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January 13, 2011 
 
To:  Adult Foster Care Licensees 
 
From: James S. Sinnamon, Director 
 Adult Foster Care & Home for the Aged Licensing 
 
RE: Recent amendments to 1979 PA 218 
 
The legislature recently passed several amendments to 1979 PA 218, the statute governing 
the regulation of adult foster care (AFC) facilities.  Highlights of the legislation are noted 
below. 
 

• Criminal history checks (Michigan check) and criminal records checks (FBI check) 
will be required for all AFC licensees and licensee designees at the time of original 
application [MCL 400.705 (19)]. 

• Criminal history checks and criminal records checks will be required for an owner, 
partner, or director of an AFC applicant who has regular direct access to residents, 
or who has on-site facility operational responsibilities.  [MCL 400.705 (21)]. 

• Fees for fingerprinting will be established by the Michigan State Police and will be 
the responsibility of the person being fingerprinted.  [MCL 400.705 (21)]. 

• The Michigan State Police will maintain the fingerprints in a database that provides 
the department with automatic notification of subsequent criminal arrests and 
convictions.  [MCL 400.705 (24)]. 

• All AFC licensees and licensee designees must submit fingerprints to the 
department by 12/21/2011.  [MCL 400.705 (22)]. 

• A licensee, licensee designee, owner, partner, or director of the licensee will not be 
permitted on the premises of an adult foster care facility if he or she has been 
convicted of adult abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation; or listed offenses as 
defined in section 2 of the sex offenders registration act, 1943 PA 295, MCL 28.722. 
[MCL 400.705 (25)]. 

• On or before 4/1/2011 employees previously exempt from a criminal history check 
through the Workforce Background Check program must complete a fingerprint 
criminal history check.  [MCL 400.734b (2)].  

• For employment applicants who have previously been fingerprinted under this 
statute, licensees may rely on the criminal history record information provided by the 
department instead of requesting another criminal history if all of the following 
requirements are met: 
o The criminal history check was conducted in the past 12 months. 
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o The applicant has been continuously employed by the staffing agency, a covered 

facility or adult foster care facility since the check was conducted, or meets the 
continuous employment requirement. 

o The applicant can provide evidence that he or she has been a Michigan resident 
for the immediately preceding 12 months.  [MCL 400.734b (2)]. 

• If an individual meets all of the criteria noted above, the licensee must request the 
criminal history record information from the department and request the department 
to conduct a check on the applicant of all relevant registries .  [MCL 400.734b (3)]. 

• A staffing agency must submit information regarding the criminal history check for an 
individual conducted by the staffing agency to the adult foster care facility that has 
made a good faith offer of independent contract to that individual.  [MCL 400.734b 
(3)]. 

• An individual who is conditionally employed may not work unsupervised if they have 
regular direct access to or provide direct services to residents until: 
o The facility, at its own expense, conducts an ICHAT and no exclusionary 

convictions are found. 
o The individual signs a statement in writing that he or she has resided in Michigan 

without interruption for the immediately preceding 12 months. 
o If applicable, the individual is fingerprinted on or before the expiration of 10 

business days following the date the individual was conditionally employed.  
[MCL 400.734b (6)(c)]. 

Note: If the above requirements are not met, the individual may not work 
unsupervised until the licensee/facility receives a notice stating there are no 
exclusionary findings.  

• Added the following definitions to PA 218 [MCL 400.734b (18)]: 
o “Convicted” - For a crime that is not a relevant crime, a final conviction, the 

payment of a fine, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere if accepted by the court, or 
a finding of guilty for a criminal law violation or a juvenile adjudication or 
disposition by the juvenile division of probate court or family division of circuit 
court for a violation that if committed by an adult would be a crime.  For a 
relevant crime described under 42 USC 1320a-7(a), convicted means that term 
as defined in 42 USC 1320a-7.   

o “Covered health facility” means a nursing home, county medical care facility, 
hospice, hospital that provides swing bed services, home for the aged or home 
health agency licensed under article 17 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, 
MCL 333.20101 to 333.22260.  

o “Criminal history check conducted in compliance with this section” includes a 
criminal history check conducted under this section, under section 134a of the 
mental health code, 1974 PA 258, MCL 330.1134a, or under section 20173a of 
the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.20173a.  

o “Staffing agency” means an entity that recruits candidates and provides 
temporary and permanent qualified staffing for adult foster care facilities, 
including independent contractors.  

o “Under the adult foster care facility’s control” means an individual employed by or 
under independent contract with an adult foster care facility for whom the adult 
foster care facility does both of the following: 
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 Determines whether the individual who has access to residents may 

provide care, treatment, or other similar support service functions to 
residents served by the adult foster care facility. 

 Directs or oversees 1 or more of the following: 
• The policy or procedures the individual must follow in performing his or 

her duties. 
• The tasks performed by the individual. 
• The individual’s work schedule. 
• The supervision or evaluation of the individual’s work or job 

performance, including imposing discipline or granting performance 
awards. 

• The compensation the individual receives for performing his or her 
duties. 

• The conditions under which the individual performs his or her duties.  
 
Copies of the new legislation are posted on our website at www.michigan.gov/afchfa in the 
“Alerts” section. 
 
While the legislation was passed with “immediate effect,” there will be a delay in 
implementation of fingerprinting licensees as we coordinate with the Michigan State Police 
and the Department of Technology, Management and Budget to develop new procedures 
and policy. Information will be shared with you as it becomes available.  
 
Please contact your consultant if you have additional questions about this legislation. 
 


