Ms. Finch and Ms. Sciferf both reported that the Licensee
had told them that she did not want parents in and out of her house. The
Licensee instructed the caregivers to obtain permission from her before
allowing a parent to enter the child care home. |

. In November and December 2014, Ms. McNamara interviewed 14 parents
of children enrolled in the Licensee’s child care home. 13 of the 14 parents
interviewed reported that the only time they were inside the Licensee’s

" home was when they first interviewed the Licensee for child care. Each of




the 13 parents stated that they did not feef welcome inside the Licensee’s
home.

e. On November 25, 2014, the Licensee described herself as “OCD” to Ms.
McNamara. The Licensee denied being diagnosed with Obsessive-
Compulsive Disorder, but stated that she was particular about things. The
Licensee admitted to Ms. McNamara that she made sure children were
ready five minutes before their scheduled pick-up time. The Licensee
further admitted that she had the children sit in the garage-or on the steps
in the entryway of the child care area to wait for their parents.

7. On November 12, 2014, at approximately 3:00 p.m;., the Licensee forced
assistant caregiver Rachelle Finch to take Child A, Chiid B {(Male, DOB:
11/24/11) and Child C (Male, DOB: 04/30/14) outside as the children waited for
their mother to pick them up from the child care home. Shortly before 3:00 p.m.,
Children A B and C’s mother had car trouble and sent the Licensee a text
message informing her that she would be late. From 3:00 p.m. until 4:30 p.m.,
the Licensee made Ms. Finch stay outside with Children A, B and C. Child A and
Child B did not have sufficient cq[d-weather clothing to be outdoors for the 90-
minuté time period. As the children and Ms. Finch became cold, Ms. Finch asked
the Licensee if she could take the children back inside the child care home. The
Licensee refused and the children remained outdoors. The temperature during
this time period fluctuated between 31 and 33 degreesi with a wind dhill of 20 to

23 degrees.




8. At 4:30 p.m. on November 12, 2014, Children A, B and C’s mother arrived at the
Licensee’s child care home. Child C was sitting in his car seat in fhe Licensee’s
garage. Child C had been sitting in his car seat in the garage since 3:00 p.m.
Child A and Child B Were playing with sidewalk chalk in the driveway of the
home. Child A and Child B were wearing only a fleece jacket and a hat. Neither
child had gloves. Child B immediately approached His mother and said that he
was cold. Child B’s hands were reddened from the cold temperatures.

9. On November 12, 2014, at approximately 5:30 p.m., Child H's mother arrived at
the Licensee's home to pick up Child H (Female, DOB: 08/19/12). Child H was in
the Licensee’s garage with Ms. Finch. Despite the fact that Child H's mother sent
a coat, hat, gloves and snow pants to the Licensee’s home that dray, Child H was
wearing only a hooded sweatshirt and leggings. When her mother arrived, Child

 H had a runny nose and saliva running down her face.

10.0n November 25, 2014, Ms. McNamara reviewed the Licensee’s records for
assistant caregivers and children in care and found the following violations:

a. The Licensee failed to maintain daily child care attendance records. On
November 25, 2014, the Licensee admitted to Ms. McNamara that she
does not record children’s attendance at her child care home.

b. The Licensee failed to have child information cards on file for the following
children:

i. Child U (Male, DOB: 01/06/07),
ii. ChildV (Male, DOB: 10/10/08);

fii. Child W (Female, Age 6);

10




iv. Child X (Male, Age 3);

v. Child Y (Male, Age 5 Month.s);

vi. Child Z (Female, Approximately Age 6);

vii. Child AA (Male, Approximately Age 7); and
viii. Child EE (Male,rAge 3).
c. The Licensee failed to have Child in Care statements on file for any of the
children enrolled in her child care home. On November 25, 2014, the
Licensee admitted this conduct to Ms. McNamara. The Licensee also
admitted to Ms. McNamara that she did not provide parents with a copy of
her discipline policy and a licensing rule book.
. The Licensee failed to have the following assistant caregiver records on
file for Ms. Finch:

i. A medical clearance verifying Ms. Finch’s mental and physical
health; and
ii. Tuberculosis test results.

. On November 17, 2014, and November 18, 2014, assistant caregiver
Cherise Perkins cared for children in the Licensee’s child care home. The
Licensee failed to have any assistant caregiver records on file for Ms.
Perkins. The Licensee was unable to provide Ms. McNamara with the
correct spelling of Ms. Perkins’ name and her contact number. The
Licensee was missing the following records for Ms. Perkins;:

i. A record listing Ms. Perkins’ name, address and telephone number;

11




vi.

Vii.

. A medical clearance verifying Ms. Finch’s mental and physical

heaith;

iii. Tuberculosis test results;

Training records;

A child abuse/negléct clearance from the Department of Human
Services;

A written statement from Ms. Perkins verifying receipt of the
Licensee’s discipline policy and her awareness of child
abuse/neglect taws; and

A criminal history clearance.

COUNT |

The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 10 above,

evidences a violation of:

R400.1902

Caregiver and child care home family.

- (2) An applicant or the caregiver shall be of responsible
character and shall be suitable and able to meet the needs
of children and provide for their care, supervision, and
protection. '

12




 COUNT I

The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 6 through 8 above,

evidences a violation of:

R400.1903 Caregiver responsibilities.
(3) The caregiver shall permit parents of enrolled children

to visit anytime during hours of operation.
COUNT 1ll

The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 10 above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1206 Records of caregiving staff and child care home family;
record maintenance.
(1) The caregiver shall maintain a file for the caregiver and each
assistant caregiver including all of the following:

(a) The name, address, and telephone number.

(b) A statement signed by a licensed physician or his or her
designee and which attests to the individual's mental and
physical health.

(i} For the assistant caregivers, within 1 year prior to

caring for children and at the time of subsequent

renewals.

(c) Written evidence of freedom from communicable
tuberculosis (TB):

(i) For the assistant caregivers, prior to caring for

children.

(d) Training records, as defined in R 400.1905(5).

(e) A statement signed by each assistant caregiver that he or
she has not been convicted. of either of the following:

(i) Child abuse or child negiect.

(iNA felony involving harm or threatened harm to an
individual within the 10 years immediately preceding
the date of hire.

~ {f) Documentation from the department of human services
that the assistant caregiver has not been involved in
substantiated child abuse or neglect.

(g) A written statement signed and dated by the assistant
caregiver at the time of hiring indicating ail of the following
information:

(i} The individual is aware that abuse and neglect of
children is untawfut.

13




(ii) The individual knows that he or she is mandated by
law to report child abuse and neglect.
(iii) The individual has received a copy of the discipline

policy. , ‘

(2) Child care home family members 14 years of ége or older
shall have written evidence of freedom from
communicable TB.

COUNT IV
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 10 above, evidences a
violation of;

R400.1907 Children’s records.
(1) Prior to initial attendance, the caregiver shall obtain the
following documents:

(a) A completed child information card on a form provide by
the department or a comparable substitute approved by
the depariment.

{b) A child in care statement/receipt using a form provided
by the department and signed by the parent certifying
the following:

(i) Receipt of a written discipline policy.

(i) Condition of the child’s health.

(iii) Receipt of a copy of the family and group child care

home rules.

(iv) Agreement as to who will provide food for the child.

(v) Acknowledgement that the assistant caregiver is 14

to 17 years of age, if applicable.

(vi) Acknowledgement that firearms are on the premises,

if applicable.

(vii) If the child care home was built prior to 1978, then
the caregiver shall inform the parents of each child
in care and all assistant caregivers of the potential
presence of lead-based paint or lead dust hazards,
unless the caregiver maintains documentation from
a lead testing professional that the home is lead
safe.

(3) Dated daily' attendance records of children in care shall be

maintained and shall include the child’s first and last name
and the time of arrival and departure. :

14




COUNT V
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 and 3 above,
evidences a violation of:

R400.1908 Capacity.

(2) The group child care licensee shall assure that the actual
number of unrelated children in care at any 1 time does not
exceed the number of children for which the home is
licensed, not to exceed a total of 12.

COUNT VI
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 and 3 above,
evidences a violation of:

R400.1910 Ratio of caregiving staff to children
(1) The ratio of caregiving staff to children present in the home
at any 1 time shall be not less than 1 caregiving staff person
to 6 children. The ratio shall include all unrelated children in
care and any of the following children who are less than 7
years of age:
(a) Children of the caregiver.
(b) Children of the assistant caregiver.
- (c) Children related to any member of the child care
home family by blood, marriage, or adoption.
(2) For each caregiving staff person, not more than 4 children
shall be under the age of 30 months, with not more than 2
of the 4 children under the age of 18 months.
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COUNT Vil

The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 9 above,

- evidences a violation of:

R400.1911 Supervision.
(1) The caregiver shall assure appropriate care and supervision

of children at all times.

COUNT VIl

The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 5 above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1913 Discipline and child handling.
(3) Caregiving staff shall not do any of the following:
(a) Hit, spank, shake, bite, pinch, or inflict other forms of

corporal punishment.
(b) Restrict a child’'s movement by binding or tying him or

. her.
(c) Inflict mental or emotional stress, such as humiliating,

shaming, threatening a child, or using derogatory
remarks.

16




COUNT IX
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 4 above, evidences a
violation of:

R400.1951 Transportation. : :
(4) Each child passenger restraint device and each safety belt
shall be installed, anchored, and used according to the
manufacturer’s specifications.and shall be maintained in a
safe working condition.

(6) The transportation of all children shali be conducted in -
accordance with existing state law.

(6) Each child transported shall remain seated and properly
restrained by the passenger restraint device appropriate for
his or her age as defined by 1949 PA 300, MCL
257.710d(1), MCL 257.710e(3)}, (4), and the manufacturer’s
rated seating capacity. '

COUNT X
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 4 above, evidences a
violation of:
R400.1952 Parent permission and notification required; child
"~ information cards when off-premises.
(2) The caregiver shali obtain and keep on file written
permission from a child’s parent before each time a child is

transported in a vehicle.

(3) For routine transportation, fhe caregiver shall obtain written
parent permission at least annually.

17




COUNT XI
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragr'aph 10(e) above, provides
grounds for revocation of licensure pursuant to:

MCL 722.115d = Offer of employment to person at child care organization;
criminal history check and criminal records check;
current employees; cost.

(1) Before a child care organization makes an offer of
employment to a person or allows a person to regularly
and continuously work under contract at the child care
organization, the child care organization shall perform a
criminal history check on that person using the
department of state police's internet criminal history

access tool (ICHAT) or equivalent check on that person
from the state or province of residence.

NOTICE [S GIVEN that, Licensee is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the license. If Licensee appeals the Notice
of Intent and compliance is not shown, formal proceedings will be commenced pursuént
to the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq.,
rules ﬁromulgated thereunder, and the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as
amended; MCL 24.201 et seq. Should formal proceedings commence, you have the
right to attorney representation at your own expense.

LICENSEE IS NOTIFIED that pursuant to MCL 722.121(2) of the Child Care
Organizations Act, Licensee has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of Intent
to file a written appeal of the proposed action. The appeé[ shall be addressed to

Kelly Maltby, Departmental Analyst, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, Michigan

18




Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name and
license number, and must be sub-mitted using one of the following methods:
» Mail your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, P.O.
Box 30650, Lansing, MI 48909. You should obtain some type of delivery
conﬁrmétion to verify delivery;
. Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing at
(617) 284-9709. You should keep a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of
submittal; or

e Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. You should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submittal.

LICENSEE IS FURTHER NOTIFIED that failure to file a written appeal of this
action within 30 days will result in revocation of the license.

= ~

T

DATED: AL NI N W
AJerryHendrick, Director

Child Care Ficensing Division

Bureat of Children and Adult Licensing

This is the last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Lisa Hicks, DG330345401,
consisting of 19 pages, this page included.
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STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of Licehée #: DG330345401
SIR#: 2015D0196005

Lisa Hicks

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: Friday, February 27, 2015
Time: 1to 3 p.m.

Location: Lansing BCAL office, 201 North Washington Square, Victor Building, 4th

Floor, Lansing, Ml

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder. You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also bring one support person to the compliance conference.

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of Intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, pictures, etc. that you would [ike the Department to
consider. You may also submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance
conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

If you are unable fo attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date.and/or time. The
Department will make all reasonable attempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. If you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be able to schedule the
compliance conference to a date earlier than originally scheduled.

If you' are unable to show that you were in compliance with the Child Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the




Debartment will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative
hearing.

All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compliance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Department at least one week in advance to
make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all written communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Kelly Maltby, Departmental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit A
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4" Floor
P.O. Box 30650

Lansing, Ml 48308-8150




- STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the -matter of License #: DG330345401
SIR#: 2015D0196005

Lisa Hicks

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to revoke the license in the
above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the same to them at
their address of record by certified mail on January 22, 2015. '

Lisa Hicks
3596 Harper Road

?/!axson, M /J;B\?54 ﬂ

Kristine Manion, Secretary
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing






